We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Federal Accountability Action Plan, April 2006


Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Making qualified government appointments

Delivering on our commitment

  • A consistent appointment process for Agents and Officers of Parliament with a meaningful role for Parliament
  • A new Public Appointments Commission to oversee appointments to agencies, boards, and commissions
  • An end to priority treatment for ministerial aides when they apply for public-service positions

"These reforms will assure Canadians that the appointments of Agents and Officers of Parliament are approved by both Houses."

Why we are doing this

At present, legislative provisions that govern the appointment of Agents and Officers of Parliament are uneven and do not fully respect Parliament in the process. The appointment process for agencies, commissions, and boards is not as transparent or as merit-based as it could be. Furthermore, favoured treatment to ministerial staffers in filling public-service positions undermines both the non-partisan nature of the public service and its adherence to the merit principle.

The Federal Accountability Act will introduce the following changes:

  • The Act will institute a uniform approach to appointing Officers and Agents of Parliament See footnote 1, and will ensure a meaningful role for Parliament in the process. This approach will be based on the highest standard, which involves Governor in Council appointment after consultation with the leaders of recognized parties and after approval of the appointment by resolution of both Houses. See footnote 2
  • It will remove the priority appointment entitlements for all ministers’ staff. Ministers’ staff with three years of consecutive service will be able to apply to internal competitions for public-service positions for up to one year. Appointments will be subject to the oversight of the Public Service Commission to ensure an open and transparent process in accordance with the merit principle.  The Act will also ensure that the most senior ranks of the public service are appointed in a consistent manner.
  • It will allow the Chief Electoral Officer to appoint returning officers, with provisions that ensure the application of the merit principle.
  • It will create a Public Appointments Commission in the Prime Minister’s portfolio, composed of a Chairperson and four Commissioners with support from a small Secretariat.

In addition, we will give the Public Appointments Commission the responsibility to:

  • oversee, monitor, and report on the selection process for Governor in Council appointments for agencies, boards, commissions, and Crown corporations;
  • set a code of practice to govern the selection process for Governor in Council appointments;
  • approve the selection process that ministers propose to fill vacancies within their portfolio agencies;
  • monitor selection processes to ensure that they are followed as approved, including audit and reviews of complaints; and
  • apprise the Prime Minister of compliance with the code of practice in an annual report to be tabled in Parliament.

What this means for Canadians

These reforms will assure Canadians that the appointments of Agents and Officers of Parliament are approved by both Houses; that government appointments reward merit while respecting the values of fairness and openness; and that the potential for politicizing the public service is reduced.



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Plan d'action sur l'imputabilité fédérale, avril 2006


Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Nommer des personnes qualifiées au gouvernement

Nous tenons nos engagements

  • Un processus uniforme de nomination des mandataires et hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, favorisant un rôle déterminant pour le Parlement
  • Une nouvelle commission des nominations publiques chargée de surveiller la nomination des membres des organismes, conseils et commissions
  • L’élimination du droit de priorité de nomination des adjoints ministériels qui postulent des postes de la fonction publique

« Ces réformes garantiront aux Canadiens que les nominations aux postes d'agents et de hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement se font avec l'approbation des deux Chambres. »

Pourquoi nous agissons ainsi

Les dispositions législatives qui régissent la nomination des mandataires et hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement sont actuellement inégales et ne respectent pas pleinement les prérogatives du Parlement à cet égard. Le processus de nomination des membres d’organismes, de conseils et de commissions n’est pas aussi transparent et fondé sur le mérite qu’il pourrait l’être. En outre, le fait d’accorder un droit de priorité de nomination aux employés de cabinets de ministre qui postulent des postes de fonctionnaire compromet la nature non partisane de la fonction publique et le respect du principe du mérite.

La Loi fédérale sur l’imputabilité permettra d’apporter les changements suivants :

  • La Loi créera une méthode uniforme pour la nomination des mandataires et hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement Voir la note de fin de document 1 et conférera à ce dernier un rôle important dans ce processus. Cette méthode se fondera sur les normes les plus rigoureuses, c'est-à-dire que la nomination se fera par décret, après consultation des chefs des partis politiques reconnus et approbation de la nomination par résolution des deux Chambres. Voir la note de fin de document 2
  • La Loi éliminera le droit de priorité de nomination des employés des cabinets de ministre. Ceux d'entre eux qui comptent trois années de service consécutives pourront participer pendant un maximum d’un an à des processus de nomination interne à des postes de la fonction publique. Les nominations se feront sous la surveillance de la Commission de la fonction publique afin de garantir la transparence du processus et sa conformité au principe du mérite. La Loi fera également en sorte que les nominations aux postes les plus élevés de la fonction publique se fassent de façon uniforme.
  • La Loi autorisera le directeur général des élections à nommer des directeurs de scrutin et comportera des dispositions visant à garantir l'application du principe du mérite.
  • La Loi créera une commission des nominations publiques au sein du portefeuille du premier ministre, qui sera composée d’un président et de quatre commissaires et appuyée par un petit secrétariat.

En outre, la Commission des nominations publiques assumera les responsabilités suivantes :

  • surveiller le processus de sélection pour les nominations par décret des membres des organismes, des conseils, des commissions et des sociétés d'État et faire rapport à ce sujet;
  • établir un code de pratique régissant le processus de sélection relatif aux nominations par décret;
  • approuver le processus de sélection que les ministres proposent pour combler des postes vacants au sein des organismes de leur portefeuille;
  • surveiller les processus de sélection pour en assurer le respect intégral, ce qui comprend la vérification et l'examen des plaintes;
  • présenter un rapport annuel au premier ministre, qui portera sur la conformité au code de pratique et qui sera déposé devant le Parlement.

Ce que cela signifie pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens

Ces réformes garantiront aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens que les nominations aux postes importants de mandataires et de hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement se font avec l’approbation des deux Chambres, que les nominations par le gouvernement récompensent le mérite, tout en respectant les valeurs que représentent l’équité et la transparence et que le risque de politisation de la fonction publique est réduit.



Date de modification :