Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Questions and Answers on the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat Policy on Leave with Income Averaging - Archived

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

 

1. When did this policy take effect and how long will it last?

This policy took effect on February 1, 1999, and, as an employer policy, has no specified end date.

2. Who is eligible to apply for this type of leave?

This policy applies to all employees represented by all unions, as well as unrepresented and excluded employees.

3. Do I have to make a formal application for this leave arrangement?

To apply, you need to complete the form called Application for Leave with IncomeAveraging.

4. May I take other types of leave without pay during my leave arrangement?

Yes, but this could significantly affect your take-home pay. If the total period of consecutive leave without pay exceeds three months, you may have to pay both the employer and employee's shares of contribution to the Public Service pension and group benefit plans. We advise you to consult your compensation specialist for more information.

5. May I take leave with pay during my leave arrangement?

Yes, provided that it does not occur during the leave portion of your arrangement.

6. Does the 12-month averaging period have to be a calendar year?

No. It can be any 12-month period agreed to by the employee and manager.

7. Must the leave be taken all at once or can it be split up?

You can split up your leave, but only into two periods. Each period must be at least five weeks long, and the sum of the two periods must not exceed 12 weeks. Where the leave is split up, the averaged income will take both periods of leave into account.

8. Why must the leave be from five weeks to three months?

Individual leave arrangements with leave periods of less than five weeks are too costly to administer in comparison to the potential benefits for the employer. The three-month maximum is in line with the maximums stated in many of our collective agreements and other leave without pay arrangements.

9. If I wish to combine two consecutive leave arrangements, can I take the leave portions back to back?

Yes, but only if the total consecutive leave does not exceed three months. The three-month maximum mentioned in the previous question applies to any consecutive period of leave without pay. In the case of leave with income averaging, it not only applies to periods of leave within the same leave arrangement, but also to back-to-back periods of leave in two consecutive leave arrangements.

10. Generally speaking, how will this leave arrangement affect my pay?

Your basic pay rate will be reduced to reflect the length of leave and the reduced time at work. We will then average the reduced pay over a 12-month period. Public Service pension and benefits coverage and contributions for this arrangement will stay at pre-arrangement levels. Consult your compensation specialist for details.

11. Will my pension change?

No. As with other periods of leave without pay of up to three months, you will be credited with full pensionable service.

12. How will this leave arrangement affect my coverage under group benefit plans such as health care, dental, and long-term disability?

Even though your pay will be reduced, your coverage and your premiums or contributions will remain as they were before your leave arrangement. The employer will continue contributing its normal share.

13. How will the accumulation of annual leave and sick leave credits be affected?

As with other types of leave without pay, you will accumulate credits for each month in which you earn 10 days' pay. Even though you will be receiving pay during the LWOP portion of the arrangement, you will not be earning pay.

14. While participating in this leave arrangement, am I entitled to paid leave such as annual or sick leave?

For your at-work days, you may take paid leave as long as it is in accordance with the collective agreement or compensation plan that applies to you. However, during the leave portion of your arrangement, as with other types of leave without pay, you will not be eligible for paid leave.

15. May I collect employment insurance during the leave?

No.

16. What is my status on the days I don't work?

You will be on leave without pay.

17. May I combine leave with income averaging and pre-retirement transition leave?

No. Permitting you to take both types of leave simultaneously would be too complex and expensive to administer.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Questions et réponses sur la Politique sur les congés avec étalement du revenu du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada - Archivée

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

 

1. Quand la politique est-elle entre en vigueur et pendant combien de temps le demeurera-t-elle?

La politique est entre en vigueur le 1er fvrier 1999. Comme il s'agit d'une politique de l'employeur, il n'y a pas de date d'expiration.

2. Qui est admissible ce genre de cong?

La politique s'applique tous les employs reprsents par tous les syndicats, ainsi qu'aux employs non reprsents et exempts.

3. Dois-je prsenter une demande officielle pour profiter de ce genre de cong?

Pour demander un tel cong, vous devez remplir le formulaire Demande de cong avec talement du revenu. Une copie du formulaire figure la fin de la politique.

4. Puis-je prendre un autre type de cong non rmunr pendant mon cong avec talement du revenu?

Oui, mais une telle situation pourrait avoir une incidence considrable sur votre rmunration brute. Si la priode totale de cong non rmunr conscutif excde trois mois, vous aurez peut-tre payer non seulement votre part des cotisations aux rgimes de pension et d'avantages sociaux, mais aussi celle de l'employeur. Nous vous conseillons de consulter votre spcialiste en rmunration pour plus de renseignements.

5. Puis-je prendre un cong rmunr pendant la priode que couvre l'accord de cong avec talement du revenu?

Oui, pourvu que ce ne soit pas pendant la portion de l'accord o vous tes en cong.

6. Est-ce que la priode de 12 mois sur laquelle est tal le revenu doit correspondre une anne civile?

Non, il peut s'agir de toute priode de 12 mois convenue par l'employ et le gestionnaire.

7. Le cong doit-il tre pris en bloc ou peut-il tre divis?

Il est possible de diviser le cong, mais seulement en deux priodes. Chaque priode doit durer au moins cinq semaines et les deux priodes runies ne peuvent excder 12 semaines. Lorsque le cong est divis, le revenu est tal en fonction des deux priodes de cong.

8. Pourquoi le cong doit-il s'tendre sur une priode de cinq semaines trois mois?

Les congs de moins de cinq semaines sont trop coteux administrer, comparativement aux avantages que pourrait en tirer l'employeur. Quant au maximum de trois mois, il est conforme aux dispositions de nombreuses conventions collectives et aux modalits tablies pour les autres types de cong non rmunr.

9. Si je dsire jumeler deux accords de cong conscutifs, puis-je prendre les congs un la suite de l'autre?

Oui, pourvu que la priode totale de cong ne dpasse pas trois mois. Le maximum de trois mois prcis dans la question prcdente s'applique toute priode conscutive de cong non rmunr. Dans le cas d'un cong avec talement du revenu, ce maximum s'applique non seulement aux priodes de cong qui s'inscrivent dans le mme accord de cong, mais aussi aux priodes de cong prises une la suite de l'autre dans le cadre de deux accords de cong conscutifs.

10. En gnral, quelle sera l'incidence de ce cong sur ma rmunration?

Votre rmunration de base sera rduite en fonction de la dure du cong et du temps de travail rduit. Le salaire ainsi rduit sera tal sur une priode de 12 mois. Votre protection, en vertu des rgimes de pension et d'avantages sociaux, demeurera la mme et vos cotisations ce titre ne changeront pas. Pour plus de renseignements ce sujet, veuillez consulter votre spcialiste en rmunration.

11. Ma pension sera-t-elle touche?

Non. Comme c'est le cas pour les autres priodes de cong non rmunr d'une dure maximale de trois mois, une priode de service ouvrant droit pension correspondant la dure de votre cong vous sera crdite.

12. Cet accord de cong aura-t-il une incidence sur ma participation aux rgimes collectifs de soins de sant, de soins dentaires et d'assurance-invalidit de longue dure et autres rgimes semblables?

Mme si votre rmunration sera rduite, vous bnficierez des mmes protections que vous aviez avant l'entre en vigueur de l'accord de cong et vous devrez payer les mmes primes ou cotisations. L'employeur, quant lui, continuera de verser sa part habituelle.

13. Vais-je continuer d'accumuler mes congs annuels et congs de maladie de la mme faon?

Comme pour les autres types de cong non rmunr, vous accumulerez des crdits pour chaque mois au cours duquel vous serez rmunr pendant au moins 10 jours. Mme si vous recevrez un salaire pendant la portion de cong non rmunr de l'accord, vous ne serez pas rmunr comme tel.

14. Pendant que je participerai l'accord, aurai-je droit des congs rmunrs, comme un cong annuel ou un cong de maladie?

Pendant que vous serez au travail, vous pourrez prendre un cong rmunr, dans la mesure o vous respecterez la convention collective ou le rgime de rmunration qui s'applique votre cas. Toutefois, pendant la priode o vous serez en cong, comme pour les autres types de cong non rmunr, vous n'aurez pas droit des congs pays.

15. Puis-je toucher des prestations d'assurance-emploi pendant le cong?

Non.

16. Quel sera mon statut lorsque je ne travaillerai pas?

Vous serez en cong non rmunr.

17. Puis-je prendre ensemble un cong avec talement du revenu et un cong de transition pralable la retraite?

Non, car ces congs pris sumultanment seraient trop difficiles grer et trop coteux administrer.