Common Look and Feel for the Internet 2.0 Standard is Being Updated

To: Deputy heads of Institutions Under the Financial Administration Act, Schedules I, I.1 and II

Dear Colleagues:

As part of the government's commitment to providing accessible online information and services to Canadians, the Common Look and Feel for the Internet 2.0 standard, commonly referred to as CLF 2.0, is being updated.

The CLF 2.0 standard will be updated to:

  • take into account the most recent version of internationally accepted Web content accessibility guidelines;
  • increase flexibility of Website layout and design;
  • enable institutions to incorporate the use of innovative and emerging technologies to their online information and services.

At this time, it is expected that components of the CLF standard will be updated over the next two Fiscal Years (2010/11 - 2011/12). Each update will be followed by a transition period to allow sufficient time for compliance.

According to CLF compliance reports submitted by institutions this year, organizations have achieved a high rate of compliance to the CLF 2.0 standard. While the standard is being updated, institutions are expected to continue their efforts to comply with CLF 2.0 requirements that are informed by legislation such as the Official Languages Act and/or the Canada Human Rights Act. Deputy Heads will continue to be accountable for implementation of these requirements within their institutions.

Your organization continues to be responsible for responding to any enquiries regarding its level of compliance to the current CLF standards. The Treasury Board Secretariat will address enquiries related to CLF standards and related policies, implementation and the upcoming update.
Treasury Board Secretariat will continue, to work closely with your organization to help address arising issues and common barriers to CLF. I trust that the Secretariat will continue to receive your continued support during the revision process as we endeavor to ensure that online information and services remain accessible to Canadians and that trust and confidence in Government of Canada Websites is maintained.

Should you or your officials have any questions, please contact the Common Look and Feel Office at clf-nsi@tbs-sct.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Norme de la Normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 en cours d'actualisation

Dest. : Administrateurs généraux des institutions figurant aux annexes I, I.1, II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques

Chères / Chers collègues,

La Normalisation des sites Internet 2.0, communément appelée NSI 2.0, qui s'inscrit dans le cadre de l'engagement du gouvernement de fournir de l'information et des services en ligne accessibles à la population canadienne, est en cours d'actualisation.

La NSI 2.0 sera à mise à jour afin de:

  • prendre en compte la plus récente version des normes internationales reconnues pour l'accessibilité aux contenus Web;
  • rendre plus flexibles la présentation et la conception du site Web;
  • aider les institutions à intégrer l'utilisation de technologies novatrices et émergentes dans leurs renseignements et leurs services en ligne.

On prévoit mettre à jour les composantes de la NSI 2.0 au cours des deux prochains exercices financiers (2010-2011 et 2011-2012). Une période de transition suivra chaque mise à jour afin de donner suffisamment de temps pour atteindre la conformité.

Selon les rapports de conformité à la NSI soumis par les institutions cette année, les organismes ont atteint un taux élevé de conformité à la NSI 2.0. Alors que la norme soit en cours d'actualisation, les institutions doivent poursuivre leurs efforts pour se conformer aux exigences de la NSI 2.0, qui sont issues de certaines lois telles que la Loi sur les langues officielles ou la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne. Les administrateurs généraux continueront d'être tenus responsables de la mise en œuvre de ces exigences au sein de leur institution.

Votre organisation continue d'être responsable de répondre aux demandes concernant sa conformité aux normes actuelles sur la NSI. Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor traitera les demandes relatives aux normes sur la NSI et aux politiques connexes, à la mise en œuvre et à la prochaine mise à jour.

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor continuera de travailler en étroite collaboration avec votre organisme pour vous aider à traiter les problèmes qui se posent et les obstacles communs à la NSI. Je suis certaine que le Secrétariat bénéficiera comme d'habitude de votre appui soutenu au cours du processus de mise à jour alors qu'il s'efforce de voir à ce que les renseignements et les services en ligne demeurent accessibles aux Canadiens et que la confiance dans les sites Web du gouvernement du Canada soit maintenue.

Si vous ou vos collaborateurs avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de la Normalisation des sites Internet à clf-nsi@tbs-sct.gc.ca.

Date de modification :