We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Federal Accountability Act

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

On April 11, 2006, the Government of Canada introduced the Federal Accountability Act and Action Plan to make government more accountable.

The Government of Canada delivered on this commitment by passing the Federal Accountability Act, which was granted Royal Assent on December 12, 2006.

Through the Federal Accountability Act and Action Plan, the Government of Canada brought forward specific measures to help strengthen accountability and increase transparency and oversight in government operations. The comprehensive Action Plan includes the Federal Accountability Act as well as supporting policy and other non-legislative measures.

As is common for complex legislation, different sections of the Act came into force at different times. Some provisions came into force at Royal Assent, some came into force on specific dates and others came into force at dates set out by Order-in-Council.

Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité et plan d'action

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 11 avril 2006, le gouvernement du Canada a déposé la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité et le plan d'action connexe en vue d'améliorer la responsabilisation au sein du gouvernement.

Le gouvernement du Canada a honoré cet engagement en adoptant la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 12 décembre 2006.

Dans le cadre de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité et du Plan d'action connexe, le gouvernement du Canada a adopté des mesures précises qui visent à accroître la responsabilisation, la transparence et la surveillance des activités gouvernementales. Le Plan d'action intégral comprend la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, ainsi que des mesures stratégiques et non législatives connexes.

Comme c'est le cas lorsqu'il s'agit de lois complexes, les articles de la Loi n'entreront pas tous en vigueur en même temps. Certaines provisions sont entrées en vigueur au moment de la sanction royale, certaines ont pris effet à des dates précises, et d'autres à des dates déterminées par décret en conseil.

Date de modification :