We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat - 2014–15 Report on Plans and Priorities


Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Preface: 2014-15 Report on Plans and Priorities

2014–15 Estimates

Part III – Departmental Expenditure Plans: Reports on Plans and Priorities

Purpose

Reports on Plans and Priorities (RPPs) are individual expenditure plans for each department and agency. These reports provide increased levels of detail over a three-year period on an organization’s main priorities by strategic outcome, program and planned/expected results, including links to related resource requirements presented in the Main Estimates. In conjunction with the Main Estimates, RPPs serve to inform members of Parliament on planned expenditures of departments and agencies, and support Parliament’s consideration of supply bills. The RPPs are typically tabled soon after the Main Estimates by the President of the Treasury Board.

Estimates documents

The Estimates are comprised of three parts:

Part I – Government Expenditure Plan: Provides an overview of the government’s requirements and changes in estimated expenditures from previous fiscal years.

Part II – Main Estimates: Supports the Appropriation Acts with detailed information on the estimated spending and authorities being sought by each federal organization requesting appropriations.

In accordance with Standing Orders of the House of Commons, Parts I and II must be tabled on or before March 1.

Part III – Departmental Expenditure Plans: Consists of two components:

  • Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP)
  • Departmental Performance Report (DPR)

DPRs are individual departmental and agency accounts of results achieved against planned performance expectations as set out in respective RPPs.

The DPRs for the most recently completed fiscal year are tabled in the fall by the President of the Treasury Board.

Supplementary Estimates support Appropriation Acts presented later in the fiscal year. Supplementary Estimates present information on spending requirements that were either not sufficiently developed in time for inclusion in the Main Estimates or have subsequently been refined to account for developments in particular programs and services. Supplementary Estimates also provide information on changes to expenditure forecasts of major statutory items as well as on such items as transfers of funds between votes, debt deletion, loan guarantees, and new or increased grants.

For more information on the Estimates, please consult the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website.

Links to the Estimates

As shown above, RPPs make up part of Part III of the Estimates documents. Whereas Part II emphasizes the financial aspect of the Estimates, Part III focuses on financial and non-financial performance information, both from a planning and priorities standpoint (RPP), and an achievements and results perspective (DPR).

The Management Resources and Results Structure (MRRS) establishes a structure for display of financial information in the Estimates and reporting to Parliament via RPPs and DPRs. When displaying planned spending, RPPs rely on the Estimates as a basic source of financial information.

Main Estimates expenditure figures are based on the Annual Reference Level Update, which is prepared in the fall. In comparison, planned spending found in RPPs includes the Estimates as well as any other amounts that have been approved through a Treasury Board submission up to February 1(see “Definitions” below). This readjusting of the financial figures allows for a more up-to-date portrait of planned spending by program.  

Changes to the presentation of the Report on Plans and Priorities

Several changes have been made to the presentation of the RPPs, partially to respond to a number of requests (from the House of Commons Standing Committees on Public Accounts (PAC – Report 15), in 2010, and on Government and Operations Estimates (OGGO – Report 7), in 2012) to provide more detailed financial and non-financial performance information about programs within RPPs and DPRs, thus improving the ease of their study to support appropriations approval.

  • In Section II, financial, human resources and performance information is now presented at the program and sub-program levels for more granularity.
  • The report’s general format and terminology have been reviewed for clarity and consistency purposes.
  • Other efforts aimed at making the report more intuitive and focused on Estimates information were made to strengthen alignment with the Main Estimates.
How to read this document

RPPs are divided into four sections:

Section I: Organizational Expenditure Overview

This Organizational Expenditure Overview allows the reader to get a general view of the organization. It provides a description of the organization’s purpose, as well as basic financial and human resources information. This section opens with a new subsection, “Organizational Profile,” which displays general information about the department, including the names of the minister and the deputy head, the ministerial portfolio, the year the department was established, and the main legislative authorities. This subsection is followed by another new subsection entitled “Organizational Context,” which includes the headings Raison d’être, Responsibilities, Strategic Outcomes and Program Alignment Architecture, Organizational Priorities and Risk Analysis. Section I ends with the subsections “Planned Expenditures,” “Alignment to Government of Canada Outcomes,” “Estimates by Votes” and “Contribution to the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy.” It should be noted that this section does not display any non-financial performance information related to programs (please see Section II).

Section II: Analysis of Program(s) by Strategic Outcome(s)

This section provides detailed financial and non-financial performance information for strategic outcomes, programs and sub-programs. This section allows the reader to learn more about programs and sub-programs by reading their respective descriptions and narratives entitled “Planning Highlights.” These narratives speak to key services or initiatives that support the plans and priorities presented in Section I; they also describe how performance information supports the department’s strategic outcome(s) or parent program(s).

Section III: Supplementary Information

This section provides supporting information related to departmental plans and priorities. In this section, the reader will find a future-oriented statement of operations and a link to supplementary information tables regarding transfer payments, as well as information related to greening government operations, internal audits and evaluations, horizontal initiatives, user fees, major Crown and transformational projects, and up-front multi-year funding, where applicable to individual organizations. The reader will also find a link to the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations publication, produced annually by the Minister of Finance, which provides estimates and projections of the revenue impacts of federal tax measures designed to support the economic and social priorities of the Government of Canada.

Section IV: Organizational Contact Information

In this last section, the reader will have access to organizational contact information.

Definitions
Appropriation

Any authority of Parliament to pay money out of the Consolidated Revenue Fund.

Budgetary Vs. Non-Budgetary  Expenditures

Budgetary expenditures: Operating and capital expenditures; transfer payments to other levels of government, organizations or individuals; and payments to Crown corporations.

Non-budgetary expenditures: Net outlays and receipts related to loans, investments and advances, which change the composition of the financial assets of the Government of Canada.

Expected Result

An outcome that a program is designed to achieve.

Full-Time Equivalent (FTE)

A measure of the extent to which an employee represents a full person-year charge against a departmental budget. FTEs are calculated as a ratio of assigned hours of work to scheduled hours of work. Scheduled hours of work are set out in collective agreements.

Government of Canada Outcomes

A set of high-level objectives defined for the government as a whole.

Management Resources and Results Structure (MRRS)

A common approach and structure to the collection, management and reporting of financial and non-financial performance information.

An MRRS provides detailed information on all departmental programs (e.g., program costs, program expected results and their associated targets, how they align to the government’s priorities and intended outcomes) and establishes the same structure for both internal decision making and external accountability.

Planned Spending

For the purpose of the RPP, planned spending refers to those amounts for which a Treasury Board submission approval has been received by no later than February 1, 2014. This cut-off date differs from the Main Estimates process. Therefore, planned spending may include amounts incremental to planned expenditure levels presented in the 2014–15 Main Estimates.

Program

A group of related resource inputs and activities that are managed to meet specific needs and achieve intended results, and that are treated as a budgetary unit.

Program Alignment Architecture

A structured inventory of a department’s programs, where programs are arranged in a hierarchical manner to depict the logical relationship between each program and the strategic outcome(s) to which they contribute.

Spending Areas

Government of Canada categories of expenditures. There are four spending areas (social affairs, economic affairs, international affairs and government affairs) each comprised of three to five Government of Canada outcomes.

Strategic Outcome

A long-term and enduring benefit to Canadians that is linked to the department’s mandate, vision, and core functions.

Sunset Program

A time-limited program that does not have ongoing funding or policy authority. When the program is set to expire, a decision must be made as to whether to continue the program. (In the case of a renewal, the decision specifies the scope, funding level and duration.)

Whole-of-Government Framework

A map of the financial and non-financial contributions of federal organizations receiving appropriations that aligns their programs to a set of high-level outcome areas defined for the government as a whole.



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada - Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2014-2015


Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Préface : Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2014-2015

Budget des dépenses 2014-2015

Partie III – Plans de dépenses des ministères : Rapports sur les plans et les priorités

Objet

Les rapports sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) représentent le plan de dépenses individuel de chaque ministère ou organisme. Ces rapports présentent, pour une période de trois ans, de l’information détaillée concernant les principales priorités d’une organisation en fonction du résultat stratégique, des programmes et des résultats prévus ou attendus, y compris des liens vers les besoins en ressources présentés dans le budget principal des dépenses. Avec le budget principal des dépenses, le rapport sur les plans et les priorités fournit aux députés des renseignements sur les dépenses prévues des ministères et des organisations, et appuie l’examen des projets de loi de crédits qu’effectue le Parlement. Les RPP sont habituellement déposés peu de temps après le budget principal des dépenses par le président du Conseil du Trésor.

Le budget des dépenses

Le budget des dépenses est composé de trois parties :

Partie I – Le Plan de dépenses du gouvernement donne un aperçu des dépenses du gouvernement et présente les modifications apportées aux dépenses prévues d’un exercice à l’autre.

Partie II – Le budget principal des dépenses appuie directement la loi de crédits. Il renferme des renseignements détaillés au sujet des plans de dépenses et des autorisations demandées par chaque ministère et organisme.

En vertu du Règlement de la Chambre des communes, les parties I et II doivent être déposées au plus tard le 1er mars.

Partie III – Les plans de dépenses des ministères sont constitués de deux composantes :

  • Le rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) ;
  • Le rapport ministériel sur le rendement (RMR).

Les RMR sont des comptes rendus propres à chaque ministère ou organisme présentant les résultats obtenus par rapport aux attentes de rendement prévues dans leurs RPP respectifs.

Les RMR de l’exercice complet le plus récent sont déposés à l’automne par le président du Conseil du Trésor.

Le budget supplémentaire des dépenses appuie les lois de crédits présentées plus tard au cours de l’exercice. Le budget supplémentaire des dépenses présente de l’information sur les besoins de dépenses qui n’étaient pas suffisamment définis pour être inclus dans le budget principal ou qui ont ultérieurement été précisés afin de tenir compte de l’évolution de programmes et de services en particulier. Le budget supplémentaire des dépenses renferme également de l’information sur les modifications apportées aux prévisions de dépenses, aux principaux postes législatifs, ainsi qu’aux postes comme les transferts de fonds entre crédits, les radiations de dettes, les garanties de prêt, la création ou l’augmentation de subventions.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le budget des dépenses, veuillez consulter le site Internet du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Liens avec le budget des dépenses

Comme indiqué plus haut, les RPP font partie de la Partie III du budget des dépenses. Alors que la Partie II met l’accent sur l’aspect financier du budget des dépenses, la Partie III met l’accent sur les renseignements financiers et non financiers sur le rendement, tant du point de vue de la planification et des priorités (RPP) que de la perspective des réalisations et des résultats (RMR).

La Structure de gestion des ressources et des résultats (SGRR) établit une structure de présentation de l’information financière dans le budget des dépenses et dans les rapports au Parlement par l’intermédiaire des RPP et des RMR. Pour la présentation des dépenses prévues, les RPP s’appuient sur le budget des dépenses comme source fondamentale d’information financière.

Les dépenses présentées dans le budget principal sont fondées sur la mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence qui est préparée à l’automne. En comparaison, les dépenses prévues se trouvant dans les RPP incluent le budget principal ainsi que tout autre montant approuvé dans le cadre d’une présentation au Conseil du Trésor au plus tard le 1er février (voir la section Définitions). Ce réajustement des données financières permet un portrait plus à jour des dépenses prévues par programme.

Modifications apportées à la présentation du rapport sur les plans et les priorités

Plusieurs modifications ont été apportées à la présentation du RPP en partie pour répondre à un certain nombre de demandes - des Comités permanents de la Chambre des communes : Comptes publics (PACP – Rapport 15) en 2010, et Opérations gouvernementales et prévisions budgétaires (OGGO – Rapport 7) en 2012 - visant à obtenir des renseignements financiers et non financiers plus détaillés sur le rendement des programmes au sein des RPP et des RMR, afin de faciliter leur étude en appui à l’approbation des crédits.

Ces changements concernent notamment les points suivants :

  • Dans la Section II, les renseignements sur les finances, les ressources humaines et le rendement sont désormais présentés au niveau des programmes et des sous-programmes pour davantage de granularité.
  • La présentation générale du rapport et la terminologie ont été revues pour plus de clarté et de cohérence.
  • D’autres efforts visaient à rendre le rapport plus compréhensible et davantage axé sur les renseignements budgétaires, afin de renforcer son alignement avec le budget principal.
Comment lire ce document?

Les RPP sont divisés en quatre sections :

Section I : Vue d’ensemble des dépenses de l’organisation

Le survol des dépenses de l’organisation permet au lecteur d’obtenir un aperçu général de l’organisation. Il fournit une description de l’objectif de l’organisation, ainsi que des renseignements de base sur les ressources financières et humaines. Cette section s’ouvre avec le nouveau profil organisationnel, qui présente des renseignements généraux sur l’organisation, tels que les noms du ministre et de l’administrateur général, le portefeuille ministériel, l’année de création de l’organisation et les principales autorités législatives. Cette sous-section est suivie d’une nouvelle sous-section s’intitulant Contexte organisationnel, qui inclut les rubriques Raison d’être, Responsabilitiés, Résultats stratégiques et architecture d’alignement des programmes, Priorités organisationnelles et Analyse des risques. La section I se termine avec les sous-sections intitulées Dépenses prévues, Harmonisation avec les résultats du gouvernement du Canada, Budget des dépenses par crédits votés et Contribution à la Stratégie fédérale du développement durable. Il convient de noter que cette section ne présente aucun renseignement non financier sur le rendement des programmes (voir Section II).

Section II : Analyse des programmes par résultat(s) stratégique(s)

Cette section fournit des renseignements financiers et non financiers détaillés sur le rendement des résultats stratégiques, des programmes et des sous-programmes. Cette section permet au lecteur d’en apprendre davantage sur les programmes et les sous-programmes en lisant leur description respective ainsi que le texte intitulé « Faits saillants de la planification ». Ces derniers fournissent un descriptif des principaux services et des initiatives clés appuyant les plans et les priorités tels que présentés dans la Section I ; ils décrivent également comment les renseignements sur le rendement soutiennent le(s) résultat(s) stratégique(s) du ministère ou le programme associé.

Section III : Renseignements supplémentaires

Cette section fournit des renseignements en appui aux plans et aux priorités ministériels. Dans cette section, le lecteur trouvera l’état des résultats prospectif et un lien vers les tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires concernant les paiements de transfert, l’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales, la vérification interne et les évaluations, les initiatives horizontales, les frais d’utilisation, les grands projets de l’État, et le financement pluriannuel initial, le cas échéant pour chaque ministère. Le lecteur trouvera également un lien vers les Dépenses fiscales et évaluations, publié annuellement par le ministre des Finances, qui fournit des estimations et des projections des répercussions sur les revenus de mesures fiscales fédérales visant à appuyer les priorités économiques et sociales du gouvernement du Canada.

Section IV : Coordonnées de l’organisation

Dans cette dernière section, le lecteur aura accès aux coordonnées de l’organisation.

Définitions
Architecture d’alignement des programmes

Inventaire structuré des programmes exécutés par un ministère et présentant les programmes de façon hiérarchisée de manière à mettre en lumière les relations logiques existant entre chacun d’entre eux et les résultats stratégiques ministériels auxquels ils contribuent.

Cadre pangouvernemental

Cadre qui établit les liens entre les contributions financières et non financières des organisations fédérales qui reçoivent des crédits en faisant correspondre leurs programmes avec un ensemble de grands secteurs de dépenses définis pour le gouvernement dans son ensemble.

Crédit

Autorisation donnée par le Parlement de payer des sommes d’argent à même le Trésor.

Dépense prévue

Aux fins du RPP, les dépenses prévues se réfèrent aux montants pour lesquels une présentation au Conseil du Trésor a été approuvée au plus tard le 1er février 2014. Cette date butoir ne coïncidant pas avec le processus du budget principal des dépenses, les dépenses prévues peuvent inclure des montants supplémentaires par rapport aux niveaux de dépenses prévues inscrits dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2014-2015.

Dépenses budgétaires vs dépenses non budgétaires

Dépenses budgétaires : dépenses de fonctionnement et de capital ; paiements de transfert à d’autres paliers gouvernementaux, à des organisations ou à des individus ; et paiements aux sociétés d’État.

Dépenses non budgétaires : dépenses nettes et recettes liées aux prêts, placements et avances, qui changent la composition des actifs financiers du gouvernement du Canada.

Équivalent temps plein (ETP)

Indicateur correspondant à la charge complète d’une année-personne inscrite au budget d’un ministère. Les ETP sont calculés selon un taux d’heures de travail assignées en relation avec les heures normales de travail, qui sont établies dans les conventions collectives.

Programme

Groupe d’intrants et d’activités connexes, qui sont gérés de manière à répondre à des besoins particuliers et à produire des résultats précis, et qui sont traités comme une unité budgétaire.

Programme temporisé

Programme ayant une durée fixe et dont le financement ou l’autorisation politique n’est pas permanent. Une fois qu’il arrive à échéance, l’on décide de le maintenir ou non. (En cas de renouvellement, la décision précise la portée, le niveau de financement et la durée.) 

Résultat attendu

Résultat qu’un programme est censé produire.

Résultats du gouvernement du Canada

Ensemble d’objectifs de haut niveau définis pour le gouvernement en entier.

Résultat stratégique

Avantage durable à long terme pour la population canadienne qui découle du mandat, de la vision et des fonctions de base d’un ministère.

Secteurs de dépenses

Catégories de dépenses du gouvernement du Canada. Il y a quatre secteurs de dépenses (affaires sociales, affaires économiques, affaires internationales et affaires gouvernementales) comprenant chacun entre trois et cinq résultats du gouvernement du Canada.

Structure de gestion des ressources et des résultats (SGRR)

Approche et structure communes régissant la collecte et la gestion des renseignements financiers et non financiers relatifs au rendement ainsi que l’établissement de rapports à ce propos.

Une SGRR fournit de l’information détaillée sur tous les programmes ministériels (par exemple : coûts du programme, résultats attendus et cibles associées, lien avec les priorités du gouvernement et les résultats escomptés, etc.) et établit la même structure à la fois pour la prise de décision interne et la responsabilisation externe.



Date de modification :