Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Salary Administration Policy - Management Trainee Group (Archived)


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


Policy objective

To provide consistent salary administration for members of the Management Trainee Program

To support the program's goals of:

- offering management training to recent university graduates, leading to positions at the EX-minus-2 level, after successful completion of a five-year program; and

- ensuring a pool of highly qualified middle managers from which senior management positions can be filled in the future.

Policy statement

On appointment, Management Trainees shall be paid at the rate for a Management Trainee-1 Level (MM-1); while in the program, participants are expected to earn promotion to the MM-2 and MM-3 levels at months18 and 36 respectively, as well as qualify for an increment 12months following promotion to the MM-3 level. All pay increases shall be subject to successful achievement of defined performance goals, as developed and assessed by departments. In addition, participants must demonstrate specific competencies as defined by the Treasury Board Secretariat, and verified by departments and duly authorised promotion boards. The salary administration plan (AppendixA) provides the means to achieve this; its chief provisions are:

- the salary component of the Management Trainee Group compensation plan is based on an overall range with a minimum and maximum rate (AppendixB, table2); within this overall range there are four pay rates; one for each of levels1 and 2, and two for level3. Individual rates will be adjusted by the Treasury Board Secretariat whenever the overall range is modified;

- trainees' promotions and increments depend on achieving performance ratings of "fully satisfactory" or better, for each assignment; in addition, promotions will also depend on demonstrated competencies as defined in the MM selection standard, and verified by the trainee's supervisor and promotion board; trainees who are progressing successfully in the program, will receive respective promotion and performance increases on the 18th and 36th month from time of appointment to the MM Group, and at the 12thmonth following promotion to the MM-3 level;

- trainees who are evaluated as less than "fully satisfactory", may not proceed for promotional assessment; they also forfeit their performance increment if the evaluation is for the period between months36 and 48; a trainee who gets a second evaluation of "satisfactory" or less, or fails to win promotion, must leave the program;

- on termination of the program, an employee's pay rate shall be subject to the relevant pay plan for the group and level of appointment, but with reference to this plan as prescribed in AppendixA.

NOTE:

All Management Trainees must have "CBC"level proficiency in the second official language before appointment to the Program.

Their terms and conditions are specified in AppendixC.

Application

This plan applies to members of the Management Trainee Group, former members at the time of their transitional appointment to another group in the Public Service, and those undertaking official language training in preparation for entry to this program.

Policy requirements

Deputy heads must implement the salary administration plan (AppendixA) by:

- ensuring that the salaries of Management trainees are administered according to the plan, based upon each employee's performance review and appraisal report, and promotion board decision;

- providing all information, training advice and guidance required to implement and administer the plan;

- obtaining prior written approval from the Treasury Board Secretariat when he or she believes that the salary administration plan guidelines should be exceeded.

Monitoring

Treasury Board Secretariat will regularly collect departmental salary administration data directly from the compensation system. This will be used to assess the level of consistency in applying performance pay and salary range provisions of the plan. Data will be screened by an exceptions identification program. Departments will then be asked to investigate abnormal payments and, if appropriate, make the necessary corrections through changes to the trainee's compensation file.

The following performance indicators will be used to evaluate departments' adherence to the Plan:

- promotion pay and the increment is granted only to participants whose performance for the foregoing year's assignment is "fully satisfactory" or better, have been found qualified by a promotion board, and who are not receiving a holding rate of pay; and

- participants do not exceed the rate for their respective level or time in the program.

The administration of the Plan will be monitored by the Treasury Board Secretariat and will be used in the assessment of departmental personnel administration practices.

References

Financial Administration Act, section11(2)(d).

Enquiries

Enquiries about this policy should be referred to the responsible officers in departmental headquarters who in turn may direct questions regarding policy interpretation to:

Canadian Forces, RCMP, Management Trainees and Students
Classification and Excluded Groups Division
Human Resources Branch
Treasury Board Secretariat


AppendixA - Management Trainee Salary Administration Plan

1. Purpose

This appendix presents guidelines for the consistent application of the Management trainee salary administration plan.

2. Definitions

Holding rate (taux maintenu) - a special rate of pay exceeding the job rate for the number of successfully completed training years which may be paid to employees on transfer to the MM group.

job rate (taux normal) - the maximum rate of pay over a period of time available to a qualified employee whose performance in the job is at least "fully satisfactory".

performance award (prime de rendement) - an increase in salary based on a fully satisfactory or better level of performance that results in upward positioning in the range (not to exceed the job rate).

promotion award (prime de promotion) - an increase in salary based on formally assessed level of management skills and performance that results in movement to the next training level (not to exceed the job rate).

Public Service (Fonction publique) - the departments and agencies listed in PartI, ScheduleI of the Public Service Staff Relations Act.

relevant occupational group (groupe professionnel pertinent) - means the occupational group to which the trainee is expected to graduate at the successful conclusion of the program.

retroactive period (priode de rtroactivit) - the period commencing on the effective date of the retroactive upward revision in remuneration and ending on the date the revision is approved by the Treasury Board.

substantive range maximum (taux maximal du poste de titularisation) - the salary range maximum for the position to which an employee has been appointed under the Public Service Employment Act.

3. Salary ranges

This salary plan consists of three ranges, (AppendixB, Table2). These are defined as follows:

3.1 Entry and Training

The MM-1 rate equates to that of the maximum of the PM-1. It accommodates university graduates appointed from outside the Public Service.

The MM2 and MM3 rates equate to the PM-2 through PM-4 level. This range accommodates internal recruits and provides recognition for successful completion of training and development goals during a participant's time in the program. Participants are not to exceed this range, during their time in the program.

3.2 Attained

For those participants exiting before successful completion of this program, the "attained range" equates to the current range for the equivalent PM level achieved at the time of the participant's exit as shown in AppendixB, Table3. As an example, if a participant departs during the fourth year of the program after "fully satisfactory" or better achievement for the preceding three years, the "attained range" will equate to that of a PM-3.

3.3 Graduate

This range equates to that of the PM-5. It is to be used only when a participant has successfully completed the program and is ready for transition to a managerial position, normally classified at the EX-minus-2level, as determined by the Treasury Board Secretariat.

4. Salary range revisions

The timing and amount of salary range revisions for the MM Group will parallel those for the PM Group. Departments will apply these revisions when notified by the Treasury Board Secretariat.

5. Payment of retroactive remuneration

A retroactive upward revision in remuneration shall apply to employees, former employees, or in the case of death, the estates of former employees who were employed in the Public Service during the retroactive period.

Remuneration shall be paid in an amount equal to what would have been paid had the revision been implemented on the effective date.

The employer must advise the employee or the former employee of the retroactive revision by registered mail to the last known address. The former employee, or in the case of death, the former employee's representatives shall have thirty(30)days from the date of receipt of this letter to request in writing a retroactive payment.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Politique sur l'administration des traitements - Groupe des stagiaires en gestion (Archivé)


Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».


Objectif de la politique

Assurer l'administration uniforme des traitements des participants au Programme de stagiaires en gestion.

Pour appuyer les objectifs du programme, notamment :

- offrir une formation en gestion qui permettra aux personnes qui viennent tout juste de recevoir un diplôme universitaire d'accéder aux postes de niveau EX-minus-2 après avoir suivi avec succès un programme de cinq ans;

- disposer d'un groupe de cadres intermédiaires hautement qualifiés pour combler les postes de cadres supérieurs.

Énoncé de la politique

Au moment de leur nomination, les stagiaires en gestion toucheront le taux du niveau 1 Stagiaires en gestion (MM-1); on s'attend à ce que les participants au programme soient promus aux niveaux MM-2 et MM-3 après 18 et 36 mois respectivement, et soient admissibles à une augmentation 12 mois suivant la promotion au niveau MM-3. Toutes les augmentations salariales seront autorisées en fonction de l'atteinte d'objectifs de rendement bien précis, établis et évalués par les ministères. De plus, les participants doivent démontrer qu'ils possèdent les compétences spéciales définies par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et vérifiées par les ministères et dûment autorisées par les jurys de promotion. Le régime d'administration des traitements (appendice A) fait état des moyens à prendre pour atteindre cet objectif; ses principales dispositions sont :

- la composante salariale du régime de rémunération du Groupe des stagiaires en gestion est basé sur une échelle globale comportant un taux minimum et un taux maximum (appendice B, tableau 2); l'échelle comporte quatre taux de rémunération; un pour chacun des niveaux 1 et 2 et deux pour le niveau 3. Chaque taux sera rajusté par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor chaque fois que l'échelle globale est modifiée;

- les promotions et les augmentations d'échelon des stagiaires dépendent de l'atteinte des cotes de rendement au moins «entièrement satisfaisant» pour chaque affectation; de plus, les promotions dépendront également des compétences démontrées, définies dans la norme de sélection des MM et vérifiées par le superviseur du stagiaire et par le jury de promotion; les stagiaires qui font des progrès dans le cadre du programme recevront la promotion et les augmentations liées au rendement respectives au 18e et, au 36e mois, à compter de la nomination au groupe MM, et au 12e mois suivant la promotion niveau MM-3;

- il se peut que les stagiaires dont l'évaluation est inférieure à «entièrement satisfaisant» ne fassent pas l'objet d'une évaluation en vue d'une promotion; ils doivent également renoncer à leur augmentation d'échelon liée au rendement si l'évaluation porte sur la période se situant entre 36 et 48 mois; un stagiaire qui obtient une deuxième évaluation portant la cote «satisfaisant» ou une cote inférieure, ou n'obtient pas de promotion, doit mettre fin à sa participation au programme;

- une fois que le stagiaire termine le programme, son taux de rémunération est établi en fonction du régime de rémunération s'appliquant au groupe et au niveau auxquels il est nommé, tout en tenant compte des dispositions du présent régime tel qu'il est précisé à l'appendice A.

NOTA :

Tous les stagiaires en gestion doivent avoir le niveau de compétence «CBC» dans la deuxième langue officielle avant de faire l'objet d'une nomination dans le cadre du programme.

Les conditions de travail se trouvent dans l'Appendice C.

Application

Les dispositions du présent régime de rémunération s'appliquent aux membres du groupe des stagiaires en gestion et aux anciens membres lorsque ces derniers font l'objet d'une nomination à un autre groupe professionnel de la fonction publique, et à ceux qui s'engagent en la formation linguistique pour se préparer à leur entrée dans la programme.

Exigences de la politique

Il incombe aux administrateurs généraux d'appliquer le régime d'administration des traitements (appendice A) :

- en veillant à ce que les traitements des stagiaires en gestion soient administrés en fonction du régime et en tenant compte du rapport d'examen et d'évaluation du rendement de l'employé et de la décision du jury de promotion;

- en fournissant tous les renseignements, les conseils en matière de formation et la direction nécessaires pour la mise en oeuvre et l'administration du régime;

- en obtenant au préalable, par écrit, l'autorisation du Secrétariat du Conseil d'excéder, s'il y a lieu, les lignes directrices du régime d'administration des traitements.

Surveillance

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor puisera régulièrement les données concernant l'administration des traitements dans le système de rémunération. Elles serviront à déterminer le degré de cohérence dans l'application des dispositions sur la rémunération au mérite et les augmentations salariales du régime. Les données seront triées par un programme de dépistage des exceptions. On demandera aux ministères d'examiner les paiements anormaux et, le cas échéant, d'apporter les corrections nécessaires en modifiant le dossier de rémunération du stagiaire.

Les indicateurs de rendement suivants servent à déterminer dans quelle mesure les ministères se conforment au régime :

- la rémunération selon la promotion et l'augmentation d'échelon ne sont accordées qu'aux stagiaires dont le rendement, au cours de l'affectation de l'année écoulée, a été au moins «entièrement satisfaisant», qui ont été considérés qualifiés par un jury de promotion et qui ne touchent pas un taux de rémunération maintenu; et

- les stagiaires ne dépassent pas le maximum de leur échelle respective pendant leur participation au programme.

L'administration du régime seront examinés par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, qui s'en servira pour évaluer les pratiques des ministères en matière de gestion du personnel.

Références

Alinéa 11(2)d), Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

Demandes de renseignements

Les demandes de renseignements au sujet de la présente politique doivent être envoyées aux agents responsables à l'administration centrale du ministère qui, à leur tour, pourront acheminer les questions relatives à l'interprétation de la politique au bureau suivant :

Programme des Forces canadiennes, de la GRC, des stagiaires en gestion et des étudiants
Division de la classification et des groupes exclus
Direction des ressources humaines
Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor


Appendice A - Régime d'administration des traitements du groupe des stagiaires en gestion

1. Objet

Le présent appendice contient les lignes directrices visant à assurer l'application uniforme du Régime d'administration des traitements du groupe des stagiaires en gestion.

2. Définitions

Fonction publique (Public Service) - les ministères et organismes énumérés à la Partie I de l'annexe I de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique.

groupe professionnel pertinent (relevant occupational group) - désigne le groupe professionnel auquel accédera le stagiaire au moment où il aura terminé le programme avec succès.

période de rétroactivité (retroactive period) - période débutant à la date d'entrée en vigueur d'une révision à la hausse du taux de rémunération et se terminant à la date d'approbation de la révision par le Conseil du Trésor.

prime de promotion (promotion award) - hausse salariale (ne devant pas dépasser le taux normal) accordée à un stagiaire en fonction d'une évaluation officielle du niveau de compétences en gestion et du rendement, qui se traduit par une progression au niveau de formation suivant.

prime de rendement (performance award) - hausse salariale (ne devant pas dépasser le taux normal) accordée à un stagiaire ayant fait preuve d'un rendement au moins entièrement satisfaisant, qui se traduit par une progression dans l'échelle de traitement.

taux maintenu (holding rate) - taux de rémunération spécial excédant le taux normal prévu pour le nombre d'années de formation terminées avec succès, qui peut être versé aux employés nommés au Groupe de stagiaires en gestion (MM).

taux maximal du poste de titularisation (substantive range maximum); - taux maximal de l'échelle de traitement du poste auquel un employé a été nommé conformément à la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique.

taux normal (job rate) - taux de rémunération maximal que peut toucher un employé qualifié dont le rendement est au moins «entièrement satisfaisant».

3. Échelles de traitement

Ce régime de rémunération comprend trois niveaux, les deux premiers comportant un taux unique et le dernier comportant deux taux (appendice B, tableau 2). Ces niveaux sont définis de la façon suivante :

3.1 Recrutement et formation

Les taux correspondent à ceux du maximum du niveau PM-1. Les diplômés d'université recrutés de l'extérieur de la fonction publique sont visés par cette échelle.

Les taux pour les niveaux MM2 et MM3 correspond aux taux du niveau PM-2 au PM-4. Cette échelle de traitement vise les personnes recrutées à l'intérieur de la fonction publique et tient compte de la réalisation des objectifs de formation et de perfectionnement pendant que le stagiaire participe au programme. Les stagiaires ne doivent pas toucher un traitement supérieur aux taux de rémunération prévus dans cette échelle de traitement pendant qu'ils participent au programme.

3.2 Atteinte

Pour les stagiaires qui quittent le programme avant de l'avoir terminé, «l'échelle atteinte» correspond à l'échelle de traitement du niveau PM atteint au moment de l'abandon du programme (voir l'appendice B, tableau 3). Par exemple, si un stagiaire abandonne le programme pendant la quatrième année, après avoir atteint un niveau de rendement au moins entièrement satisfaisant au cours des trois années précédentes, «l'échelle atteinte» correspondra à celle du niveau PM-3.

3.3 Diplômé

Cette échelle correspond à celle du niveau PM-5. Elle s'applique aux stagiaires qui ont terminé le programme avec succès et qui sont aptes à occuper un poste de gestion classifié normalement au niveau EX-moins-2, comme il est déterminé par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

4. Révisions des échelles de traitement

Les révisions des échelles de traitement des membres du groupe MM sont effectuées en même temps que celles du groupe PM et sont d'un montant équivalent. Les ministères appliqueront ces révisions sur avis du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

5. Paiement d'une rémunération rétroactive

Une révision rétroactive à la hausse du taux de rémunération est accordée aux employés, aux anciens employés ou, en cas de décès, à la succession des anciens employés qui étaient à l'emploi de la fonction publique pendant la période de rétroactivité.

La rémunération versée correspond à ce qui aurait été payé si l'augmentation avait été mise en oeuvre à la date d'entrée en vigueur.

L'employeur est tenu d'aviser l'employé ou l'ancien employé de l'augmentation rétroactive par une lettre recommandée envoyée à la dernière adresse connue. L'ancien employé, ou en cas de décès, les représentants de l'ancien employé ont trente (30) jours à compter de la date de réception de cette lettre pour demander, par écrit, la rémunération rétroactive.