Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Industry Canada - Report

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Section III: Supplementary Information

Financial highlights

The future-oriented financial highlights presented within this Report on Plans and Priorities are intended to serve as a general overview of Industry Canada’s financial position and operations. These future-oriented financial highlights are prepared on an accrual basis to strengthen accountability and improve transparency and financial management.

Future-oriented financial statements can be found on IC’s website.

Condensed Future-oriented Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars)
At March 31
% Change Estimated
Results 2011–12
Planned Results 2012–13
Financial Assets 2% 886,152 906,401
Non-Financial Assets -3% 99,396 96,349
TOTAL 2% 985,548 1,002,750
Accounts Payable and Accrued Liabilities -22% 382,423 296,655
Deferred Revenue -14% 3,249,112 2,780,731
Other Liabilities 1% 526,447 531,799
Total Liabilities -13% 4,157,982 3,609,185
Equity -18% (3,172,434) (2,606,435)
TOTAL 2% 985,548 1,002,750
Condensed Future-oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the period ended March 31
Transfer Payments -27% 897,629 650,818
Operating Expenses -5% 814,385 773,546
Total Expenses -17% 1,712,014 1,424,364
Sales of Services -5% 1,083,189 1,027,474
Other -3% 24,396 23,609
Total Revenues -5% 1,107,585 1,051,083
NET COST OF OPERATIONS -38% 604,429 373,281

Assets by Type

Total assets are projected to be approximately $1 billion for fiscal year 2012–13.  Industry Canada’s loan account is expected to be approximately $530 million and is expected to include new loan amounts paid through the Automotive Innovation Fund (AIF) and the Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI) programs. Due from CRF, the second largest asset represented at $254 million, is a representation of Industry Canada’s access to the Consolidated Revenue Fund to pay down its accounts payables and varies from year to year in relation to that account. Similarly, Accounts receivable, which has been forecasted to be $125 million, is based on historical data and forecasted revenue for the year. The majority of Non-financial assets are tangible capital assets for which no substantial increases or decreases are expected. These projections include a reduction to net capital assets of approximately $2 million transferred to Shared Services Canada.

Asset by Type

Long Description

Liabilities by Type

Total liabilities are projected to be $3.6 billion for fiscal year 2012–13. The forecasted deferred revenue is the largest liability on the Future-oriented Statement of Financial Position (77% or $2.8 billion).  This amount represents spectrum auction revenues that are deferred and recognized on a straight-line basis, with a significant portion resulting from the Advanced Wireless Services and Other Spectrum auction that was held during fiscal year 2008–09. Accounts payable and accrued liabilities are largely projected based on expense levels. Other liabilities consist of an allowance for loan guarantees (conservatively held at December 31, 2011 levels – $397 million), special purpose accounts and allowances for vacation and severance pay; all projected based on low-level upward trends and historic rates with the exception of severance pay which has been adjusted to reflect recent payouts as a result of Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSAC) collective agreements.

Liabilities by Type

Long Description

Expenses by Type

Total expenses are projected to be $1.42 billion in fiscal year 2012–13. The majority of these expenses are in the form of transfer payments. The Economic Action Plan transfer payment programs will have completed making payments and the largest of those program expenditures, the Knowledge Infrastructure Program (approximately $250 million in 2011–12), will result in a projected reduction to the levels of transfer payments for 2012–13. In addition, cost containment measures are reflected in the reduction to all operating expense categories, year-over-year, including salaries. The transfer of operations to the newly formed Shared Services Canada has also been reflected with a reduction to operating expenses.  

Expenses by Type

Long Description

Revenues by Type

Total revenues are projected to be $1.05 billion for fiscal year 2012–13. Radio spectrum licenses make up almost three-quarters of the projected revenue ($750 million), which includes yearly license revenue as well as the recognition of deferred revenue sales of spectrum auction licenses. Other sales of services ($278 million) includes various sources of revenue such as fees under Canada Small Business and Financing Program, Canadian Intellectual Property Office, and Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, all of which have been projected to be consistent with prior year collections. Other revenues consist largely of fines from Competition Law Enforcement and Advocacy which are projected to be less than half that of the 2011–12 levels.

Revenue by Type

Long Description

3.2 Supplementary information tables

The following tables are available on the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website:

Theme IV

Section IV: Other Items of Interest

Expected results of program sub-activities by strategic outcome

The program sub-activities, including their expected results, performance indicators and targets, are presented by the strategic outcome to which they contribute.

  • The Canadian marketplace is efficient and competitive;
  • Advancements in science and technology, knowledge, and innovation strengthen the Canadian economy;
  • Canadian businesses and communities are competitive.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Industrie Canada - Rapport


Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Section III : Renseignements supplémentaires

Principales données financières

Les informations financières prospectives présentées ci-dessous visent à donner un aperçu de la situation financière et des activités d'Industrie Canada. Elles sont préparées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice pour renforcer la responsabilité et améliorer la transparence et la gestion financière.

Les états financiers prévisionnels d'Industrie Canada sont affichés sur le site d'IC.

État prévisionnel condensé de la situation financière (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)
au 31 mars
Variation
(en %)
Résultats prévus
2011-2012
Prévisions 2012–2013
Actifs
Actifs financiers 2 % 886,152 906,401
Actifs non financiers -3 % 99,396 96,349
TOTAL 2 % 985,548 1,002,750
Passifs
Comptes créditeurs et charges à payer -22 % 382,423 296,655
Revenus reportés -14 % 3,249,112 2,780,731
Autres passifs 1 % 526,447 531,799
Total des passifs -13 % 4,157,982 3,609,185
Capitaux propres -18 % (3,172,434) (2,606,435)
TOTAL 2 % 985,548 1,002,750
État prévisionnel condensé des résultats (non vérifié)
pour la période se terminant le 31 mars
Charges
Paiements de transfert -27 % 897,629 650,818
Frais d'exploitation -5 % 814,385 773,546
Total des charges -17 % 1,712,014 1,424,364
Revenus      
Vente de services -5 % 1,083,189 1,027,474
Autres -3 % 24,396 23,609
Total des revenus -5 % 1,107,585 1,051,083
CoÛt net des activités -38 % 604,429 373,281

Actifs selon le type

Le total des actifs devrait s'élever à approximativement 1 milliard de dollars en 2012-2013. Les comptes de prêts d’Industrie Canada devraient être environ 530 millions de dollars et devraient inclure les nouveaux montants des prêts payés par le Fonds d'innovation pour le secteur de l'automobile et par l'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense. Les montants à recevoir du Trésor, le deuxième plus grand actif représenté à 254 millions de dollars, est une représentation de l’accès d’Industrie Canada au Fonds du revenu consolidé pour payer ses comptes créditeurs et varie d’année en année par rapport à ce compte. De même, les comptes débiteurs, qui ont été prévus à 125 millions de dollars, sont basés sur les anciennes données et sur la prévision de recettes pour l’année. La majorité des actifs non financiers sont les immobilisations corporelles pour lesquelles aucune augmentation substantielle ou diminution n’est attendue. Ces projections incluent une réduction des actifs nets de capitaux d’environ 2 millions de dollars transférés à Services partagés Canada.

Actifs selon le Type

Description detaillée

Passifs selon le type

Le total des passifs devrait s'élever à 3,6 milliards de dollars en 2012-2013. Les revenus reportés prévus constituent le passif le plus élevé de l'état prévisionnel de la situation financière (77 % ou 2,8 milliards de dollars). Ce montant représente les revenus de vente aux enchères du spectre reportés et comptabilisés selon la méthode linéaire, et dont une partie importante provient de la vente aux enchères de services sans fil évolués et autres bandes de fréquences en 2008-2009. Les comptes créditeurs et les charges à payer sont prévus principalement selon les niveaux de dépenses. Parmi les autres passifs, on compte les provisions pour garanties d'emprunt (calculées de manière prudente selon les niveaux du 31 décembre 2011 – 397 millions de dollars), des comptes à fins déterminées ainsi que des provisions pour congés annuels; tous prévus selon de faibles tendances à la hausse et selon les anciens taux à l'exception de l'indemnité de départ qui a été adaptée pour refléter les paiements récents en raison des conventions collectives de l'Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada (AFPC).

Passifs selon le Type

Description detaillée

Charges selon le type

Les dépenses totales devraient être de 1,42 milliards de dollars en 2012-2013. La majorité de ces dépenses sont sous la forme de paiements de transfert. Les programmes du Plan d’action économique de transfert de paiement auront terminé d’effectuer des paiements, et la plus grande de ces dépenses de programmes, le Programme d’infrastructure du savoir (environ 250 millions de dollars en 2011-2012), prévoit une réduction des niveaux de paiements de transfert pour 2012-2013. En outre, des mesures de maîtrise des coûts se reflètent dans la réduction à toutes les catégories de dépenses d’exploitation, d’année en année, y compris les salaires. Le transfert des opérations à Service partagés Canada nouvellement créé a également été pris en compte avec une réduction des dépenses de fonctionnement.

Charges selon le Type

Description detaillée

Revenus selon le type

Le total des revenus devrait s'élever à 1,05 milliards de dollars pour 2012-2013. Les licences du spectre de radio fréquences assurent les trois quarts des revenus prévus (750 millions de dollars), qui comprennent les revenus annuels des licences ainsi que les revenus reportés provenant de la vente des licences de spectre. D'autres ventes de services (278 millions de dollars) incluent diverses sources de revenus, comme les droits perçus dans le cadre du Programme de financement des petites entreprises du Canada ainsi que ceux perçus par l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada et le Bureau du surintendant des faillites, qui devraient tous correspondre aux montants recueillis au cours des exercices précédents. Les autres revenus proviennent principalement d'amendes reçues dans le cadre de l'application de la législation sur la concurrence, qui devraient représenter moins de la moitié des niveaux de 2011-2012.

Revenus selon le Type

Description detaillée

3.2 Liste des tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires

Les tableaux suivants se trouvent sur le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada :

Thème IV

Section IV : Autres points d’intérêt

Résultats prévus des sous-activités de programme par résultat stratégique

Les sous-activités de programme, y compris leurs résultats prévus, leurs indicateurs de rendement et leurs cibles, sont présentées en fonction des résultats stratégiques auxquels elles contribuent.

  • Le marché canadien est efficace et concurrentiel
  • Les progrès réalisés dans les domaines des sciences et de la technologie, des connaissances et de l’innovation renforcent l’économie canadienne
  • Les entreprises et les collectivités canadiennes sont compétitives