Introduction

The Directory of Federal Real Property is the central record and only complete listing of real property holdings of the Government of Canada. It is administered by the Real Property and Materiel Policy Directorate of the Treasury Board Secretariat.

The purpose of the Directory is to maintain a contemporary record of basic information concerning the real property holdings of the Government of Canada. Information held in the Directory is used to keep the Government of Canada informed about the scale and major components of its real property inventory. It is also used to provide information to ministers, members of Parliament and the general public concerning a specific property or group of properties within a particular geographic area.

Although all Crown lands in Canada are owned by Her Majesty, the administration of these lands is assigned to departments, agencies, and Crown corporations to support the delivery of government programs. These organizations are commonly referred to as custodians.

Exclusions

This publication is designed to provide basic information concerning federal real property such as custodian identification, property size, location, and type of legal interest.

It does not contain any information regarding:

  • easements, subsurface and mineral rights;
  • mortgages, property held as a surrogate for a mortgage and other forms of securitiy;
  • interests in land of less than 0.001 hectares, unless municipal grants are paid on them;
  • leasehold interests of less than a year;
  • offshore oil and gas lands;
  • Crown lands in Yukon or Northwest Territories; (except those being used by a federal department or agency);
  • real property that is an Indian Reserve as defined in the Indian Act, (except that which is being used by a federal department or agency);
  • Bank of Canada holdings;
  • Canada Council holdings;
  • Canadian Wheat Board holdings; or
  • Telefilm Canada holdings.

Disclaimer

The Directory is not a registry. Although every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the listings, the Government of Canada makes no representations or warranties and assumes no liablity with respect to the use of these listings. These listings are not, under any circumstances, to be used as a substitute for legal property descriptions and professional legal advice.

Obtaining more information

Additional information about the Directory may be obtained by contacting the DFRP Administrator:

Stephen Hamilton
Senior Advisor
Office of the Comptroller General
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
90 Elgin Street
Ottawa ON K1A 0R5

Telephone: 613.369.3078
E-Mail: Stephen.Hamilton@tbs-sct.gc.ca

Introduction

Le Répertoire des biens immobiliers fédéraux est le registre central et la seule liste complète des biens immobiliers détenus par le gouvernement du Canada. Il est administré par la Direction de la politique des biens immobiliers et du matériel du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

Le Répertoire renferme des données de base à jour sur les avoirs immobiliers du gouvernement du Canada. Les renseignements qui y figurent servent à tenir le gouvernement du Canada au courant de l'ampleur et des principales composantes de son portefeuille immobilier. Il informe également les ministres, les parlementaires et le grand public au sujet d'un bien ou d'un groupe de biens en particulier dans un secteur géographique donné.

Bien que les terrains de l'État au Canada soient tous la propriété de Sa Majesté, leur administration est confiée aux ministères, aux organismes et aux sociétés d'État (ci-après appelés les organismes gardiens) afin d'appuyer l'exécution des programmes de l'État.

Exclusions

La présente publication fournit des renseignements de base sur les avoirs immobiliers du gouvernement fédéral, notamment le nom de l'organisme gardien, les dimensions du bien, l'endroit où il se trouve et le type d'intérêt juridique détenu sur le bien.

Ne sont pas consignés dans le Répertoire les renseignements concernant:

  • les servitudes, les droits d'exploitation du sous-sol et les droits miniers;
  • les hypothèques, les biens détenus en remplacement d'une hypothèque et d'autres formes de garanties;
  • les intérêts dans les terrains d'une superficie inférieure à 0,0001 hectare, à moins que ceux- ci fassent l'objet de subventions municipales;
  • les intérêts locatifs d'une durée inférieure à un an;
  • les terres pétrolières et gazières situées au large des côtes;
  • les terrains de l'État situés au Yukon ou dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (sauf ceux qui sont utilisés par un ministère ou un organisme fédéral);
  • les biens immobiliers situés sur une réserve indienne selon la définition de la Loi sur les Indiens (sauf ceux qui sont utilisés par un ministère ou un organisme fédéral);
  • les biens détenus par la Banque du Canada;
  • les biens détenus par le Conseil des Arts du Canada;
  • les biens détenus par la Commission canadienne du blé; ou
  • les biens détenus par Telefilm Canada.

Avertissement

Le Répertoire n'est pas un registre officiel des biens immobiliers. Bien que tout ait été mis en oeuvre pour faire en sorte que les entrées soient exactes, le gouvernement du Canada ne fait aucune déclaration, ne donne aucune garantie ni n'assume aucune responsabilité à l'égard de l'utilisation de ces données. Celles-ci ne doivent, en aucun cas, être utilisées en remplacement d'une description légale du bien ou de conseils juridiques professionnels.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Pour toute question concernant le portefeuille immobilier d’un organisme ou des biens immobiliers ou des immeubles particuliers de ce portefeuille, veuillez consulter la liste des agents de liaison officiels pour chaque organisation déclarante du RBIF.

Pour signaler un problème technique ou pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le RBIF, veuillez envoyer un courriel à DFRP-ADMIN-RBIF@tbs-sct.gc.ca ou communiquer avec l’administrateur du RBIF:

Ashley Maloney
Gestionnaire du Système d'information sur les biens immobiliers
Conseil du Trésor (Secrétariat)
90 rue Elgin
Ottawa ON K1A 0G5

Courriel : Ashley.Maloney@tbs-sct.gc.ca