We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Federal Accountability Action Plan, April 2006


Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Cleaning up the procurement of government contracts

Delivering on our commitment

  • A legislated commitment to fairness, openness, and transparency in the procurement process
  • Inclusion of integrity provisions in all government contracts
  • A Procurement Auditor to review procurement practices on an ongoing basis
  • A Code of Conduct for Procurement

"The Government of Canada is committed to taking appropriate measures to promote fairness, openness and transparency in the bidding process for contracts with Her Majesty for the performance of work, the supply of goods or the rendering of services."

-proposed Federal Accountability Act

Why we are doing this

In carrying out its programs and providing services to Canadians, the Government of Canada is one of the largest purchasers of goods and services in the country. It is important that the bidding process for government contracts, including those for polling and advertising, be fair, open, and transparent.

The Federal Accountability Act will introduce the following changes:

  • The Act will include an overarching statement of principles regarding procurement that will commit the Government of Canada to promoting the fairness, openness, and transparency of the bidding process.
  • It will require that contracts include integrity provisions that require action be taken to preclude corruption, collusion, and the payment of contingency fees in the procurement process.
  • It will establish a Procurement Auditor to:
    • review procurement practices across government on an ongoing basis to ensure fairness and transparency, and to make recommendations for improvement;
    • review complaints from potential suppliers after contract award with respect to procurements of goods and services that are covered by the Agreement on Internal Trade, but which are below the monetary thresholds of that Agreement ($25,000 for goods and $100,000 for services);
    • make recommendations to the relevant department on whose behalf the procurement was carried out should the Procurement Auditor consider the complaint valid (through regulations, the Government will provide that, in these cases, the Procurement Auditor may recommend that the Government compensate unsuccessful bidders for their costs of bid preparation and loss of profit at no more than 10 percent of the value of the contract);
    • review complaints concerning the administration of contracts for goods and services;
    • manage an alternative dispute resolution program for contracts; and
    • submit an annual report to the Minister of Public Works and Government Services on activities and outcomes, which the Minister would then table in Parliament.

In addition, we will:

  • engage an independent procurement expert to review the draft policy on managing procurement to determine whether its requirements will reinforce a fair, open, and transparent procurement process;
  • introduce a Code of Conduct for Procurement that would consolidate the Government’s existing suite of conflict-of-interest and anti-corruption policies and would apply to both suppliers and public-service employees;
  • provide accreditation and training for procurement officers;
  • build on recent consultations between the supplier community and Public Works and Government Services regarding barriers to entry; and
  • provide more resources and greater regional presence to the Office of Small and Medium Enterprises within Public Works and Government Services, to help these businesses maintain access to government business opportunities and to ensure they are treated fairly.

What this means for Canadians

Through these measures, the Government will ensure that the procurement process is free of political interference, and that a clear process is in place to address complaints from potential suppliers. It will also provide greater opportunities for small vendors and vendors in all regions of Canada to compete for government contracts.



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Plan d'action sur l'imputabilité fédérale, avril 2006


Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Assainir l’adjudication des contrats gouvernementaux

Nous tenons nos engagements

  • Un engagement consacré par la loi envers l’équité, l’ouverture et la transparence du processus de passation des marchés
  • L’adoption de mesures d’intégrité visant tous les contrats gouvernementaux
  • Un vérificateur de l’approvisionnement indépendant chargé d’examiner en permanence les pratiques d’adjudication des contrats
  • Un code de conduite pour l’approvisionnement

« Le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à prendre les mesures indiquées pour favoriser l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence du processus d'appel d'offres en vue de la passation avec Sa Majesté de marchés de fournitures, de services ou de travaux. »

-Loi fédérale sur l'imputabilité proposée

Pourquoi nous agissons ainsi

Lorsqu'il exécute ses programmes et qu'il offre ses services aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens, le gouvernement du Canada est l'un des acheteurs de biens et de services les plus importants au pays. Il importe donc que le processus d'appel d'offres pour les marchés gouvernementaux, y compris ceux qui visent les recherches sur l’opinion publique et la publicité, soit équitable, ouvert et transparent.

La Loi fédérale sur l’imputabilité permettra d’apporter les changements suivants :

  • La Loi comprendra, à l'égard de la passation des marchés, un énoncé de principes déterminant engageant le gouvernement du Canada à promouvoir l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence du processus d'appel d'offres.
  • La Loi exigera que les contrats comportent des dispositions relatives à l’intégrité exigeant que des mesures soient prises pour empêcher que la corruption, la collusion et le versement d’honoraires conditionnels ne viennent entacher le processus de passation des marchés.
  • La Loi créera le poste de vérificateur de l’approvisionnement indépendant qui assumera les tâches suivantes :
    • revoir de façon continue les pratiques d'adjudication de contrats à l'échelle du gouvernement afin d'assurer l'équité et la transparence et recommander des améliorations;
    • examiner les plaintes des fournisseurs potentiels après l'adjudication de contrats d'achat de biens et de services qui sont visés par l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur, mais dont la valeur est inférieure aux seuils qui y sont prévus (25 000 $ pour les biens et 100 000 $ pour les services);
    • formuler des recommandations au ministère pour qui le marché d'approvisionnement a été conclu, si le vérificateur estime que la plainte est fondée (le gouvernement adoptera des règlements pour faire en sorte que, dans ces cas, le vérificateur puisse recommander que les soumissionnaires non retenus aient droit au remboursement des coûts de préparation de leur soumission et de la perte de bénéfices, jusqu’à concurrence de 10 pour 100 de la valeur du marché);
    • examiner les plaintes relatives à l'administration des marchés d'achat de biens et de services;
    • gérer un programme substitutif de règlement des différends relatifs aux marchés;
    • présenter un rapport annuel sur les activités et les résultats au ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux, qui le déposera devant le Parlement.

En outre, le gouvernement :

  • engagera un spécialiste indépendant en matière de passation des marchés pour examiner l’ébauche de politique sur la gestion de l’approvisionnement afin de déterminer si les exigences qu’elle renferme contribueront à raffermir l’équité, l’ouverture et la transparence du processus d’adjudication de contrats;
  • établira un code de conduite pour l’approvisionnement qui regrouperait les politiques existantes sur les conflits d'intérêts et la lutte contre la corruption et qui s'appliquerait autant aux fournisseurs qu'aux fonctionnaires;
  • assurera l’accréditation et la formation des agents d’approvisionnement;
  • s’appuiera sur les récentes consultations entre la collectivité des fournisseurs et Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada concernant l'élimination des obstacles à la participation au processus;
  • accordera plus de ressources au Bureau des petites et moyennes entreprises de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et lui assurera une présence plus marquée en région. Ce Bureau aide ces entreprises à continuer d'avoir accès aux possibilités d'affaires qu'offre le gouvernement et veille à ce qu'elles soient traitées équitablement.

Ce que cela signifie pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens

Ces mesures permettront au gouvernement de veiller à ce que le processus d’adjudication des contrats soit libre de toute ingérence politique, qu’il soit assorti d'un mécanisme clair permettant d'examiner les plaintes des fournisseurs éventuels et qu’il donne plus de chances aux petits fournisseurs et aux fournisseurs de toutes les régions du Canada de se mettre sur les rangs pour décrocher des contrats gouvernementaux. 



Date de modification :