Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Questions and Answers on the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat - Policy on Pre-retirement Transition Leave - Archived

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


1. When did this policy take effect and how long will it last?

This policy took effect on February 1, 1999, and, as an employer policy, has no specified end date.

2. Who is eligible to apply for this type of leave?

This policy applies to all employees represented by all unions, as well as unrepresented and excluded employees.

3. Do I have to make a formal application for this leave arrangement?

To apply, you need to complete the form called Application for Pre-retirement TransitionLeave.

4. May I take other types of leave without pay during my leave arrangement?

Yes, but this could significantly affect your take-home pay. If the total period of consecutive leave without pay exceeds three months, you may have to pay both the employer and employee's shares of contributions to the Public Service pension and group benefit plans. We advise you to consult your compensation specialist for more information.

5. May I take leave with pay during my leave arrangement?

Yes, provided it does not occur during the leave without pay portion of your arrangement.

6. How many days per week does 40 per cent represent?

Under this arrangement, you may take up to 40 per cent of your normal working hours. For full-time employees, it represents up to two days per five working days, or up to four days per 10 working days. For part-time employees, it represents up to 40 per cent of their part-time hours. You should consult your compensation specialist about your situation.

7. Must I take the leave days consecutively?

You may take non-consecutive days, subject to managerial approval.

8. Generally speaking, how will this leave arrangement affect my pay?

Your basic pay rate will be reduced to reflect the length of leave and the reduced time at work. Public Service pension and benefits coverage and contributions for this arrangement will stay at pre-arrangement levels. Consult your compensation specialist for details.

9. Will my pension change?

No. As with other short-term periods of leave without pay, you will be credited with full pensionable service.

10. How will this leave arrangement affect my coverage under group benefit plans such as health care, dental, and long-term disability?

Even though your pay will be reduced, your coverage and your premiums or contributions will remain as they were before your leave arrangement. The employer will continue contributing its normal share.

11. How will the accumulation of annual leave and sick leave credits be affected?

As with other types of leave without pay, you will accumulate credits for each month in which you earn 10 days' pay.

12. While participating in this leave arrangement, am I entitled to paid leave, such as annual or sick leave?

For your at-work days, you may take paid leave as long as it is in accordance with the collective agreement or compensation plan that applies to you. However, during the leave portion of your arrangement, as with other types of leave without pay, you will not be eligible for paid leave.

13. May I collect employment insurance during the leave?

No.

14. What is my status on the days that I don't work?

You will be on leave without pay.

15. May I combine leave with income averaging and pre-retirement transition leave?

No. Permitting you to take both types of leave simultaneously would be too complex and expensive to administer.

16. Can an employee on Pre-Retirement Transition Leave (PRTL) benefit from a statutory holiday when occurring on a day off without pay?

The Treasury Board's Pre-Retirement Transition Leave Policy states under Section 5 - Policy Requirements that: "pay for participating employees would be adjusted to reflect the shorter workweek, but their pension and benefits coverages, as well as premiums and contributions, would continue at pre-arrangement levels". This includes their right to paid statutory holidays, and performance pay when applicable.

If the statutory holiday falls within a day that the employee under PRTL is normally paid for, the employee is entitled to the holiday (as would for any indeterminate employee) and is paid for that day. If the statutory holiday falls within a day that the PRTL employee would not normally be paid for (PRTL day not worked) the statutory holiday that the PRTL employee is still entitled to is "moved" to the next day he/she would normally have been paid for.

Where collective agreements are silent (which is the case in this situation) human resources officials are to refer to the PRTL, which states that the employee will continue to receive all benefits at their pre-arrangement levels.

Example 1) A PRTL employee works Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. The employee's chosen/agreed to PRTL day off is Friday. The statutory holiday for November 11, 2005 falls on Friday, the agreed PRTL day off. The employee is not paid for Friday the 11th of November. The holiday is moved to the next day for which the employee would normally have been paid for, in this case being Monday November 14, 2005. The employee will be on statutory holiday on November 14, 2005 instead of working, and will receive remuneration for that day.

For the week of November 7 to 11, the employee worked 4 days and was paid 4 days. For the week of November 14 to 18, the employee worked 3 days and was paid 4 days, for which Monday was a 'moved' statutory holiday.

Example 2) PRTL employee works Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. The employee's chosen/agreed to PRTL days off are Mondays and Fridays. The statutory holiday for November 11, 2005 falls on Friday, his PRTL day off. The employee is not paid for Friday the 11th of November and neither for Monday the 14th of November 2005. The holiday is then moved to the next day the employee would normally have been paid for, which in this case is Tuesday November 15, 2005. The employee will therefore be on statutory holiday on November 15, 2005, and will receive remuneration for that day.

For the week of November 7 to 11, the employee worked 3 days and was paid 3 days. For the week of November 14 to 18, the employee worked 2 days and was paid for 3 days, for which Tuesday was a 'moved' statutory holiday.

We wish to thank Christine Fouchard-Lortie and Lorraine Cusson from the HR community for sharing their experience and insight in the development of this issue.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Questions et réponses sur la Politique sur les congés de transition préalable à la retraite du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada - Archivée

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».


1. Quand la politique est-elle entre en vigueur et pendant combien de temps le demeurera-t-elle?

La politique est entre en vigueur le 1er fvrier 1999. Comme il s'agit d'une politique de l'employeur, il n'y a pas de date d'expiration.

2. Qui est admissible ce genre de cong?

La politique s'applique tous les employs reprsents par tous les syndicats, ainsi qu'aux employs non reprsents et exempts.

3. Dois-je prsenter une demande officielle pour profiter de ce genre de cong?

Pour demander un tel cong, vous devez remplir le formulaire Demande de cong de transition pralable la retraite.

4. Puis-je prendre un autre type de cong non rmunr pendant mon cong de transition pralable la retraite?

Oui, mais une telle situation pourrait avoir une incidence considrable sur votre rmunration nette. Si la priode totale de cong non rmunr excde trois mois, vous aurez peut-tre payer non seulement votre part des cotisations aux rgimes de pension et d'avantages sociaux, mais aussi celle de l'employeur. Nous vous conseillons de consulter votre spcialiste en rmunration pour plus de renseignements.

5. Puis-je prendre un cong rmunr pendant la priode que couvre l'accord de cong de transition pralable la retraite?

Oui, pourvu que ce ne soit pas pendant la portion de l'accord o vous tes en cong non rmunr.

6. Combien de jours par semaine une rduction de 40 p. 100 reprsente-t-elle?

En vertu du prsent accord de cong, vous pouvez rduire votre semaine de travail hebdomadaire d'au plus 40 p. 100. Pour les employs temps plein, cette rduction reprsente un maximum de 2 jours ouvrables sur 5 ou de 4 jours ouvrables sur 10. Pour les employs temps partiel, elle reprsente un maximum de 40 p. 100 des heures de travail. Vous devriez consulter votre spcialiste en rmunration ce sujet.

7. Les jours de cong doivent-ils tre pris conscutivement?

Vous pouvez prendre des jours de cong qui ne sont pas conscutifs, avec le consentement de la direction.

8. En gnral, quelles rpercussions aura ce cong sur ma rmunration?

Votre rmunration de base sera rduite en fonction de la dure du cong et du temps de travail rduit. Votre protection, en vertu des rgimes de pension et d'avantages sociaux, demeurera la mme et vos cotisations ce titre ne changeront pas. Pour plus de renseignements ce sujet, veuillez consulter votre spcialiste en rmunration.

9. Ma pension sera-t-elle touche?

Non. Comme c'est le cas pour les autres priodes de cong non rmunr de courte dure, une priode de service ouvrant droit pension correspondant la dure de votre cong vous sera crdite.

10. Cet accord de cong aura-t-il une incidence sur ma participation aux rgimes collectifs de soins de sant, de soins dentaires et d'assurance-invalidit de longue dure et autres rgimes semblables?

Mme si votre rmunration sera rduite, vous bnficierez des mmes protections que vous aviez avant le dbut de votre cong, et vous devrez payer les mmes primes ou cotisations. L'employeur, quant lui, continuera de verser sa part habituelle.

11. Vais-je continuer d'accumuler mes congs annuels et congs de maladie de la mme faon?

Comme pour les autres types de cong non rmunr, vous accumulerez des crdits pour chaque mois au cours duquel vous serez rmunr pendant au moins 10 jours.

12. Pendant que je participerai l'accord, aurai-je droit des congs rmunrs, comme un cong annuel ou un cong de maladie?

Pendant que vous serez au travail, vous pourrez prendre un cong rmunr, dans la mesure o vous respecterez la convention collective ou le rgime de rmunration qui s'applique votre cas. Toutefois, pendant la priode o vous serez en cong, comme pour les autres types de cong non rmunr, vous n'aurez pas droit des congs pays.

13. Puis-je toucher des prestations d'assurance-emploi pendant le cong?

Non.

14. Quel sera mon statut lorsque je ne travaillerai pas?

Vous serez en cong non rmunr.

15. Puis-je prendre ensemble un cong avec talement du revenu et un cong de transition pralable la retraite?

Non, car ces congs pris simultanment seraient trop difficiles grer et trop coteux administrer.

16. Est-ce qu'un membre du personnel bnficiant d'un cong de transition pralable la retraite (CTPR) peut tre rmunr pour un cong fri lorsque ce dernier survient quand la personne bnficie d'un jour de cong non-rmunr?

La Politique sur les congs de transition pralable la retraite du Conseil du Trsor prcise la Section 5- Exigences de la politique que : sa rmunration est rduite en consquence, mais son niveau de participation aux rgimes de pension et d'avantages sociaux demeure inchang, tout comme ses protections cet gard . Ce qui inclut le droit aux congs fris rmunrs et la rmunration au rendement lorsqu'elle s'applique.

Si le cong fri a lieu un jour de travail rmunr convenu par l'employ(e) selon le CTPR, la personne a droit au cong fri (comme tout autre membre du personnel priode indtermin) et est rmunre pour cette journe. Si le cong fri a lieu un jour o la personne n'est pas habituellement rmunr selon le CTPR (journe de cong selon le CTPR ), alors le cong fri auquel l'employ(e) a droit sera transpos au prochain jour de travail pour lequel l'employ(e) aurait normalement t rmunr.

Lorsque la convention collective est silencieuse (ce qui est le cas dans cette situation) les responsables des ressources humaines se rfreront au CTPR, qui prcise que le membre du personnel continuera de recevoir tous les bnfices maintenus au mme niveau qu'avant le cong.

Exemple 1) Un membre du personnel selon le CTPR travaille le lundi, le mardi, le mercredi et le jeudi. La journe choisie/convenue de cong selon le CTPR de la personne est le vendredi. Le vendredi 11 novembre 2005 est jour fri, soit le jour convenu de cong selon le CTPR. L'employ(e) n'est pas rmunr pour vendredi le 11 novembre. Le cong fri est transpos au prochain jour de travail pour lequel la personne aurait normalement t rmunre, ce qui est le lundi 14 novembre 2005 dans cette situation. La personne bnficiera d'un cong fri le 14 novembre 2005 au lieu de se prsenter au travail, et sera rmunre pour cette journe.

Pour la semaine du 7 au 11 novembre, le membre du personnel a travaill les 4 jours et a t rmunr pour 4 jours. Pour la semaine du 14 au 18 novembre, la personne a travaill 3 jours et a t rmunre pour 4 jours, ce qui inclut le lundi qui tait un cong fri transpos .

Exemple 2) Un membre du personnel selon la CTPR travaille le mardi, le mercredi, et le jeudi. Les journes choisies/convenues de cong selon le CTPR de la personne sont les lundis et les vendredis. Le vendredi 11 novembre 2005 est jour fri, soit le jour convenu de cong selon le CTPR. La personne n'est pas rmunre pour vendredi le 11 novembre de mme que le lundi qui suit, soit le 14 novembre 2005. Le cong fri est transpos au prochain jour de travail pour lequel l'employ(e) aurait normalement t rmunr, ce qui est le mardi 15 novembre 2005 dans cette situation. L'employ(e) bnficiera d'un cong fri le mardi 15 novembre 2005 au lieu de se prsenter au travail, et sera rmunr pour cette journe.

Pour la semaine du 7 au 11 novembre, l'employ(e) a travaill les 3 jours et a t rmunr pour 3 jours. Pour la semaine du 14 au 18 novembre, la personne a travaill 2 jours et a t rmunre pour les 3 jours, ce qui inclut le mardi qui tait un cong fri transpos .

Nous tenons remercier Christine Fouchard-Lortie and Lorraine Cusson de la communaut des Ressources Humaines d'avoir accept de partager leur exprience et leur perspicacit dans la solution de cette situation.