We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Acquisition Cards

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject à to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

DATE: September 14, 1999

TO: Senior Financial Officers and Senior Full-time Financial Officers

SUBJECT: Acquisition Cards

The Acquisition Cards program has been very successful since its implementation. The number of cards in circulation now exceeds 25,000 and monthly purchases amount to more than $29.5 million. The direct savings realized by departments in 1998 amounted to approximately $1 million dollars.

We have made some minor modifications to the existing policy in order to clarify the payment process and to introduce a downloadable version of the MasterCard and Visa application forms to obtain a new acquisition card.

The following are a few reminders on how to get the most value from your acquisition cards. Payments to the acquisition card company should be processed in a timely manner to avoid interest as a minimum but more importantly to maximize the rebates payable to the government. Settling accounts according to the terms of the card payment option selected by the department will ensure this.

It is also important to note that when rebates are available, payments can be made before the regular payment terms as indicated under paragraph 5h) of the Policy on Payment Requisitioning and Payment on Due Date. By paying the invoices earlier, departments will have access to greater rebates.

We have also now completed the second version of the Acquisition Card Program, Management Guide (or Best Practices). You will find useful information in that document on the history, utilisation and benefits of acquisition cards and on recommended internal controls that will assist managers in monitoring the activities related to the cards.

The revised policy, Management Guide and the card application forms are available at the following address: /pubs_pol/dcgpubs/TBM_142/siglist_e.asp

Should you have any questions concerning this policy or would like to receive an electronic copy of the document, please have a member of your staff contact Robert Berniquez at 613-957-9672.

 

J. Colin Potts
Deputy Comptroller General

Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Cartes d'acquisition

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

DATE : Le 14 septembre, 1999

AUX : Agents financiers supérieurs et agents financiers supérieurs à temps plein

OBJET : Cartes d'acquisition

Le programme des cartes d'achat s'est avéré un franc succès depuis son introduction. Le nombre de cartes en circulation excède les 25,000 et les achats mensuels se chiffrent à plus de $29.5 millions de dollars. Les épargnes directes réalisées en 1998 se sont élevées à près de $1 million de dollars.

Nous avons apporté certains correctifs mineurs à la politique existante afin de clarifier le mode de paiement et, pour inclure un formulaire en format électronique de demande de carte Visa et MasterCard.

Les commentaires suivants visent à vous rappeler comment maximiser l'utilisation des cartes d'acquisition. Les paiements aux compagnies de carte d'achats doivent être traités dans un délais prescrit afin d'éviter au minimum les frais de crédit mais le plus important consiste à maximiser les rabais disponibles. Le règlement des factures selon les termes choisis par les ministères assurera le maximum de bénéfices.

Il est aussi important de noter que lorsque des rabais sont offerts, les paiements peuvent être effectués avant la période normale en vigueur tel que stipulé à l'article 5h) de la Politique sur les demandes de paiement et paiement à la date d'échéance. En payant les factures rapidement, les ministères obtiendront une ristourne plus élevée.

Nous avons aussi complété la seconde version du Guide de Gestion (ou meilleures pratiques). Vous y trouverez des informations sur l'historique, l'utilisation et bénéfices reliés aux cartes d'achats et des recommandations quant aux normes de contrôles internes pour aider les gestionnaires à bien contrôler les activités reliées aux cartes.

La politique révisée, le Guide de Gestion et les formulaires de demande de cartes sont disponibles à l'adresse suivante : /pubs_pol/dcgpubs/TBM_142/siglist_e.asp

Si vous avez des questions concernant cette politique ou si vous désirez recevoir une copie électronique du document, veuillez demander à un membre de votre personnel de contacter Robert Berniquez au 613-957-9672.

 

Le sous-controleur général
J. Colin Potts

Date de modification :