Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Salary Administration Policy - Management Trainee Group (Archived)


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


Appendix C - Terms and Conditions for Pre-Entry Language Trainees of the Management Trainee Program

1. Application

These terms and conditions apply to Management Trainee Program (MTP) candidates who must undertake official language training prior to being appointed to the MM Group. With certain exceptions, candidates on language training have non-employee or "Ab Initio" (AIO) status and will not be retained in the MTP or the Public Service generally, if they do not become bilingual.

1.2 Term employees

Deputy heads may retain candidates' services as term employees until language training starts.

2. Exemption from Ab Initio Status

2.1 Indeterminate and term Public Service Employees

Candidates already having employee status under Part I Schedule I of the Public Service Staff Relations Act (PSSRA), or the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA), retain this status and remain subject to the terms and conditions of their substantive position for the duration of language training. This includes the full provisions of the Travel and Relocation Directives.

2.2 Military, RCMP and PSSA Recruits

Candidates from the Canadian Armed Forces, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, or an organization subject to the Public Service Superannuation Act, who held "member" or indeterminate employee status in that organization at the time they received the offer to take developmental language training preparatory to entering the MM Group, may be treated as indeterminate employees for purposes of income continuity and terms and conditions of employment. The full provisions of the Travel and Relocation Directives, however, are limited by the Transportation, Temporary Accommodation, and Relocation Guidelines for Pre-Entry Language Trainees of the Management Trainee Program, found in AppendixD. In this case, the respective terms and conditions will be those of the MM Group.

2.3 Continuing exemption

Other than for indeterminate employees, maintenance of the exemption is conditional upon meeting language training requirements, as well as being appointed to the MM Group at the conclusion of the language training phase. If the conditions are not met, the exemption ceases and candidates will be removed from the Program without entitlement to further placement in the Public Service.

3. Appointment

Upon receipt of level "C B C" in their second official language, candidates will be appointed to the MM Group as indeterminate employees.

4. General Limitations

AIO candidates are not entitled to benefits such as:

- long term disability insurance,

- group life insurance,

- Public Service Superannuation Plan membership, or

- the recognition of the training period as "service" for benefit determination purposes, following appointment to the Public Service.

5. Training Duration

The amount of time to complete training by each candidate will be determined by Language Training Canada (LTC), but shall not exceed 52 continuous weeks per participant.

6. Study Hours

Candidates are to adhere to the attendance requirements established by their language school. Candidates are also responsible for whatever additional hours of study are required to successfully complete their training program.

7. Pay

Candidates will receive an allowance in lieu of pay for the time spent on language training. The allowance will be disbursed by the host organization and will be equal to 80% of the Program entry rate. Income tax, Canada Pension Plan or Quebec Pension Plan, and Unemployment Insurance premiums will be deducted from the allowance, which will be paid bi-weekly by direct deposit. Payment of the allowance will continue as long as candidates remain in the training program, to a maximum of 52weeks. Closure of the training centre for designated holidays will not affect the allowance payment.

8. Absence

Candidates' allowances will continue when absent for reasons of personal illness, disability, or immediate family obligations. Such absence shall not exceed .288days per week or 1.25 days per month of paid training, to a maximum of 15 days over 52weeks.

Deputy heads may advance all or part of the estimated paid absence period, as necessary. Absence in excess of the actual earned leave period is without pay. Recovery of an overpayment is the responsibility of the host organization. Any unused time allotment is neither cashable nor transferable at the conclusion of language training. Absence from class must be in accordance with LTC's established practices.

9. Language Training

9.1 Performance

Ongoing participation in language training is dependent on fully satisfactory performance, including continued academic achievement. Candidates unable to meet the language training proficiency requirements of "C B C" in the second official language, in the allotted time, will be ineligible for the MTP.

9.2 Course locations

For language levels "A" and "B":

LTC will train candidates in their second official language to proficiency levels "A" and "B", based on their residential location, in the following centres.

Charlottetown

Toronto

Moncton

Winnipeg

Halifax

Edmonton

Quebec

Vancouver

Montreal

National Capital Region (NCR)

Training will be provided within a 2-hour (one way) commuting distance of the candidate's residence. Temporary accommodation will not normally be provided for levels "A" and "B". On a case by case basis, the Public Service Commission (PSC) will make special arrangements if candidates live outside commuting distance of an LTC centre.

For language level "C"

LTC will provide Level "C" training in the National Capital Region (NCR), Montreal, and Toronto.

9.3 Temporary Accommodation and Relocation

Temporary accommodation in the NCR will be provided to candidates who do not live within commuting distance (2 hours one way) of Toronto, Montreal, the NCR, or other locations where level "C" training is available. Temporary accommodation is not to exceed 18weeks, the maximum time allotted for level "C" language training.

Candidates whose first assignment will be in the NCR following language training, and who do not live within commuting distance of the NCR, Montreal, Toronto, or other locations where level "C" training becomes available, will be relocated to the NCR directly for level "C" language training, rather than be accommodated temporarily.

9.4. Unsuccessful candidates

Candidates required to leave the Program for unsuccessful performance will be returned to their previous place of residence. Those in temporary commercial accommodation will be provided a return trip to their place of residence; those who relocated will receive the same assistance as for their initial relocation.

9.5. Pre-emptive Departures

Candidates leaving training of their own volition prior to successful completion, or who do not accept employment in the MTP, will not be provided relocation assistance or a return trip to their place of residence

Claims for assistance from candidates leaving the Program under mitigating circumstances, will be reviewed on a case by case basis.

The "Transportation, Temporary Accommodation, and Relocation Guidelines for Pre-Entry Language Trainees of the Management Trainee Program", are found in AppendixD. They are to be used in conjunction with the Government Travel and Relocation Directives.

9.6. Funds

Funds for language training are administered under Public Service Commission (PSC) Vote140 - (Treasury Board Minute 822650, March16, 1995).

For external Program recruits, funds for temporary accommodation or relocation will also be covered by PSC Vote 140.

10. Transitional Issues

10.1 Successful candidates

Following successful completion of language training, candidates are to be appointed to the MM-1 Group/level, and compensated in accordance with the MM Group salary administration policy.

10.2 Unsuccessful candidates

Indeterminate Employees: Same department

In the event they cannot meet the "C B C" level requirement, indeterminate employees accepting developmental language training, preparatory to entering the MM Group in their home organization, should return to their former position or one of equivalent group and level. In this situation, language training hours utilized are not to be counted.

Indeterminate Employees: Different department

Candidates accepting developmental language training preparatory to entering the MM Group in another organization, should normally be on secondment during language training. During language training, the host department pays the salary of the candidate's substantive position. Should they not meet the "C B C" level requirement, candidates have a right to return to their former position, or one of an equivalent group and level, in their home department. In this situation, language training hours utilized are not to be counted.

Term Employees, Military, RCMP, and PSSA recruits

Unsuccessful language training candidates are not to be retained in the MTP, nor, as a general rule, are they to be retained within the Public Service.


Appendix D - Transportation, Temporary Accommodation, and Relocation Guidelines for Pre-Entry Language Trainees of the Management Trainee Program:

1. Transportation

Transportation, in accordance with the Government Travel and Relocation Directives, will be provided to:

1) the National Capital Region (NCR);

2) the place of residence and return to the NCR at mid-term (in accordance with the Relocation Directives, i.e. - to be reunited with immediate family dependants residing in the principle residence when two households are being maintained); and

3) the place of residence, upon graduation, or termination for cause.

The mid-term trip will not interfere with candidates' participation in class and will be over a weekend or holiday.

2. Temporary Accommodation

Candidates not relocating to the NCR are entitled to commercial accommodation in a one-bedroom suite hotel in the NCR, for a maximum period of 18 weeks. The Public Service Commission will determine the hotels for this purpose. Alternate arrangements may be made, with PSC approval, in accordance with the Government Travel and Relocation Directives.

3. Relocation

The following assistance will be provided:

1) an accommodation-hunting trip for up to seven calendar days (all costs paid in accordance with the Government Travel and Relocation Directives);

2) reimbursement of up to two months rent to compensate for the cancellation of a lease;

3) reimbursement of moving expenses (personal and household effects);

4) payment of expenses in travelling to the new location;

5) payment of a lump sum for incidentals, i.e.:

$500 for a load of 900 kg or more, or

$200 for a load of less than 900 kg; and

6) temporary accommodation for up to four calendar days while waiting for personal and household effects to be forwarded.

Refer to the Government Travel and Relocation Directives for specific information.

Classification and Excluded Groups Division
Human Resources Branch
Treasury Board Secretariat

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Politique sur l'administration des traitements - Groupe des stagiaires en gestion (Archivé)

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».


Appendice C - Modalits applicables aux candidats au Programme de stagiaires en gestion ne rpondant pas aux exigences linguistiques

1. Champ d'application

Les modalits nonces dans le prsent document s'appliquent aux candidats au Programme de stagiaires en gestion (PSG) qui doivent suivre une formation linguistique avant d'tre admis au sein du groupeMM. quelques exceptions prs, les candidats qui suivent une formation linguistique ont un statut de non-employ ou abinitio (AIO) et ils ne seront pas retenus pour le PSG ou ne pourront demeurer au sein de la fonction publique en gnral s'ils ne deviennent pas bilingues.

1.2 Employs embauchs pour une priode dtermine

Les administrateurs gnraux peuvent retenir les services de candidats titre d'employs embauchs pour une priode dtermine jusqu'au dbut de la formation linguistique.

2. Exemption au statut ab initio

2.1 Employs embauchs la fonction publique pour une priode indtermine ou pour une priode dtermine

Les candidats qui ont dj le statut d'employ aux termes de la partieI de l'annexeI de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique (LRTFP) ou de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique (LEFP) conservent ce statut et continuent d'tre assujettis aux dispositions de leur poste d'attache pendant toute la dure de la formation linguistique, y compris les dispositions prvues par les directives sur les voyages d'affaires et sur la rinstallation.

2.2 Candidats employs par les Forces armes canadiennes, par la GRC ou par un organisme rgi par la LPFP

Les candidats employs par les Forces armes canadiennes, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ou un organisme rgi par la Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique qui taient membres de cet organisme ou qui bnficiaient du statut d'employ embauch pour une priode indtermine au moment o il leur a t offert de suivre une formation linguistique en vue d'tre admis au sein du groupeMM, peuvent continuer de bnficier de ce statut en ce qui a trait au versement continu de la rmunration et au respect des conditions d'emploi. Toutefois, les dispositions prvues par les directives sur les voyages d'affaires et sur la rinstallation se limitent aux Lignes directrices concernant le transport, l'hbergement temporaire et la rinstallation des candidats au Programme de stagiaires en gestion qui ne rpondent pas aux exigence linguistiques, nonces l'appendiceD. Les modalits applicables cet gard seront celles du groupeMM.

2.3 Maintien de l'exemption

Pour que l'exemption soit maintenue dans le cas des employs qui ne sont pas embauchs pour une priode indtermine, ces derniers doivent satisfaire aux exigences linguistiques et tre nomms un poste du groupeMM la fin de la formation. Si le candidat ne satisfait pas aux exigences, l'exemption cesse de s'appliquer, ce dernier est ray du programme et n'a pas droit un autre placement au sein de la fonction publique.

3. Nomination

Lorsqu'ils atteignent le niveau C B C dans leur deuxime langue officielle, les candidats sont nomms pour une priode indtermine un poste au sein du groupeMM.

4. Limites gnrales

Les candidats qui possdent le statut ab initio ne peuvent se prvaloir des avantages suivants:

- assurance-invalidit long terme;

- assurance-vie collective;

- participation au rgime de pensions de retraite de la fonction publique;

- reconnaissance de la priode de formation comme service aux fins de la dtermination des avantages, aprs une nomination la fonction publique.

5. Dure de la formation

Le temps consacrer la formation pour chacun des candidats sera dtermin par Formation linguistique Canada (FLC), mais il ne devrait pas s'tendre sur plus de 52semaines conscutives par participant.

6. Heures d'tude

Les candidats doivent se conformer aux exigences relatives la prsence tablies par leur cole de langue. Ils sont aussi responsables de consacrer le nombre d'heures supplmentaires requises afin de russir leur programme de formation.

7. Paye

Les candidats recevront une indemnit en remplacement du salaire pour le temps consacr la formation linguistique. L'indemnit sera paye par l'organisme d'accueil et quivaudra 80p. 100 du taux de recrutement au Programme. Les montants payer pour l'impt sur le revenu, le Rgime de pensions du Canada, le Rgime de rentes du Qubec de mme que les cotisations d'assurance-chmage seront dduits de l'indemnit, qui sera verse toutes les deux semaines, par dpt direct. L'indemnit sera verse pendant toute la priode pendant laquelle les candidats suivront la formation, jusqu' un maximum de 52 semaines. La fermeture du centre de formation pendant les jours fris n'aura pas d'incidence sur le paiement de l'indemnit.

8. Absences

Les candidats continueront de recevoir leur indemnit s'ils doivent s'absenter parce qu'ils sont malades, invalides ou s'ils ont des obligations envers leur famille immdiate. Ces absences ne doivent pas compter pour plus de 0,288jours par semaine ou 1,25jour par mois de formation paye, jusqu' un maximum de 15jours pour 52 semaines.

Au besoin, les administrateurs gnraux peuvent faire un paiement anticip pour toute la priode d'absence paye prvue ou une partie de cette priode. Les absences qui dpassent les congs accumuls ne seront pas payes. Il incombe l'organisme d'accueil de recouvrer les paiements en trop. Toute priode alloue non utilise ne peut tre convertie en paiement ou transfre la fin de la formation linguistique. Les absences aux cours doivent tre justifies conformment aux pratiques tablies par FLC.

9. Formation linguistique

9.1 Rendement

Pour pouvoir continuer suivre la formation, les candidats doivent conserver un rendement entirement satisfaisant et maintenir de bons rsultats aux cours. Les candidats qui ne parviendront pas satisfaire aux exigences linguistiques C B C dans la deuxime langue officielle dans la priode de temps alloue ne pourront tre admis au PSG.

9.2 Endroit o se donnent les cours

Pour les niveaux linguistiques A et B:

FLC donnera des cours aux candidats dans la deuxime langue officielle aux niveaux AetB, selon leur lieu de rsidence, dans les centres suivants:

Charlottetown

Toronto

Moncton

Winnipeg

Halifax

Edmonton

Qubec

Vancouver

Montral

Rgion de la capitale nationale (RCN)

La formation sera donne une distance de deuxheures (aller) maximum de la rsidence du candidat. L'hbergement temporaire n'est gnralement pas fourni pour les niveaux A et B. Toutefois, dans certains cas, la Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) peut prendre des arrangements spciaux pour les candidats qui demeurent plus de deuxheures d'un centre de FLC.

Pour le niveau linguistiqueC:

FLC offre la formation de niveau C dans la rgion de la capitale nationale, Montral et Toronto.

9.3 Hbergement temporaire et rinstallation

Un hbergement temporaire dans la RCN pourra tre fourni aux candidats qui demeurent plus de deuxheures (aller) de Toronto, de Montral, de la RCN ou d'autres endroits o la formation de niveauC est offerte. L'hbergement temporaire ne peut s'tendre sur plus de 18semaines, soit le maximum allou pour la formation linguistique de niveauC.

Les candidats dont la premire affectation aprs la formation linguistique sera dans la RCN et qui demeurent plus de deuxheures de la RCN, de Montral, de Toronto ou d'autres endroits o la formation linguistique de niveau C est offerte, seront directement rinstalls dans le RCN pour la formation linguistique de niveauC, plutt que d'tre hbergs temporairement.

9.4 Candidats qui chouent

Les candidats qui doivent quitter le programme en raison d'un rendement insatisfaisant retourneront leur ancien lieu de rsidence. Ceux qui avaient un logement commercial temporaire se verront payer leur transport leur lieu de rsidence et ceux qui avaient t rinstalls bnficieront de la mme aide qui leur avait t accorde l'origine pour leur rinstallation.

9.5 Dpart anticip

Les candidats qui choisissent de leur propre gr d'arrter la formation avant de l'avoir termin, ou qui refusent un poste offert dans le cadre du PSG, ne recevront aucune aide en vue de leur rinstallation ou leur retour au lieu de rsidence.

Les demandes d'aide prsentes par les candidats qui quittent le programme dans des circonstances attnuantes feront l'objet d'une tude cas par cas.

Les Lignes directrices concernant le transport, l'hbergement temporaire et la rinstallation des candidats au Programme de stagiaires en gestion qui ne rpondent pas aux exigences linguistiques sont nonces l'appendiceD. Elles sont appliques de concert avec les directives du gouvernement sur les voyages d'affaires et la rinstallation.

9.6 Fonds

Les fonds utiliss pour la formation linguistique sont prvus au crdit140 de la Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) - (Dlibration du Conseil du Trsor 822650, 16 mars1995).

En ce qui a trait aux candidats provenant de l'extrieur de la fonction publique, les fonds ncessaires pour l'hbergement temporaire et la rinstallation proviendront galement du crdit140 de la CFP.

10. Questions relatives la transition

10.1 Candidats retenus

Une fois qu'ils auront russi la formation linguistique, les candidats seront nomms un poste du groupe et du niveauMM-1 et rmunrs conformment la politique sur l'administration des traitements du groupeMM.

10.2 Candidats non retenus

Employs nomms pour une priode indtermine (mme ministre)

S'ils n'ont pas t en mesure de rpondre aux exigences linguistiques de niveau C B C, les employs nomms pour une priode indtermine qui avaient accept de suivre un cours de formation linguistique afin d'occuper un poste du groupeMM au sein de leur organisme d'attache, devront retourner leur ancien poste ou un poste de groupe et niveau quivalents. Dans ce cas, les heures consacres la formation linguistique ne doivent pas tre comptes.

Employs nomms pour une priode indtermine (autre ministre)

Les candidats qui avaient accept de suivre un cours de formation linguistique afin d'occuper un poste du groupeMM au sein d'un autre organisme, devraient normalement tre en dtachement pendant la formation linguistique. Au cours de cette priode, le ministre d'attache paie le salaire correspondant au poste d'attache du candidat. S'ils ne russissent pas satisfaire aux exigences de niveauC B C, les candidats ont le droit de retourner leur ancien poste ou encore un poste de groupe et niveau quivalents au sein de leur ministre d'attache. Dans ce cas, les heures consacres la formation linguistique ne doivent pas tre comptes.

Employs nomms pour un priode dtermine, membres des Forces armes canadiennes ou de la GRC et employs d'un organisme rgi par la LPFP

Les candidats qui chouent la formation linguistique ne seront pas retenus pour le PSG et, en rgle gnrale, ne pourront demeurer au sein de la fonction publique.


Appendice D - Lignes directrices concernant le transport, l'hbergement temporaire et la rinstallation des candidats au Programme de stagiaires en gestion qui ne rpondent pas aux exigences linguistiques

1. Transport

Conformment aux directives du gouvernement sur les voyages d'affaires et sur la rinstallation, on remboursera les frais de transport:

1) la rgion de la capitale nationale (RCN);

2) au lieu de rsidence de mme que le retour la RCN la mi-session (conformment la directive sur la rinstallation, c'est--dire pour rejoindre les membres de la famille immdiate qui habitent la rsidence principale lorsqu'il y a deux rsidences);

3) au lieu de rsidence, aprs que le candidat ait russi la formation ou qu'il y ait mis fin, de faon justifie.

Le voyage de la mi-session ne doit pas faire manquer de cours au candidat et doit avoir lieu pendant une fin de semaine ou un jour fri.

2. Hbergement temporaire

Les candidats qui ne seront pas rinstalls dans la RCN ont droit un logement commercial en occupation simple dans un htel de la RCN, pendant un maximum de 18 semaines. La Commission de la fonction publique dterminera une liste d'htels cette fin. D'autres dispositions pourront tre prises, avec l'approbation de la CFP, conformment aux directives du gouvernement sur les voyages d'affaires et sur la rinstallation.

3. Rinstallation

De l'aide sera accorde pour les points suivants:

1) voyage d'une dure maximum de septjours dans le but de trouver un logement (tous les cots seront pays conformment aux directives du gouvernement sur les voyages d'affaires et sur la rinstallation);

2) remboursement du loyer jusqu' concurrence de deuxmois en cas de rsiliation d'un bail;

3) remboursement des frais de dmnagement (effets mobiliers);

4) paiement des dpenses lies au dplacement au nouveau lieu de rsidence;

5) paiement d'une somme forfaitaire pour les frais accessoires, c'est--dire:

500$ pour un chargement de 900 kg ou plus ou

200 $ pour un chargement de moins de 900kg;

6) hbergement temporaire allant jusqu' quatre jourscivils, en attendant que les effets mobiliers parviennent au nouveau lieu de rsidence.

Pour connatre les dtails, veuillez consulter les directives du gouvernement sur les voyages d'affaires et sur la rinstallation.

Division de la classification et des groupes exclus
Direction des ressources humaines
Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor