We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Cleaning up government polling and advertising

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

On April 11, 2006, the Government of Canada introduced the Federal Accountability Act and Action Plan, delivering on its commitment to make government more accountable. The Federal Accountability Act received Royal Assent on December 12, 2006. This is one of a series of fact sheets describing proposed actions to respond to this commitment.

The context

Past political scandals raised legitimate questions about the transparency, fairness, and value for money of the procurement process for public opinion research and advertising.

What this means for Canadians

Together these measures help ensure fairness and value for money in contracting for public opinion research and advertising, and preclude those contracts from being awarded or used for partisan reasons or political benefit.

The Action Plan

To reinforce Canadians’ confidence in the procurement process for public opinion research and advertising, effective December 12, 2006, the Federal Accountability Act:

  • prohibits verbal-only reports; and
  • requires departments and agencies to send a final written report on research findings obtained under contract to Library and Archives Canada within six months of completing data collection.

The Government amended its communications policy and related procedures in August 2006 to reflect the new statutory requirement for written reports, to include a requirement that contracting be open, fair, and transparent, and to add a new definition of advertising to distinguish it from collateral services such as public relations or events management. 

The Government also requires departments and agencies to include contract information in public opinion research reports.  Executive summaries of research reports, including contract information, are to be posted on a Library and Archives Canada web site for ease of public access.

Departments and agencies have been instructed to include advertising and public opinion research activities in the department’s assessment of risks, as required by the Policy on Internal Audit.

The Government announced the pre-publishing of regulations on public opinion research in the Canada Gazette on March 31, 2007.  The regulations will:

  • prescribe the form and content of the written research reports; and
  • the manner in which the reports will be made public.

In addition, the Government has appointed an Independent Advisor for a period of six months to conduct a full review of public opinion research practices discussed in Chapter 5 of the Auditor General’s November 2003 report and determine whether further action, such as a judicial inquiry, is required.

For more information

For more information on this specific measure, please refer to the relevant section of the Action Plan, or contact us.

Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Assainir les méthodes de publicité et de recherche sur l’opinion publique du gouvernement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 11 avril 2006, le gouvernement du Canada a déposé la Loi fédérale sur l'imputabilité et le Plan d'action en réponse à son engagement de rendre le gouvernement plus responsable. La Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité a reçu la sanction royale le 12 décembre 2006. La présente fait partie d'une série de fiches d'information décrivant les mesures proposées pour respecter cet engagement.

Le contexte

Dans le passé, les scandales politiques ont soulevé, à juste titre, des questions de transparence, d'équité et d'optimisation des ressources pour l’adjudication des marchés de recherche sur l’opinion publique et la publicité.

Ce que cela signifie pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes

Cette série de mesures permet l'équité et l'optimisation des ressources à l'égard des marchés de recherche sur l'opinion publique et la publicité, et empêche que ces marchés ne soient octroyés ou utilisés à des fins partisanes ou pour des avantages politiques.

Le Plan d’action

Afin de rétablir la confiance des Canadiens et des Canadiennes dans le processus d’approvisionnement pour la recherche sur l’opinion publique et la publicité, à partir du 12 décembre 2006, la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité :

  • interdit les rapports uniquement verbaux;
  • exige que les ministères et organismes transmettent à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, dans les six mois suivant la fin d'un projet de recherche, un rapport final écrit sur les conclusions de la recherche.

Le gouvernement a modifié sa politique des communications en août 2006 pour tenir compte de la nouvelle exigence légale touchant les rapports écrits, pour exiger un processus d’adjudication des marchés ouvert, équitable, transparent et concurrentiel, et pour inclure une nouvelle définition du terme « publicité » afin de distinguer cette dernière des services connexes comme les relations publiques et la gestion des événements.

Le gouvernement exige également que les ministères et organismes incluent des renseignements sur les marchés dans les rapports de recherche sur l’opinion publique. Les résumés des rapports de recherche, y compris les renseignements sur les marchés, doivent être affichés sur un site Web de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, pour faciliter l’accès du public à cette information.

Il a été demandé aux ministères et organismes d’inclure les activités de recherche sur l’opinion publique et de publicité dans leur évaluation des risques, tel que l’exige la Politique sur la vérification interne

Le gouvernement a annoncé la prépublication dans la Gazette du Canada d’un règlement concernant la recherche sur l’opinion publique et la publicité le 31 mars 2007. Ce règlement va prescrire :

  • la forme et la teneur des rapports de recherche écrits;
  • la manière dont les rapports seront rendus publics.

De plus, le gouvernement a nommé un conseiller indépendant qui disposera de six mois pour effectuer un examen complet des pratiques relatives à la recherche sur l’opinion publique, traitées au chapitre 5 du rapport de novembre 2003 de la vérificatrice générale, et pour déterminer si d’autres mesures, telles qu’une enquête judiciaire, s’imposent.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements

Pour obtenir plus d'information sur la présente initiative, veuillez consulter la section pertinente du Plan d'action ou communiquer avec nous.

Date de modification :