Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Guide for Developing Organizational Codes of Conduct


Introduction

The purpose of this Guide is to share some best practices in code development that have been identified through research in order to help federal public sector organizations develop their organizational code of conduct. Organizational codes are to be consistent with the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector (VECPS) as required by section 6 of the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act (PSDPA). Although the approaches contained in this document are considered best practices, it does not preclude organizations from following a method other than the one presented in this document to develop their organizational code of conduct. In addition we strongly encourage organizations to share and collaborate amongst each other with their best practices.

Research indicates that the process followed when developing a code is just as important as the resulting content.See footnote1 In fact, the right content is only found when the right development process is used. The process for the development of the code also affects the success of the acceptance and integration of the instrument.See footnote2

In order to facilitate the development of organizational codes of conduct and promote consistency with the VECPS and the required tailoring of Appendix B of the TB Policy on Conflict of Interest and Post-EmploymentSee footnote3 (CoI/PE Policy), the Office of the Chief Human Resource Officer (OCHRO) has also developed a Model Organizational Code for Public Sector Organizations (the model code). This model code may serve as a guided template for the development of your organizational code of conduct and organizational requirements for conflict of interest. You will also find a list of other structural options listed under Annex A.

Key Steps for Developing a Code of Conduct

Step 1. Involve Senior Management

It is well known that strong leadership is a crucial factor in creating an ethical culture in the workplace. Employees expect that leaders not only communicate the organization's values and ethics but that they also "walk the talk". With the development of an organizational code of conduct, chief executives and senior management have a great opportunity to be seen demonstrating leadership with respect to values and ethics. Their involvement can help raise the profile of the code of conduct within the organization, ensure that it is aligned with the organization's vision and strategic outcomes, and facilitate the approval process.

Step 2. Create a diversified and multidisciplinary advisory group

In order to increase the effectiveness of an organizational code of conduct, it needs to be relevant to all employees that will be subject to it. Therefore it is important to have a multidisciplinary and diverse team, representing key stakeholders and with the cognitive and cultural diversity found within the organization. Alternatively, if a multidisciplinary team cannot be formed, the various functional and special interest groups within the organization should at a minimum be consulted in order to understand their needs. This will facilitate the validation process with employees, since the thinking around values, ethical risks and expected behaviours will have been inclusive of the organization's workforce diversity.

Step 3. Set the Objectives for your Organizational Code

The objectives of the code of conduct need to be set from the start, as they will influence the choices made with respect to the content highlighted in the code. These objectives are normally stated at the beginning of the code, explaining to employees what the organization intends to achieve with its code. The objectives should be linked to expected outcomes through which the effectiveness of the code will be reviewed to measure whether the objectives are being achieved.

Step 4. Tailor the Code of Conduct to the Needs and Values of the Organization

The requirement contained in section 6 of the PSDPA that "every chief executive shall establish a code of conduct applicable to the portion of the public sector for which he or she is responsible" offers the opportunity to take the high level public sector values and expected behaviours contained in the VECPS and determine whether additional guidance is required under any of these expected behaviours in order to ensure that employees know how they relate to their day to day responsibilities.

(A) Identify the organization's core values

The first step in creating the organizational code of conduct is to define the organization's aspirations, such as, its purpose, authority, obligations, duties and accountabilities. Some of these aspirations are clearly stated in acts of Parliament, vision statement, business plans and/or reports on plans and priorities.

Once aspirations have been defined, the organization should begin consultations with employees on their core organizational values using the public sector values in the VECPS as a starting point. For organizations that already have an existing code they can start with both their existing code and the VECPS. These organizational consultations may reveal other important values in addition to the public sector values or validate those already in your organizational code. Organizations are encouraged to explore if the value or behaviour can be situated within the existing VECPS framework. However, Deputy Heads can include additional values that are otherwise not stated in the VECPS if they feel it is important enough to do so, as long as the value is consistent with the existing content of the VECPS, as required by the PSDPA. The core values define what the organization stands for and the principles by which it will achieve its goals.

Below are two examples of how an organizational code of conduct can be adapted based on the values statements in the VECPS.

Values of the Public Sector CodeSee footnote4

Integrity

Public Servants serve the public interest by…

VECPS Statement:

Taking all possible steps to prevent and resolve any real, apparent or potential conflicts of interest between their official responsibilities and their private affairs in favour of the public interest

Example of Organizational Code of Conduct Statement:

National Gallery of Canada - Code of Conduct:
An employee who learns of an art object available for purchase which is reasonably likely to be of interest to the Gallery for its collections is expected to place the interests of the Gallery ahead of his/her own in acquiring the object.

VECPS Statement:

Acting at all times with integrity, and in a manner that will bear the closest public scrutiny; an obligation that may not be fully satisfied by simply acting within the law.

Example of Organizational Code of Conduct Statement:

Canada Revenue Agency's Code of Ethics and Conduct (June 11, 2009)

Under no circumstances are you authorized to:
  • access any information that is not part of your officially assigned workload;
  • disclose any CRA information that has not been made public; or
  • use official CRA information for personal use, gain or financial benefit for yourself, your relatives or anyone else.

(B) Identifying Risks: Assessing the potential for behaviours inconsistent with the values

In tailoring the code to the organization's needs, it is important to focus on the risk areas where behaviour may be inconsistent with organizational or VECPS values, as it will increase the code's relevance and effectiveness. The risk assessment review should include an examination of areas of risk for conflicts of interest. For organizations in the core public administration this would be information that can be used for the tailoring of the Policy on Conflict of Interest and Post-Employment (see Annex B).

Some examples of what types of information should be considered in a risk assessment are:

  • Risks inherit through the organizational lines of business
  • Historical trends
  • Past Public Service Employee Surveys or other surveys conducted by the organization (e.g. ethical climate surveys)
  • Number and nature of grievances
  • Harassment complaints with respect to a certain operational area
  • etc….

Effective risk assessments are done in consultation with senior management, and are validated by middle managers. Mitigation strategies should be developed to address the identified risks. Standards of conduct can then be extrapolated from these mitigation strategies.

(C) Define standards of conduct

Standards of conduct offer additional organizational behavioural guidance for the values and expected behaviours contained in the VECPS. They may promote "right-doing" by inspiring exemplary behaviour or discourage wrongdoing by identifying activities or behaviours that will not be tolerated.See footnote5

Organizations can add standards of conduct if required to address specific organizational risk areas, or simply to "translate" a value or behavioural expectation into a specific operational "do or don't". In addition to these standards of conduct, organizations may want to provide examples. Such as in section 4(a) of this document, where excerpts from other existing organizational codes of conduct were provided to demonstrate how to operationalize the expected behaviours under the Integrity value.

It is well-recognized that each organization within the federal public sector has its own culture and operational requirements. An organizational code of conduct should reflect this, while remaining grounded in the values and expected behaviours of the VECPS. Organizational culture may also influence decisions about the tone and language in organizational codes. For example, more compliance-based language such as "shall" or "must" may be more appropriate in some organizations, while the use of inclusive language may be preferred in others.

(D) Determine your audience

When drafting the organizational code it is important to consider the audience by taking into account workforce demographics (e.g. education, cultures, etc.). This will contribute to a document that is read, accepted, understood and put into practice by the target audience.

Step 5. Validate the draft organizational code of conduct with Employees and Bargaining Agents

An effective organizational code of conduct is developed in consultation with employees and bargaining agents. Once a draft code of conduct has been completed, it is necessary to validate its content with these stakeholders through meaningful consultations. This will ensure that the values and expected behaviours are relevant to employees and their work environment. It is also an excellent opportunity for senior management to engage their employees in a dialogue on values and ethics and the organization's commitment to sustaining an ethical culture in the workplace. Such consultations may also identify some of the areas where increased awareness, training or further discussions will be needed during the implementation phase of the organizational code.

Implementation and Monitoring

While the development of an organizationally appropriate code of conduct is an important first step in reinforcing and creating an ethical culture, other important key factors are leadership, communication, learning, coaching, and performance management. Organizations are encouraged to give careful consideration to how their code will be implemented in order to maximize its effectiveness.

Values in organizations evolve over time, and codes of conduct should be reviewed and adjusted periodically to reflect this reality. Ongoing monitoring and evaluation of the code will help organizations determine to what extent the code is achieving its expected outcomes.

A more complete summary of the research on best practices regarding implementation can be found in Annex C of this document.

For further information

If you have any questions or require further information on developing a code of conduct, do not hesitate to contact Mary Anne Stevens, Director Values and Ethics; Awards and Recognition, at 613-948-9837 or Contact Mary Anne Stevens by email: MaryAnne.Stevens@tbs-sct.gc.ca.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Guide de rédaction de codes de conduite organisationnels


Introduction

Le présent guide a pour but de communiquer quelques pratiques exemplaires en matière de rédaction de codes qui ont été mises en évidence lors de recherches pour aider les organismes du secteur public fédéral à élaborer leur code organisationnel de conduite. Les codes organisationnels doivent concorder avec le Code de valeurs et d'éthique de la fonction publique (CVEFP), conformément à l'article 6 de la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles (LPFDAR). Les méthodes présentées ici sont qualifiées de pratiques exemplaires, mais les organismes peuvent suivre une autre méthode pour établir leur code de conduite organisationnel. Nous les encourageons également vivement à collaborer et à s'échanger leurs pratiques exemplaires.

D'après les recherches, le processus suivi pour la conception d'un code est tout aussi important que le contenu obtenu.Voir la note en bas de page1 En fait, il n'est possible d'obtenir un contenu convenable qu'en employant le bon processus de conception qui a également des répercussions sur la réussite de l'acceptation ou de l'intégration de l'instrument.Voir la note en bas de page2

Afin de faciliter l'élaboration de codes organisationnels de conduite et de favoriser l'uniformité avec le CVEFP ainsi que la personnalisation nécessaire de l'annexe B de la Politique sur les conflits d'intérêts et l'après-mandat du CTVoir la note en bas de page3 le Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines (BDPRH) a également conçu un modèle de code organisationnel de conduite (modèle de code) qui peut servir d'exemple pour l'élaboration de votre code organisationnel de conduite et vos exigences en matière de conflit d'intérêts. Vous trouverez également une liste d'autres options structurelles dans l'annexe A.

Principales étapes de l'élaboration d'un code de conduite

Étape 1. Faire participer la haute direction

Il est bien connu qu'un solide leadership est un facteur essentiel à la création d'une culture éthique au travail. Les employés s'attendent à ce que les dirigeants communiquent les valeurs et l'éthique de l'organisme, mais également à ce qu'ils donnent l'exemple. En établissant un code organisationnel de conduite, les administrateurs généraux et la haute direction peuvent illustrer leur leadership en matière de valeurs et d'éthique. Leur participation peut aider à accroître la visibilité du code de conduite au sein de l'organisme, à s'assurer qu'il est harmonisé avec la vision et les objectifs stratégiques de l'organisme et à faciliter le processus d'approbation.

Étape 2. Mettre sur pied un groupe consultatif diversifié et multidisciplinaire

Afin d'accroître l'efficacité d'un code organisationnel de conduite, il faut s'assurer qu'il correspond à l'ensemble des employés qui y sera assujetti. Il est donc important de mettre sur pied une équipe multidisciplinaire et diversifiée qui représente les principaux intervenants et dont la diversité cognitive et culturelle ressemble à celle de l'organisme. S'il n'est pas possible de mettre sur pied une équipe multidisciplinaire, les divers groupes fonctionnels et d'intérêt particulier de l'organisme doivent au moins être consultés afin de connaître leurs besoins. Cette mesure facilitera le processus de validation auprès des employés, étant donné que la réflexion sur les valeurs, les risques éthiques et les comportements attendus feront partie de la diversité de la main-d'œuvre de l'organisme.

Étape 3. Fixer les objectifs de votre code organisationnel

Les objectifs du code de conduite doivent être établis dès le départ, car ils influent sur les choix relatifs au contenu présenté dans le code. Ces objectifs sont normalement énoncés au début du code, afin d'expliquer aux employés ce que l'organisme souhaite réaliser avec son code. Les objectifs doivent être liés aux résultats escomptés qui permettront d'analyser l'efficacité du code afin de déterminer si les objectifs sont atteints.

Étape 4. Personnaliser le code de conduite en fonction des besoins et des valeurs de votre organisme

L'exigence prévue par l'article 6 de la LPFDAR, « l'administrateur général établit un code de conduite applicable à l'élément du secteur public dont il est responsable », permet de prendre les valeurs de haut calibre du secteur public et les comportements prévus contenus dans le CVEFP et de déterminer si d'autres orientations sont nécessaires pour n'importe lequel de ces comportements afin de s'assurer que les employés savent comment ils renvoient à leurs responsabilités quotidiennes.

(A) Déterminer les valeurs essentielles de l'organisme

La première étape de l'élaboration d'un code organisationnel de conduite consiste à déterminer les aspirations de l'organisme, comme son but, son pouvoir, ses obligations, ses fonctions et ses responsabilités. Certaines de ces aspirations sont clairement définies dans les lois du Parlement, l'énoncé de vision, les plans d'activités et les rapports sur les plans et les priorités.

Une fois les aspirations déterminées, l'organisme doit entamer les consultations auprès des employés sur leurs valeurs organisationnelles essentielles en utilisant les valeurs du secteur public du CVEFP comme point de départ. Les organismes qui ont déjà un code peuvent se servir de leur code et du CVEFP. Ces consultations organisationnelles peuvent révéler d'autres valeurs importantes en plus de celles du secteur public ou valider celles qui figurent déjà dans votre code organisationnel. Les organismes sont invités à déterminer si la valeur ou le comportement peut être situé dans le cadre du CVEFP existant. Toutefois, les administrateurs généraux peuvent ajouter d'autres valeurs qui n'apparaissent pas dans le CVEFP s'ils les jugent suffisamment importantes, à condition que la valeur concorde avec le contenu existant du CVEFP, comme l'exige la LPFDAR. Les valeurs essentielles déterminent ce que représente l'organisme et les principes qui lui permettront d'atteindre ses objectifs.

Vous trouverez ci-après deux exemples de la façon d'adapter un code organisationnel de conduite d'après les énoncés de valeurs du CVEFP.

Valeurs du Code du secteur publiqueVoir la note en bas de page4

Intégrité

Les fonctionnaires servent l'intérêt public en…

Énoncé du CVEFP

Suivre toutes les étapes possibles pour éviter et résoudre tout conflit d'intérêts réel, apparent ou potentiel entre leurs responsabilités officielles et leurs affaires privées dans l'intérêt du public.

Exemple d'énoncé de code organisationnel de conduite

Musée des beaux-arts du Canada - Code de conduite
Tout employé qui apprend la mise en vente d'un objet d'art qui pourrait raisonnablement intéresser le Musée pour ses collections doit placer l'intérêt du Musée avant le sien en ce qui a trait à l'acquisition de l'objet.

Énoncé du CVEFP

Faire en tout temps preuve d'intégrité et agir d'une façon qui saura faire face à l'examen du public le plus minutieux; une obligation qui ne peut pas être entièrement satisfaite en respectant simplement la loi.

Exemple d'énoncé de code organisationnel de conduite

Code de conduite de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (11 juin 2009)

En aucune circonstance, vous n'êtes autorisé à :
  • accéder à des renseignements qui ne font pas partie de votre charge de travail attribuée officiellement;
  • divulguer des renseignements de l'ARC qui n'ont pas été rendus publics; ou
  • utiliser des renseignements officiels de l'ARC pour des fins ou votre profit personnels, ou pour obtenir des avantages financiers pour vous-même, vos proches ou toute autre personne.

(B) Déterminer les risques : Évaluer le potentiel de comportements incohérents avec les valeurs

Lorsque vous personnalisez le code en fonction des besoins de l'organisme, il est important d'accorder une attention particulière aux secteurs de risque où le comportement peut ne pas concorder avec les valeurs organisationnelles ou du CVEFP afin d'accroître la pertinence ou l'efficacité du code. L'évaluation des risques doit comporter un examen des secteurs de risque de conflits d'intérêts. Pour les organismes de l'administration publique centrale, il s'agira de renseignements qui peuvent être utilisés pour la personnalisation de la Politique sur les conflits d'intérêts et l'après-mandat (voir Annexe B).

Voici quelques exemples des types d'information qui peuvent être traités dans une évaluation des risques :

  • Risques provenant des secteurs d'activités organisationnels
  • Tendances historiques
  • Sondages précédents auprès des fonctionnaires fédéraux ou autres enquêtes réalisées par l'organisme (p. ex. sondages sur le climat éthique)
  • Nombre et nature des plaintes
  • Plaintes pour harcèlement dans un secteur d'activité donné
  • etc.

Des évaluations du risque efficaces sont réalisées en collaboration avec la haute direction et validées par les cadres intermédiaires. Les stratégies d'atténuation doivent être élaborées pour traiter les risques déterminés. Les normes de conduite peuvent alors être extrapolées de ces stratégies d'atténuation.

(C) Déterminer les normes de conduite

Les normes de conduite offrent des renseignements supplémentaires sur le comportement organisationnel par rapport aux valeurs et aux comportements prévus énoncés dans le CVEFP. Elles peuvent favoriser les bonnes actions en incitant au comportement exemplaire ou décourager les mauvaises actions en indiquant les activités ou les comportements qui ne seront pas tolérés.Voir la note en bas de page5

Les organismes peuvent ajouter des normes de conduite au besoin pour traiter les secteurs de risques organisationnels particuliers ou simplement « traduire » une valeur ou un comportement attendu en chose précise à faire ou ne pas faire. En plus de ces normes de conduite, les organismes pourraient vouloir fournir des exemples, comme à la section 4(a) de ce document, qui fournit des extraits de codes organisationnels de conduite existants pour montrer comment opérationnaliser les comportements prévus pour la valeur Intégrité.

Il est connu que chaque organisme du secteur public fédéral a sa culture et ses exigences opérationnelles propres. Le code organisationnel de conduite doit donc en tenir compte, sans négliger les valeurs et les comportements prévus par le CVEFP. La culture organisationnelle peut également influer sur les décisions relatives au ton et à la langue du code organisationnel. Par exemple, une langue axée sur la conformité utilisant des « devrait » ou « doit » conviendra mieux à certains organismes, tandis que d'autres préféreront une langue inclusive.

(D) Déterminer le public

Pendant la rédaction du code organisationnel, il est important de tenir compte du public visé en évaluant notamment les données démographiques sur la main-d'œuvre (p. ex. niveau d'éducation, cultures, etc.) Le document aura ainsi plus de chance d'être lu, accepté, compris et mis en œuvre par le public ciblé.

Étape 5. Valider l'ébauche du code organisationnel de conduite auprès des employés et des agents négociateurs

Un code organisationnel de conduite efficace est élaboré en consultant les employés et les agents négociateurs. Une fois l'ébauche du code de conduite achevée, il est nécessaire d'en valider le contenu auprès des intervenants par des consultations pertinentes. Cette mesure permettra de s'assurer que les valeurs et les comportements prévus correspondent aux employés et à leur environnement de travail. Il s'agit également d'une excellente occasion pour la haute direction de faire participer les employés à un dialogue sur les valeurs et l'éthique et de faire participer l'organisme au maintien d'une culture éthique au travail. Ces consultations permettront également de déterminer les secteurs nécessitant une sensibilisation accrue, de la formation ou d'autres discussions pendant la phase de mise en œuvre du code organisationnel.

Mise en œuvre et suivi

L'élaboration d'un code de conduite pertinent pour l'organisme est une première étape importante pour renforcer et créer une culture éthique. Les autres facteurs importants sont le leadership, la communication, l'apprentissage, l'encadrement et la gestion du rendement. Les organismes sont invités à examiner attentivement la façon dont leur code sera mis en œuvre afin de maximiser son efficacité.

Les valeurs de l'organisme évoluent au fil du temps et les codes de conduite doivent être examinés et ajustés périodiquement pour tenir compte de cette réalité. Le suivi et l'évaluation permanents du code aideront l'organisme à déterminer la mesure dans laquelle le code atteint les résultats escomptés.

Vous trouverez un résumé détaillé de la recherche sur les pratiques exemplaires sur la mise en œuvre à l'annexe C de ce document.

Complément d'information

Pour toute question ou si vous souhaitez obtenir un complément d'information sur la rédaction d'un code de conduite, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec Mary Anne Stevens, directrice des valeurs et de l'éthique; Prix et reconnaissances, au 613-948-9837 ou Contactez Mary Anne Stevens par courriel : MaryAnne.Stevens@tbs-sct.gc.ca.