Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Physical Asset Transfers to Crown and Other Wholly-owned Corporations, Policy on the Approval for, and Accounting of - TB Circular 1983-39 - Archived

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Circular No.: 1983-39

T.B. No.: 788228

File No.: 4295-6

Date: May 19, 1983

To: Deputy Ministers of Departments and Heads of Agencies and Government Corporations

Subject: Policy on the Approval for, and Accounting of, Physical Asset Transfers to Crown and Other Wholly-owned Corporations

Introduction

1. This policy covers the procedures and the accounting which are to be followed whenever a physical asset is transferred from the Government of Canada accounting entity, to a Crown or other wholly-owned corporation outside the accounting entity, and Canada will not receive from the corporation cash or physical assets in exchange equal to the market value of the physical assets to be transferred.

2. The authority which the Governor in Council or appropriate Minister has to transfer physical assets will continue to exist under such statutes as the Surplus Crown Assets Act, the Public Works Act and the Public Lands Grants Act. However when the consideration to be received by Canada for a transfer is to be less than the market value of the asset, the Treasury Board, under the authority of section 5 of the Financial Administration Act, must agree to the transfer before a Minister acts under any general Governor-in-Council authority, or before a Minister applies to the Governor in Council for any specific authority to transfer physical assets.

3. The policy outlined herein governs the amount which Canada will record as a financial claim on a Crown or other wholly-owned corporation as a result of transferring a physical asset to that corporation. Parliamentary authority will be required to record the financial claim in the accounts of Canada. The policy also addresses the corporation's accounting.

Definitions

4. For the purpose of this policy:

(a) "Crown corporations"
includes both Crown corporations included in Schedules C and D to the Financial Administration Act and other Crown-owned corporations.
(b) "Dependent corporation"
means a corporation which is not financially self-sufficient and must depend upon the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF) for annual appropriations to cover most or all of its cash requirements.
(c) "Financial claim on a corporation"
means instruments of indebtedness, common shares or other forms of ownership, (i.e., loans, advances and investments).
(d) "Market value"
means the price that would be agreed to in an open and unrestricted market between knowledgeable and willing parties, dealing at arm's length, who are fully informed and not under any compulsion to transact.
(e) "Net transfer value"
means the market value of the physical asset transferred, less the market value of any physical assets exchanged and/or cash paid.
(f) "Physical assets"
mean the tangible assets of plant, property, equipment and inventories.
(g) "Self-sufficient corporation"
means a corporation which is judged to be able to finance its operations and capital programs from internally generated funds and from funds which it could raise in the capital markets on its own credit.

Application

5. This policy applies in all instances where:

  1. title or ownership of the physical asset is transferred or whenever the proceeds of any future sale of the asset accrue to the Crown corporation; and
  2. Canada will not receive from the Crown corporation cash and/or physical assets in exchange equal to the market value of the physical assets to be transferred.

Policy

6. Whenever a Crown corporation does not pay to Canada cash equal to the market value of the transferred physical asset, or exchanges equal-valued physical assets, a Treasury Board submission must be made by the appropriate Department seeking approval:

  1. to apply to the Governor in Council to transfer the physical assets when specific Governor-in-Council authority is required, or to act under general Governor-in-Council authority; and
  2. of the amount of the related financial claim, if any, to be recorded in the accounts of Canada.

7. When Canada transfers a physical asset to a dependent corporation, the transfer will be recorded in the accounts of Canada at a value equal to any cash received as payment. Canada will not record a financial claim on the corporation.

8. When Canada transfers a physical asset to a self-sufficient corporation, the transfer will be recorded in the accounts of Canada at a value equal to the cash and financial claims received in exchange. Parliamentary approval must be obtained, to record in the accounts of Canada a financial claim on a corporation.

9. The financial claim on the corporation required by Canada from a self-sufficient corporation at the time of the transfer will equal:

  1. The net transfer value of the asset if the corporation is expected to generate an acceptable rate of return, over time, on the total investment (including the transfer transaction) recorded in the accounts of Canada; or
  2. An amount less than the net transfer value if the corporation is not expected to generate an acceptable rate of return. The value would be reduced until the rate of return, over time, on the reduced recorded value is acceptable.

10. When the recipient corporation, in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, is required to record the acquisition of a transferred asset at its market value but has issues financial claims to Canada of less than the net transfer value, the difference between the net transfer value and the financial claims issued will be recorded in the corporation's accounts as "contributed surplus" or equivalent.

Policy Guidelines

11. Individual circumstances will dictate the statutory authority to be used to transfer the physical assets, but some transfer authority exists under such acts as:

  1. Canada Post Corporation Act
  2. Financial Administration Act
  3. National Parks Act
  4. Public Lands Grants Act
  5. Public Service Rearrangement and Transfer of Duties Act
  6. Public Works Act
  7. Surplus Crown Assets Act

12. Treasury Board shall set a Crown corporation's status as dependent or self-sufficient. However, the appropriate Minister may, in the Treasury Board submission, present evidence for a particular status. A corporation's status would not change frequently.

13. The guidelines for financing Crown corporations, issued as circular 1980-46, define dependent and self-sufficient corporations. A self-sufficient corporation generally has internally generated funds sufficient to carry out its operations. The determination of self-sufficiency status involves such things as examination of the corporation's profits, projected cash flow, commitments, future earnings, market prospects, etc., to determine whether it can finance operations and capital programs (including interest payments and repayment of principal were applicable) without recourse to the CRF. A corporation that, at the time of transferring a physical asset is not self-sufficient, may be so deemed if there are reasonable prospects for the corporation to achieve self-sufficiency over the foreseeable future. Receipt of compensation payments and/or grants, contributions and subsidies (as one of an eligible class of recipients) does not change a corporation's self-sufficient status.

14. The policy on the valuation of recorded assets, issued as circular 1980-47 (and described in section 10.10 of the Guide on Financial Administration) presents factors which should be examined in valuing Canada's recorded loans and investments. An acceptable rate of return for self-sufficient corporations at the date of the transfer would be the appropriate "Crown corporation rate" established by the Minister of Finance, unless the Minister of Finance stipulates another rate. The Crown corporation rate is calculated to reflect the borrowing costs of the Government. The borrowing period chosen should reflect the time period over which the self-sufficiency of a corporation is being evaluated.

15. The market value must be based on evidence, such as an appraisal, and agreed to by the appropriate Minister and the corporation. Public Works Canada or the Crown Assets Disposal Corporation should be consulted. In the event of disagreement, the determination of the market value may be submitted to Treasury Board for decision.

16. Parliamentary approval to record a financial claim in a self-sufficient corporation would normally be obtained through Main or Supplementary Estimates. Preferably it should precede any specific authorization to transfer by Governor in Council, or any action when a Minister already has general authorization from the Governor in Council.

17. A vote in Main or Supplementary Estimates would be for an amount equal to the increased financial claim on the corporation. If Parliament does not approve the proposed additional financial claim on the corporation to which physical assets have been transferred, the accounts of Canada will not show an increased financial claim on that corporation.

18. When Canada receives and records a financial claim on a corporation as a result of transferring physical assets, the value attached to the non-cash financial assets received would be recorded as "proceeds from sales" under the budgetary revenues of Canada. They amount may, if considered material, be given special disclosure in Canada's summary financial statements.

Implementation

19. This policy is applicable to all future transactions, as well as to all past transactions, not yet finalized in the accounts of Canada.

Enquiries

20. Enquiries about this policy should be directed to the Director, Financial and Operational Management Policy, Policy Development Branch, Office of the Comptroller General. 996-7031





Jacques C. Lger
Deputy Comptroller General
Policy Development Branch

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Biens corporels transférés aux sociétés de la Couronne et aux sociétés en propriété exclusive, Politique concernant l'approbation et la comptabilisation des - Circulaire du CT 1983-39 - Archivée

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

Circulaire no : 1983-39

C.T. no : 788228

Dossier no : 4295-6

Date : le 19 mai 1983

Aux : Sous-ministres et chefs d'organismes et de socits gouvernementales

Objet : Politique concernant l'approbation et la comptabilisation des biens corporels transfrs aux socits de la Couronne et aux socits en proprit exclusive

Introduction

  1. Cette politique nonce les modalits et les mthodes de comptabilisation suivre lorsqu'un bien corporel est transfr d'une entit comptable du gouvernement du Canada une socit de la Couronne ou une socit en proprit exclusive qui ne fait pas partie de l'entit comptable, et que le Canada ne reoit pas en change de l'argent comptant ou des biens corporels quivalant la valeur marchande des biens corporels transfrs.
  2. Le gouverneur en conseil ou le ministre comptent auront encore le pouvoir de transfrer des biens corporels en vertu de la Loi sur les biens de surplus de la Couronne, la Loi sur les travaux publics et la Loi sur les concessions de terres publiques. Toutefois, lorsque la contrepartie que recevra le Canada lors d'un transfert est infrieure la valeur marchande du bien, le Conseil du Trsor, en vertu de l'article 5 de la Loi sur l'administration financire, doit accepter le transfert avant que le ministre comptent puisse agir en vertu d'une autorisation du gouverneur en conseil l'autorisation de transfrer des biens corporels.
  3. La prsente politique stipule le montant que le Canada inscrira dans les crances d'une socit de la Couronne ou d'une socit en proprit exclusive la suite du transfert d'un bien corporel celle-ci. On devra obtenir l'autorisation du Parlement afin d'inscrire les crances dans les comptes du Canada. La politique touche aussi la comptabilit de ces socits.

Dfinition

4. Aux fins de cette politique, on entend par :

a) "Bien corporel"
l'actif corporel d'une socit (btiment, terrain, matriel et stock).
b) "Crance sur une socit"
une reconnaissance de dette des actions ordinaires ou d'autres formes de proprit (prts, avances et dotations en capital).
c) "Socit autonome"
une entreprise que l'on juge capable de financer ses activits et ses immobilisations l'aide des fonds autognrs et des fonds qu'elle pourrait obtenir sur les marchs des capitaux en raison de sa solvabilit.
d) "Socits de la Couronne"
celles qui figurent dans les annexes C et D Loi sur l'administration financire et d'autres socits appartenant la Couronne.
e) "Socit dpendante"
une socit qui n'est pas financirement autonome et dont les crdits annuels qui couvrent la plupart ou tous ses besoins financiers proviennent du FRC.
f) "Valeur marchande"
le prix qui serait convenu dans un march ouvert et non rglement, entre des parties indpendantes, informes et consentantes, qui ne sont pas obliges de conclure un march.
g) "Valeur de transfert nette"
la valeur marchande du bien corporel transfr, moins celle de tout bien corporel chang et (ou) l'argent comptant.

Champ d'application

5. Cette politique s'applique chaque fois que :

  1. le titre ou la proprit du bien corporel est transfr ou lorsque le produit de la vente ultrieure du bien corporel revient une socit de la Couronne; et
  2. le Canada ne reoit pas de la socit de la Couronne un paiement comptant ou des biens corporels de mme valeur en change des biens corporels transfrs.

Politique

6. Lorsqu'une socit de la Couronne ne paie pas au Canada une somme gale la valeur marchande du bien corporel transfr ou change des biens corporels de mme valeur, le ministre intress doit adresser une prsentation au Conseil du Trsor afin qu'il approuve :

  1. une requte au gouverneur en conseil visant le transfert des biens corporels, lorsque l'autorisation expresse de ce dernier est exige, ou le pouvoir d'agir en vertu d'une autorisation gnrale du gouverneur en conseil; et
  2. le montant de la crance connexe, s'il y a lieu, qui sera inscrite dans les comptes du Canada.

7. Lorsque le Canada transfre un bien corporel une socit dpendante, la somme correspondant au paiement de l'opration en argent comptant sera inscrite dans les comptes du Canada. Le Canada ne comptabilisera pas la crance de la socit intresse.

8. Lorsque le Canada transfre un bien corporel une socit autonome, la somme et les crances correspondant au paiement de l'opration en argent comptant seront inscrites dans les comptes du Canada. On doit obtenir du Parlement l'autorisation d'inscrire dans les comptes publics une crance sur une socit.

9. Le montant de la crance que le Canada exige d'une socit autonome lors du transfert d'un bien corporel doit galer :

  1. la valeur de transfert nette du bien, si l'on prvoit qu'avec le temps le rendement de tous les capitaux investis dans cette socit (y compris l'opration de transfert) et inscrits dans les comptes du Canada sera acceptable; ou
  2. une somme infrieure la valeur de transfert nette, si l'on prvoit que le rendement de la socit ne sera pas acceptable. Cette valeur serait rduite jusqu' ce que le rendement des capitaux investis dans cette socit soit acceptable.

10. Lorsque la socit bnficiaire, conformment aux principes comptables reconnus, doit comptabiliser l'acquisition d'un bien transfr sa valeur marchande, mais a mis une crance sur le Canada infrieure la valeur de transfert nette, la diffrence entre cette valeur et la crance mise sera inscrite dans la rubrique de l'excdent d'apport ou la rubrique quivalente des comptes de la socit.

Lignes directrices

11. Le transfert de chaque bien corporel sera effectu conformment au pouvoir statutaire pertinent en fonction des circonstances particulires de chaque cas. Les lois suivantes, notamment, confrent ce pouvoir :

  1. Loi sur l'administration financire,
  2. Loi sur les biens de surplus de la Couronne,
  3. Loi sur les concessions de terres publiques,
  4. Loi sur les parcs nationaux,
  5. Loi sur les remaniements et les transferts dans la Fonction publique,
  6. Loi sur la Socit canadienne des postes,
  7. Loi sur les travaux publics.

12. Le Conseil du Trsor tablira le statut de dpendance ou d'autonomie d'une socit de la Couronne. Le ministre comptent peut toutefois, dans la prsentation au Conseil du Trsor, faire valoir le statut particulier de sa socit. Le statut d'une socit ne changerait pas frquemment.

13. Les lignes directrices sur le financement des socits de la Couronne nonces dans la circulaire 1980-46 donnent des prcisions sur les socits dpendantes et les socits autonomes. Une socit autonome autognre les fonds ncessaires son fonctionnement. Pour dterminer si une socit est autonome, il faut notamment examiner ses bnfices, les mouvements de trsorerie prvus, ses engagements, ses bnfices futurs, les perspectives du march pour estimer si elle peut financer ses oprations et ses immobilisations, payer les intrts qu'elle doit et rembourser le principal sans recourir au FRC. Une socit qui, lors du transfert d'un bien corporel n'est pas autonome, peut tre dclare autonome si l'on estime qu'elle pourrait le devenir dans un avenir immdiat. Le versement d'une indemnit, d'une subvention ou d'une contribution une socit autonome y ayant droit ne modifie pas son statut d'autonomie.

14. La politique d'valuation de l'actif comptabilis publie dans la circulaire 1980-47 et dcrite dans l'article 10.10 du Guide d'administration financire prsente les facteurs qu'il faudrait examiner lors de l'valuation des prts et des dotations en capital comptabiliss dans les comptes du Canada. En ce qui concerne les socits autonomes, on considre comme taux de rendement acceptable le jour du transfert, le taux applicable la socit de la Couronne fix par le ministre des Finances moins que celui-ci n'ait tabli un autre taux. Le taux applicable la socit de la Couronne est calcul de faon tenir compte des frais d'emprunt de l'tat. La priode d'emprunt retenue devrait tenir compte de la priode pendant laquelle l'autonomie d'une socit est value.

15. La valeur marchande doit tre fonde sur des preuves, comme une valuation, et tre accepte par le ministre comptent et la socit. Travaux publics Canada ou la Corporation de disposition des biens de la Couronne devraient tre consults. En cas de dsaccord, on demanderait au Conseil du Trsor de dterminer la valeur marchande.

16. On demande gnralement au Parlement l'autorisation de comptabiliser une crance d'une socit autonome en la prsentant dans le Budget des dpenses principal ou dans les budgets des dpenses supplmentaires. Elle devrait de prfrence prcder l'autorisation de transfert donne par le gouverneur en conseil, ou toute autre mesure, lorsqu'un ministre a dj obtenu l'autorisation de principe du gouverneur en conseil.

17. Il faudrait prvoir un crdit supplmentaire correspondant l'augmentation de la crance de la socit dans le Budget des dpenses principal ou dans les budgets des dpenses supplmentaires. Si le Parlement n'approuve pas l'augmentation de la crance sur la socit qui les biens corporels ont t transfrs, cette augmentation ne figurera pas dans les comptes du Canada.

18. Lorsque le Canada reoit et comptabilise une crance sur une socit la suite du transfert de biens corporels, la valeur de l'actif financier non liquide reu doit tre porte dans le produit des ventes des recettes budgtaires du Canada. S'il est important, ce montant peut tre soulign de faon particulire dans l'tat sommaire des tats financiers du Canada.

Mise en oeuvre

19. Cette politique s'applique toutes les oprations futures ainsi qu' toutes les oprations passes qui n'ont pas encore t comptabilises dans les comptes du Canada.

Demandes de renseignements

20. On devrait adresser les demandes de renseignements au sujet de cette politique au directeur de la Division de la gestion des oprations et des finances, Direction de l'laboration des politiques, Bureau du Contrleur gnral du Canada (996-7031).

Le Sous-contrleur gnral
Direction de l'laboration des politiques
Jacques C. Lger