Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Frequently Asked Questions: USA PATRIOT ACT Comprehensive Assessment Results

  1. What is the USA PATRIOT Act and why is it considered an issue related to the privacy and the protection of personal information?
  2. Why is the protection of personal information a priority?
  3. How worried should I be that my personal information could be accessed under the USA PATRIOT Act?
  4. How is it possible for my personal records to be accessible under the USA PATRIOT Act?
  5. If personal information is at greater risk when the information is outside of Canada, why not avoid using suppliers with connections to other countries?
  6. Has there been a case where personal information about a Canadian was accessed under the USA PATRIOT Act?
  7. Is there other legislation similar to the USA PATRIOT Act?
  8. When did the government conduct its review of outsourcing contracts, and what were the results of the review?
  9. What action has the Government taken to downgrade the "Medium to High" risk departments and agencies to a lower risk category?
  10. Were institutions prepared to cope right away with the potential risks identified in the review?
  11. Were any additional practices put into place to further mitigate risk?
  12. Within the federal government, who is responsible for making sure government contracts address the issue of personal information being accessed by foreign laws?
  13. What other measures are federal institutions putting into place to mitigate potential risks?
  14. Who is responsible for protecting my personal information?
  15. Are there any laws that the federal government must follow to protect personal information under its control?
  16. What about the private sector?
  17. Is there an organization in Canada looking out for my privacy rights?
  18. What can I do to protect my personal information?

1.What is the USA PATRIOT Act and why is it considered an issue related to the privacy and the protection of personal information?

  • The USA PATRIOT Act (Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism Act) was introduced in the United States in October 2001 as an anti-terrorism measure.
  • The Act permits U.S. law enforcement officials, for the purpose of an anti-terrorism investigation, to seek a court order that allows access to the personal records of any person without that person's knowledge.
  • Under the Act, U.S. officials could access information about citizens of other countries, including Canada, if that information is physically within the United States or accessible electronically. The potential exists, therefore, for law enforcement agencies to obtain information about Canadians whose information might be handled under a contract between the federal government and a U.S.-based company.

2. Why is the protection of personal information a priority?

  • Privacy has long been considered a fundamental right in Canada. A number of public opinion surveys show that Canadians are concerned about the protection of their personal information. The Government of Canada, recognized internationally as a leader in the creation of privacy laws and policies, shares that concern and is committed to the protection of Canadians' privacy.

3. How worried should I be that my personal information could be accessed under the USA PATRIOT Act

  • The chances of this happening are remote.

4. How is it possible for my personal records to be accessible under the USA PATRIOT Act?

  • Today's information technologies, such as the Internet, make it easy for organizations and individuals to exchange information quickly around the globe. The transfer of information across borders, including personal and sensitive information, is known as "transborder data flow".
  • Transborder data flows are becoming more common as companies and governments take advantage of outsourcing.
  • In today's global economy, suppliers can be located anywhere in the world. Even if a domestic supplier is chosen, it may have offices located in other countries.
  • When a supplier is hired to administer personal information and any part of its operations, including subcontractors, are outside of Canada, then the laws of the other country (or countries) may be applicable to information stored or accessible electronically in the foreign country. If a company located in the United States or with U.S. connections is hired, then the USA PATRIOT Act may be applicable.

5. If personal information is at greater risk when the information is outside of Canada, why not avoid using suppliers with connections to other countries?

  • Federal government institutions have risk management strategies in place that examine all aspects of outsourcing. When highly sensitive information is involved, a priority is placed on keeping such information in direct control of the government or within Canadian borders.
  • Having said this, the use of suppliers between countries has become an essential component of the world economy. While Canada uses suppliers based in other countries, companies based in Canada are also used by other nations. This has meant increased prosperity since one in every four jobs is related to international trade. Canadians also benefit from a global supply of goods and services.
  • The Government of Canada is obligated to make certain contracting opportunities available to companies in other countries under a number of international arrangements including the North American Free Trade agreement (NAFTA) and the World Trade Organization.  Canadian companies also benefit from access to contracts in other nations.

6. Has there been a case where personal information about a Canadian was accessed under the USA PATRIOT Act?

  • The federal government is not aware of any such case to date.

7. Is there other legislation similar to the USA PATRIOT Act?

  • Since transborder data flow is global, the issue is not restricted to the USA PATRIOT Act. There are other laws around the world that allow access to personal information in the interest of fighting terrorism and to thwart other criminal activities. Therefore, the Government of Canada has taken the view that measures to protect privacy should be broad in scope and not confined to just the USA PATRIOT Act.

8. When did the government conduct its review of outsourcing contracts, and what were the results of the review? 

  • The review was initiated in late 2004 and completed in the summer of 2005.
  • TBS asked federal institutions that fall under the Privacy Act to rate the status of their outsourcing contracts in relation to the potential risk of personal information being accessed under the USA PATRIOT Act.
  • Most of the 160 federal institutions – more than 80 percent – rated their contracts as having no risk at all, or a low risk, because information is either being processed only by the government itself or by a company operating only in Canada.
  • Of the remaining institutions, outsourcing of some contracts was rated "Low to Medium" (19 institutions) because of a potential supplier connection outside of Canada and "Medium to High" (seven institutions) because information is being processed outside of Canada.

9. What action has the Government taken to downgrade the "Medium to High" risk departments and agencies to a lower risk category?

  • Only seven out of 160 institutions included in the assessment rated themselves in the "Medium to High category". These institutions have already begun taking steps to mitigate potential risks by taking measures such as using contractual provisions and auditing and segregating databases. Moreover, the concerns will be addressed further when the contracts come up for renewal.
  • TBS has produced a guidance document to assist federal institutions before they make a decision to engage in outsourcing that involves personal or other sensitive information, whether within Canada or across borders.
  • The Government has asked the seven institutions that identified a medium to high risk to submit updates on their plans to address these risks and to report on those risks that have been addressed since submitting their initial assessment.
  • In addition, the Government initiated quarterly reporting against the implementation plans of these seven institutions.
  • We have also requested quarterly progress reports on the commitments made by some key departments (such as Industry Canada and the Department of Justice) that play a part in the Government's overall strategy.

10. Were institutions prepared to cope right away with the potential risks identified in the review?

  • For the most part, yes. The review revealed that many strategies and best practices were already in place to meet challenges posed by today's transborder data flows.
  • Existing best practices included the segregation of personal information from other records held by contractors; audit trails to closely monitor how information is being handled; approval by the government of any subcontracting; the signing of non-disclosure agreements and the use of encryption technology allowing only government officials to view data.
  • Some institutions that process particularly sensitive information ensure that the information is never removed from a federal government site.

11. Were any additional practices put into place to further mitigate risk?

  • Yes, many institutions reported that they are implementing additional mitigating measures to guard against existing and future unauthorized disclosure.
  • These expanded practices include internal processes to review all new outsourcing agreements and the monitoring of contracts where foreign companies have access to personal or other sensitive information.

12. Within the federal government, who is responsible for making sure government contracts address the issue of personal information being accessed by foreign laws?

  • The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) is responsible for coordinating the government's action plan with respect to risks associated with the handling of personal information under contracts.  However, it is the responsibility of each Government of Canada institution to identify and assess risks inherent to the institution's own outsourcing activities and to develop its own strategies to mitigate or manage risks.  TBS is providing guidance and advice regarding privacy and contracting to assist institutions.

13. What other measures are federal institutions putting into place to mitigate potential risks?

  • Institutions are developing risk management approaches to reduce the risks associated with foreign legislation, which will be incorporated in their overall corporate risk management framework.
  • TBS has prepared a guidance document (insert hyperlink) for federal institutions. The document includes a privacy checklist and up-front advice on considering privacy prior to initiating contracts. It also includes advice for developing specific privacy protection clauses that can be used in Requests for Proposals (RFPs) and contracts.
  • Public service training programs will include modules to enhance awareness of risks.
  • Technology solutions will be explored to protect information flows.

14. Who is responsible for protecting my personal information?

  • Protecting personal information is not just the responsibility of the federal government. All levels of government, private organizations and Canadians themselves share this responsibility.

15. Are there any laws that the federal government must follow to protect personal information under its control?

  • Yes, each federal government institution is accountable under federal laws that apply to the operation of their programs and services.
  • One law affecting most federal institutions is the federal Privacy Act. The Act was introduced in 1983to limit the collection, use and disclosure of personal information, and more than 160 federal institutions must follow the requirements of the Act.
  • Ten additional institutions, or Crown corporations, were brought under the jurisdiction of the Privacy Act by Order in Council on August 31, 2005.
  • Other federal laws such as the Income Tax Act, the Statistics Act, the Employment Insurance Act, the Old Age Security Act and the Canada Pension Plan Act, add an additional layer of privacy protection.
  • The provinces have privacy laws, policies and procedures similar to the federal government relevant to their particular circumstances.

16. What about the private sector?

  • The Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) governs personal information used by private sector companies in most provinces and all territories.
  • PIPEDA applies to any organization involved in commercial activity for the collection, use and disclosure of personal information.
  • Under PIPEDA, a person has the right to know why a business wants to collect their personal information.
  • Where provinces have privacy laws that are substantially similar to PIPEDA, the provincials law govern provincially regulated private sector operations within their borders.

17. Is there an organization in Canada looking out for my privacy rights? 

  • The Privacy Commissioner of Canada looks out for the privacy rights of Canadians. The Commissioner can investigate complaints that are made under the Privacy Act and PIPEDA. The Commissioner also serves as an advocate for privacy rights, carries out privacy research and publishes information about privacy best practices.

18. What can I do to protect my personal information?

  • You have the right to know and ask why a business or organization is collecting, using or disclosing your personal information such as your name, age, medical records, marital status and income. You also have the right to check personal information and correct any inaccuracies.
  • If you have a concern about how your personal information is being handled, you can complain to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada or a provincial or territorial commissioner (depending upon the organization whose conduct has raised the concern). For more information about the Office of the Privacy Commissioner, visit its Web site

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Foire aux questions : Résultats de l'évaluation approfondie de la USA PATRIOT ACT

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

  1. Qu'est-ce que la USA PATRIOT Act et en quoi est-elle liée à la protection de la vie privée et des renseignements personnels ?
  2. Pourquoi la protection des renseignements personnels est-elle une priorité ?
  3. Devrais-je m'inquiéter qu'on puisse avoir accès à mes renseignements personnels en vertu de la USA PATRIOT Act ?
  4. Comment mes dossiers personnels pourraient-ils être accessibles en vertu de la USA PATRIOT Act 
  5. Si les renseignements personnels sont plus vulnérables quand ils sont à l'extérieur du Canada, pourquoi ne pas éviter d'avoir recours à des fournisseurs ayant des liens avec les autres pays ?
  6. Y a-t-il des cas où des renseignements personnels sur des Canadiens ont été divulgués en vertu de la USA PATRIOT Act ?
  7. Y a-t-il d'autres lois semblables à la USA PATRIOT Act ?
  8. Quand le gouvernement a-t-il examiné la passation de ses marchés et quels ont été les résultats de cet examen ?
  9. Quelles mesures le gouvernement a-t-il prises pour faire passer les ministères et organismes à risque élevé à une catégorie de risque plus faible ?
  10. Les institutions étaient-elles prêtes à transiger avec les risques potentiels cernés par l'examen ?
  11. D'autres pratiques additionnelles ont-elles été mises en place pour atténuer encore les risques ?
  12. Au sein du gouvernement fédéral, qui est responsable de garantir que les contrats du gouvernement tiennent compte de l'accès aux renseignements personnels par d'autres lois étrangères ?
  13. Quelles autres mesures les institutions fédérales mettent-elles en place pour atténuer les risques potentiels ?
  14. Qui est responsable de protéger mes renseignements personnels ?
  15. Existe-t-il des lois que le gouvernement fédéral doit appliquer afin de protéger les renseignements personnels sous son contrôle ?
  16. Qu'en est-il du secteur privé ?
  17. Existe-t-il un organisme au Canada chargé de veiller à mes droits relatifs à la protection de la vie privée ?
  18. Que puis-je faire pour protéger mes renseignements personnels ?

1. Qu'est-ce que la USA PATRIOT Act et en quoi est-elle liée à la protection de la vie privée et des renseignements personnels ?

  • La USA PATRIOT Act (Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism Act) [Unifiant et renforçant l'Amérique en offrant les outils appropriés nécessaires à l'interception et à l'obstruction des actes terroristes] a été adoptée aux États-Unis en octobre 2001 à titre de mesure antiterroriste.
  • Cette loi permet aux autorités policières des États-Unis, aux fins des enquêtes antiterroristes, d'obtenir une ordonnance d'un tribunal leur donnant accès aux dossiers personnels de toute personne à l'insu de cette dernière.
  • En vertu de cette loi, les autorités américaines auraient accès à l'information sur les citoyens des autres pays, dont le Canada, si elle est physiquement aux États-Unis ou accessible électroniquement. Il est donc possible pour les autorités policières d'obtenir de l'information sur des Canadiens dont les renseignements pourraient être échangés en vertu d'un contrat entre le gouvernement fédéral et une société américaine.

2. Pourquoi la protection des renseignements personnels est-elle une priorité ?

  • La vie privée est depuis longtemps un droit fondamental au Canada. Plusieurs sondages d'opinions révèlent que les Canadiens se préoccupent de la protection de leurs renseignements personnels. Le gouvernement du Canada, reconnu mondialement comme chef de file dans la création de lois et politiques en matière de protection de la vie privée, partage ces préoccupations et est un défenseur de la protection de la vie privée des Canadiens.

3. Devrais-je m'inquiéter qu'on puisse avoir accès à mes renseignements personnels en vertu de la USA PATRIOT Act ?

  • Les chances que cela se produise sont minces.

4. Comment mes dossiers personnels pourraient-ils être accessibles en vertu de la USA PATRIOT Act ?

  • Les technologies de l'information d'aujourd'hui, comme l'Internet, permettent aux organisations et aux personnes l'échange facile et rapide d'information. Le transfert de renseignements au-delà des frontières, y compris les renseignements personnels et délicats, s'appelle « flux de données transfrontière ».
  • Les flux de données transfrontières sont de plus en plus courants à mesure que les sociétés et les gouvernements profitent de l'impartition à l'étranger.
  • Dans l'économie mondiale d'aujourd'hui, les fournisseurs peuvent être n'importe où dans le monde. Même si on choisit un fournisseur intérieur, il peut avoir des bureaux situés dans d'autres pays.
  • Lorsqu'un fournisseur est choisi pour administrer des renseignements personnels et qu'une partie de son exploitation, y compris les sous-traitants, est à l'extérieur du Canada, les lois de l'autre pays (ou des autres pays) peuvent s'appliquer aux renseignements conservés ou accessibles électroniquement dans le pays étranger. Si on engage une société des États-Unis ou ayant des liens avec les États-Unis, la USA PATRIOT Act pourrait s'appliquer. 

5. Si les renseignements personnels sont plus vulnérables quand ils sont à l'extérieur du Canada, pourquoi ne pas éviter d'avoir recours à des fournisseurs ayant des liens avec les autres pays ?

  • Les institutions du gouvernement fédéral ont des stratégies de gestion du risque pour examiner tous les aspects de la passation des marchés. Lorsque des renseignements très délicats sont en jeu, on donne la priorité au maintien de ces renseignements sous le contrôle du gouvernement ou à l'intérieur des frontières canadiennes.
  • Cela dit, le recours à des fournisseurs entre pays fait maintenant partie essentielle de l'économie mondiale. Même si le Canada a recours à des fournisseurs des autres pays, ces autres pays font également appel aux sociétés canadiennes. Cela a augmenté la prospérité puisqu'un emploi sur quatre est lié au commerce international. Les Canadiens bénéficient également de l'approvisionnement mondial des produits et services.
  • Le gouvernement du Canada est obligé de donner accès à certaines passations de marchés aux sociétés des autres pays en vertu de plusieurs accords internationaux, dont l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA) et l'Organisation mondiale du commerce.  Les sociétés canadiennes ont également accès aux marchés des autres pays.

6. Y a-t-il des cas où des renseignements personnels sur des Canadiens ont été divulgués en vertu de la USA PATRIOT Act ?

  • Le gouvernement fédéral ne connaît aucun cas semblable jusqu'ici.

7. Y a-t-il d'autres lois semblables à la USA PATRIOT Act ?

  • Comme les flux de données transfrontières sont mondiaux, la question ne se limite pas à la USA PATRIOT Act. Il y a dans le monde d'autres lois qui donnent accès aux renseignements personnels pour la lutte contre le terrorisme et d'autres activités criminelles. Par conséquent, le gouvernement du Canada a décidé que les mesures en vue de protéger la vie privée doivent avoir une portée très large et ne pas se limiter pas à la seule USA PATRIOT Act.  

8. Quand le gouvernement a-t-il examiné la passation de ses marchés et quels ont été les résultats de cet examen ?

  • L'examen a été lancé à la fin de 2004 et achevé à l'été 2005.
  • Le SCT a demandé aux institutions fédérales qui sont régies par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels d'évaluer leurs ententes d'impartition quant aux risques potentiels que les Américains aient accès aux renseignements personnels en vertu de la USA PATRIOT Act.
  • La plupart des 160 institutions fédérales, plus de 80 pour cent, évaluent leurs ententes comme ne présentant aucun risque, ou un risque faible, parce que les renseignements ou bien sont traités seulement par le gouvernement fédéral même ou par une société en exploitation au Canada seulement.
  • Pour les autres institutions, le risque de l'impartition de certaines ententes était jugé « faible à moyen » (19 institutions) à cause d'un lien potentiel avec un fournisseur à l'extérieur du Canada, et « moyen à élevé » (sept institutions) à cause des renseignements traités à l'extérieur du Canada.

9. Quelles mesures le gouvernement a-t-il prises pour faire passer les ministères et organismes à risque élevé à une catégorie de risque plus faible ?

  • Seulement sept des 160 institutions évaluées se sont elles-mêmes classées dans la catégorie de risque moyen à élevé. Ces institutions ont déjà commencé à prendre les mesures en vue d'atténuer les risques, comme le recours aux dispositions contractuelles et à la vérification et la séparation des banques de données. De plus, les préoccupations seront traitées plus à fond au moment du renouvellement des contrats.
  • Le SCT a publié un document d'orientation pour aider les institutions fédérales à prendre une décision avant de s'engager dans une impartition qui comporte des renseignements sensibles, personnels ou autres, que ce soit au Canada ou à l'étranger.
  • Le gouvernement a demandé aux sept institutions qui ont évalué le risque moyen à élevé de produire une mise à jour de leur plan de gestion de ces risques et de faire rapport sur les risques qui ont été réglés depuis le dépôt de leur première évaluation.
  • En outre, le gouvernement a mis en place des rapports trimestriels sur la mise en œuvre des plans de ces sept institutions.
  • Nous avons également demandé des rapports d'étapes trimestriels sur les engagements pris par certains ministères clés (comme Industrie Canada et le ministère de la Justice) qui jouent un rôle dans la stratégie globale du gouvernement.

10. Les institutions étaient-elles prêtes à transiger avec les risques potentiels cernés par l'examen ?

  • Dans la plupart des cas, oui. L'examen a révélé que plusieurs stratégies et meilleures pratiques étaient déjà en place pour faire face aux défis que comportent les flux de données transfrontières d'aujourd'hui.
  • Les meilleures pratiques existantes comprennent la séparation des renseignements personnels des autres renseignements dont disposent les sous-traitants; les pistes de vérification qui font le suivi serré du traitement des renseignements; l'approbation par le gouvernement de toute impartition de marché; la signature d'ententes de non divulgation et le recours à la technologie de chiffrement permettant la consultation des données aux seuls responsables du gouvernement.
  • Certaines institutions qui transigent avec des renseignements particulièrement délicats s'assurent que ces renseignements ne sortent jamais des locaux du gouvernement.

11. D'autres pratiques additionnelles ont-elles été mises en place pour atténuer encore les risques ?

  • Oui, plusieurs institutions ont rapporté avoir mis en place des mesures d'atténuation supplémentaires afin de se protéger de toute divulgation non autorisée présente et future.
  • Ces pratiques élargies comprennent des processus internes d'examen de toutes les nouvelles ententes d'impartition et le contrôle des contrats en vertu desquels les sociétés étrangères ont accès aux renseignements délicats, personnels et autres.

12. Au sein du gouvernement fédéral, qui est responsable de garantir que les contrats du gouvernement tiennent compte de l'accès aux renseignements personnels par d'autres lois étrangères ?

  • Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT) est responsable de coordonner le plan d'action du gouvernement quant aux risques associés au traitement des renseignements personnels dans les contrats.  Chaque institution du gouvernement du Canada est toutefois responsable de cerner et d'évaluer les risques inhérents à ses activités d'impartition et d'élaborer ses propres stratégies internes en vue de les atténuer ou de les gérer.  Le SCT donne une orientation et des conseils en matière de protection de la vie privée et de passation de marchés pour assister les institutions.

13. Quelles autres mesures les institutions fédérales mettent-elles en place pour atténuer les risques potentiels ?

  • Les institutions élaborent des démarches de gestion afin de réduire les risques liés aux lois étrangères, démarches qui seront incorporées au cadre de gestion du risque ministériel global.
  • Le SCT a préparé un document d'orientation pour les institutions fédérales. Ce document comporte une liste de vérification sur la protection de la vie privée et des conseils directs pour tenir compte de la protection de la vie privée avant de passer des marchés. Il comporte également des conseils sur l'élaboration de dispositions relatives à la protection de la vie privée particulières qui peuvent être utilisées dans les demandes de propositions (DP) et les contrats.
  • Les programmes de formation de la fonction publique comporteront un module de sensibilisation aux risques.
  • On explorera des solutions technologiques afin de protéger les flux de données.

14. Qui est responsable de protéger mes renseignements personnels ?

  • La protection des renseignements personnels n'est pas la seule responsabilité du gouvernement fédéral. Tous les paliers de gouvernement, les organismes privés et les Canadiens eux-mêmes partagent cette responsabilité.

15. Existe-t-il des lois que le gouvernement fédéral doit appliquer afin de protéger les renseignements personnels sous son contrôle ?

  • Oui, chaque institution fédérale est imputable en vertu de lois fédérales qui s'appliquent aux opérations de leurs programmes et services.
  • Une de ces lois qui régit la plupart des institutions fédérales est la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.Cette loi a été adoptée en 1983 afin de limiter la cueillette, l'utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels et plus de 160 institutions fédérales doivent en appliquer les dispositions.
  • Un arrêté en conseil du 31 août 2005 a amené dix autres institutions, ou sociétés de la Couronne, sous la juridiction de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.
  • D'autres lois fédérales, la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, la Loi sur la statistique, la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi, la Loi sur la sécurité de la vieillesse et la Loi sur le régime de pensions du Canada, ajoutent une couche supplémentaire à la protection de la vie privée.
  • Les provinces ont des lois, des politiques et des procédures de protection de la vie privée semblables à celles du gouvernement fédéral mais adaptées à leurs propres circonstances.

16. Qu'en est-il du secteur privé ?

  • La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDÉ) régit les renseignements personnels utilisés par les sociétés du secteur privé dans la plupart des provinces et dans tous les territoires.
  • La LPRPDÉ s'applique à tout organisme engagé dans des activités commerciales de cueillette, d'utilisation et de divulgation des renseignements personnels.
  • En vertu de cette loi, toute personne a le droit de savoir pourquoi une entreprise veut cueillir ses renseignements personnels.
  • Dans les provinces qui ont une loi sur la protection de la vie privée semblable à la LPRPDÉ, une loi provinciale régit les opérations du secteur privé qui en relèvent à l'intérieur de leurs frontières.

17. Existe-t-il un organisme au Canada chargé de veiller à mes droits relatifs à la protection de la vie privée ?

  • Le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée veille aux droits à la protection de la vie privée des Canadiens. Le Commissaire peut faire enquête sur toute plainte logée en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de la LPRPDÉ. Le Commissaire agit également à titre de défenseur des droits à la protection de la vie privée, effectue la recherche et publie l'information sur les meilleures pratiques en matière de protection de la vie privée.

18. Que puis-je faire pour protéger mes renseignements personnels ?

  • Vous avez le droit de savoir et de demander à quelle fin une société ou un organisme cueille, utilise ou divulgue vos renseignements personnels comme votre nom, votre âge, vos dossiers médicaux, votre statut social et votre revenu. Vous avez également le droit de vérifier vos renseignements personnels et d'en corriger toute inexactitude.
  • Si vous êtes inquiet de la façon qu'on traite vos renseignements personnels, vous pouvez vous plaindre auprès du Bureau du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée ou au commissaire provincial ou territorial (selon l'organisme qui a soulevé l'inquiétude). Pour obtenir plus d'information sur le Bureau du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, visitez son site Web

 

Date de modification :