Federal Contaminated Sites Inventory

Introduction

The Federal Contaminated Sites Inventory includes information on all known federal contaminated sites under the custodianship of departments, agencies and consolidated Crown corporations as well as those that are being or have been investigated to determine whether they have contamination arising from past use that could pose a risk to human health or the environment. The inventory also includes non-federal contaminated sites for which the Government of Canada has accepted some or all financial responsibility. It does not include sites where contamination has been caused by, and which are under the control of, enterprise Crown corporations, private individuals, firms or other levels of government.

To date, departments, agencies and consolidated Crown corporations have identified and classified over 22,000 contaminated or suspected contaminated sites in urban, rural and remote areas across Canada, using the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP) Classification System, an enhanced version of the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment National Classification System (NCS).

The FCSI displays a standard set of basic and annually-updated information for federal contaminated sites. Each site record includes information such as the location of the site, the severity of contamination, the contaminated medium, the nature of the contaminant, progress made to date in identifying and addressing contamination, and how much liquid and solid-based media have been treated. Search results can be displayed as a table or a map.

The FCSI offers a variety of search criteria, such as site name, province or territory, Census Metropolitan Area, Federal Electoral District, contaminants, FCSAP ranking and site management plans.

What is a contaminated site?

According to the definition adopted by the government of Canada, a contaminated site is "one at which substances occur at concentrations (1) above background (normally occurring) levels and pose or are likely to pose an immediate or long term hazard to human health or the environment, or (2) exceeding levels specified in policies and regulations."

In other words, the main qualification for including a site in the inventory is that there is a concentration of a substance in the soil or ground water (usually a petroleum product or a metal) that is higher than expected for that region of Canada. There must also be some evidence that this concentration poses a risk to human health or the environment.

This risk is determined in a step-by-step process, beginning with a rough estimate of the contamination based on guidelines agreed to by federal, provincial and territorial environment ministers, all of whom are members of the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME). The final stage in the procedure process is an Environmental Site Assessment that uses such tools as field sampling and laboratory analysis to determine the type and level of contamination present.

Inventaire des sites contaminés fédéraux

Introduction

L’inventaire révisé des sites contaminés fédéraux comprend toute l’information concernant les sites contaminés fédéraux sous la garde des ministères, organismes et sociétés d’État consolidées, de même que les renseignements sur les sites à l’étude, et ceux qui l’ont été, afin de déterminer s’ils ont été contaminés à la suite d’une utilisation antérieure et pouvant présenter un risque pour la santé humaine ou l’environnement. Cet inventaire inclut également les sites contaminés non fédéraux pour lesquels le gouvernement du Canada a accepté certaines ou l’ensemble des responsabilités financières. Il ne comprend pas les sites où la contamination a été causée, ou sous le contrôle, de sociétés d’État, de particuliers, d’entreprises ou d’autres ordres de gouvernement.

Jusqu’à maintenant, les ministères, les organismes et les sociétés d’État consolidées ont identifié plus de 22 000 sites contaminés ou soupçonnés d'être contaminés dans des zones urbaines, rurales et éloignées partout au Canada, en utilisant le système de classification du plan d’action sur les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) , une version améliorée du Système national de classification (SNC) du Conseil canadien des ministres de l’Environnement.

L’ISCF comprend un ensemble de renseignements de base mis à jour annuellement, sur les sites contaminés fédéraux. Chacun des dossiers sur les sites renferme des renseignements sur le lieu du site, le degré de sévérité de la contamination du site, la nature des contaminants, les progrès réalisés jusqu’à maintenant pour identifier et résoudre la contamination, ainsi que les quantités de liquide et de contaminant solide qui ont été traités. Les résultats de ces recherches peuvent être présentés sous forme de tableau ou de carte.

L’ISCF offre une variété de critères de recherche, tel que le nom du site, la province ou le territoire, la région métropolitaine de recensement, le district électoral fédéral, et les contaminants.

Qu'est-ce qu'un site contaminé?

Conformément à la définition adoptée par le gouvernement du Canada, un site contaminé est « un site dans lequel la concentration de substances nocives (1) est supérieure aux niveaux naturels et pose ou peut poser un danger immédiat ou futur à la santé ou à l’environnement, ou (2) dépasse les niveaux indiqués dans les politiques et les règlements ».

En d’autres mots, la principale caractéristiques pour inclure in site dans cet inventaire consiste en une concentration de substances dans le sol ou l’eau souterraine (habituellement par des produits pétroliers ou des métaux) plus élevée que prévue pour une région du Canada. De plus, on doit retrouver une preuve que cette concentration présente un risque pour la santé humaine et l’environnement.

Ce risque est déterminé au moyen d’un processus par étapes qui commence par une estimation approximative de la contamination s’appuyant sur les lignes directrices convenues par les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux de l’Environnement qui siègent au Conseil canadien des ministres de l’environnement (CCME). L’étape finale du processus est une évaluation environnementale du site en utilisant des outils tels que l’échantillonnage et les analyses de laboratoire pour déterminer le type et le niveau de contamination.