We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Backgrounder - Privacy Matters: The Federal Strategy to Address Concerns About the USA PATRIOT Act and Transborder Data Flows

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Overview

  • Today's digital age allows for the rapid and easy movement of information around the globe - known as transborder data flows - and has led to increased outsourcing that is beneficial to Canada's economy. However, transborder data flows combined with foreign laws that apply when information is accessible outside of Canada's borders, make it challenging to protect the privacy and security of information.
  • The USA PATRIOT Act, designed to fight terrorism, allows law enforcement agencies under certain circumstances to access personal records of people without their knowledge.
  • The chances of the USA PATRIOT Act being used to access the personal records of Canadians are remote.

Government of Canada Leadership

  • The Government of Canada has been a world leader in privacy for over 25 years. Since 1978, the government has illustrated its recognition of the importance of the protection of individual privacy and set the standard for similar privacy laws in the provinces.
  • The federal government introduced the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) in 2001 to protect the privacy of personal information handled by the private sector.
  • In 2002, under the Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) Policy, the Government of Canada became the first national government in the world to make it mandatory for all departments and agencies to document, publish and maintain PIAs for all programs and services where privacy issues may be inherent.

Government of Canada Approach

  • The Government of Canada sees the issues raised by the USA PATRIOT Act as being similar to any foreign legislation that has the potential to allow access to Canadians' personal information on the part of foreign authorities. As a result, the government's measures are designed to address the broader issue of transborder data flows.
  • To meet the challenges that stem from the flow of information across borders, the Government of Canada has adopted a balanced approach, taking into account privacy requirements and other important considerations. These include the need to allow outsourcing; the continuation of international trade agreements to benefit Canada's economy; and, the need to protect the public safety and national security.
  • In the Government of Canada, each institution is responsible for personal and sensitive information under its control and must have in place a risk management strategy relevant to its own circumstances.

Results of Review

  • The Government of Canada conducted a review of all its outsourcing contracts to determine their level of risk under the USA PATRIOT Act. Most of the 160 federal institutions, more than 80 per cent, rated their contracts as having no risk at all, or a low risk, because information is either being processed only by the federal government itself or by a company operating only in Canada.
  • Departments and agencies have used the results of the review to determine and implement mitigating strategies where required.
  • The Government of Canada will pursue other actions to further mitigate risks, including a review of technological solutions.
Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Document d'information - Protéger les renseignements personnels - Un impératif : La stratégie fédérale visant à répondre aux préoccupations suscitées par la USA PATRIOT Act et le flux de données transfrontière

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Aperçu

  • L'ère numérique d'aujourd'hui permet l'échange rapide et facile de renseignements autour du globe, soit le flux de données transfrontière, et a mené à l'approvisionnement accru à l'étranger dont bénéficie l'économie canadienne. Toutefois, le flux de données transfrontière, avec les lois étrangères qui s'appliquent lorsque des renseignements sont accessibles à l'extérieur des frontières du Canada, rend plus difficile la protection des renseignements personnels et de sécurité.
  • La USA PATRIOT Act, conçue pour lutter contre le terrorisme, permet aux autorités policières, dans certaines circonstances, l'accès aux dossiers personnels des gens à leur insu.
  • La probabilité que la USA PATRIOT Act serve pour accéder aux dossiers personnels de Canadiens est faible.

Leadership du gouvernement du Canada

  • Le gouvernement du Canada est un leader mondial en matière de protection de la vie privée depuis plus de 25 ans. Depuis 1978, le gouvernement a témoigné de l'importance qu'il accorde à la protection des renseignements personnels et établi la norme pour les lois semblables dans les provinces.
  • Le gouvernement fédéral a adopté la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) en 2001 afin de protéger les renseignements personnels utilisés par le secteur privé.
  • En 2002, en vertu de la politique sur l'Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (ÉFVP), le gouvernement du Canada est devenu le premier gouvernement national au monde à imposer à tous ses ministères et organismes de documenter, de publier et de maintenir une ÉFVP pour tous les programmes et services qui peuvent soulever des questions de vie privée.

Démarche du gouvernement du Canada

  • Le gouvernement du Canada considère l'enjeu que constitue la USA PATRIOT Act comme étant semblable à toute loi étrangère qui donnerait accès aux renseignements personnels des Canadiens à  des autorités étrangères. C'est dire que les mesures du gouvernement son conçues pour tenir compte de l'enjeu plus large du flux de données transfrontière.
  • Pour relever les défis que comporte l'échange d'information au-delà des frontières, le gouvernement du Canada a adopté une démarche nuancée, tenant compte des exigences en matière de vie privée et d'autres considérations importantes. Ce sont le besoin de permettre l'impartition; le maintien des accords commerciaux internationaux dont bénéficie l'économie du Canada; et la nécessité de protéger la sécurité du public et de la nation.
  • Chaque institution du gouvernement du Canada est responsable des renseignements personnels et délicats sous son contrôle et doit disposer d'une stratégie de gestion du risque adaptée à ses propres circonstances.

Résultats de l'examen

  • Le gouvernement du Canada a examiné tous ses contrats d'impartition afin de déterminer leur niveau de risque en vertu de la USA PATRIOT Act. La plupart des 160 institutions fédérales, plus de 80 pour cent, évaluent leurs contrats comme ne présentant aucun risque, ou un risque faible, parce que les renseignements ou bien sont traités seulement par le gouvernement fédéral même ou par une société en exploitation au Canada seulement.
  • Les ministères et organismes utilisent les résultats de cet examen pour établir et mettre en œuvre des stratégies d'atténuation au besoin.
  • Le gouvernement du Canada prendra d'autres mesures afin d'atténuer davantage les risques, dont l'examen de solutions technologiques.
Date de modification :