Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Service Improvement Initiative Learning Event

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Ottawa Congress Centre
March 8th, 2001



Event Overview

Since Treasury Board Ministers approved the Service Improvement Policy Framework last May, 2000, much work has been done by the TBS Service Improvement Initiative team and ADM Service Improvement Steering Committee (ACSI) to further interdepartmental team-building.

To foster this, and give middle and senior managers a forum to interact with others involved in federal service delivery, TBS and ACSI sponsored a one-day Service Improvement Initiative learning event on March 8, 2001 in the Ottawa Congress Centre. Between 250 – 300 people, over the course of the day, had the opportunity to discuss citizen-centred service delivery, share best practices, and familiarise themselves with the Service Improvement Initiative policy framework and supporting tools.

Further demonstrating their commitment to improved government service, Mr. Mel Cappe, Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to Cabinet, and Mr. Frank Claydon, Secretary of the Treasury Board and Comptroller General of Canada gave keynote opening addresses. The thread throughout their comments was that we all have a role in developing integrated, accessible, citizen-focused service across the Government of Canada.

Mr. Mel Cappe, Clerk of the Privy Council Office

Mr. Mel Cappe, Clerk of the Privy Council Office

Mr. Frank Claydon, Secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada

Mr. Frank Claydon, Secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada

We then heard from Marc-Denis Everell, Assistant Deputy Minister, NCR Office, Environment Canada; Hy Braiter, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Delivery, Human Resources Development Canada; David Miller, Assistant Commissioner, Assessment and Collections Branch, Canadian Customs and Revenue Agency; and Martha Nixon, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations, Citizenship and Immigration Canada, on service improvement in their particular organizations and why they're doing it.

Later on in the morning Erin Research filled us in on results derived from the Citizens First 2000 national survey, with one of the key messages being: use the five drivers of satisfaction to focus change. After which Service Quality Measurement Group Inc. walked us through a Call Centre Benchmarking Program to compare service quality performance from the "voice of the client/employee" point and view.

At lunch Ralph Heintzman, while recognizing all organizations present deserved our admiration for their efforts in client satisfaction measurement, highlighted three for their particular pioneering efforts. He presented certificates of appreciation to Canada Post (for its extensive experience in using the client satisfaction model); Canada Economic Development Agency (for contributing to the development of the Service Improvement Initiative); and Citizenship and Immigration Canada (for helping to develop and implement the Common Measurements Tool).

The Honourable Andr Ouellet, Canada Post The Honourable Andr Ouellet, Canada Post
Mr. Jean-Guy Saint-Martin, Canada Economic Development; Ralph Heintzman, TBS Mr. Jean-Guy Saint-Martin, Canada Economic Development; Ralph Heintzman, TBS
Alain Thault and Carole Lamarre, Citizenship and Immgration Canada; Ralph Heintzman, TBS Alain Thault and Carole Lamarre, Citizenship and Immgration Canada; Ralph Heintzman, TBS

Later in the afternoon, we heard from the representatives of these three organizations on the principles and strategic thinking that inspired their client-focused initiatives.

After lunch, Faye Schmidt, Regional Executive representative for Service & Innovation (S&I) in B.C./Alberta; and Brian Marson, Senior Advisor, S&I gave an overview of the Initiative and a presentation of the Common Measurements Tool.

Judging by verbal and written comments, the day was a huge success and the service improvement community is looking forward to more shared learning events.

If you need more information on this event, or the Service Improvement Initiative, please contact us.

Top of Page


Presentations

To view some of the presentations, please click on one of the links below:

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Initiative d’amélioration des services - Événement d’apprentissage

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

Centre des Congrs d'Ottawa
Le 8 mars, 2001



Aperu de l'vnement

Depuis que les ministres du Conseil du Trsor ont approuv le cadre de la politique d'amlioration des services en mai 2000, l'quipe de l'Initiative d'amlioration des services du SCT et le Comit consultatif des SMA sur le service et l'innovation (CCSI) ont accompli beaucoup de travail pour dvelopper l'esprit de corps interministriel.

Pour promouvoir ces efforts et offrir aux cadres intermdiaires et suprieurs l'occasion d'interagir avec les intervenants dans la prestation des services fdraux, le SCT et le CCSI ont organis l'activit d'apprentissage Initiative d'amlioration des services le 8 mars 2001 au Centre des congrs d'Ottawa. Pendant la journe, de 250 300 personnes ont pu parler de la prestation des services axs sur les citoyens, partager les pratiques exemplaires et se familiariser avec le cadre de la politique d'amlioration des services et les outils de soutien.

Pour manifester leur engagement envers l'amlioration des services, M. Mel Cappe, greffier du Conseil priv et secrtaire du Cabinet, et M. Frank Claydon, secrtaire du Conseil du Trsor et contrleur gnral du Canada, ont prononc les discours prliminaires en nous rappelant que nous avons tous un important rle jouer pour aider le gouvernement du Canada offrir des services intgrs, accessibles et axs sur les citoyens.

M.Mel Cappe, greffier du Conseil priv

M. Mel Cappe, greffier du Conseil priv

M. Frank Claydon, secrtaire du Conseil du Trsor du Canada

M. Frank Claydon, secrtaire du Conseil du Trsor du Canada

Marc-Denis Everell, sous-ministre adjoint, bureau de la RCN, Environnement Canada; Hy Braiter, sous-ministre adjoint principal, Prestation des services, Dveloppement des ressources humaines Canada; David Miller, sous-commissaire, Direction gnrale des cotisations et recouvrements, Agence des douanes et du revenu du Canada, et Martha Nixon, sous-ministre adjointe, Oprations, Citoyennet et Immigration Canada, ont parl de l'amlioration des services dans leurs propres organisations et en ont expliqu les raisons.

Plus tard dans la matine, le reprsentant d'Erin Research a donn les rsultats du sondage national Les citoyens d'abord 2000, en nous invitant utiliser les cinq moteurs de satisfaction pour provoquer un changement. Aprs quoi, le dlgu de Service Quality Measurement Group Inc. a parl du programme d'analyse comparative des centres d'appel pour comparer la qualit des services du point de vue du client et de l'employ.

Au djeuner, tout en reconnaissant que chaque organisation prsente mrite notre admiration pour les efforts dploys l'gard de la mesure de la satisfaction des clients, Ralph Heintzman a soulign les efforts pionniers de trois d'entre elles. Il a prsent des certificats d'apprciation Postes Canada (pour sa vaste exprience du modle de mesure de la satisfaction des clients), Dveloppement conomique Canada (pour sa contribution l'Initiative d'amlioration des services) et Citoyennet et Immigration Canada (pour sa participation l'laboration et l'application de l'outil de mesures communes).

L'honorable Andr Ouellet, Postes Canada L'honorable Andr Ouellet, Postes Canada
M. Jean-Guy Saint-Martin, Dveloppement conomique Canada; Ralph Heintzman, SCT M. Jean-Guy Saint-Martin, Dveloppement conomique Canada; Ralph Heintzman, SCT
Alain Thault et Carole Lamarre, Citoyennet et Immigration Canada; Ralph Heintzman, SCT Alain Thault et Carole Lamarre, Citoyennet et Immigration Canada; Ralph Heintzman, SCT

Plus tard dans l'aprs-midi, les reprsentants de ces trois organisations ont dcrit les principes et le mode de pense l'origine des initiatives axes sur les clients.

Aprs le djeuner, Faye Schmidt, reprsentant la direction rgionale de Service et Innovation (S&I) pour la Colombie-Britannique et l'Alberta, et Brian Marson, conseiller principal, S&I, ont prsent un aperu de l'Initiative et de l'outil de mesures communes.

Si l'on en juge par les commentaires oraux et crits, la journe a remport un vif succs et la collectivit d'amlioration des services espre que d'autres activits d'apprentissage seront organises.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cette activit ou sur l'Initiative d'amlioration des services, veuillez nous contacter.

Haut de la page


Prsentations

Pour consulter les prsentations, veuillez cliquer sur un des liens suivants :