We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Financial Information: Data Quality

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject à to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

DATE: May 14, 2002
TO: Senior Financial Officers
SUBJECT: Financial Information: Data Quality

One of the goals of the Financial Information Strategy is the provision of high quality, timely information to decision makers in both departments and central agencies.

Analyses of departmental trial balances conducted by the Receiver General and Treasury Board Secretariat have revealed coding anomalies and some questionable account balances. The Auditor General recently identified financial information data quality as the focus of an upcoming audit.

For effective decision-making, the information in your departmental trial balances must be complete and accurate throughout the year. Good data quality is critical for the accurate reporting of the use of financial authorities, to determine the Government's fiscal position and for reliable budget forecasts.

Departments and agencies, are responsible for the accurate and timely recording of all transactions in departmental financial systems. As Senior Financial Officers, you are responsible for the maintenance of effective internal control, including an adequate level of oversight by the internal audit function. To strengthen this responsibility, we would request that you ensure that all future trial balances are reviewed and explicitly approved by the Senior Full-Time Financial Officer or delegate prior to transmission to the Receiver General. The review should ensure that the trial balance is in balance, departmental control account balances match those of the corresponding Receiver General cash control accounts, amortization expense is booked monthly, and that all other account balances are reasonable. This will supplement monthly financial statement reporting and variance analysis that should already be taking place within your departments.

The Treasury Board Secretariat and the Receiver General will continue to monitor the quality of data within departmental trial balances . We will be following-up with your staff concerning any questions or anomalies and continue to assist your department in its efforts to ensure high data quality.

We would like to thank you for your co-operation and assistance in this important matter. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Richard J. Neville at (613) 957-7820 or Bill Bradshaw at (613) 952-3404 at the Treasury Board Secretariat or Rod Monette at (819) 956-2871 or Bruno Bernier at (613) 956-1794 at Public Works and Government Services Canada.


Original signed by/l'original signé par

Rod Monette, CA
Assistant Deputy Minister/Sous-ministre adjoint
Government Operational Service/Service opérationnel au gouvernement
Public Works and Government Services Canada/Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada
Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Information financière: Qualité des données

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

DATE : Le 14 mai 2002
AUX : Agents financiers supérieurs
OBJET : Information financière: Qualité des données

Un des objectifs de la Stratégie d'information financière est de fournir de l'information de haute qualité, en temps opportun, aux décideurs des ministères et des organismes centraux.

Les analyses des balances de vérification des ministères exécutées par le Receveur général et le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor ont dévoilé des anomalies de classification et des soldes de comptes douteux. La Vérificatrice générale a récemment annoncé que la qualité de l'information financière ferait l'objet d'une vérification à venir.

Afin qu'on puisse prendre des décisions éclairées, l'information de vos balances de vérification doit être complète et exacte tout au long de l'année. Une bonne qualité des données est nécessaire pour l'établissement de rapports précis sur l'utilisation des autorisations financières pour connaître l'état des finances du gouvernement et permettre l'élaboration de prévisions budgétaires fiables.

Les ministères et organismes sont responsables de l'enregistrement exact et en temps opportun de toutes les opérations dans les systèmes financiers ministériels. En tant qu'agents financiers supérieurs, vous êtes responsables du maintien d'un contrôle interne efficace, y compris d'un niveau approprié de surveillance par la fonction de vérification interne. Pour renforcer cette responsabilité, nous vous prions de voir à ce que l'agent financier supérieur à temps plein ou un délégué examine et approuve toutes les balances de vérification ultérieures avant qu'elles ne soient transmises au Receveur général. Il devrait ainsi vérifier que les balances de vérification concordent, que les soldes des comptes de contrôle ministériels correspondent aux comptes de contrôle de caisse du Receveur général, que l'amortissement de l'exercice est inscrit mensuellement, et que tous les autres soldes sont raisonnables. Cela s'ajoutera aux états financiers et aux analyses des écarts qui devraient déjà être établis tous les mois dans les ministères.

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et le Receveur général continueront de surveiller la qualité des données des balances de vérification ministérielles. Nous consulterons avec votre personnel sur toutes questions ou anomalies et continuerons d'appuyer votre ministère dans ses efforts pour assurer une qualité supérieure des données.

Nous aimerions vous remercier de votre collaboration et de votre appui à cet important exercice. Si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec Richard J. Neville, au (613) 957-7820 ou Bill Bradshaw, au (613) 952-3404 au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor ou avec Rod Monette, au (819) 956-2871 ou Bruno Bernier, au (613) 956-1794 à Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada.


L'original signé par/Original signed by

Richard J. Neville, FCA
Sous-contrôleur général/Deputy Comptroller General
Direction générale de la fonction de contrôleur/Comptrollership Branch
Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada/Treasury Board Secretariat of Canada
Date de modification :