Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Salary Administration Policy - Management Trainee Group (Archived)


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


6. Employees on leave without pay

6.1 Salary Adjustment

A management trainee who is granted leave without pay for any period remains in the Program.

The salary of a trainee on such leave should be adjusted from time to time to preserve the trainee's position in the salary range at the time the absence began. Adjustments will occur when directions are given for revisions to the Management trainee salary ranges by the Treasury Board Secretariat.

6.2 Program Extension

Effective September 1, 1996, all leave of more than sixty consecutive working days will delay promotion, and graduation dates by adding the period of absence to the time remaining within the MTP. This would not however preclude a trainee from otherwise being eligible from applying for positions or promotions nor would it preclude a review committee to conclude that a trainee meets the standards of appointment at the end of the program.

7. Salary on appointment

Failure to meet the language and/or degree requirement or other appointment requirements on time, disqualifies a candidate from further program participation.

This plan shall be used to determine a person's rate of pay following appointment to the Management Trainee group whether from outside or inside the Public Service, as well as persons transferring from the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) or Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP).

7.1 Appointment to the Management Trainee group from outside the Public Service

The entry rate for a participant appointed to the Group from outside the Public Service shall be the rate specified in AppendixB, Table2.

7.2 Appointment to the Management Trainee group from other occupational groups

The Management Trainee program aims to recruit recent university graduates with little or no work experience. Qualified Public Service employees with up to threeyears' experience, however, are also included. The salary plan for the program reflects this recruiting objective.

Appointment to the MMgroup from other occupational groups within the Public Service, is deemed a transfer for pay purposes; therefore, pay shall be calculated according to the transfer provisions contained in the terms and conditions of employment for employees outside the Executive Group.

Where the transfer rate is less than the rate payable on initial appointment from outside the Public Service, the trainee shall be paid the higher rate.

The ensuing starting rate shall fall within the range for the MM1 to MM3 levels specified in AppendixB, Table 2.

The deputy head may extend this provision to persons appointed from an organization specified as a participant in the Public Service Superannuation Act (PSSA), as well as the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) and Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP).

7.3 Starting salary in excess of MM entry rate

Where a trainee's starting salary, on transfer, exceeds the entry rate, the trainee shall be held at the starting rate until it is exceeded by the rate for their respective successfully completed years of training (AppendixB, Table2). Those receiving holding pay may not receive promotion or performance awards, but do receive MM group rate revisions.

7.4 Starting salary in excess of MM training rate maximum

Because the program limits participation to those with little related work experience, there is no salary protection for persons whose former Public Service income exceeds the MM3 job rate. Therefore, Public Service employees electing to enter the program under this circumstance must be counselled that the only increases they will receive during their training are those arising from occasional revisions to the MM pay rates.

8. Acting pay

Management trainees are not entitled to acting pay because trainees will receive significant pay increases over the course of the program. Additional payment for the immediate performance of higher value duties is, therefore, inappropriate for employees of this group.

However, once trainees have successfully completed their program, they are entitled to acting pay if requested to act in a position as an interim measure until their appointment to another group and level.

9. Appointment following declaration of surplus or lay-off

Management trainees are subject to the Workforce Adjustment Directive. Entitlement to the salary protection provisions of the directive shall be governed by the "attained level" provisions of this pay plan shown in AppendixB, Table 3.

10. Appointment to other occupational groups

Participants moving to other occupational groups at or before the successful conclusion of their training program, will be paid in accordance with this pay plan and the relevant collective agreement or terms and conditions of employment of the new position.

10.1 Prior to graduation

The trainee's salary range to be used in fixing the pay of the new position will be the "attained level" at the time of program exit (AppendixB, Table3).

If the participant's current salary exceeds the attained level, the deputy head of the organization making the new appointment may use it instead of the "attained level", should he or she decide circumstances warrant.

Restricting salary ranges on program exit to the degree of successful completion, ensures that those departing early do not unduly qualify for transfer to higher paying positions reserved for program graduates.

10.2 Upon graduation

For those participants who have successfully completed all the requirements of this program, the nominal maximum (AppendixB, Table2) will be used to determine their salary on the next appointment. That salary will be fixed in accordance with the promotion and transfer rule of the terms and conditions employment.

11. Performance and promotion pay administration

The Public Service Commission can approve individual promotion awards.

Deputy heads can approve the individual performance awards.

Progression through the MM salary levels depends upon a performance assessment of at least "fully satisfactory" at the completion of each assignment, and on demonstrated competencies as defined in the MM selection standard , and verified by the trainee's supervisor and promotion board.

Assignments may be for more or less than a year's duration. Promotion increases to levels MM-2 and MM-3 are payable on the 18th and 36th month from the trainee's appointment date. The trainee must, however, meet all promotion requirements. Promotion pay will be made retroactive to the 18th or 36month respectively, if the promotion is delayed for administrative reasons beyond the trainee's control.

A Performance award is payable on the 12thmonth from promotion to MM-3.

The timing of the performance award due to leave(s) of absence shall be governed by the relevant collective agreement.

Trainee assessments should be documented in relation to the performance and promotion expectations of each assignment in order to substantiate payment.

With the exception of those in a holding rate, no trainee shall receive a salary exceeding the job rate for the number of successfully completed years of training (AppendixB, Table2).

Those in a holding rate are ineligible for performance increases and promotion awards, as appropriate.

11.1 Salary treatment for unsuccessful performance

There is to be no promotion increase or performance award for an unsuccessfully concluded assignment. Persons who are evaluated as less than "fully satisfactory", may not proceed for promotional assessment. Persons rated less than "fully satisfactory", if retained in the program, must complete another assignment before again being considered for a promotion or performance award.

11.2 Subsequent salary treatment

Subsequent performance improvement will merit a single increase/award but only from the date of assessment or promotion board. Forfeiture or delay in an increment lowers aggregate earnings in the program and the "attained range" for fixing a salary on premature exit. Following successful program completion, however, the trainee should attain the salary level of a new PM-5 or equivalent or EX-minus-2 as appropriate.

12. Disqualification

A second rating of less than "fully satisfactory" disqualifies the participant for the balance of the program.

13. Trainees not working in home organization

A trainee may be assigned outside the home department with the mutual agreement of the home department, and the host organization. The PSC must agree to central agency assignments which are financed through its fund.

The host department provides a performance assessment to the home department.

The home department is responsible for actions, promotion and performance pay.

14. Authorization

The deputy head is authorized to determine increases in salary and to grant performance awards as prescribed in this plan, unless otherwise directed by the Treasury Board Secretariat.

15. Confidentiality

As a matter of government policy, disclosure is restricted to information on salary ranges. The specific salary paid to persons in a performance pay plan may be disclosed only to the those public servants whose work requires access to such information.


Appendix B - Salary Determination Tables (MM)

Annual rates of pay

A) Effective June 21, 2003 (2.5%)

B) Effective June 21, 2004 (2.25%)

C) Effective June 21, 2005 (2.4%)

D) Effective June 21, 2006 (2.5%)

Ab Initio

MM-01
(Entry)

MM-02
(18 Months)

MM-03
(36 Months)

MM-03
(48 Months)

MM-03
(60 Months)

From

35,221

44,026

47,260

53,309

55,495

61,312

A

36,102

45,127

48,442

54,642

56,882

62,845

B

36,914

46,142

49,532

55,871

58,162

64,259

C

37,800

47,249

50,721

57,212

59,558

65,801

D

38,745

48,430

51,989

58,642

61,047

67,446

Notes

  1. An MM-1 employee moves to MM-2 level after 18 months in the program, to the MM-3 level 1st step after 36 months, and to MM-3 2nd step after 48 months. Participants on the 5-year version of the program move to MM-3 3rd step after 60 months in the MTP program. 
  2. The nominal maximum of the MM-3 is equal to that of the CO-2 maximum, but participants' actual salary, upon graduation, is limited to the 48-month or 60-month increment. Only participants who have successfully completed the program and are considered graduates are eligible to use the MM-3 nominal maximum when deploying off the program.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Politique sur l'administration des traitements - Groupe des stagiaires en gestion (Archivé)

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».


6. Employs en cong non pay

6.1 Ajustement salariale

Tout stagiaire en gestion qui se voit accorder un cong non pay pour une priode quelconque continue de participer au programme.

Le traitement d'un stagiaire en cong non pay devrait tre rajust de temps autre de manire ce que le stagiaire demeure l'chelon de l'chelle de traitement auquel il se trouvait lorsque son cong a dbut. Les rajustements doivent tre effectus lorsque le Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor ordonne que des rvisions soient apportes aux chelles de traitement du groupe des stagiaires en gestion.

6.2 Prolongement du programme

compter du 1er septembre 1996, tous les congs de travail conscutives de plus de soixante jours retarderont les dates des promotions et d'obtention des diplmes en ajoutant la priode d'absence au temps qui reste dans le Programme des stagiaires en gestion. Cela n'empcherais pas le stagiaire d'tre candidat un poste ou une promotion ainsi qu'au comit de rvision de conclure qu'un stagiaire rencontre les normes pour tre nomm un poste la fin du programme.

7. Traitement au moment de la nomination

Si le candidat ne satisfait pas, dans les dlais prescrits, aux exigences linguistiques, aux exigences relatives l'obtention du diplme ou toute autre exigence lie la nomination, il ne peut pas poursuivre sa participation au programme.

Ce rgime sert dterminer le taux de rmunration d'une personne nomme au groupe des stagiaires en gestion, peu importe si elle est recrute de l'intrieur ou de l'extrieur de la fonction publique, des Forces canadiennes (FC) ou de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC).

7.1 Nomination au groupe des stagiaires en gestion partir de l'extrieur de la fonction publique

Le taux d'entre d'un stagiaire nomm au groupe partir de l'extrieur de la fonction publique est le taux prcis l'appendiceB, tableau2.

7.2 Nomination au groupe des stagiaires en gestion partir d'autres groupes professionnels

Le programme de stagiaires en gestion vise recruter de rcents diplms d'universit possdant trs peu d'exprience de travail, voire mme aucune. Toutefois, les employs qualifis de la fonction publique qui comptent jusqu' trois ans d'exprience sont galement admissibles au programme. Le rgime de rmunration tabli pour le programme tient compte de cet objectif de recrutement.

La nomination au groupe MM partir d'autres groupes professionnels de la fonction publique est rpute tre une mutation aux fins de la rmunration; par consquent, la rmunration est calcule en fonction des dispositions rgissant la mutation, qui figurent dans les conditions d'emploi des employs n'appartenant pas au groupe de la direction.

Lorsque le taux la mutation est infrieur au taux payable la nomination initiale de l'extrieur de la fonction publique, le stagiaire reoit le taux le plus lev.

Le taux de rmunration la nomination au groupe se situera l'intrieur de l'chelle de traitement prvue pour les niveaux MM-1 MM-3 (voir l'appendiceB), tableau 2.

L'administrateur gnral peut permettre l'application de cette disposition aux personnes nommes partir d'un organisme vis par la Loi sur la pension dans la Fonction publique, des Forces canadiennes (FC) ou de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC).

7.3 Taux de rmunration la nomination suprieur au taux d'entre maximal du groupe MM

Lorsque le traitement d'un stagiaire, au moment de la mutation, est suprieur au taux d'entre maximal applicable, son taux de traitement sera maintenu jusqu' ce que le taux normal applicable aux annes de formation termines avec succs (voir l'appendiceB, tableau2) le dpasse. Ceux qui touchent un taux maintenu ont droit aux augmentations dcoulant de la rvision de l'chelle de traitement du groupe MM, mais non aux primes de rendement ou de promotion.

7.4 Taux de rmunration la nomination suprieur au taux de formation maximal du groupe MM

tant donn que le programme vise exclusivement les personnes qui ont trs peu d'exprience de travail, aucune protection salariale n'est prvue l'gard des stagiaires dont le revenu la fonction publique excdait le taux normal applicable au niveau MM-3. Par consquent, les employs de la fonction publique dans cette situation qui choisissent de s'inscrire au programme doivent tre informs du fait que les seules augmentations qu'ils toucheront au cours de la formation seront celles qui dcouleront des rvisions de l'chelle de traitement du groupe MM effectues de temps autre.

8. Rmunration provisoire

Les stagiaires en gestion n'a pas droit la rmunration provisoire parce qu'il touche d'importantes hausses salariales mesure que le programme se droule. Il ne convient donc pas de lui verser une rmunration supplmentaire pour l'excution immdiate de fonctions plus complexes.

Cependant, une fois que le stagiaire termine le programme avec succs, il a droit de recevoir une rmunration provisoire si on lui demande d'occuper un poste titre intrimaire en attendant sa nomination un autre groupe et niveau.

9. Nomination d'un employ aprs qu'il a t dclar excdentaire ou qu'il a t mis en disponibilit

Les stagiaires en gestion sont assujettis la directive sur le ramnagement des effectifs. L'application des dispositions de la directive ayant trait la protection salariale est dtermine en fonction des dispositions du prsent rgime de rmunration relatives l'chelle atteinte (voir l'appendiceB, tableau3).

10. Nomination d'autres groupes professionnels

Les stagiaires qui sont nomms d'autres groupes professionnels aprs avoir termin avec succs le programme, ou avant la fin de celui-ci, seront rmunrs conformment aux dispositions du prsent rgime de rmunration ainsi qu' la convention collective ou aux conditions d'emploi s'appliquant au nouveau poste.

10.1 Avant l'obtention du diplme

Pour tablir le taux de rmunration du nouveau poste, il faut se servir de l'chelle de traitement atteinte par le stagiaire sa sortie du programme (appendiceB, tableau3).

Si le traitement actuel du stagiaire excde le taux maximum de l'chelle atteinte, l'administrateur gnral de l'organisme qui effectue la nomination peut, s'il le juge opportun, utiliser celui-ci au lieu de l'chelle atteinte.

L'imposition de restrictions sur les traitements de ceux qui abandonnent le programme avant la fin, en fonction du nombre d'annes termines avec succs, permet de faire en sorte que ceux qui se retirent htivement du programme ne soient pas muts aux postes mieux rmunrs rservs aux diplms du programme.

10.2 Au moment de l'obtention du diplme

Dans le cas des stagiaires qui terminent le programme avec succs, l'chelle correspondant l'obtention du diplme (appendiceB, tableau2) sera utilise pour dterminer leur traitement au moment de la prochaine nomination. Ce traitement sera tabli conformment aux rgles de promotion et de mutation prvues dans les conditions d'emploi.

11. Administration de la rmunration au rendement

La Commission de la fonction publique peut approuver les primes de promotion individuelles.

Les administrateurs gnraux peuvent approuver les primes de rendement individuelles.

Pour progresser d'un taux de rmunration l'autre au sein du groupe MM, le stagiaire doit avoir un rendement au moins entirement satisfaisant la fin de chaque affectation et faire preuve des comptences dfinies dans la norme de slection prvue pour le groupe MM. Le rendement et les comptences doivent tre confirms par le superviseur du stagiaire et la commission d'avancement.

Les affectations peuvent tre d'une dure suprieure ou infrieure un an. Les augmentations correspondant la promotion aux niveaux MM-2 et MM-3 sont payables le 18eet le 36emois compter de la date de la nomination du stagiaire. Cependant, le stagiaire doit satisfaire toutes les exigences lies la promotion. La rmunration conscutive la promotion sera applicable, titre rtroactif, au 18emois et au 36emois respectivement, si la promotion est retarde pour des raisons administratives indpendantes de la volont du stagiaire. Une prime de rendement peut tre verse le 48emois suivant la date de la nomination de l'intress.

Une prime de rendement est payable au 12emois suivant la promotion au niveau MM-3.

Si le stagiaire a pris des congs, la prime de rendement lui sera verse conformment aux dispositions de la convention collective pertinente.

L'valuation des stagiaires devrait s'appuyer sur des donnes concernant leur rendement par rapport au rendement attendu dans le cadre de chaque affectation, de manire justifier le versement de la prime de rendement ou de promotion.

l'exception de ceux qui touchent un taux de rmunration maintenu, aucun stagiaire ne peut recevoir un traitement qui excde le taux normal correspondant ses annes de formation termines avec succs (appendiceB, tableau2).

Les stagiaires qui touchent un taux maintenu n'ont pas droit aux primes de rendement et de promotion.

11.1 Traitement en cas de rendement insatisfaisant

Le stagiaire qui ne termine pas une affectation avec succs n'a pas droit une prime de rendement ou une prime de promotion. Le stagiaire qui obtient une cote infrieure entirement satisfaisant ne peut tre candidat une promotion. Il doit, s'il est autoris poursuivre le programme, terminer une autre affectation avant de pouvoir tre admissible une prime de rendement ou une prime de promotion.

11.2 Traitement accord par la suite

Le stagiaire qui amliore son rendement par la suite a droit une seule prime de rendement ou de promotion, qui est calcule seulement compter de la date de l'valuation ou de la dcision de la commission d'avancement. Le taux maximal que peut atteindre le stagiaire au cours du programme et l'chelle atteinte qui sert fixer le traitement en cas d'abandon du programme sont rduits lorsque le stagiaire renonce une prime ou ne devient admissible une prime qu'aprs la date prvue. Toutefois, si le stagiaire termine le programme avec succs, il devrait pouvoir toucher un traitement correspondant celui d'un employ nouvellement nomm au niveau PM-5 ou un groupe professionnel quivalent ou au niveau EX-moins-2, selon le cas.

12. Disqualification

Le stagiaire qui obtient une seconde cote infrieure entirement satisfaisant n'a pas le droit de poursuivre le programme.

13. Stagiaires ne travaillant pas dans l'organisme d'attache

L'affectation du stagiaire un organisme autre que le ministre d'attache peut se faire sous rserve du consentement de ce mme ministre et de l'organisme d'accueil. Le consentement de la CFP est requis pour les affectations qu'elle finance par son fonds.

Le ministre d'accueil fournit une valuation du rendement au ministre d'attache.

Le ministre d'attache voit au droulement du processus de promotion et de versement de la rmunration au rendement.

14. Autorisation

L'administrateur gnral est autoris dterminer les hausses salariales et accorder des primes de rendement et de promotion, conformment aux dispositions de ce rgime, moins d'indication contraire de la part du Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor.

15. Caractre confidentiel

Selon la politique du gouvernement, seuls les renseignements sur les chelles de traitement peuvent tre communiqus. Le traitement vers un stagiaire dans le cadre d'un rgime de rmunration au rendement ne sera dvoil qu'aux fonctionnaires qui, cause de la nature de leur travail, doivent avoir accs cette information.


Appendice B - Tables de dtermination des salaires (MM)

Taux de traitement annuel

A) en vigueur 21 juin 2003 (2,5%)

B) en vigueur 21 juin 2004 (2,25%)

C) en vigueur 21 juin 2005 (2,4%)

D) en vigueur 21 juin 2006 (2,5%)

Ab Initio

MM-01
(Entre)

MM-02
(18 Mois)

MM-03
(36 Mois)

MM-03
(48 Mois)

MM-03
(60 Mois)

De

35,221

44,026

47,260

53,309

55,495

61,312

A

36,102

45,127

48,442

54,642

56,882

62,845

B

36,914

46,142

49,532

55,871

58,162

64,259

C

37,800

47,249

50,721

57,212

59,558

65,801

D

38,745

48,430

51,989

58,642

61,047

67,446

Notes
  1. Un employ MM-1 accde au niveau MM-2 aprs 18 mois dans le programme, au niveau MM-3 1er chelon aprs 36 mois, et au MM-3 2me chelon aprs 48 mois. Les participants sur le programme de 5 ans accde au 3ime chelon du MM-3 aprs 60 mois dans le Programme de stagiaires en gestion.
  2. Le salaire maximum nominal du MM-3 est gal au maximum du groupe CO-2, mais le salaire en vigueur des participants lors de la graduation est limit l'chelon du 48ime ou du 60ime mois. Seul les participants qui ont complt le programme avec succs et sont considrs des gradus sont autoriss utiliser le maximum nominal du MM-3 lorsqu'ils sont dploys du programme