We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Federal Accountability Action Plan, April 2006


Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Toughening the Lobbyists Registration Act

Delivering on our commitment

  • A five-year ban on lobbying for ministers, ministerial staffers, and senior public servants after they leave office
  • A ban on the payment and receipt of success or contingency fees
  • Requirements that contacts with senior public-office holders be recorded
  • A new, independent Commissioner of Lobbying with a strong mandate to investigate violations under the new Lobbying Act and Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct
  • A longer period under which lobbying violations can be investigated and prosecuted

There are more than 4,700 lobbyists registered with the Government of Canada- approximately 700 are individual consultant lobbyists, with the remainder representing 270 corporations and 375 organizations.

Why we are doing this

Individuals, organizations, and businesses have the right to communicate with decision makers to provide them with information and views on issues that are important to them. Lobbying is a legitimate part of our democratic system, but it must be done ethically and transparently. It is important that Canadians have the opportunity to know who is lobbying public-office holders, and in what context.

The current Lobbyists Registration Act provides for the public registration of individuals who are paid to communicate with public-office holders about government decisions. All information collected under the Lobbyists Registration Act and its regulation is a matter of public record. The objective of the registration system is to ensure that the general public and public-office holders know who is being paid to communicate with public-office holders regarding government decisions.

Parliamentarians and others, however, have identified weaknesses with the Lobbyists Registration Act. It has been noted, for example, that compliance with registration requirements is low, that the information disclosed is insufficient, and that the Registrar lacks the necessary independence, powers, and resources to conduct effective investigations of possible infractions under the Lobbyists Registration Act. Together, these factors have increased perceptions of conflict of interest in the relationships between public-office holders and lobbyists, and have raised concerns that privileged access to government is reserved for a chosen few.

The Federal Accountability Act will introduce the following changes:

  • The Act will establish a new Commissioner of Lobbying as an independent Agent of Parliament.
  • It will provide the Commissioner with enhanced investigatory powers and mandate to enforce compliance with the proposed Lobbying Act. The Commissioner will be able to:Peace Tower Clock
    • verify information on contacts with senior public-office holders that lobbyists submit, and display that information on a Web site;
    • ask senior public-office holders to verify the accuracy and completeness of contact report information that lobbyists submit and, if necessary, report to Parliament the names of those who do not respond;
    • conduct expanded investigations, including the power to summon and compel persons to produce documents relevant to any investigation of possible infractions under the Lobbying Act or the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct;
    • prohibit any lobbyist convicted of any offence from communicating with the Government as a paid lobbyist for up to two years, if the Commissioner deems it to be in the public interest;
    • publish the names of violators in reports before Parliament; and
    • undertake expanded outreach, education, and communications activities to foster understanding and awareness of the requirements with the public, lobbyists and their clients, and public-office holders.
  • It will require lobbyists to record registrable activities with senior public-office holders, including with whom they met, when, and on what specific subject, plus any other information that may be prescribed in regulation. To minimize the administrative burden, the Government, through regulations, will limit these activities to prearranged forms of communication—specifically, in-person meetings and telephone calls. These are the most important forms of communication through which lobbyists conduct business with public officials.
  • It will prohibit ministers, ministerial staffers, and senior public servants from registering and lobbying the Government of Canada for five years after leaving office. To ensure fairness, the Commissioner will have the authority to exempt certain individuals from this ban (for example, administrative staff or students employed in a minister’s office, or individuals from the private sector who work in the public service for a period on executive interchange), consistent with criteria set out in legislation.
  • It will ban any payment or other benefit that is contingent on the outcome of any consultant lobbyist’s activity. As a complementary measure, the Government will amend the Financial Administration Act to require that all government contracts and agreements contain provisions that prohibit the payment of contingency fees to a lobbyist specific to that transaction.
  • It will extend from 2 to 10 years the period during which possible infractions or violations under the Lobbying Act and the Code can be investigated and prosecution can be initiated. Within this 10-year period, the Commissioner will have to complete investigations within 5 years of the time he or she becomes aware of the possible infraction or violation.
  • It will double the criminal monetary penalties for lobbyists who fail to comply with the requirements of the Lobbying Act.

What this means for Canadians

These changes will give the Commissioner of Lobbying the independence and necessary powers to ensure that lobbying is done in a transparent and ethical way. Canadians will have easy access, through the Internet, to information about lobbying activities. They will be reassured that former senior public-office holders do not use their personal connections to obtain special favours from government once they leave office, and that conflict of interest situations do not arise while they hold office. These changes will ensure that recipients of taxpayer money do not use it to reward lobbyists, and that unregistered lobbyists are effectively investigated and prosecuted.



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Plan d'action sur l'imputabilité fédérale, avril 2006


Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Renforcer la Loi sur l’enregistrement des lobbyistes

Nous tenons nos engagements

  • Interdiction pour les ministres, le personnel des cabinets de ministre et les hauts fonctionnaires d’exercer du lobbying pendant cinq ans après avoir quitté leur poste
  • Interdiction de verser et d’accepter des honoraires conditionnels ou des contreparties liées aux résultats
  • Obligation d’enregistrer les contacts avec des titulaires de charge publique de haut rang
  • Nouveau poste de commissaire au lobbying indépendant doté d’un solide mandat pour mener des enquêtes sur les infractions à la nouvelle Loi sur le lobbying et au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes
  • Prolongation de la période au cours de laquelle les infractions liées au lobbying peuvent faire l’objet d’enquêtes et de poursuites

Il existe plus de 4 700 lobbyistes enregistrés auprès du gouvernement du Canada- environ 700 sont des lobbyistes- conseils individuels, et les autres représentent 270 sociétés et 375 organisations.

Pourquoi nous agissons ainsi

Les particuliers, les organisations et les entreprises ont le droit de communiquer avec les décisionnaires pour leur fournir de l’information et des points de vue sur des questions qui leur tiennent à cœur. Le lobbying constitue une activité tout à fait légitime dans notre régime démocratique, mais il doit s’exercer dans le souci de l’éthique et de la transparence. Il est important que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens puissent savoir qui exerce du lobbying auprès des titulaires de charge publique et dans quel contexte.

Selon l'actuelle Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes, les particuliers qui se font rémunérer pour communiquer avec des titulaires de charge publique relativement aux décisions gouvernementales doivent s'enregistrer publiquement. Toute l'information réunie en vertu de la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes et des règlements qui s'y rattachent est du domaine public. Le régime d'enregistrement vise à veiller à ce que le grand public et les titulaires de charge publique sachent qui est rémunéré pour communiquer avec des titulaires de charge publique relativement aux décisions gouvernementales.

Des parlementaires et d’autres intervenants ont toutefois signalé des faiblesses dans l'actuelle Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes. Ils ont noté, par exemple, que les exigences relatives à l'enregistrement sont peu respectées, que les renseignements fournis sont insuffisants et que le directeur de l'enregistrement ne dispose pas de l'indépendance, des pouvoirs et des ressources nécessaires pour mener des enquêtes efficaces sur les infractions possibles à la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes. L'ensemble des ces facteurs a fait croître les perceptions de conflits d'intérêts dans les rapports entre les titulaires de charge publique et les lobbyistes, tout en suscitant des inquiétudes selon lesquelles l'accès privilégié au gouvernement serait réservé à quelques personnes triées sur le volet.

La Loi fédérale sur l’imputabilité permettra d’apporter les changements suivants :

  • La Loi créera le nouveau poste de commissaire au lobbying à titre de mandataire indépendant du Parlement.
  • La Loi conférera au commissaire des pouvoirs d’enquête étendus et le mandat d’assurer le respect de la nouvelle Loi sur le lobbying. Le commissaire pourra :Horloge de la Tour de paix
    • vérifier l'information sur les contacts avec les titulaires de charge publique de haut rang, que fournissent les lobbyistes, et afficher ces renseignements sur un site Web;
    • demander aux titulaires de charge publique de haut rang de vérifier l'exactitude et l'intégralité de l'information des rapports sur les contacts que fournissent les lobbyistes et, si nécessaire, rapporter au Parlement le nom de ceux qui ne répondent pas à cette demande;
    • mener des enquêtes approfondies, y compris émettre des assignations pour obliger des personnes à produire tout document pertinent dans le cadre d'enquêtes portant sur des infractions possibles à la Loi sur le lobbying ou au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes;
    • interdire à tout lobbyiste déclaré coupable d'une infraction de communiquer avec le gouvernement pendant une période maximale de deux ans à titre de lobbyiste rémunéré, si le commissaire juge qu'il y va de l'intérêt public;
    • publier le nom des contrevenants dans des rapports au Parlement;
    • lancer des programmes étoffés de mobilisation, d'éducation et de communication pour mieux sensibiliser le public, les lobbyistes et leurs clients, ainsi que les titulaires de charge publique aux exigences prescrites.
  • La Loi exigera que les lobbyistes consignent les activités enregistrables menées avec des titulaires de charge publique de haut rang, en précisant notamment qui ils ont rencontré, quand et à quel sujet et en fournissant tout autre renseignement réglementaire. Pour alléger le fardeau administratif, le gouvernement adoptera des règlements pour limiter ces activités aux communications organisées au préalable—plus précisément aux rencontres en personne et aux appels téléphoniques. Ce sont là les moyens de communication que privilégient les lobbyistes pour faire affaire avec le gouvernement.
  • La Loi interdira aux ministres, au personnel des cabinets de ministre et aux hauts fonctionnaires de s'enregistrer et d'agir à titre de lobbyistes auprès du gouvernement du Canada pendant cinq ans après avoir quitté leur poste. Par souci d’équité, le commissaire sera habilité à exempter des particuliers de cette interdiction (notamment le personnel administratif ou les étudiants travaillant dans un cabinet de ministre ou des particuliers du secteur privé qui travaillent à la fonction publique dans le contexte d’un programme d’échange de cadres de direction), conformément aux critères établis dans la législation.
  • La Loi interdira le versement d'honoraires conditionnels et d'autres contreparties liées aux résultats associés aux activités des lobbyistes-conseils. À titre de mesure complémentaire, le gouvernement modifiera la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques en vue d’exiger que tout contrat ou entente avec le gouvernement comporte des dispositions interdisant le versement d'honoraires conditionnels à un lobbyiste à l'égard de la transaction en question.
  • La Loi portera de deux à dix ans la période au cours de laquelle les infractions à la Loi sur le lobbying ou au Code pourront faire l'objet d'enquêtes et de poursuites. Au cours de cette période de dix ans, le commissaire disposera de cinq ans pour compléter ses enquêtes après avoir été saisi d’une possibilité d’infraction.
  • La Loi doublera le montant des amendes imposées aux lobbyistes qui ne se conforment pas aux exigences de la Loi sur le lobbying.

Ce que cela signifie pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens

Ces changements conféreront au commissaire au lobbying l’indépendance et les pouvoirs nécessaires pour veiller à ce que le lobbying s’exerce dans le souci de la transparence et de l’éthique. Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens pourront facilement avoir accès par Internet aux renseignements sur les activités de lobbying. Ils auront l’assurance que les anciens titulaires de charge publique de haut rang n’utilisent pas leurs contacts personnels pour obtenir des faveurs spéciales du gouvernement après avoir quitté leur poste et qu’ils ne se trouvent pas en situation de conflit d’intérêts pendant qu’ils sont en fonction. Ces changements permettront de faire en sorte que les lobbyistes ne soient pas récompensés à même l’argent des contribuables et que ceux qui ne sont pas enregistrés fassent l’objet d’enquêtes et de poursuites.



Date de modification :