Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - RPP 2007-2008
Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


Commissioner’s Message

Commissioner Graham Fraser

I am pleased to present to Parliament the Report on Plans and Priorities for 2007-2008 for the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL). This report presents an overview of our objectives, action plan, expected results and spending estimates for the fiscal year 2007-2008.

As Commissioner of Official Languages and officer of Parliament, it is my duty to take all necessary measures to ensure full recognition of the equal status of both official languages and compliance with the spirit and the letter of the Official Languages Act (the Act). It is also my duty to work toward ensuring compliance with the legislative intent of the Act with respect to the way that federal institutions and other organizations subject to the Act administer their affairs. I also have a responsibility to work towards the advancement of English and French in Canadian society.

I have the privilege of serving Canadians directly and through Parliament, with the support of my staff at Headquarters and at regional offices located throughout Canada. During my seven-year term, I will honor my predecessors’ legacy by continuing to work towards gaining full recognition by government that official languages are a fundamental value of our increasingly diverse Canadian society and thus a priority. That said, I am bringing to OCOL my own vision and personal experiences. I see my role as that of a bridge builder between the language communities, federal institutions and other organizations subject to the Act, and other orders of government. Canada’s linguistic duality is an essential component of our national identity. I will therefore be working to encourage dialogue, create synergies, and build links among federal institutions, Anglophone and Francophone Canadians, and people of all origins. In this regard, I will be considering the question of how to adapt the ombudsman role to new realities.

In November 2005, the amendments to Part VII of the Official Languages Act (promotion of English and French), clarified any ambiguity with respect to the enforceability of Part VII of the Act. The development of official language communities and the promotion of linguistic duality had long been the weak link in the Official Languages Act. I will closely monitor both the coordinating role of Canadian Heritage and the actions of federal institutions in fulfilling their obligations under this legislative change.

As the Government of Canada’s Action Plan for Official Languages will be entering in its fifth and final year, I will remind the government of the need for further investments in official languages, while maintaining and building on current gains.

In the coming year, all of us at OCOL look forward to working closely with parliamentarians toward our common goal of ensuring that linguistic duality is fully recognized as a central element of our Canadian identity that is critical to the national conversation.

I view my staff as the foundation of the OCOL's ongoing vitality and success. Obtaining the input of our employees is critical for creating an environment for success. In 2007-2008, we will continue to improve the quality of our workplace, recognizing that our people are at the heart of our effectiveness and our achievements. We recently received the results of the 2005 Public Service Employee Survey and we will follow-up on its findings and implement required changes.

The report you are about to read sets out my commitments and those of my staff. It describes the topics of the studies and audits we will be undertaking in 2007-2008. It also describes some of the court cases in which we are involved.

To sum up, the report reflects our determination to protect and promote our two official languages, English and French, throughout Canada.

Graham Fraser

Management Representation Statement

I submit for tabling in Parliament, the 2007-2008 Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP) for the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages.

This document has been prepared based on the reporting principles contained in the Guide for the Preparation of Part III of the 2007-2008 Estimates: Reports on Plans and Priorities and Departmental Performance Reports:

  • It adheres to the specific reporting requirements outlined in the Treasury Board Secretariat guidance;
  • It is based on the organization’s Program Activity Architecture that was approved by the Treasury Board;
  • It presents consistent, comprehensive, balanced and reliable information; 
  • It provides a basis of accountability for the results achieved with the resources and authorities entrusted to it; and
  • It reports finances based on approved planned spending numbers from the Treasury Board Secretariat in the RPP.

Toby Fyfe
Assistant Commissioner
Corporate Services Branch

Summary Information

Reason for Existence – As an officer of Parliament, the Commissioner has a mandate to promote the Official Languages Act and oversee its full implementation, protect the language rights of Canadians and promote linguistic duality and bilingualism in Canada.

The following parts of the Official Languages Act are treated in this report:

Part II Legislative and other instruments
Part III Administration of justice
Part IV Communications with and services to the public
Part V Language of work
Part VI Participation of English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians
Part VII Advancement of English and French
Part IX Commissioner of Official Languages
Part X Court remedy

A copy of the Official Languages Act can be found on OCOL’s Web site at the following address:

The Commissioner works at ensuring that the three key objectives of the Act are achieved and takes all necessary measures in that regard. More specifically, the objectives of the Act are to ensure:

  • The equality of English and French in Parliament, within the Government of Canada, the federal administration and institutions subject to the Act;
  • The development and vitality of official language minority communities in Canada; and
  • The equal status of English and French in Canadian society.

In pursuing these three objectives and the corresponding priorities, the Commissioner protects language rights by monitoring the federal institutions and other organizations compliance with the Act, and promoting Canada’s official languages and linguistic duality as fundamental aspects of our national identity. He plays six roles in this regard.


  1. Ombudsman role – The Commissioner receives and reviews complaints and, if required, investigates and makes necessary recommendations. In this role, he also conducts investigations on his own initiative, as he deems advisable.
  2. Court intervention role – The Commissioner aids in advancing Canadians’ language rights by seeking leave to intervene, when appropriate, in adjudicative proceedings relating to the status or use of English or French and to ensure that linguistic rights are respected.
  3. Auditing role – The Commissioner plays a proactive role by conducting audits to measure compliance of federal institutions and other organizations subject to the Act and proposes recommendations relating to the existing management framework within organizations.

    Promotion :

  4. Liaison role – The Commissioner works with federal institutions and other organizations, various levels of government and official language minority communities throughout the country. Through that interchange, he gains a better understanding of the needs and concerns of linguistic communities, makes relevant recommendations and intervenes judiciously in major official language issues.
  5. Monitoring role – The Commissioner acts preventively by intervening at the stage where laws, regulations and policies are developed so as to ensure that language rights remain a primary concern of leaders. He monitors implementation of the Act by federal institutions and other organizations, by evaluating their performance and intervening proactively before complaints are made.
  6. Promotion and education role – The Commissioner heightens Canadians’ awareness of the benefits of linguistic duality, works together with community organizations, takes appropriate action to have organizations subject to the Act give official languages and linguistic communities the attention they deserve, and contributes toward the development and enhancement of the vitality of official language minority communities. This role consists of conducting research, studies and public awareness activities. He delivers speeches and participates in conferences and workshops to inform all Canadians of the status and importance of the official languages.

OCOL uses the financial and human resources at its disposal (as reflected below) to achieve its mandate:

Financial Resources (in thousands of dollars)







Human Resources (Full-ti me equivalents [FTEs])








Operating eenvironment

The overall planning framework for OCOL reflects the Commissioner's independence from government. As Commissioner of Official Languages, he can exercise his ombudsman and auditing roles to urge the compliance of organizations subject to the Act. The Commissioner increasingly acts as a bridge builder, including attempting to influence other federal organizations, as well as other levels of government, to take actions that respect and advance the requirements of the Act.

The purpose of the Act – equal status for the two official languages and equality of rights and privileges regarding their use within federal institutions, as well as the recognition and vitality of linguistic duality in Canada – can be achieved only through actions undertaken and carried through by federal institutions and other organizations subject to the Act. This is why OCOL is constantly seeking effective, innovative methods to encourage decision makers to achieve these results on behalf of Canadians.

OCOL works closely with these organizations so that they gain a better understanding of the importance of linguistic duality. By encouraging federal institutions and other organizations subject to the Act to serve Canadians in the official language of their choice, OCOL assists in changing the government’s organizational culture and improving the quality of service.

Internal and external factors

In its day-to-day activities, OCOL establishes relationships with four main groups of stakeholders: parliamentarians, federal institutions and other organizations subject to the Act, official language minority communities and the Canadian public.

OCOL relies on the actions of its many stakeholders. In this respect, OCOL’s approach must be flexible, without losing its focus, in order to take into account, and act upon, shifts in the political, social and economic environment.

Like other federal institutions, OCOL espouses rigorous management principles and practices and continues to take measures to become a learning organization, which gives all employees opportunities to develop their skills and competencies. More specifically, OCOL’s plans and priorities for 2007-2008 are inspired by the main elements of the Treasury Board Secretariat Management Accountability Framework in applying its management principles:

  • Thinking about citizens first;
  • Applying a rigorous policy analysis;
  • Considering key risks;
  • Having the right work force;
  • Ensuring that public resources are managed with probity; and
  • Assigning clear accountabilities, with due regard to capability.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - RPP 2007-2008
Commissariat aux langues officielles


Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».


SECTION I – Survol

Message du commissaire

Commissioner Graham FraserJ'ai le plaisir de vous présenter le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2007-2008 du Commissariat aux langues officielles (le Commissariat). Ce rapport donne un aperçu de nos objectifs, de notre plan d'action, des résultats prévus et de notre plan de dépenses pour l'exercice financier 2007-2008.

À titre de commissaire aux langues officielles et de haut fonctionnaire du Parlement, il m'incombe de prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la pleine reconnaissance de l'égalité de statut des deux langues officielles et de faire respecter l'esprit et la lettre de la Loi sur les langues officielles (la Loi). Il est également de mon devoir de veiller au respect de l'intention du législateur en ce qui concerne la manière dont les institutions fédérales et les autres organismes assujettis à la Loi administrent leurs affaires. Je suis aussi responsable de promouvoir le français et l'anglais dans la société canadienne.

J'ai le privilège de servir les Canadiens et les Canadiennes directement et par l'entremise du Parlement avec l'appui de mon personnel à l'Administration centrale et dans les bureaux régionaux répartis dans tout le Canada. Au cours de mon mandat de sept ans, je respecterai le legs de mes prédécesseurs et poursuivrai leurs efforts pour que le gouvernement fasse des langues officielles une priorité et reconnaisse pleinement celles-ci en tant que valeur fondamentale dans une société canadienne de plus en plus diversifiée. Ceci dit, j'apporte au Commissariat ma propre vision et mes expériences personnelles. Je vois mon rôle comme celui d'un bâtisseur de ponts entre les communautés de langue officielle et les institutions fédérales et autres organismes assujettis à la Loi, ainsi que les divers ordres de gouvernement. La dualité linguistique canadienne constitue une composante essentielle de notre identité nationale. J'entreprends donc mon mandat avec l'objectif de favoriser les rapprochements, d'encourager le dialogue et de créer une synergie entre les institutions fédérales, les Canadiens et les Canadiennes francophones et anglophones, les citoyens de toutes les origines. Dans ce contexte, je poursuivrai la réflexion entreprise afin d'adapter le rôle d'ombudsman aux nouvelles réalités.

Les modifications apportées à la Partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles (promotion du français et de l'anglais) en novembre 2005, clarifiaient toute ambiguïté en ce qui concerne la force exécutoire de la partie VII de la Loi. Le développement des communautés de langue officielle et la promotion de la dualité linguistique étaient depuis longtemps le maillon faible de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Je suivrai de près à la fois le travail de coordination qu'accomplit Patrimoine canadien et les mesures prises par les institutions fédérales pour respecter leurs obligations en vertu de cette modification de la Loi.

Comme le Plan d'action pour les langues officielles en sera bientôt à sa cinquième et dernière année, je rappellerai au gouvernement l'importance de la nécessité d'investir davantage dans les langues officielles tout en prenant appui sur les gains actuels qu'il faudra conserver.

Au cours de l'année qui vient, tout le personnel du Commissariat se réjouit à l'idée de travailler en collaboration étroite avec les parlementaires en vue d'atteindre notre objectif commun : veiller à ce que la dualité linguistique soit pleinement reconnue en tant qu'élément central de notre identité canadienne, qui est essentiel à la conversation nationale.

Pour moi, mon personnel est le fondement de la vitalité et du succès continu du Commissariat. Pour créer un milieu propice au succès, il est crucial de tenir compte des commentaires des employés. En 2007-2008, nous continuerons à améliorer la qualité de notre milieu de travail, conscients du fait que les employés sont au cœur même de notre efficacité et de nos réalisations. Nous venons de recevoir les résultats du Sondage auprès des fonctionnaires fédéraux 2005 et nous donnerons suite aux recommandations qui y sont faites et apporterons les modifications requises.

Je vous invite à prendre connaissance du présent rapport qui fait état de mes engagements et de ceux de mon personnel. Vous y découvrirez les champs d'intérêt en ce qui a trait à nos études et vérifications au cours de cette période visée. De plus, certaines des interventions devant les tribunaux sont présentées.

En outre, ce rapport reflète notre détermination à protéger et à promouvoir nos deux langues officielles, le français et l'anglais, partout au Canada.

Graham Fraser

Déclaration de la direction

Je soumets, en vue de son dépôt au Parlement, le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2007-2008 du Commissariat aux langues officielles.

Le présent document a été préparé conformément aux principes de préparation des rapports énoncés dans le Guide pour la préparation de la partie III du budget des dépenses de 2007-2008 : rapports sur les plans et les priorités et rapports ministériels sur le rendement.

  • Il est conforme aux exigences précises de déclaration figurant dans les lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor;
  • Il repose sur l'architecture des activités de programmes de l'organisation qui a été approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • Il présente une information cohérente, complète, équilibrée et fiable;
  • Il fournit une base pour la reddition de comptes à l'égard des résultats obtenus avec les ressources et les autorisations qui sont confiées au Commissariat aux langues officielles;
  • Il rend compte de la situation financière en fonction des chiffres des dépenses prévues approuvées provenant du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Toby Fyfe
Commissaire adjoint
Direction générale des services corporatifs

Renseignements sommaires

Raison d'être – À titre de haut fonctionnaire du Parlement, le commissaire a pour mandat de promouvoir la Loi sur les langues officielles (la Loi) et de veiller à sa mise en œuvre intégrale, de protéger les droits linguistiques des Canadiens et des Canadiennes et de soutenir la dualité linguistique et le bilinguisme au Canada.

Les parties de la Loi sur les langues officielles traitées dans ce rapport sont les suivantes :

Partie II Actes législatifs et autres
Partie III Administration de la justice
Partie IV Communications avec le public et prestation des services
Partie V Langue de travail
Partie VI Participation des Canadiens et des Canadiennes d'expression française et d'expression anglaise
Partie VII Promotion du français et de l'anglais
Partie IX Commissaire aux langues officielles
Partie X Recours judiciaire

Une copie de la Loi sur les langues officielles se retrouve au site web du Commissariat à l'adresse suivante : www.ocol-clo.gc.ca.

Le commissaire s'assure que les trois principaux objectifs de la Loi sont atteints et prend toutes les mesures nécessaires à cet égard. Plus précisément, les objectifs de la Loi sont de garantir :

  • l'égalité du français et de l'anglais au Parlement, au gouvernement du Canada, dans l'administration fédérale et les institutions assujetties à la Loi;
  • le développement et l'épanouissement des communautés minoritaires de langue officielle au Canada;
  • l'égalité de statut du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne.

En cherchant à atteindre ces trois objectifs et à réaliser les priorités qui s'y rapportent, le commissaire, par l'entremise des six rôles suivants, travaille à protéger les droits linguistiques en surveillant l'application de la Loi par les institutions fédérales et autres organismes et à promouvoir les langues officielles du Canada et le respect de la dualité linguistique, aspect fondamental de notre identité nationale.

Protection :

  1. Rôle d'ombudsman – Le commissaire reçoit des plaintes, les examine et, s'il y a lieu, fait enquête et émet les recommandations qui s'imposent; il s'acquitte aussi de ce rôle en entreprenant des enquêtes de sa propre initiative lorsqu'il le juge opportun.
  2. Rôle d'intervention devant les tribunaux – Le commissaire contribue à faire avancer les droits linguistiques des Canadiens et des Canadiennes en demandant d'intervenir, lorsque les circonstances le justifient, devant les tribunaux dans toute instance judiciaire relative au statut ou à l'usage du français ou de l'anglais et afin d'assurer le respect des droits linguistiques.
  3. Rôle de vérification – Le commissaire agit de façon proactive en procédant à des vérifications afin de mesurer le niveau de conformité des institutions fédérales et des autres organismes assujettis à la Loi et propose des recommandations s'appliquant au cadre de gestion existant au sein des organismes.

    Promotion :

  4. Rôle de liaison – Le commissaire collabore avec les institutions fédérales et autres organismes, les divers ordres de gouvernement et les communautés minoritaires de langue officielle à travers le pays. Ces échanges lui permettent de mieux comprendre les besoins et les préoccupations des communautés linguistiques, de faire des recommandations pertinentes et d'intervenir judicieusement dans des dossiers importants en matière de langues officielles.
  5. Rôle de vigie – Le commissaire exerce une action préventive en intervenant à l'étape de l'élaboration des lois, des règlements et des politiques pour s'assurer que les droits linguistiques demeurent au centre des préoccupations des dirigeants. Il surveille la mise en œuvre de la Loi par les institutions fédérales et autres organismes en évaluant leur rendement et en intervenant de façon proactive avant le dépôt de plaintes.
  6. Rôle de promotion et d'éducation – Le commissaire sensibilise la population canadienne aux avantages de la dualité linguistique, collabore avec les organismes communautaires, intervient auprès des divers organismes assujettis à la Loi pour que les langues officielles et les communautés linguistiques reçoivent l'attention qu'elles méritent, et contribue au développement et à l'épanouissement du dynamisme des communautés minoritaires de langue officielle. Il exerce notamment son rôle au moyen de recherches, d'études et d'activités de sensibilisation du public. Il prononce aussi des allocutions et participe à des conférences et des ateliers dans le but d'informer la population canadienne du statut et de l'importance des langues officielles.

Le Commissariat utilise les ressources financières et humaines mises à sa disposition (comme le montrent les données ci-dessous) pour réaliser son mandat :

Ressources financières (en milliers de dollars)

2007-2008

2008-2009

2009-2010

19 232

19 232

19 232

Ressources humaines (Équivalents temps plein [ETP])

2007-2008

2008-2009

2009-2010

167

167

167

Plans

Environnement opérationnel

Le cadre de planification globale du Commissariat reflète le statut d'indépendance du commissaire par rapport au gouvernement. À titre de commissaire aux langues officielles, il peut exercer ses fonctions d'ombudsman et de vérificateur pour demander aux organisations assujetties à la Loi de s'y conformer. Le commissaire agit comme un bâtisseur de ponts qui tente d'inciter également les autres organismes fédéraux, aussi bien que les divers ordres de gouvernement, à poser des gestes qui respectent et devancent les exigences de la Loi.

L'objet de la Loi – un statut égal pour les deux langues officielles et l'égalité des droits et des privilèges quant à leur usage dans les institutions fédérales ainsi que la reconnaissance et l'épanouissement de la dualité linguistique au Canada – ne peut être atteint que grâce aux actions entreprises et menées à bien par les institutions fédérales et autres organismes assujettis à la Loi. C'est pourquoi le Commissariat est toujours à la recherche de méthodes efficaces et novatrices pour inciter les décideurs à atteindre ces résultats au nom des Canadiens et des Canadiennes.

Le Commissariat travaille en étroite collaboration avec ces organismes pour qu'ils comprennent mieux l'importance de la dualité linguistique. En encourageant les institutions fédérales et autres organismes assujettis à la Loi à servir les Canadiens et les Canadiennes dans la langue officielle de leur choix, le Commissariat contribue à modifier la culture organisationnelle du gouvernement et à améliorer la qualité du service.

Facteurs internes et externes

Le Commissariat entretient dans ses activités quotidiennes des rapports avec quatre principaux groupes d'interlocuteurs : les parlementaires, les institutions fédérales et les autres organismes assujettis à la Loi, les communautés minoritaires de langue officielle et la population canadienne.

Le Commissariat dépend des gestes posés par ses nombreux interlocuteurs. À cet égard, son approche doit être souple, tout en demeurant ciblée, afin de tenir compte des changements qui surviennent dans le contexte politique, social et économique et de leur donner suite.

Comme les autres institutions fédérales, le Commissariat adopte des principes et des pratiques de gestion rigoureuse et continue à prendre des mesures qui en feront une organisation apprenante, c'est-à-dire une organisation qui permet à son personnel d'améliorer ses compétences et ses capacités. Entre autres, le Commissariat s'inspire des éléments du cadre de responsabilisation de gestion du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor dans l'application de ses principes de gestion :

  • penser d'abord à l'intérêt des citoyens;
  • analyser rigoureusement les politiques;
  • tenir compte des principaux risques;
  • disposer d'une main-d'œuvre compétente;
  • s'assurer que les ressources publiques sont gérées avec intégrité;
  • attribuer des responsabilités précises qui tiennent compte des capacités.