Departmental Performance Reports (DPR)

Departmental Performance Reports (DPRs) are part of the Estimates family of documents. Estimates documents support appropriation acts, which specify the amounts and broad purposes for which funds can be spent by the government. The Estimates document family has three parts.

Part I

The Government Expenditure Plan provides an overview of federal spending.

Part II

The Main Estimates list the financial resources required by individual departments, agencies and Crown corporations for the upcoming fiscal year.

Part III

The Departmental Expenditure Plans consist of two documents. Reports on Plans and Priorities (RPPs) are expenditure plans for each appropriated department and agency (excluding Crown corporations). They describe departmental priorities, strategic outcomes, programs, expected results and associated resource requirements, covering a three-year period beginning with the year indicated in the title of the report. RPPs are tabled in Parliament by the President of the Treasury Board on behalf of the ministers who preside over the appropriation-dependent departments and agencies identified in Schedules I, I.1 and II of the Financial Administration Act. Once tabled, on or before March 31, RPPs are referred to committees, which may then report to the House of Commons pursuant to Standing Order 81(7). Departmental Performance Reports (DPRs) are individual department and agency accounts of actual performance, for the most recently completed fiscal year, against the plans, priorities and expected results set out in their respective RPPs. DPRs inform parliamentarians and Canadians of the results achieved by government organizations for Canadians.

Additionally, Supplementary Estimates documents present information on spending requirements that were either not sufficiently developed in time for inclusion in the Main Estimates or were subsequently refined to account for developments in particular programs and services.

The financial information in DPRs is drawn directly from authorities presented in the Main Estimates and the planned spending information in RPPs. The financial information in DPRs is also consistent with information in the Public Accounts of Canada. The Public Accounts of Canada include the Government of Canada Consolidated Statement of Financial Position, the Consolidated Statement of Operations and Accumulated Deficit, the Consolidated Statement of Change in Net Debt, and the Consolidated Statement of Cash Flow, as well as details of financial operations segregated by ministerial portfolio for a given fiscal year. For the DPR, two types of financial information are drawn from the Public Accounts of Canada: authorities available for use by an appropriated organization for the fiscal year, and authorities used for that same fiscal year. The latter corresponds to actual spending as presented in the DPR.

The Treasury Board Policy on Management, Resources and Results Structures further strengthens the alignment of the performance information presented in RPPs, DPRs, other Estimates documents and the Public Accounts of Canada. The policy establishes the Program Alignment Architecture of appropriated organizations as the structure against which financial and non-financial performance information is provided for Estimates and parliamentary reporting. The same reporting structure applies irrespective of whether the organization is reporting in the Main Estimates, the RPP, the DPR or the Public Accounts of Canada.

Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Rapports ministériels sur le rendement (RMR)

Le rapport ministériel sur le rendement (RMR) fait partie de la série de documents budgétaires. Ces documents appuient les lois de crédits, qui précisent les montants pouvant être dépensés par le gouvernement et à quelles fins générales. Les documents budgétaires comptent trois parties.

Partie I

Le plan de dépenses du gouvernement présente un aperçu des dépenses fédérales.

Partie II

Le budget principal des dépenses décrit les ressources financières requises au prochain exercice pour chaque ministère, organisme et société d'État.

Partie III

Les plans de dépenses des ministères sont constitués de deux documents. Le RPP est un plan de dépenses établi par chaque ministère et organisme qui reçoit des crédits du Parlement (à l'exception des sociétés d'État). Ce rapport présente, pour une période de trois ans commençant à l'exercice indiqué dans le titre du rapport, des renseignements détaillés sur les priorités, les résultats stratégiques, les programmes, les résultats attendus et les ressources connexes requises. Les RPP sont déposés au Parlement par le président du Conseil du Trésor au nom des ministres responsables des ministères et organismes dépendant des crédits votés qui sont désignés aux annexes I, I.1 et II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Une fois déposés, au plus tard le 31 mars, les RPP sont renvoyés aux comités, qui font ensuite rapport à la Chambre des communes conformément au paragraphe 81(7) du Règlement. Le RMR dresse un bilan du rendement réel obtenu par chaque ministère et organisme au cours du plus récent exercice terminé, au regard des plans, des priorités et des résultats attendus énoncés dans son propre RPP. Le RMR informe les parlementaires et la population des résultats obtenus par les organismes gouvernementaux pour les Canadiens.

Par ailleurs, les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses présentent de l'information sur les besoins en matière de dépenses qui n'étaient pas suffisamment définis pour être inclus dans le budget principal des dépenses ou qui ont été précisés ultérieurement afin de rendre compte de l'évolution de programmes et de services particuliers.

L’information financière présentée dans le RMR provient directement des autorisations décrites dans le budget principal des dépenses et des renseignements fournis dans le RPP sur les dépenses prévues. Cette information financière correspond à celle fournie dans les Comptes publics du Canada. Ceux‑ci renferment l’État consolidé de la situation financière, l’État consolidé des résultats et du déficit accumulé, l’État consolidé de la variation de la dette nette et l’État consolidé des flux de trésorerie du gouvernement du Canada, de même que des renseignements détaillés des opérations financières ventilés par portefeuille ministériel pour un exercice donné. Deux types d’information financière présentée dans le RMR proviennent des Comptes publics du Canada : les autorisations budgétaires disponibles pour emploi au nouvel exercice par une organisation qui reçoit des crédits parlementaires, et les autorisations utilisées lors de cet exercice. Ces dernières autorisations correspondent aux dépenses réelles décrites dans le RMR.

La Politique sur la structure de la gestion, des ressources et des résultats du Conseil du Trésor favorise une plus grande concordance de l'information sur le rendement présentée dans les RPP, les RMRs, les autres documents budgétaires et les Comptes publics du Canada. La politique définit l'architecture d'alignement des programmes comme une structure par rapport à laquelle l'information sur le rendement financier et non financier est fournie aux fins des documents budgétaires et des rapports au Parlement. Peu importe si l'organisation présente l'information dans le budget principal des dépenses, le RPP, le RMR ou les Comptes publics du Canada, la même structure est utilisée.

Date de modification :