Web Communities

Supporting tools and guidance presented on this site are developed in collaboration with Web Communities across and outside the Government of Canada. Our communities are described below.

Departmental Representation

Managing a Web presence requires the input and cooperation of many people with different roles and responsibilities within their organization. The groups listed below represent their department at these forums and work together to share experiences and help define priorities.

The Senior Departmental Official (SDO) , designated by the deputy head, is responsible for supporting their deputy head by overseeing the implementation and monitoring of Web Standards in their department.

The Chief Information Officer Council is a forum for consultation and information exchange on matters relating to the effective management and use of information and technology in support of program and service delivery in the Government of Canada. The Chief Information Officer (CIO) Council is made up of departmental senior officials responsible for Information Management and Information Technology in their department.

The Web Managers Council deals with issues related to implementation of Web Standards and management of GC websites. The Web Managers Council reports to the Chief Information Officer (CIO) Council and is made up of Web managers from departments that are also represented on the CIO Council.

The Web Standards Centres of Expertise serve as the primary point of contact between Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat's Web Standards Office and their department for questions and communications related to interpretation and implementation of Web standards, guidelines and tools.

Working Groups

Managing a Web presence also requires the input and cooperation of people with specialized skill sets. The groups listed below contribute based on their knowledge and experience. They work on addressing priorities identified by departmental representatives.

The Access Working Group reports to the Web Managers Council and provides feedback and proposed solutions to common Government of Canada Web accessibility challenges.

The Technical Working Group reports to the Web Managers Council and identifies technical issues and provides technical solutions for implementation of the Web Standards on Government of Canada websites.

The Quality Assurance Working Group reports to the Web Managers Council and provides quality assurance expertise, practices and tools to assist departments in assessing compliance to Web Standards.

The User Experience Working Group reports to the Web Managers Council and addresses key issues related to the usability of Government of Canada websites.

The Web Experience Toolkit (WET) project consists of individuals from both Government of Canada organizations and external Web communities that are developing ready-made tools and solutions for building and maintaining innovative websites that are accessible, usable, and interoperable.

Date modified:

Collectivités Web

Les outils et conseils présentés dans ce site ont été élaborés de concert avec des collectivités Web au sein et à l'extérieur du gouvernement du Canada. Nos collectivités sont décrites ci-après.

Représentation ministérielle

La gestion d'une présence Web requiert la contribution et la collaboration de nombreuses personnes dont les rôles et responsabilités au sein de leur organisation respective sont distincts. Les collectivités précisées ci-après représentent leur ministère au sein de ces forums et collaborent dans le but de faire part de leurs expériences et de définir les priorités.

Le cadre supérieur du ministère désigné par l’administrateur général a la responsabilité d’appuyer son administrateur général en supervisant la mise en œuvre et la surveillance des normes Web dans son ministère.

Le Conseil des dirigeants principaux de l’information (DPI) est un forum de consultation et d’échange d’information sur des sujets liés à la gestion et à l’utilisation efficaces de l’information et de la technologie à l’appui de l’exécution des programmes et de la prestation des services au gouvernement du Canada. Le Conseil des DPI se compose des cadres supérieurs ministériels responsables de la gestion de l’information et des technologies de l’information au sein de leur ministère.

Le Conseil des gestionnaires de sites Web s’occupe de questions liées à la mise en œuvre de normes Web et à la gestion des sites Web du GC. Le Conseil des gestionnaires de sites Web relève du Conseil des DPI et se compose des gestionnaires de sites Web des ministères qui sont également représentés sur le Conseil des DPI.

Les centres d’expertise des normes Web font fonction de principal point de contact entre le Bureau des normes Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada et les ministères relativement aux questions et communications liées à l’interprétation et à la mise en œuvre de lignes directrices, d’outils et de normes Web.

Groupes de travail

La gestion d'une présence Web requiert la contribution et la collaboration de personnes dotées de compétences spécialisées. Les collectivités précisées ci-après mettent à contribution leurs connaissances et expériences. Ils s'efforcent de tenir compte des priorités définies par leurs représentants ministériels.

Le Groupe de travail sur l’accès relève du Conseil des gestionnaires de sites Web et fournit des commentaires et des solutions proposées en réponse aux problèmes courants du gouvernement du Canada en matière d’accessibilité au Web.

Le Groupe de travail technique rend compte au Conseil des gestionnaires de sites Web et cerne les problèmes techniques et propose des solutions techniques en vue de la mise en œuvre des normes Web dans les sites Web du gouvernement du Canada.

Le Groupe de travail sur l’assurance de la qualité rend compte au Conseil des gestionnaires de sites Web et fournit une expertise, des pratiques et des outils en assurance de la qualité pour aider les ministères à évaluer la conformité aux normes Web.

Le Groupe de travail sur l’expérience des utilisateurs relève du Conseil des gestionnaires de sites Web et traite d’enjeux clés liés à la facilité d’emploi des sites Web du gouvernement du Canada.

Le projet de Boîte à outils de l’expérience Web (BOEW) regroupe des personnes tant d’organismes du gouvernement du Canada que de collectivités Web externes qui élaborent différents outils et solutions prêts-à-utiliser pour la conception et la mise à jour de sites Web innovateurs qui sont à la fois accessibles, conviviaux et interopérables.

Date de modification :