We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Report on Assessment of Privacy Concerns Related to USA PATRIOT Act

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

In 2004, the Government of Canada responded diligently to concerns about possible privacy risks posed by foreign legislation, such as the USA PATRIOT Act, by requiring all 160 federal institutions under the Privacy Act to assess their contracting arrangements and to take remedial actions where needed. 

The purpose of this assessment was to identify, evaluate, and, if appropriate, mitigate any possible risks related to the USA PATRIOT Act and other foreign legislation.

The review is now complete and the results are publicly available in the final report, Privacy Matters: The Federal Strategy to Address Concerns about the USA PATRIOT Act and Transborder Data Flows.

Summary of Results

The results are positive for Canadians. The findings indicate that most federal institutions have indicated "zero to low risk" of Canadians' personal information or other sensitive information – such as commercial confidential and security-related information – being accessed under the USA PATRIOT Act.

Departments and agencies have used the results of the review to determine and implement mitigating strategies where required. In addition, the Government of Canada has developed a federal strategy to further mitigate risks. This strategy includes a wide range of measures including guidance that has been developed for institutions so that privacy is an integral part of the decision-making process around contracting.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) is responsible for coordinating the government's action plan with respect to risks associated with the handling of personal information under contracts. TBS provides guidance and advice regarding privacy and contracting to assist institutions. However, it is the responsibility of each Government of Canada institution to identify and assess risks inherent to the institution's own outsourcing activities and to develop internal strategies to mitigate or manage risks.

Guidance for Federal Government Institutions

TBS has prepared a guidance document for federal institutions. The document includes a privacy checklist and up-front advice on considering privacy prior to initiating contracts. It also includes advice for developing specific privacy protection clauses that can be used in Requests for Proposals (RFPs) and contracts.

The Government of Canada sees the issues raised by the USA PATRIOT Act as being similar to any foreign legislation that has the potential to allow access to Canadians' personal information on the part of foreign authorities. As a result, the government's measures are designed to address the broader issue of transborder data flows.

For more information on transborder data flow and protecting your privacy, consult our Frequently Asked Questions document relating to this issue.

Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Introduction au Rapport sur l'Évaluation des questions de protection de la vie privée liées à la USA PATRIOT Act

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

En 2004, le gouvernement du Canada a réagi diligemment aux préoccupations liées aux risques possibles qu'une loi étrangère comme la USA PATRIOT Act pourrait comporter en exigeant que toutes les 160 institutions fédérales régies par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels évaluent leurs dispositions en matière de passation des contrats et de prendre des mesures correctrices au besoin.

La raison d'être de cette évaluation était de cerner, d'évaluer et, le cas échéant, d'atténuer tout risque potentiel lié à la USA PATRIOT Act et à tout autre régime juridique étranger.

L'examen est maintenant achevé et les résultats sont publiés dans un rapport définitif, Questions de protection de la vie privée; la stratégie fédérale visant à traiter les préoccupations surla USA PATRIOT Act et le flux de données transfrontière.

Résumé des résultats

Les résultats sont positifs pour les Canadiens. Les conclusions révèlent que la plupart des institutions fédérales ont indiqué un « risque nul à faible » que des renseignements personnels des Canadiens ou que d'autres renseignements délicats — comme les renseignements commerciaux confidentiels et de sécurité — puissent être divulgués en vertu de la USA PATRIOT Act.

Les ministères et organismes utilisent les résultats de cet examen pour établir et mettre en œuvre des stratégies d'atténuation au besoin. De plus, le gouvernement du Canada a élaboré une stratégie fédérale visant à atténuer encore les risques. Cette stratégie comporte un vaste éventail de mesures telles l'élaboration d'un guide pour les institutions de sorte que la protection de la vie privée devienne partie intégrale du processus de prise de décisions lié à la passation des contrats.

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT) est responsable de coordonner le plan d'action du gouvernement quant aux risques associés au traitement des renseignements personnels dans les contrats. Le SCT donne une orientation et des conseils en matière de protection de la vie privée et de passation de marchés pour assister les institutions. Chaque institution du gouvernement du Canada est toutefois responsable de cerner et d'évaluer les risques inhérents à ses activités de passation de marchés et d'élaborer des stratégies internes en vue de les atténuer ou de les gérer.

Orientation pour les institutions du gouvernement fédéral

Le SCT a préparé un document d'orientation pour les institutions fédérales. Ce document comporte une liste de vérification sur la protection de la vie privée et des conseils directs pour tenir compte de la protection de la vie privée avant de passer des marchés. Il comporte également des conseils sur l'élaboration de dispositions relatives à la protection de la vie privée particulières qui peuvent être utilisées dans les demandes de propositions (DP) et les contrats.

Le gouvernement du Canada considère l'enjeu que constitue la USA PATRIOT Act comme étant semblable à toute loi étrangère qui donnerait accès aux renseignements personnels des Canadiens à des autorités étrangères. C'est dire que les mesures du gouvernement son conçues pour tenir compte de l'enjeu plus large du flux de données transfrontière.

Pour obtenir plus d'information sur le flux de données transfrontière et la protection de la vie privée, consultez notre Foire aux questions sur ce sujet.

Date de modification :