Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Government Acquisition Card Contract

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

DATE: November 5th, 2001
TO: Senior Financial Officers (SFO)
Senior Full-Time Financial Officers (SFFO)
SUBJECT: Government Acquisition Card Contract

 

This Information Notice is to inform you of the results of the competitive process for obtaining acquisition card services.

New contractual agreements have been entered into with the Bank of Montreal (BMO) for MasterCard and the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC) for Visa. These agreements will be effective January 1, 2002 and will expire on December 31, 2005. There is also a possibility to extend the contracts for two additional periods of two years and one year respectively.

The current agreements with National Bank for MasterCard, and Citibank for Visa acquisition cards will be terminated on December 31, 2001.

The competitive process started last July with the issuance of a Request For Proposal. The responses received from various financial institutions were evaluated by an interdepartmental review committee in accordance with a number of specific criteria. These criteria were designed to ensure for departments an efficient and economical method of acquiring and paying for goods or services and, also to ensure the best possible value for the Crown.

The new contracts contain essentially the same clauses and conditions as those currently in force. However, greater emphasis has been placed on the use of electronic exchange of information and on the implementation of better information, monitoring and control tools for departments.

The two service providers will offer departments the opportunity to select payment options that are best suited to their operations. In addition, the new contracts offer an improved rebate program, payable directly to departments and based on the payment option selected. Thus, this program represents a significant incentive to departments to increase the use of acquisition cards and to implement electronic commerce with the card issuers.

More specific details (e.g. rebate levels, services offered etc.) concerning these two contracts will be distributed to departments in the near future. As well, departmental information sessions, with the BMO and the CIBC, will be scheduled in the following weeks to address any concerns. An E-mail from TBS, will be sent to all departments (to SFO's and SFFO's) to confirm the date and location of the information sessions.

We understand that the introduction of two new card suppliers will have an impact on departments. TBS will therefore work closely with the new card suppliers and departments to ease the transition to the new acquisition cards.

In consultation with departments and the new card suppliers, TBS will work on the development and delivery of action plans (covering the issuance of the new cards, billing/reporting requirements, distribution of information concerning the services offered, etc.) to ensure a successful transition period with minimal disruption. During the months of November and December, meetings between the service providers and departments will take place to ensure that all operational and system requirements are met.

In order to successfully introduce the new cards, we will require that you indicate which of the two following options you prefer concerning the issuance and distribution of the new acquisition cards:

  • Option 1: New cards sent to the attention of the departmental co-ordinator for internal departmental distribution.
  • Option 2: New cards sent directly to the cardholders.

When operationally possible we suggest that departments choose option 1. As we are dealing with a mass issuance (approx. 32,000 cards) this option will allow a faster turn around time for financial institutions to ensure timely issuance of the cards (for January 1st, 2002). This option will also provide a better control for departments in ensuring that all cards are correctly issued to cardholders. Please confirm your selected option by November 15th, 2001 to Roch Huppé (e-mail Huppe.Roch@tbs-sct.gc.ca, or fax 613-946-9907)

If you have any concerns or have any comments, please do not hesitate to contact Robert Berniquez at 957-9672 (e-mail Berniquez.Robert@tbs-sct.gc.ca), or Roch Huppé at 941-7200 (e-mail Huppe.Roch@tbs-sct.gc.ca).


Original signed by
Richard J. Neville, FCA

Deputy Comptroller General
Comptrollership Branch

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Marché sur les cartes d'achat du gouvernement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

DATE : le 5 novembre 2001
AUX : Agents financiers supérieurs (AFS)
Agents financiers supérieurs à temps plein (AFSTP)
OBJET : Marché sur les cartes d'achat du gouvernement
 

Ce bulletin d'information a pour objet de vous informer des résultats du processus concurrentiel lié à l'obtention de services de cartes d'achat.

De nouvelles ententes contractuelles ont été conclues avec la Banque de Montréal (BMO) pour la carte MasterCard et la Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce (CIBC) pour la carte Visa. Elles seront en vigueur du 1er janvier 2002 au 31 décembre 2005. Il est également possible de prolonger ces contrats pour deux périodes additionnelles, la première pour deux ans et la deuxième pour un an.

Les ententes en vigueur présentement relatives aux cartes d'achat avec la Banque Nationale, pour la carte MasterCard, et la Citibank pour la carte Visa, prendront fin le 31 décembre 2001.

Le processus concurrentiel a été amorcé en juillet dernier, au moment de l'émission d'une demande de proposition. Les propositions reçues de diverses institutions financières ont été évaluées par un comité d'examen interministériel en fonction de critères spécifiques. Ces critères avaient pour but d'assurer aux ministères une méthode d'achat et de paiement de biens ou services efficiente et économique, et d'assurer le meilleur rapport qualité/prix possible pour la Couronne.

Les nouveaux marchés comprennent essentiellement les mêmes clauses et les mêmes conditions que celles des marchés actuels. Toutefois, ils insistent davantage sur le recours à l'échange électronique de l'information et sur la mise en œuvre de meilleurs outils d'information, de suivi et de contrôle pour les ministères.

Les deux sociétés offriront aux ministères la possibilité de choisir des options de paiement adaptées à leurs besoins opérationnels. De plus, les nouveaux marchés offrent un programme de rabais amélioré, variant selon l'option choisie et payable directement aux ministères. Par le fait même, ce programme vise à inciter les ministères à se servir plus souvent des cartes d'achat et à promouvoir le commerce électronique avec les sociétés émettrices.

Les détails de ces deux marchés (p.ex. niveaux de rabais, services offerts etc.) seront bientôt distribués aux ministères. De plus, des sessions d'information avec la BMO et la CIBC, afin de discuter des préoccupations, seront organisées par les ministères, dans les prochaines semaines. Un courriel provenant du SCT sera envoyé à tous les ministères (aux AFS et AFSTP) confirmant la date et le lieu de ces sessions d'information.

Nous comprenons que l'introduction de deux nouvelles sociétés émettrices de cartes aura un impact sur les ministères. Le SCT travaillera donc conjointement avec les nouvelles sociétés émettrices de cartes et les ministères afin de faciliter la transition aux nouvelles cartes d'achat.

Le SCT travaillera en collaboration avec les ministères et les nouvelles sociétés émettrices de cartes au développement et à la mise en œuvre de plans d'action (notamment l'émission de nouvelles cartes, exigences quant à la facturation et aux rapports, distribution d'information au sujet des services offerts, etc.), afin d'assurer une période de transition réussie et le moins de perturbation possible. Durant les mois de novembre et décembre, des rencontres entre les ministères et les sociétés émettrices auront lieu afin d'assurer que toutes les exigences opérationnelles et de système seront rencontrées.

Afin d'assurer le succès de la transition aux nouvelles cartes, nous vous demandons d'indiquer laquelle des deux options suivantes vous préférez à l'égard de l'émission et de la distribution des nouvelles cartes d'achat :

  • Option 1 : L'envoi des nouvelles cartes aux coordonnateurs ministériels pour distribution interne au ministère.
  • Option 2 : L'envoi des nouvelles cartes directement aux détenteurs de cartes.

Nous suggérons aux ministères d'opter pour l'option 1 dans la mesure du possible. Étant donné l'émission massive de cartes (32 000 cartes approx.), cette option permettra aux institutions financières de réagir plus rapidement pour assurer une émission en temps opportun (pour le 1er janvier 2002). Cette option fournira aussi aux ministères un meilleur contrôle quant à l'exactitude des cartes émises aux détenteurs. Veuillez confirmer l'option choisie d'ici le 15 novembre 2001, à Roch Huppé (courriel Huppe.Roch@tbs-sct.gc.ca, ou par fax au 613-946-9907)

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec Robert Berniquez au 957-9672 (courriel Berniquez.Robert@tbs-sct.gc.ca), ou Roch Huppé au 941-7200 (courriel Huppe.Roch@tbs-sct.gc.ca).


Le sous-contrôleur général,
Direction générale de la fonction de contrôleur

Original signé par
Richard J. Neville, FCA
Date de modification :