Standard on Web Interoperability Released

The new Standard on Web Interoperability came into effect on July 1, 2012. This standard applies to all institutions listed in schedules I, I.1, and II of the Financial Administration Act and will be implemented in three phases over a three-year period.

The Standard on Web Interoperability is the last of the three new Web standards (on accessibility, usability and interoperability) that were announced in September 2010 to replace Parts 1, 2 and 3 of the Common Look and Feel 2.0

The Standard on Web Interoperability helps meet the evolving expectations of Canadians for information and services provided over the Web. In particular, it ensures that government websites can be adapted for mobile devices and ensures re-use of government Web content across websites, including Web applications and platforms.

Departments have three years to implement the Standard on Web Interoperability; however, they are encouraged to implement all three new Web standards simultaneously, where possible, to achieve efficiencies. It is also recommended that the existing senior departmental official, who has been named to support the Standards on Web Accessibility and Web Usability, continues to serve the same role for the Standard on Web Interoperability as well.

By applying the Standard on Web Interoperability, the government will increase the effectiveness and efficiency of government websites.

Date modified:

Lancement de la Norme sur l’interopérabilité du Web

La nouvelle Norme sur l’interopérabilité du Web est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 2012. Cette norme s’applique à toutes les institutions énumérées aux Annexes I, I.1, et II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et sera mise en œuvre en trois phases sur une période de trois ans.

La Norme sur l’interopérabilité du Web est la dernière des trois nouvelles normes Web (accessibilité, facilité d’emploi et interopérabilité) qui ont été annoncées en septembre 2010 pour remplacer les parties 1, 2 et 3 de la Normalisation des sites Internet 2.0.

La Norme sur l’interopérabilité du Web aide à répondre aux attentes en évolution des Canadiens à l’égard de l’information et des services fournis sur le Web. Plus particulièrement, elle permet l’adaptation des sites Web pour leur utilisation au moyen d’appareils mobiles et la réutilisation du contenu Web du gouvernement sur d’autres sites Web, dont des plateformes et applications Web.

Les ministères ont trois ans pour mettre en œuvre la Norme sur l'interopérabilité du Web. Toutefois, ils sont encouragés à mettre en œuvre les trois nouvelles normes Web simultanément, dans la mesure du possible, afin de réaliser des gains d’efficience. On recommande également que le haut fonctionnaire du Ministère nommé pour appuyer les normes sur l'accessibilité des sites Web et sur la facilité d’emploi des sites Web continue de jouer le même rôle pour la Norme sur l'interopérabilité du Web.

L’application de la Norme sur l'interopérabilité du Web permettra au gouvernement d’accroître l’efficacité et l’efficience de ses sites Web.

Date de modification :