Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the Treasury Board Submission Process


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

5. Evaluation Issues and Methodology

Table 2 presents the evaluation issues and questions that were derived from the logic model developed by the evaluation team. The detailed evaluation matrix, which outlines the indicators and data sources used to address the evaluation questions, is presented in Appendix B.

Table 2: Summary of the Evaluation Issues and Questions
Evaluation Issue Evaluation Questions
Relevance
  • What need does the Treasury Board submission process fulfill?
Effectiveness Short Term
  • Have federal organizations and Secretariat employees demonstrated, over the years, an increased understanding of the elements of Treasury Board submissions, policies, and processes?
  • Does the Secretariat offer services that enable federal organizations to put forth draft submissions that comply with Treasury Board authorities, policies, and directions?
  • Does the Secretariat's review process for Treasury Board submissions ensure that they comply with government authorities and policies?
  • Are Treasury Board decisions well-informed and consistent with the advice, guidance, and recommendations of Secretariat analysts?
  • Are mechanisms in place to ensure Treasury Board decisions are carried out?
Intermediate and Long Term
  • What is the level of quality of Treasury Board submissions?
  • Does the Treasury Board submission process contribute to ensuring that departmental and government management, programs, and spending are aligned with Government of Canada priorities?16
  • Are there factors impeding the achievement of results?
  • Have there been any unexpected outcomes?17
Economy
  • What resources are allocated to the submission process?
  • Is the process efficient? What could be done to make the process more efficient?
  • Is the Treasury Board submission process risk-based?
  • Are Canadians getting value for their tax dollars?

(a) Data sources and methods

The evaluation framework uses multiple lines of evidence and complementary research methods to ensure the reliability and validity of the data. The following research methods were used:

  • document review;
  • interviews with stakeholders and experts;
  • a working session with assistant secretaries from the Secretariat and ADMs from selected federal organizations (ADM Working Session);
  • review of administrative, financial, and statistical data; and
  • a survey of analysts at the Secretariat and in federal organizations.

Each of these methods is described in more detail below.

Document review. Three main types of documents were reviewed during the evaluation:

  • general background documentation (e.g. documents describing the Treasury Board submission process’s history, rationale, and legislative framework);
  • documents specific to the submission process (e.g. the Guide and other related documents, such as the Analyst Survival Guide, and information on relevant committees, branches, and other groups involved in the process); and
  • past studies (e.g. research specific to the Treasury Board submission process, international studies).

For the full list of documents reviewed, please see Appendix C. Note that the evaluation did not review or assess Treasury Board submissions and prcis for quality.

Interviews. Twenty-six interviews were completed (Table 3 and Appendix D). Interviewees included

  • program analysts and COE analysts:18
    • program analysts are the main point of contact for a submission; and
    • COE analysts represent sectors within the Secretariat (e.g. Chief Information Officer Branch, Corporate Services Sector, EMS) and provide policy advice to program analysts.
  • representatives from 12 selected federal organizations that put forward a Treasury Board submission within the last five years. Four interviews were conducted with federal organizations that fall into each of the following categories:
    • occasional submitters (less than one submission per month);
    • moderate submitters (one to two per month); and
    • heavy submitters (three or more per month).
  • external stakeholders, meaning individuals who are close to but not directly involved in the Treasury Board submission process (e.g. individuals from the Privy Council Office and from the Department of Finance Canada).
Table 3: List of Interview Groups
Interview Group Number of Interviews
Program analysts and COE analysts 11
Representatives from federal organizations 12
External stakeholders 3
Total 26

All interviews were conducted by telephone. Interviewees were sent an interview guide (see Appendix E) before the interviews were conducted.

Survey. A survey was administered over the Internet to program analysts, COE analysts, and representatives of federal organizations that put forward a Treasury Board submission in the last five years. A total of 547 individuals were asked to complete the questionnaire; 220 useable responses were received, for an overall response rate of 40% (see Table 4).19

Table 4: Survey Response Rates
Survey Group Total Sent Received Removed Total Kept Response Rate Confidence Interval
Program analysts 135 60 0 60 44.4% 95% 9.5%
COE analysts 181 66 0 66 36.5% 95% 9.6%
Federal organizations 231 99 5 20 94 40.7% 95% 7.8%
Total 547 225 5 220 40.2%  

All of the Secretariat's program analysts were invited to participate in the survey. They were also asked to provide contact information for all COE analysts they had consulted for advice on Treasury Board submissions during the last five years. Furthermore, the program analysts were asked to provide contact information for the individuals in federal organizations (including the Secretariat) that put forward a submission within the last year. Federal organizations were encouraged to forward the survey to any individual within the organization who had been involved in the Treasury Board submission review process.

Survey results are provided in Appendix G.

Working session with ADMs. A two-hour working session was conducted to gather qualitative information on the relevance, effectiveness, and economy of the Treasury Board submission process. Assistant secretaries from the Secretariat and selected ADMs responsible for corporate and/or strategic planning as well as selected departmental chief financial officers (CFO) from federal organizations were invited to participate. The issues to be discussed during the session (see Appendix F) were provided to the participants in advance.

Administrative, financial, and statistical data. Administrative, financial, and statistical data were gathered for the purpose of assessing the effectiveness and efficiency of the submission process. The evaluation team worked with the Treasury Board Submission Centre to review data related to Treasury Board submissions and to gain a greater understanding of the Submission Tracking System (STS). The evaluation team also reviewed data from the Management Accountability Framework (MAF) database.

Costing. Evaluating economy requires an analysis of the costs involved throughout the submission process. A costing exercise was undertaken; however, because direct costs related to Treasury Board submissions are not tracked separately, only the level of effort of some participants involved in the submission process was available. Section 6(c)(i), "Resources allocated to the submission process," therefore does not identify an estimated cost for the process.

Related international practice: The evaluation team undertook a limited review of submission process models used in other international jurisdictions.21 Given the cursory nature of this review, the evaluation team could not draw conclusions on the appropriateness of other models compared to the Canadian context. Findings from this review are therefore not presented in this report, though some interesting information was discovered during the review. For example, the role played by the Secretariat's assistant secretaries-whereby they present a federal organization's submission to Treasury Board-may be unique internationally. As is the case in the Canadian federal model, Secretariat equivalents in other jurisdictions are responsible for logistical and technical functions related to sessions of Cabinet, strategic and work planning, policy advice, legal functions, some monitoring functions, and their own internal management functions.22 They scrutinize material presented to Cabinet, ensuring that legal and policy considerations have been accounted for within structured submissions. In six of ten surveyed Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) countries,23 the Secretariat equivalent prepares a recommendation on how the submission should be handled in the Cabinet-level meeting. In these jurisdictions, however, it is the deputy minister of the submitting organization who presents the submission at the Cabinet-level meeting and not the equivalent of a Secretariat assistant secretary. Assistant secretary equivalents can therefore focus their attention on submissions that are most strategic or sensitive or for which their recommendation runs counter to that of the submitting organization.

Other information. Once the data were collected and analyzed, information gaps were discovered in a few key areas. To fill these gaps, the following methodologies were used:

  • Review of additional human resources (HR), financial, and statistical data—The evaluation team reviewed additional HR and financial data to gain further insight into the cost of the Treasury Board submission process. Documentation on program sector boot camps was also reviewed.
  • Interview with a senior advisor from the Secretariat—The evaluation team met with a senior advisor who has extensive knowledge of and experience with the submission process and its related management tools and structure.
  • Working sessions with program directors—Four sessions were held with the Secretariat’s Program Directors Group (PDG) to validate findings. In addition, assistant secretaries from the program sectors reviewed the final draft of this report.
  • Interviews with Expenditure Management Information System (EMIS) business analysts—The intent of the meetings was to gain additional knowledge and a greater understanding of the Secretariat's Budget Office Systems Renewal (BOSR) Project and the change management work that occurred during implementation of EMIS.

(b) Limitations of the evaluation

Time frame. A federal election was called shortly after the evaluation was launched. Not long after the election, Parliament was prorogued. These events delayed approval for the opinion research to be conducted for the evaluation; consequently, the time available to perform the research was limited. Another consequence of the election and subsequent prorogation was that the evaluation team could not interview Treasury Board ministers regarding the support they receive through the Treasury Board submission process.

Logic model. While the evaluation team believes that the ultimate outcome proposed in the logic model it developed is a valid description of the purpose of the Treasury Board submission process and therefore a valid basis for the evaluation, it was not possible to validate the ultimate outcome with an appropriate cross-section of stakeholders.

Review of performance measurement data. Performance data have not been collected on all aspects of the Treasury Board submission process. For instance, data are not collected on the extent to which the Treasury Board submissions officially submitted by federal organizations are actually required, or their compliance with policies and processes, and on the extent to which Treasury Board decisions reflect recommendations in the prcis. In the absence of this information, the evaluation team was unable to assess the quality of submissions and prcis. The evaluation therefore relied more heavily on survey and interview data to assess the effectiveness of the process.

Administrative data. Limited administrative data were available on the submission process and its results. Furthermore, as noted in the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat Audit of Leave and Overtime (2008),24 some overtime data are not reliable, thereby limiting the extent to which the evaluation team could use such data to assess the amount (and related costs) of overtime claimed by program analysts in connection with Treasury Board submissions. In addition, other administrative data such as the number of days between the Treasury Board decision and the issuance of the decision letter would have provided additional lines of evidence.

Surveys and interviews. Given the highly variable nature of Treasury Board submissions, it stands to reason that the submission process experience would differ significantly from one submission to the next. More interviews would have provided better data on the effect of variations in a submission's size, scope, value, and complexity. The evaluation methodology attempted to address this limitation by inviting individuals from all federal organizations to participate in the Web-based survey. The results of the survey were cross-validated with the interview responses.

Costing methodology. Cost information to support a complete and accurate costing of the Secretariat's involvement in the Treasury Board submission process was not available.

Single-window approach to service delivery. Because the Secretariat uses a single-window approach for submissions, in which program analysts and their directors or executive directors are the point of contact for representatives from federal organizations, interaction between COE analysts and representatives from federal organizations is extremely limited. As a result, despite COE analysts having a clear role and contribution at the pre-submission and draft stages of the submission process, representatives from federal organizations may not be fully aware of the extent of this role. This may have led to the evaluation's greater focus on program analysts.

While there are some limitations with the evaluation methodology, multiple lines of evidence were used to draw conclusions about the Treasury Board submission process, strengthening the reliability and validity of the evaluation results. Despite the limitations, the methodology meets the requirements of the Treasury Board Policy on Evaluation and associated standards.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Évaluation du processus des présentations au Conseil du Trésor

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

5. Enjeux de l'valuation et mthodologie

Le tableau 2 prsente les enjeux de l'valuation et les questions dcoulant du modle logique labor par l'quipe charge de l'valuation. La matrice d'valuation dtaille qui prcise les indicateurs et les sources de donnes utilises pour rpondre aux questions d'valuation se trouvent l'annexe B.

Tableau 2 : Sommaire des enjeux et des questions de l'valuation
Enjeu de l'valuation Questions de l'valuation
Pertinence
  • Quel besoin le processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor comble-t-il?
Efficacit court terme
  • Les employs des organisations fdrales et du Secrtariat ont-ils une meilleure comprhension des lments des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor, des politiques et du processus connexes?
  • Le Secrtariat offre-t-il des services qui permettent aux organisations fdrales de faire en sorte que les bauches des prsentations soient conformes aux autorisations, aux politiques et aux orientations du Conseil du Trsor?
  • Le processus d'examen des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor mis de l'avant par le Secrtariat permet-il de s'assurer que les prsentations au Conseil du Trsor sont conformes aux autorisations et aux politiques du gouvernement?
  • Les dcisions du Conseil du Trsor sont-elles claires et conformes aux conseils, aux directives et aux recommandations fournis par les analystes du Secrtariat?
  • Des mcanismes sont-ils en place pour veiller ce que les dcisions du Conseil du Trsor soient excutes?
moyen terme et long terme
  • Quel est le niveau de qualit des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor?
  • Le processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor contribue-t-il faire en sorte que les programmes, les dpenses et les mcanismes de gestion du ministre ou du gouvernement soient harmoniss avec les priorits du gouvernement du Canada16?
  • Existe-t-il des facteurs qui font obstacle l'obtention de rsultats?
  • Y a-t-il eu des rsultats inattendus17?
conomie
  • Quelles ressources sont attribues au processus des prsentations?
  • Le processus est-il efficace? Que peut-on faire pour rendre le processus plus efficace?
  • Le processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor est-il fond sur les risques?
  • Les contribuables canadiens en ont-ils pour leur argent?

(a) Sources de donnes et mthodes

Le cadre d'valuation utilise une multitude de sources de donnes probantes et de mthodes de recherche complmentaires afin d'assurer la fiabilit et la validit des donnes. Les mthodes de recherche suivantes ont t utilises :

  • un examen de documents;
  • des entrevues avec des intervenants et des experts;
  • une sance de travail avec les secrtaires adjoints du Secrtariat et les SMA de certaines organisations fdrales (sance de travail des SMA);
  • un examen des donnes administratives, financires et statistiques;
  • un sondage administr des analystes du Secrtariat et dans des organisations fdrales.

Chacune de ces mthodes est dcrite ci-aprs de manire plus dtaille.

Examen des documents. Trois principaux types de documents ont t examins pendant l'valuation :

  • documentation gnrale sur le contexte (p. ex., documents qui dcrivent l'historique, les fondements et le cadre lgislatif ayant trait au processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor);
  • documents concernant le processus des prsentations (p. ex., le Guide et d'autres documents connexes, comme le Guide de survie des analystes, ainsi que l'information au sujet de comits concerns, de directions et d'autres groupes participant au processus);
  • tudes prcdentes (p. ex., recherche concernant le processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor, tudes internationales).

Pour la liste complte des documents, veuillez consulter l'annexe C. Il est important de noter que l'valuation n'a pas examin ni valu les prsentations au Conseil du Trsor et les prcis du point de vue de la qualit.

Entrevues. Vingt-six entrevues ont t menes (tableau 3 et annexe D). Les personnes interviewes taient notamment :

  • des analystes de programme et des analystes des CE18 :
    • les analystes de programme sont les principales personnes-ressources pour une prsentation;
    • les analystes des CE reprsentent des secteurs au sein du Secrtariat (p. ex., Direction du dirigeant principal de l'information, Secteur des services ministriels, SGD, etc.) et donnent des conseils stratgiques aux analystes de programme;
  • des reprsentants de 12 organisations fdrales qui ont soumis une prsentation au Conseil du Trsor au cours des cinq dernires annes; quatre entrevues ont t menes avec des reprsentants d'organisations fdrales qui se trouvent dans chacune des catgories suivantes :
    • frquence occasionnelle de prsentations (moins d'une prsentation par mois);
    • frquence modre de prsentations (une ou deux prsentations par mois);
    • frquence leve de prsentations (trois prsentations ou plus par mois).
  • des intervenants externes, savoir des personnes qui sont lies au processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor, mais qui n'y participent pas directement (p. ex., des employs du BCP et du ministre des Finances Canada).
Tableau 3 : Liste des groupes pour les entrevues
Groupe pour les entrevues Nombre d'entrevues
Total 26
Analystes de programme et analystes des CE 11
Reprsentants des organisations fdrales 12
Intervenants externes 3

Toutes les entrevues ont t menes par tlphone. Les personnes interviewes ont reu un guide d'entrevue (voir l'annexe E) avant la tenue des entrevues.

Sondage. Un sondage sur Internet a t fait auprs des analystes de programme et des analystes des CE et auprs de reprsentants d'organisations fdrales qui avaient soumis une prsentation au Conseil du Trsor au cours des cinq dernires annes. En tout, 547 personnes ont t invites remplir le questionnaire; nous avons reu 220 questionnaires utilisables, soit un taux global de rponse de 40 % (voir le Tableau 4). 19

Tableau 4 : Taux de rponse au sondage
Groupe participant au sondage Nombre total de questionnaires transmis Questionnaires reus Questionnaires limins Nombre total de questionnaires conservs Taux de rponse Intervalle de confiance
Total 547 225 5 220 40,2%  
Analystes de programme 135 60 0 60 44,4% 95% 9,5%
Analystes de CE 181 66 0 66 36,5% 95% 9,6%
Organisations fdrales 231 99 5 20 94 40,7% 95% 7,8%

Tous les analystes de programme du Secrtariat ont t invits participer au sondage. On leur a galement demand de fournir les coordonnes des personnes-ressources pour tous les analystes des CE qu'ils avaient consults afin d'obtenir des conseils au sujet des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor au cours des cinq dernires annes. En outre, on a demand aux analystes de programme de fournir les coordonnes des personnes-ressources dans les organisations fdrales (y compris le Secrtariat) qui ont soumis une prsentation au cours de la dernire anne. Les organisations fdrales ont t invites transmettre le sondage aux autres employs au sein de leur organisation qui avaient particip au processus d'examen des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor.

Les rsultats du sondage sont prsents l'annexe G.

Sance de travail avec les SMA. Une sance d'information de deux heures a t mene afin de recueillir des donnes qualitatives sur la pertinence, l'efficacit et l'conomie du processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor. Les secrtaires adjoints du Secrtariat et certains SMA responsables de la planification ministrielle et/ou stratgique de mme que des dirigeants principaux des finances (DPF) des organisations fdrales ont t invits prendre part. Les sujets devant tre discuts pendant la sance (voir l'annexe F) ont t transmis l'avance aux participants.

Donnes administratives, financires et statistiques. Des donnes administratives, financires et statistiques ont t recueillies afin d'valuer l'efficacit et l'efficience du processus des prsentations. L'quipe charge de l'valuation a travaill en collaboration avec le Centre des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor en vue d'examiner les donnes concernant les prsentations au Conseil du Trsor et de mieux comprendre le systme de suivi des prsentations (SSP). L'quipe a galement examin les donnes provenant de la base de donnes du Cadre de responsabilisation en gestion (CRG).

tablissement des cots. L'valuation du volet conomie ncessite une analyse des cots engags au cours du processus des prsentations. L'tablissement des cots a t entrepris; toutefois, tant donn que les cots directs lis aux prsentations au Conseil du Trsor ne font pas l'objet d'un suivi distinct, seule une approximation des efforts dploys par certains participants au processus des prsentations tait disponible. Par consquent, l'alina 6(c)(i), dans la rubrique Ressources affectes au processus des prsentations, n'tablit pas le cot estimatif du processus.

Pratique connexe l'chelle internationale : L'quipe charge de l'valuation a men un examen limit des modles de processus des prsentations utiliss dans d'autres administrations internationales21 . Compte tenu de la nature superficielle de cet examen, l'quipe charge de l'valuation ne pouvait pas tirer de conclusions sur le caractre appropri des autres modles en comparaison avec le contexte canadien. Les conclusions qui reposent sur cet examen ne sont donc pas prsentes dans le prsent rapport. Cet examen a nanmoins permis de faire ressortir des renseignements intressants. Par exemple, l'examen a rvl que le rle jou par les secrtaires adjoints du Secrtariat, savoir soumettre une prsentation d'une organisation fdrale au Conseil du Trsor, peut tre unique l'chelle internationale. Comme c'est le cas dans le modle fdral canadien, les quivalents du Secrtariat dans d'autres administrations sont responsables des fonctions logistiques et techniques pour les sessions du Cabinet, de la planification stratgique et de la planification du travail, de la prestation de conseils stratgiques, des fonctions juridiques, de certaines fonctions de surveillance et de leurs propres fonctions de gestion interne22 . Ils examinent soigneusement les documents prsents au Cabinet et s'assurent que les considrations juridiques et stratgiques ont t prises en compte dans les prsentations structures. Dans six des dix pays de l'Organisation de coopration et de dveloppement conomiques (OCDE)23 qui ont particip au sondage, l'quivalent du Secrtariat prpare une recommandation sur la faon dont la prsentation devrait tre tudie dans une runion du Cabinet. Dans ces administrations, toutefois, c'est le sous-ministre de l'organisation soumettant la prsentation, plutt que l'quivalent d'un secrtaire adjoint du Secrtariat, qui soumet la prsentation lors d'une runion du Cabinet. Les quivalents des secrtaires adjoints peuvent donc porter leur attention sur les prsentations qui sont plus stratgiques ou de nature dlicate et pour lesquelles leur recommandation va l'encontre de celle de l'organisation qui soumet la prsentation.

Renseignements supplmentaires. Une fois que les donnes ont t recueillies et analyses, nous avons relev des lacunes au niveau de l'information dans quelques domaines cls. Pour combler ces lacunes, les mthodologies suivantes ont t utilises :

  • Examen des donnes financires, statistiques et en matire de ressources humaines (RH) additionnelles - L'quipe charge de l'valuation a examin les donnes financires et en matire de RH additionnelles afin de fournir d'autres observations concernant le cot du processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor. Les documents concernant le camp de formation pour le secteur des programmes ont galement t examins.
  • Entrevue avec un conseiller principal du Secrtariat - L'quipe charge de l'valuation a rencontr un conseiller principal ayant une vaste connaissance et exprience du processus des prsentations ainsi que des outils et de la structure de gestion connexes.
  • Sances de travail avec les directeurs de programme - Quatre sances ont eu lieu avec le groupe des directeurs de programme (GDP) du Secrtariat en vue de valider les constatations. De plus, les secrtaires adjoints des secteurs des programmes ont examin l'bauche finale de ce rapport.
  • Entrevue avec des analystes des oprations du Systme d'information sur la gestion des dpenses (SIGD) - Les runions visaient mieux connatre et comprendre le renouvellement des systmes du Service du budget (RSSB) du Secrtariat et le travail de gestion du changement qui se produisait pendant la mise en œuvre de son SIGD.

(b) Limitations de l'valuation

chancier. Une lection fdrale a t dclenche peu aprs le lancement de l'valuation. Peu de temps aprs l'lection, le Parlement a t prorog. Ces vnements ont retard l'approbation de la tenue d'une recherche sur l'opinion publique pour l'valuation, limitant ainsi le temps disponible pour effectuer la recherche. Une autre consquence de l'lection et de la prorogation subsquente a t que l'quipe charge de l'valuation n'a pu rencontrer en entrevue les ministres du Conseil du Trsor concernant l'appui qu'ils ont obtenu dans le cadre du processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor.

Modle logique. Bien que l'quipe charge de l'valuation estime que le rsultat final propos du modle logique qu'elle a labor aux fins de l'valuation est une description valide de l'objet du processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor et, par consquent, un fondement valide pour l'valuation, il a t impossible de valider le rsultat final auprs d'un ventail reprsentatif d'intervenants.

Examen de donnes sur la mesure du rendement. Des donnes sur le rendement n'ont pas t recueillies sur tous les aspects du processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor. Par exemple, des donnes ne sont pas recueillies sur la mesure dans laquelle les prsentations au Conseil du Trsor soumises officiellement par les organisations fdrales sont effectivement ncessaires, ou sont conformes aux politiques et aux processus, et sur la mesure dans laquelle les dcisions refltent les recommandations contenues dans le prcis. En l'absence de ces renseignements, l'quipe charge de l'valuation n'a pas t en mesure d'valuer la qualit des prsentations et des prcis. L'valuation reposait donc plus massivement sur les donnes du sondage et des entrevues pour tablir l'efficacit du processus.

Donnes administratives. Des donnes administratives restreintes existaient au sujet du processus des prsentations et de ses rsultats. De plus, tel qu'il est indiqu dans la Vrification des congs et des heures supplmentaires du Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor du Canada (2008)24 , certaines donnes sur les heures supplmentaires ne sont pas fiables, ce qui limite la mesure dans laquelle l'quipe charge de l'valuation pouvait utiliser ces donnes pour valuer le nombre (et les cots connexes) d'heures supplmentaires indiques par les analystes de programme relativement aux prsentations au Conseil du Trsor. De plus, d'autres donnes administratives comme le nombre de jours entre la dcision du Conseil du Trsor et la transmission de la lettre de dcision ont fournis d'autres lments probants.

Sondages et entrevues. tant donn la nature trs variable des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor, il va de soi que l'exprience du processus des prsentations diffrerait considrablement d'une prsentation une autre. Un plus grand nombre d'entrevues auraient fourni de meilleures donnes sur l'incidence des variations dans la longueur, la porte, la valeur et la complexit d'une prsentation. La mthodologie d'valuation visait combler cette limitation en invitant les employs de toutes les organisations fdrales participer un sondage sur le Web. Les rsultats du sondage ont t contre-valids avec les rponses aux entrevues.

Mthode d'tablissement des cots. Les donnes sur les cots de soutien l'tablissement complet et exact des cots de la participation du Secrtariat au processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor n'taient pas disponibles.

Approche guichet unique de la prestation de services. Comme le Secrtariat a recours une approche guichet unique dans laquelle les analystes de programme et leurs directeurs ou directeurs excutifs constituent le point de liaison avec les reprsentants des organisations fdrales en ce qui concerne les prsentations, l'interaction entre les analystes des CE et les reprsentants des organisations fdrales est extrmement limite. Par consquent, malgr le fait que les analystes des CE apportent une contribution et jouent un rle clair au cours du processus des prsentations aux tapes prcdant la prsentation et de l'bauche, les reprsentants des organisations fdrales ne sont peut-tre pas tout fait conscients de la porte de ce rle. Cette situation a pu faire en sorte que l'valuation soit centre dans une plus grande mesure sur les analystes de programme.

Bien que la mthodologie d'valuation comporte certaines limitations, de nombreux lments probants ont t utiliss pour tirer des conclusions au sujet du processus des prsentations au Conseil du Trsor, ce qui renforce la fiabilit et la validit des rsultats de l'valuation. Malgr les limitations, la mthodologie satisfait aux exigences de la Politique sur l'valuation du Conseil du Trsor et des normes connexes.