We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Expenditure Management


The Expenditure Management System is the framework for developing and implementing the government’s spending plans and priorities within the limits established by the Budget. The system is designed to ensure that all programs are focused on results, provide value for taxpayers’ money, and are aligned with the government’s priorities and responsibilities.

Reporting to Parliament

The presentation of information on planned expenditures to Parliament is made through tabling of Estimates publications and the introduction of supply bills (which, once passed into legislation, become appropriation acts) in accordance with the reporting cycle for government expenditures. Actual expenditures are reported through Quarterly Financial Reports and Public Accounts.


The Expenditure Management Sector supports Treasury Board ministers by managing and overseeing expenditures at all levels of government. This encompasses the entire process from planning and implementing to analysis and performance.

Date modified:

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gestion des dépenses

Introduction

Le Système de gestion des dépenses est le cadre d’élaboration et de mise en œuvre des plans et des priorités de dépenses du gouvernement, dans les limites établies par le budget fédéral. Il a été conçu de manière à s’assurer que tous les programmes sont axés sur les résultats, optimisent les ressources et s’alignent avec les priorités et les responsabilités du gouvernement. 

Rapports au Parlement

Le Parlement est renseigné sur les dépenses prévues par le dépôt des publications sur le budget des dépenses et l’édiction de projets de lois de crédits, suivant le cycle de présentation de rapports sur les dépenses gouvernementales. Les dépenses réelles sont présentées au moyen des rapports financiers trimestriels et des Comptes publics du Canada.

Responsabilité

Le Secteur de la gestion des dépenses appuie les ministres du Conseil du Trésor par la gestion et la surveillance des dépenses à tous les ordres du gouvernement, ce qui comprend le processus global, allant de la planification et de la mise en œuvre à l’analyse et au rendement.