Standard on Web Usability Released

The Standard on Web Usability and Federal Identity Program technical specifications came into effect on . This standard applies to all institutions listed in schedules I, I.1, and II of the Financial Administration Act.

The Standard on Web Usability is accompanied by a guidance document to facilitate implementation by . The supporting guidance provides useful direction to senior departmental officials, who are responsible for supporting deputy heads in adhering to the requirements of the Standard on Web Usability.

The implementation period is aligned with the implementation period for the Standard on Web Accessibility.

The Standard on Web Usability in conjunction with technical specifications mandate a basic structure for Web page layout, design, and the visual elements and identifiers (including the Canada Wordmark) across all Government of Canada websites.

In preparation for the implementation of both these standards, departments should continue reviewing their websites to ensure that content is up-to-date and is effectively targeted to audience needs. Consideration should be given to archiving Web content that is no longer relevant and consolidating websites where possible.

By applying the Standard on Web Usability, the Government will increase the effectiveness and efficiency of government websites.

Date modified:

Lancement de la Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web

La Norme sur la facilité d’emploi des sites Web et des Spécifications techniques du Programme de coordination de l’image de marque ont pris effet le . Cette norme s’applique à toutes les institutions mentionnées aux annexes I, I.1 et II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

La Norme sur la facilité d’emploi des sites Web est accompagnée d’un guide qui en facilitera la mise en œuvre d’ici le . Ce document complémentaire fournit des directives utiles aux responsables ministériels, qui sont chargés d’aider les administrateurs généraux à respecter les exigences de la Norme sur la facilité d’emploi des sites Web.

La période de mise en œuvre de la Norme sur la facilité d’emploi des sites Web concorde avec celle de la Norme sur l’accessibilité des sites Web.

La Norme sur la facilité d‘emploi des sites Web et les données techniques rendent obligatoire l’établissement d’une structure de base pour la présentation et la conception des pages Web ainsi que les éléments visuels et les identifiants (y compris le mot-symbole Canada) sur tous les sites Web du gouvernement du Canada.

En prévision de la mise en œuvre de ces deux normes, les ministères devraient continuer à mettre de l’ordre dans leurs sites Web en s’assurant que le contenu est mis à jour et qu’il cible efficacement les besoins du public. À cet égard, il faudrait envisager l’archivage du contenu et des sites Web qui ne sont plus pertinents et le regroupement de sites Web, le cas échéant.

En mettant en application la Norme sur la facilité d’emploi des sites Web, le gouvernement rendra ses sites Web plus efficaces et plus efficients.

Date de modification :