Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Disability Insurance (DI) Plan - Effect of Retroactive Salary Increases on DI Benefits and the Rehabilitation Program

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

DATE: March 15, 2001

TO: Compensation Managers
Heads of Personnel
Heads of Personnel of Participating Separate Employers
Heads of Bargaining Agents

SUBJECT: Disability Insurance (DI) Plan - Effect of Retroactive Salary Increases on DI Benefits and the Rehabilitation Program

The purpose of this notice is to describe the effect retroactive salary increases have on Disability Insurance (DI) benefits and the Rehabilitation Program.

Specifically, employees participating in the Rehabilitation Program should be made aware of the potential effects a retroactive salary increase has on their DI benefits.

To that end, the attached document has been developed to assist Compensation Specialists in counselling affected employees. This document can be provided as reference material to employees who are or will be participating in a Rehabilitation Program.

Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada, the insurer of the DI Plan, will be sending out to Rehabilitation Program participants a summary of the effect of salary increases on DI benefits. A copy is attached for your information. It refers participants to their Compensation Specialists for a more complete explanation of the effect a retroactive salary increase may have on their DI benefits.

Long Term Disability Insurance Benefits

The Long-Term Disability (LTD) portion of the Public Service Management Insurance Plan (PSMIP) has a Rehabilitation Program similar to that under the DI plan. However, the maximum benefit that an LTD Rehabilitation Program participant can receive is calculated in a slightly different way. The maximum benefit under the LTD plan is 100% of the participant's salary on the last day of the elimination period, but updated to reflect the current rate for that position. Overpayments do not normally arise in these situations. In view of this, National Life has not been asked to provide LTD Rehabilitation Program participants with a copy of the attached summary.

Compensation Managers may call Kathy Jordan at (613) 952-3264 or Suzanne Gilbert at (613) 952-3265 if there are any questions.


Disability Insurance (DI) Plan

Effect of Retroactive Salary Increases
On DI Benefits and Rehabilitation Earnings

How are my Disability Insurance (DI) benefits calculated?

Your DI benefits are calculated on the basis of your "Insured Salary". This is the annual rate of pay for your job classification and level on the day immediately before your DI benefits became effective, and may include some allowances (e.g. bilingual bonus). Your DI benefit ensures that you will receive, in total, 70 % of your Insured Salary which will be paid from the DI plan alone, or in combination with other income, such as Canada/Quebec Pension Plan (C/QPP) benefits, etc.

Example: Monthly Insured salary = $30,000/year 12 =$2,500
Monthly DI benefit = $2,500/year x 70% = $1,750/month

What is a Rehabilitation Program and how does it work?

Under the DI plan, a Rehabilitation Program has been designed to help ease you back to work after being on DI or temporarily allow other employment opportunities when, due to a medical condition, an employee cannot perform all of the duties of his or her own position. In this Program, you may return to work on a reduced number of hours each week to eventually return back to your normal hours of work. For example, an employee may work 2 days a week for a number of months, and gradually increase the number of days worked until normal working hours are resumed.

Under the DI plan, a Rehabilitation Program must be approved in writing by Sun Life, the insurer of the DI Plan, and must be supported by medical evidence provided by your treating physician.

If you return to work on the Rehabilitation Program, you will be paid for the number of hours you work based on the classification and level of the job you are doing. This income, plus paid statutory holidays, vacation, sick leave, extra-duty compensation including compensatory leave granted, allowances paid (e.g. bilingual bonus) are considered to be your Rehabilitation Earnings.

How do my Rehabilitation Earnings affect my DI benefits?

Under the Rehabilitation Program, you can receive up to 100% of your Insured Salary, even though Sun Life will provide you with benefits up to 70% of your insured salary. In other words, you will receive your Rehabilitation Earnings from your Department over and above your DI benefit.

Your Department will report your gross Rehabilitation Earnings to Sun Life on a monthly basis and the insurer will compare your gross Rehabilitation Earnings to your Monthly Insured Salary. Your Rehabilitation Earnings will not affect your monthly DI benefit unless your total income exceeds 100% of your Insured Salary, at which time, Sun Life will reduce your DI benefits to ensure that your total monthly income does not exceed 100% of your Insured Salary. When an employee participates in a Rehabilitation Program, the monthly DI benefit payable is calculated as follows:

Insured Salary (A) minus Rehabilitation Earnings (B) = DI benefit payable (C), 70% or less of insured salary.

EXAMPLE: In this example, the Insured Salary (A) is $2,500/month ($30,000 12).
The maximum DI benefit that could be paid is $1,750/month ($2,500 x 70%).

Rehabilitation Earnings

Effect on DI benefits

Month 1 $500/month

while working 1 day/week

$2,500(A) minus $500(B) = $2000/month(C): DI benefit paid at 70% ($1,750) and remains the same as before the Rehabilitation Program was started.
Month 2 $1000/month

while working 2 days/week

$2,500(A) minus $1000(B) = $1,500/month(C): DI benefit reduced by $250 so that the total income represents 100% of the insured salary.

In the first month, the DI benefit of $1,750, plus Rehabilitation Earnings of $500, equals $2,250 or 90% of the Insured Earnings. In month 2, Rehabilitation earnings increased to $1000, so the DI benefit was reduced to ensure that the combined monthly income did not exceed the Insured Salary of $2,500 per month.

Please note that the Rehabilitation Earnings were calculated by dividing the monthly income by 4 to obtain a weekly amount, which was then divided by 5 to arrive at a daily income. These calculations are simplified for the purpose of these examples only, and are not intended for any other use.

What happens if my salary increases retroactively?

If a retroactive salary increase for your position, for example due to a re-negotiated collective agreement, is effective prior to the date your DI benefits became effective, both your Insured Salary and your DI benefit will be re-calculated accordingly.

Example: Increased Monthly Insured salary = $32,000/year 12 =$2,666
Monthly DI benefit = $2,666/year x 70% = $1,866/month

DI benefits started July 1st at $1,750/month, based on an Insured Salary of $30,000. A collective agreement signed December 15th increases that salary to $32,000 retroactive to March 1st of that same year, which is prior to the date the employee started to receive benefits.

Date of Salary Increase Effect on Insured Salary Effect on DI Benefit
Original salary was $30,000

Increases to $32,000 retroactive to March 1st

Original monthly insured salary was $2,500

Increases to $2,666/month retroactive to July 1st.

Original monthly DI benefit was $1,750

Increases to $1,866/month retroactive to July 1st.

In this example, the DI benefits will be increased by $116 per month retroactive to July 1st.

It is important to know that if the salary increase were effective on or after the day your DI benefits became effective, in this example on or after July 1st, neither the Insured Salary nor the DI benefit would change.

Will a retroactive salary increase affect my Rehabilitation Earnings?

A retroactive salary increase may affect your Rehabilitation Earnings, which are paid based on the salary for the classification and level of the job you are performing while on the Rehabilitation Program. Your Department will report to Sun Life any additional Rehabilitation Earnings paid to you retroactively.

EXAMPLE: DI benefits started July 1st and employee returns to work August 1st, 2 days/week. Rehabilitation Earnings equal $1000/month, based on a salary of $30,000. A collective agreement is signed December 15th increasing the salary of the claimant's position while on the Rehabilitation Program to $32,000 retroactive to March 1st of that same year.

Effective Date of Salary Increase

Effect on Rehabilitation Earnings for 2 days/week

Retroactive Rehabilitation Earnings owing to Employee

March 1st (Insured salary initially was $2,500/month, increases to $2,666/month). Initially paid at $1000/month. Increases to $1,066/month retroactive to August 1st. $1,066-$1000=$66/month retroactively from August 1st owed by Department.

Will a retroactive increase in Rehabilitation Earnings create a DI overpayment?

If your Rehabilitation Earnings increase retroactively, Sun Life may have to reduce your DI benefit retroactively so that your total monthly income does not exceed 100% of your Insured Salary during the retroactive period. However, since the Insured Salary almost always increases as a result of a retroactive salary increase, overpayments of DI benefits rarely occur.

Example: insured salary does increase

The following example shows the effect on DI benefits and Rehabilitation Earnings when Insured Salary is increased retroactively. In the example, DI benefits start July 1st; Insured Salary increases retroactively on March 1st to $32,000 and Rehabilitation Earnings starts August 1st. Remember, under a Rehabilitation Program, you can earn up to 100% of your Insured Salary.

Effect on Insured Salary Effect on Rehabilitation Earnings Effect on DI Benefit

Initially was $2,500/month effective July 1st.

Increases to $2,666/month retroactive to July 1st

Initially paid $1000/month effective August 1st (start of Rehabilitation Program).

Increase to $1,066 retroactive to August 1st.

Initially paid $1000/month x 4.5 months (August 1st to December 15th)= $4,500. Should have been paid $1,066/month x 4.5 months = $4,797

Department owes the Employee $297.

Initially paid $1,500/month effective August 1st, when Rehabilitation Earnings started.

Increase to $1,600 retroactive to August 1st.

Initially paid $1,500/month x 4.5 months (August 1st to December 15th) = $6,750. Should have been paid $1600 x 4.5 months = $7,200

Employee underpaid by $450.

Example: insured salary does not increase

A retroactive increase to Rehabilitation Earnings with no corresponding increase to Insured Salary will create a DI overpayment. If the Insured Salary in the previous example had remained at $2,500 because the effective date of the salary increase was, for example, August 1st and not March 1st, which is after the date DI benefits started (July 1st), an overpayment would be created.

Effect on Insured Salary

Effect on Rehabilitation Earnings

Effect on DI Benefit

No change-remains at $2,500/month

Originally paid at $1000/month. Increases to $1,066/month retroactive to August 1st.

Originally paid at $1000 x 4.5 months (August to December 15th)= $4,500. Should have paid $1,066 x 4.5 months =$4,797.

Department owes the Employee an additional $297.

Initially paid $1,500/month Decreases to $1,434/month retroactive to August 1st.

DI benefit originally paid = $1,500 x 4.5 months (August to December 15th)= $6,750. Should have paid $1,434 x 4.5 months = $6,453 total.

Employee has been overpaid $297 and needs to reimburse Sun Life.

This is a result of increased Rehabilitation Earnings payable for employment after the date the new salary increase became effective. As shown above, the DI benefit would be retroactively reduced by $66 per month (from $1500 to $1434) to take into account the increased Rehabilitation Earnings. As a result, DI benefits would be overpaid from August 1st to December 15th by $297 ($66 x 4.5 months). Overpaid amounts must be recovered by Sun Life. In this example, the retroactive Rehabilitation Earnings paid by the Employer will create the DI overpayment.

Specific questions relating to your Rehabilitation Earnings and DI benefits should be addressed to your Compensation Specialist.


Disability Insurance (DI) Plan

Important Reminder to Rehabilitation Program Participants

  • Under a Rehabilitation Program, your total income from all sources cannot be more than 100% of your Insured Salary. This includes the income received from your Department for your period of Rehabilitation employment, your DI benefit and other income sources deducted from your DI benefit.
  • As a Rehabilitation Program participant, you will receive income from your employing Department, based on the number of hours per week you have worked.
  • In addition, you will receive Disability Insurance (DI) benefits up to a maximum of 70% of your Insured Salary.
  • Your Insured Salary is your annual rate of pay on the day before your DI benefits became payable.
  • If you receive a retroactive salary increase for the period you participated in a Rehabilitation program, an overpayment in your DI benefit may result. Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada will request repayment of any overpaid benefits.
  • For a complete explanation of the effect of a retroactive salary increase on your DI benefits, please contact your Compensation Specialist.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Régime d'assurance-invalidité (AI) - Effet des augmentations de salaire rétroactives sur la prestation d'invalidité et sur le Programme de réadaptation

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à  des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à  jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à  la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à  la page « Contactez-nous ».

DATE : le 15 fvrier 2001

AUX : Gestionnaires de la rmunration
Chefs du personnel
Chefs du personnel des employeurs distincts participants
Chefs des agents ngociateurs

OBJET : Rgime d'assurance-invalidit (AI) - Effet des augmentations de salaire rtroactives sur la prestation d'invalidit et sur le Programme de radaptation

Le but du prsent avis est de dcrire l'effet que les augmentations de salaire rtroactives ont sur les prestations d'invalidit et sur le Programme de radaptation.

Plus particulirement, les fonctionnaires qui participent au Programme de radaptation devraient tre informs des effets potentiels d'une augmentation de salaire rtroactive sur leurs prestations d'invalidit.

Le document ci-joint a t prpar pour aider les prposs la rmunration conseiller les fonctionnaires viss. Ce document peut tre remis titre de rfrence aux employs qui participent ou qui participeront un programme de radaptation.

La Sun Life du Canada, Compagnie d'Assurance-vie, l'assureur du Rgime d'assurance-invalidit, enverra aux participants au programme de radaptation un rsum des effets des augmentations de salaire sur les prestations d'invalidit. Un exemplaire est annex titre d'information. Le document rfre les participants aux prposs la rmunration afin d'obtenir des explications plus compltes sur les effets d'une augmentation de salaire rtroactive sur leurs prestations d'invalidit.

Pour toute question sur ce sujet, les gestionnaires en rmunration peuvent s'adresser Kathy Jordan, au (613)952-3264, ou Suzanne Gilbert, au (613) 952-3265.

Prestations du Rgime d'assurance- invalidit de longue dure (AILD)

Le Rgime d'AILD faisant partie du Rgime d'assurance pour les cadres de gestion de la fonction publique (RACGFP) est semblable au Rgime d'AI, sauf en ce qui concerne le calcul de la prestation maximale d'un participant au Programme de radaptation. Dans le cas du Rgime d'AILD, la prestation maximale reprsente 100 % du traitement que touche le participant le dernier jour de la priode d'attente, mais elle est rajuste en fonction du taux de rmunration actuel du poste. tant donn qu'il n'y a gnralement pas de versement excdentaire, la Nationale du Canada, Compagnie d'Assurance-vie, n'aura pas fournir un exemplaire du sommaire ci-joint aux participants au Programme de radaptation de l'AILD.

Pour toute question sur ce sujet, les gestionnaires en rmunration peuvent s'adresser Kathy Jordan, au (613) 952-3264, ou Suzanne Gilbert, au (613) 952-3265.


Rgime d'assurance-invalidit (AI)

Effet des augmentations de salaire rtroactives sur la prestation d'invalidit et sur les gains tirs d'un programme de radaptation

Comment calcule-t-on mes prestations d'invalidit (AI)?

Vos prestations d'invalidit sont calcules sur la base de votre salaire assur頻. Il s'agit du taux de traitement annuel correspondant la classification et au niveau de votre poste le jour prcdant l'entre en vigueur de vos prestations d'invalidit; ce montant peut comprendre certaines allocations (prime au bilinguisme, par exemple). La prestation d'invalidit fait en sorte que vous touchez un total de 70% de votre salaire assur, qui vous sera vers au titre du seul Rgime d'assurance-invalidit, ou en combinaison avec d'autres revenus comme les prestations du Rgime de pensions du Canada ou du Rgime de rentes du Qubec (RPC/RRQ).

Exemple: salaire mensuel assur = 30000$/anne 12 = 2500$
Prestation AI mensuelle = 2500$/anne x 70% = 1750$/mois

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de radaptation et comment un tel programme
fonctionne-t-il?

Dans le cadre du Rgime d'assurance-invalidit, on a conu un programme de radaptation pour aider les employs retourner au travail aprs une absence pour invalidit ou pour leur permettre de profiter temporairement d'autres possibilits d'emploi lorsque, en raison de troubles mdicaux, une personne ne peut s'acquitter de toutes les fonctions de son poste. Le programme permet de retourner au travail pendant un nombre d'heures limit chaque semaine et ventuellement de reprendre les heures normales de travail. Par exemple, un employ peut travailler deux jours par semaine pendant un certain nombre de mois, puis augmenter graduellement le nombre de jours jusqu' la reprise des heures normales de travail.

Selon le Rgime d'assurance-invalidit, le programme de radaptation doit tre approuv par crit par la Sun Life, l'assureur du rgime AI, et appuy par les documents mdicaux fournis par le mdecin traitant.

Si vous retournez au travail dans le cadre du programme de radaptation, vous toucherez un salaire pour le nombre d'heures de travail selon la classification et le niveau de l'emploi que vous occupez. Ce revenu, plus la rmunration des congs fris, des vacances et des congs de maladie, de mme que la rmunration pour services supplmentaires, y compris les congs compensatoires accords et les indemnits verses (prime au bilinguisme), constituent vos gains tirs d'un programme de radaptation.

Comment mes gains tirs d'un programme de radaptation affectent-ils mes prestations d'AI?

En vertu du programme de radaptation, vous pourrez toucher jusqu' 100% de votre salaire assur, mme si la Sun Life vous verse des prestations qui atteignent 70% de ce salaire assur. En d'autres mots, les revenus que vous toucherez du ministre pour un travail excut dans le cadre du programme de radaptation s'ajouteront vos prestations d'invalidit.

Votre ministre communiquera le montant brut des gains que vous tirez d'un programme de radaptation la Sun Life sur une base mensuelle et l'assureur comparera ces gains votre salaire mensuel assur. Ces gains n'affecteront pas votre prestation d'invalidit mensuelle moins que le total de vos revenus ne soit suprieur 100% de votre salaire assur. Le cas chant, la Sun Life rduira vos prestations d'invalidit de manire ce que vos revenus mensuels ne dpassent pas 100% de votre salaire assur. La prestation d'invalidit mensuelle des employs qui participent un programme de radaptation est calcule comme suit:

Salaire assur (A) moins Revenus tirs d'un programme de radaptation (B) = Prestation AI payable (C), 70% ou moins du salaire assur.

EXEMPLE: Dans cet exemple, le salaire assur (A) est de 2500$/mois (30 000$ 12). Le montant maximum de la prestation d'invalidit pouvant tre vers serait de 1750$/mois (2500$ x 70%).

Revenus tirs d'un programme de radaptation

Effet sur la prestation d'invalidit

1er mois 500$/mois

pour un travail d'une journe par semaine

2500$ (A) moins 500$ (B) = 2000$/mois(C): la prestation d'invalidit est verse jusqu' concurrence de 70% (1750$) et reste la mme qu'avant le commencement du programme de radaptation.
2e mois 1000$/mois

pour un travail de deux jours par semaine

2500$ (A) moins 1000 $(B) = 1500$/mois(C): la prestation d'invalidit est rduite de 250$ de sorte que le revenu total corresponde 100% du salaire assur.

Au cours du premier mois, la prestation d'invalidit de 1 750$, plus les gains tirs d'un programme de radaptation de 500$ totalisent 2 250$ ou 90% du salaire assur. Au cours du deuxime mois, les gains tirs d'un programme de radaptation passent 1000$. En consquence, la prestation d'invalidit est rduite afin que les revenus mensuels combins ne dpasse pas le salaire assur de 2500$ par mois.

Veuillez noter que les gains tirs d'un programme de radaptation ont t calculs en divisant le revenu mensuel par quatre afin d'obtenir un montant hebdomadaire, qui a ensuite t divis par cinq afin d'obtenir le revenu quotidien. Ces calculs sont simplifis aux fins des exemples seulement et ne doivent pas servir d'autres fins.

Qu'arrive-t-il si mon salaire est augment rtroactivement?

Si une augmentation de salaire rtroactive pour votre poste, par exemple la suite de la rengociation d'une convention collective, prend effet avant la date d'entre en vigueur de vos prestations d'invalidit, votre salaire assur de mme que vos prestations d'invalidit seront recalculs en consquence.

Exemple: Augmentation du salaire mensuel assur = 32000$/anne 12 = 2666$
Prestation AI mensuelle = 2666$/anne x 70% = 1866$/mois

La prestation d'invalidit tait fixe 1750$/mois compter du 1er juillet selon un traitement assur de 30000$. La convention collective signe le 15dcembre porte ce traitement 32000$ rtroactivement au 1ermars de la mme anne, c'est--dire avant la date laquelle l'employ a commenc toucher des prestations.

Date de l'augmentation de salaire

Effet sur le salaire assur

Effet sur la prestation d'invalidit

Le salaire tait au dpart de 30000$

et il a t port 32000$ rtroactivement au 1ermars.

Le salaire mensuel assur tait au dpart de 2500$

et il a t port 2666$/mois rtroactivement au 1erjuillet.

La prestation d'invalidit mensuelle, qui tait au dpart de 1750$

a t porte 1866$/mois rtroactivement au 1erjuillet.

Dans cet exemple, la prestation d'invalidit est augmente de 116$ par mois rtroactivement au 1erjuillet.

Il importe de savoir que si l'augmentation de salaire prendrait effet le jour de l'entre en vigueur de vos prestations d'invalidit, dans ce cas-ci le 1erjuillet, ou plus tard, ni le salaire assur, ni la prestation d'invalidit ne changerait.

Une augmentation de salaire rtroactive affectera-t-elle mes gains tirs d'un programme de radaptation?

Une augmentation de salaire rtroactive pourrait affecter vos gains tirs d'un programme de radaptation, qui sont bass sur le taux de salaire correspondant la classification et au niveau de l'emploi que vous occupez dans le cadre du programme de radaptation. Votre ministre informera la Sun Life de tout supplment aux revenus tirs d'un programme de radaptation qui vous seront verss rtroactivement.

EXEMPLE: La prestation d'invalidit est verse compter du 1erjuillet et l'employ revient au travail le 1eraot raison de deux jours par semaine. Les gains tirs d'un programme de radaptation correspondent 1000$/mois sur la base d'un salaire de 30000$. Une convention collective signe le 15dcembre porte 32000$, rtroactivement au 1ermars de la mme anne, le salaire du prestataire qui participe un programme de radaptation.

Date d'entre en vigueur de l'augmentation de salaire

Effet sur les gains tirs d'un programme de radaptation raison de 2jours/semaine

Revenus rtroactifs tirs d'un programme de radaptation dus l'employ

1er mars (au dpart, le salaire assur tait de 2500 $/mois avant de passer 2666$/mois).

1000 $/mois au dpart. Ce montant est port 1066$/mois rtroactivement au 1er aot.

1066$-1000$ = 66$/mois, montant que le ministre doit verser rtroactivement au 1eraot.

Une augmentation rtroactive des revenus tirs d'un programme de radaptation entranera-t-elle un trop-pay des prestations d'invalidit ?

Si vos gains tirs d'un programme de radaptation augmentent rtroactivement, la Sun Life pourrait tre dans l'obligation de rduire votre prestation d'invalidit rtroactivement afin que le total de vos revenus mensuels ne dpasse pas 100% de votre salaire assur pendant la priode de rtroactivit. Toutefois, comme le salaire assur augmente presque toujours la suite d'une augmentation de salaire rtroactive, il y que rarement des paiements en trop de la prestation d'invalidit.

Exemple: le salaire assur augmente

L'exemple suivant illustre l'effet d'une augmentation rtroactive du salaire assur sur la prestation d'invalidit et sur les revenus tirs d'un programme de radaptation. Ainsi, la prestation est verse compter du 1erjuillet, le salaire assur est port 32000$ rtroactivement au 1ermars et les revenus tirs d'un programme de radaptation sont verss compter du 1eraot. N'oubliez pas qu'en vertu du programme de radaptation, vous pouvez toucher jusqu' 100% de votre salaire assur.

Effet sur le salaire assur

Effet sur les revenus tirs d'un programme de radaptation

Effet sur la prestation d'invalidit

Au dpart, le salaire assur tait de 2500$/mois compter du 1erjuillet.

Par la suite, il est port 2666$/mois rtroactivement au 1erjuillet.

Au dpart, le montant vers tait de 1000$/mois compter du 1er aot (dbut du programme de radaptation).

Par la suite, il est port 1066$/mois rtroactivement au 1eraot.

Au dpart, le montant vers tait de 1000$/mois x 4,5mois (1eraot au 15dcembre) = 4500$, mais il aurait d tre de 1066$/mois x 4,5mois = 4797$.

Le ministre doit 297$ l'employ.

Au dpart, la prestation tait de 1500$/mois compter du 1eraot, date du dbut du versement de revenus tirs d'un programme de radaptation.

Par la suite, elle passe 1600$/mois, rtroactivement au 1eraot.

Au dpart, la prestation tait de 1500$/mois x 4,5mois (1eraot au 15dcembre) = 6750$, mais elle aurait d tre de 1600$/mois x 4,5mois = 7200$.

L'employ a t sous-pay de 450$.

Exemple: Le Salaire Assur N'augmente Pas

Une augmentation rtroactive du revenu tir d'un programme de radaptation sans augmentation correspondante du salaire assur entranera un paiement en trop de la prestation d'invalidit. Si le salaire assur de l'exemple prcdent tait demeur 2500$ parce que l'augmentation de salaire entrait en vigueur le 1eraot, par exemple, et non le 1ermars, c'est--dire aprs la date de commencement du versement de la prestation d'invalidit, il y aurait eu un trop pay.

Effet sur le salaire assur

Effet sur les revenus tirs d'un programme de radaptation

Effet sur la prestation d'invalidit

Il n'y a pas de changement: le montant demeure 2500$/mois.

Au dpart, le revenu tait de 1000$/mois. Par la suite, il est port 1066 $/mois rtroactivement au 1eraot.

Au dpart, le montant vers tait de 1000$ x 4,5mois (1eraot au 15dcembre) = 4500 $, mais il aurait d tre de 1066$ x 4,5mois = 4797$.

Le ministre doit 297$ de plus l'employ.

Au dpart, la prestation tait de 1500$/mois. Par la suite, elle est rduite 1434$/mois rtroactivement au 1eraot.

Au dpart, la prestation tait de 1500$/mois x 4,5mois (1eraot au 15dcembre) = 6750$, mais elle aurait d tre de 1434$/mois x 4,5mois = 6453$.

L'employ a touch un trop-pay de 297$ qu'il doit remettre la SunLife.

Cela rsulte d'une hausse du revenu tir d'un programme de radaptation aprs la date d'entre en vigueur de la nouvelle augmentation de salaire. Comme il est indiqu ci-dessus, la prestation d'invalidit serait rduite rtroactivement de 66$ par mois (passant de 1 500$ 1434$) afin de tenir compte de l'augmentation du revenu tir d'un programme de radaptation. Par consquent, il y aurait un trop-pay de 297$ (66$ x 4,5mois) au titre de la prestation d'invalidit pour la priode du 1eraot au 15dcembre. La Sun Life doit recouvrer les montants verss en trop. Dans cet exemple, les revenus rtroactifs tirs d'un programme de radaptation et verss par l'employeur entranent le trop-pay de la prestation d'invalidit.

Toute question particulire concernant vos revenus tirs d'un programme de radaptation et votre prestation d'invalidit devrait tre soumise votre spcialiste en rmunration.


Rgime d'Assurance - Invalidit (AI)

Rappel important aux participants du
programme de radaptation

  • Dans le cadre d'un programme de radaptation, votre revenu total, toutes sources confondues, ne peut excder 100% de votre traitement assur. Ce montant total comprend le traitement vers par votre ministre pendant la priode de votre emploi de radaptation, vos prestations d'assurance-invalidit et les autres sources de revenu dduites de vos prestations d'assurance-invalidit.
  • titre de participant un programme de radaptation, votre ministre employeur vous versera un salaire calcul en fonction du nombre d'heures travailles par semaine.
  • De plus, vous recevrez des prestations d'assurance-invalidit correspondant un maximum de 70% de votre traitement assur.
  • Votre traitement assur correspond votre taux de salaire annuel calcul le jour prcdant la journe o vos prestations d'assurance-invalidit deviennent payables.
  • Si vous recevez une augmentation de salaire rtroactive couvrant la priode pendant laquelle vous avez particip un programme de radaptation, il pourrait y avoir un trop-pay au niveau des prestations d'assurance-invalidit. Dans une telle situation, Sun Life du Canada, compagnie d'assurance - vie vous demandera de rembourser les prestations excdentaires.
  • Pour une explication plus exhaustive des effets d'une augmentation de salaire rtroactive sur vos prestations d'assurance-invalidit, communiquez avec votre spcialiste de la rmunration.