Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Public Sector Integrity Canada

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Commissioner's Message

As Canada's Public Sector Integrity Commissioner, it is with great pleasure that I present this Report on Plans and Priorities to all Canadians.

The Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act (PSDPA) which came into force on April 15, 2007 provides a mechanism for public servants and members of the public to disclose potential wrongdoing in the public sector.  The Act also includes an effective means to protect public servants from reprisal for having made a protected disclosure or having, in good faith, cooperated in an investigation into a disclosure.

Since my appointment in August 2007, I have worked steadily to build a solid foundation to enable my Office to fulfill its new and important mandate. I am very pleased to report that with the support of a strong and dedicated team of professionals, I have established effective procedures and processes to govern the operation of my Office. And we have developed communications strategies, with the support of Chief Executives, to inform public servants, and indeed all our stakeholders, about our role and mandate.

Although we have already achieved many milestones, many challenges remain.  In 2009/2010, the Office will focus its efforts on the following three (3) priorities:

  • Continue to inform the public sector of PSIC's role and mandate;
  • Serve as a model of professionalism in the integrity of our actions and processes, in the respect towards our clients and employees and in the fairness of our procedures and decisions;
  • Work in collaborative with key partners in promoting disclosures as a pro-social behaviour.

In its wisdom, Parliament recognized that the Office of the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner could not accomplish its mandate in isolation. The Act recognizes that Chief Executives have a direct role to play in ensuring that disclosure regimes are established in each of their organizations. And the Minister responsible for the Canada Public Service Agency is having, as well, a specific role to play in promoting ethical practices and disseminating knowledge about the Act which serves to underscore that integrity is indeed a shared responsibility.

I am confident that collaboration and co-operation are key to achieving our goals. These goals are embodied in the title that we so carefully chose for our first Annual Report: “Building Trust Together: Inform. Protect. Prevent.”

Christiane Ouimet


Section I — Departmental Overview

1.1 Summary Information

Raison d'être

The Preamble of the PSDPA provides a clear and compelling explanation of why the Office of the Commissioner of Public Sector Integrity (OPSIC) was established. It states that “the federal public administration is an important national institution and is part of the essential framework of Canadian parliamentary democracy”, that “it is in the public interest to maintain and enhance public confidence in the integrity of public servants”, and that “confidence in public institutions can be enhanced by establishing effective procedures for the disclosure of wrongdoings and for protecting public servants who disclose wrongdoings...” OPSIC was created to support and advance the proud tradition of public sector integrity for which Canada is renowned for.


The PSDPA came into force on April 15, 2007 and creates two main areas of responsibility:

  • A disclosure process, i.e., a mechanism to allow public servants to disclose, in confidence, information about potential wrongdoing committed in the public sector; and
  • A reprisal complaints process, which provides protection against reprisals for public servants acting in good faith in a disclosure process.

The Public Sector Integrity Commissioner is an Agent of Parliament appointed by Order in Council and approved by resolution of both Houses of Parliament. The Commissioner has jurisdiction over the entire public sector, including separate agencies and Crown corporations. However, the Commissioner does not have jurisdiction over the Canadian Security Intelligence Service, the Communications Security Establishment and the Canadian Forces, each of which is required under the PSDPA to establish their own internal procedures for the disclosure of wrongdoings and protection against reprisal. The Commissioner's mandate covers approximately 400,000 employees. In addition, the Act specifies that members of the public can come forward with information about a possible wrongdoing. As a result, the constituency is significantly broadened.

The Commissioner conducts independent reviews and investigations of disclosures of wrongdoing and complaints of reprisal in an equitable and timely manner. She issues findings and makes recommendations for corrective action. The Commissioner also exercises exclusive jurisdiction over the review, conciliation and settlement of complaints of reprisal. This includes  making applications to the newly created Public Servants Disclosure Protection Tribunal to determine if reprisals have taken place and to order appropriate remedial and disciplinary action.

The Commissioner submits annual and case reports to Parliament. She may also submit special reports at any time to Parliament, Ministers or Boards of Directors of Crown corporations.

The Office emphasizes prevention of wrongdoing, informal case resolution and education about values and ethics.  The Office is guided at all times by the public interest and ensures integrity, respect, fairness and professionalism in its procedures.

Strategic Outcome

In order to effectively pursue its mandate, the Office aims to achieve the following strategic outcome:

Wrongdoing in the federal public sector is detected, resolved and reported, while public servants are protected from reprisal, resulting in a greater integrity in the workplace

Program Activity Architecture (PAA)

The chart below illustrates OPSIC's framework of program activities, which roll-up and contribute to progress toward the Office's Strategic Outcome.

OPSIC's framework of program activities

1.2 Planning Summary

Financial Resources ($ thousands)

2009–10 2010–11 2011–12
6, 538 6,538 5, 638

Human Resources (Full-Time Equivalent—FTE)

2009–10 2010–11 2011–12
41 41 41

Strategic Outcome 1: Wrongdoing in the federal public sector is detected, resolved and reported, while public servants are protected from reprisal, resulting in a greater integrity in the workplace.

Performance Indicators* Targets

Public servants and Canadians are aware of the role and mandate of the Commissioner

Reach out to all public servants through focused, sustained and strategic outreach initiatives, including liaising with all senior officers and identifying target stakeholder groups

Reach out to Canadians and public servants through revamped website

Inquiries and investigations are conducted efficiently and  in accordance with the Act

Review of current practices and establishment/refinement of all processes and procedures

Recognition of disclosure as a pro-social behaviour

Development of tools and best practices

Implementation of Prevention Strategy

Program Activity Forecast Spending 2008–09
($ thousands)
Planned Spending
($ thousands)
Alignment to Government of Canada Outcomes
2009–10 2010–11 2011–12

Disclosure and Reprisal Management

2,252 4,439 4,902 4,002

Government Affairs

Internal Services

1,496 2,099 1,636 1,636

Government Affairs

Total Planned Spending

3,748 6,538 6,538 5,638  

*The Office is currently in the process of developing more refined performance indicators and targets.

Contribution of Priorities to Strategic Outcome

Operational Priorities Type Links to Strategic Outcome(s) Description

Informing the public sector about our role and mandate

Previously committed to


In order for wrongdoing to be properly reported, public servants must be aware of the avenues offered to them and the complement roles of key players.

To achieve that goal and reach out to the  400, 000 employees covered by the Act, the Office must partner with all of those who have a responsibility in ensuring integrity i.e. Chief Executives and the Canada Public Service Agency.  As such, the following strategic initiatives will be undertaken:

  • Phase 2 implementation of the Prevention Strategy
  • Development and implementation of the  communications strategy, including revamped website

Serving as a model of professionalism in the conduct of inquiries and investigations

Previously committed to


Public sector whistleblowing regimes are still relatively new in Canada and continue to develop worldwide. A culture of disclosure is not yet entrenched in the public sector and, as such, OPSIC must be seen as a trusted avenue to make disclosures of wrongdoing and protect from reprisal.  To achieve that goal, the following strategic initiatives will be undertaken:

  • Finalize processes, procedures and policies related to investigations and inquiries
  • Research and document national and international best practices
  • Establish partnerships with leading experts

Working in collaboration with key partners in promoting a culture of disclosure and integrity in the workplace

Previously committed to


An enforcement regime alone cannot ensure integrity in the workplace. Prevention of wrongdoing through the creation of a climate of right-doing is as important as responding to specific cases of wrongdoing.  The following strategies will be undertaken:

  • Implementation of the prevention strategy
  • Establish partnerships with key stakeholders

Management Priorities Type Links to Strategic Outcome(s) Description

Effective and efficient internal management

Previously committed to


Experience has shown that it usually takes three to five years to build a new public institution and be fully operational at all levels. We will continue to put emphasis on the stabilization of the organization through the following strategic initiatives:

  • Implement information management practices
  • Finalize the implementation of all corporate policies and procedures including audit

HR Management

Previously committed to


The highest standard of skills and abilities of employees are essential to the success of our strategies. In the current environment, recruiting and retaining the right people is a major challenge, even more so for a small agency and new organization like ours. Key HR strategic initiatives will include:

  • Assessment of current skills and expertise and gap analysis
  • Partnership with other small agencies for exchange of best practices

Risk Analysis

Creating a new institution and implementing its mandate at the same time is very challenging and involves some risks. One of the most critical risks that we share with many small agencies is the capacity of the organization to fully deliver its mandate due to the difficulty in attracting and retaining competent staff in a highly competitive labour market. Working in a small agency requires a specific skill set, one that demands flexibility, multitasking and the capacity to quickly adapt to new priorities. Given the inherent instability of any new organization, this challenge is even more acute.  To address this risk, OPSIC has taken a number of initiatives, including a pilot project to exchange best practices among small agencies, the formulation of a clearer definition of expectations and competencies/attitudes required from employees, and the establishment of an expert network to support us during the critical first years.

Another risk facing the organization is one of accessibility – public servants must be well-informed about our role and mandate and have confidence in our ability to fulfill that mandate. The complexity and sensitivity of the mandate as well as its dependency on key partners to promote it, adds to the challenge. A number of initiatives are being taken to address these issues and will be pursued over the next period. These include: solid outreach and communication program, partnership with key stakeholders and research/implementation of best practices.

These initiatives will also address the issue of the negative perception of disclosure itself and lack of trust in disclosure processes. Often, loyalty to one's employer means keeping quiet or quitting; disclosure is perceived as a betrayal of both colleagues and the organization. Our outreach, partnership and research initiatives, supported by our record of rigorous, fair and efficient investigative practices, will contribute to effecting a culture of trust and “right-doing” in which public servants at all levels will be able to work in an environment that encourages open dialogue and in which concerns are addressed; that is, where disclosure of wrongdoing is seen as a pro-social rather than an anti-social behavior.

Expenditure Profile

Departmental Spending Trend

chart showing Departmental Spending Trend

The Office was established by the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act, which came into force on April 15, 2007. Since 2007-08, the core spending has been used mainly for the establishment and the set-up of the Office. For 2009-10, the Office plan to continue its establishment and set-up and invest resources in the promotion of our role and mandate, in dealing with inquiries and disclosure requests and implementing the prevention strategy.

For the 2007-08 and 2008-09 periods, the total spending includes all Parliamentary appropriation: Mains Estimates, Supplementary Estimates and Treasury Board Vote 30. It also includes carry forward adjustments. For the 2009-10 to 2011-2012 periods, the total spending corresponds to the planned spending. Supplementary funding and carry forward adjustments are unknown at this point and are therefore not reflected.

Voted and Statutory Items

Vote # or Statutory Item (S) Truncated Vote or Statutory Wording 2008-09 Main Estimates 2009-10 Main Estimates

Program expenditures

6,033 6,033

Contributions to employee benefit plans

520 505

Total Office

6,553 6,538

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Intégrité du secteur public Canada


Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Message de la commissaire

En qualité de commissaire à l'Intégrité du secteur public Canada, j'ai le grand plaisir de présenter à l'ensemble de la population canadienne le présent Rapport sur les plans et priorités.

La Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles (la LPFDAR ou la Loi), entrée en vigueur le 15 avril 2007, met à la disposition des fonctionnaires et du grand public un mécanisme de divulgation des actes répréhensibles pouvant avoir été commis dans le secteur public. La Loi a également mis en place un moyen efficace pour protéger contre les représailles les fonctionnaires qui ont effectué une divulgation protégée ou qui ont, de bonne foi, collaboré à une enquête concernant une divulgation.

Depuis ma nomination en août 2007, j'ai travaillé sans relâche à établir de solides assises afin que le Commissariat à l'intégrité du secteur public (le CISP) accomplisse son nouveau et important mandat. Je suis très heureuse de vous faire savoir que, avec l'aide d'une équipe formée de professionnels compétents et dévoués, j'ai mis en place des procédures et des processus visant la gestion des opérations du Commissariat. De concert avec les administrateurs généraux, nous avons également mis en place des stratégies de communication dans le but d'informer les fonctionnaires et, bien sûr, tous nos intervenants au sujet de notre rôle et de notre mandat.

Bien que nous ayons déjà franchi de nombreuses étapes importantes, il reste nombre de défis à relever. En 2009-2010, le Commissariat mettra l'accent sur les trois (3) priorités suivantes :

  • Continuer d'informer le secteur public du rôle et du mandat du CISP;
  • Être un modèle de professionnalisme par l'intégrité dont témoignent ses actions et ses processus, par le respect dont il fait preuve envers ses clients et ses employés et par l'équité dont font montre ses procédures et ses décisions;
  • Travailler en collaboration avec des partenaires clés afin de promouvoir la divulgation comme étant une conduite sociale valable.

Dans sa grande sagesse, le Parlement a reconnu que le Commissariat à l'intégrité du secteur public ne pouvait accomplir son mandat en vase clos. La Loi établit que les administrateurs généraux ont un rôle direct à jouer : ils doivent veiller à ce que des régimes de divulgation soient mis en œuvre dans chacune de leurs organisations. Le ministre responsable de l'Agence de la fonction publique du Canada a aussi un rôle particulier à jouer dans la promotion des pratiques éthiques et dans la sensibilisation des fonctionnaires à la Loi mettant ainsi en évidence que l'intégrité est effectivement une responsabilité partagée.

Je suis convaincue que la collaboration et la coopération sont essentielles à la réalisation de nos objectifs. Ces objectifs font partie intégrante du titre de notre premier Rapport annuel, titre que nous avons si soigneusement choisi : « Bâtir ensemble la confiance : Informer. Protéger. Prévenir. »

Christiane Ouimet

Commissaire

Section I - Aperçu de l'organisation

1.1 Renseignements sommaires

Raison d'être

Le préambule de la LPFDAR explique de façon claire et non équivoque pourquoi le CISP a été créé. Il dispose « que l'administration publique fédérale est une institution nationale essentielle au fonctionnement de la démocratie parlementaire canadienne », « qu'il est dans l'intérêt public de maintenir et d'accroître la confiance du public dans l'intégrité des fonctionnaires » et « que la confiance dans les institutions publiques ne peut que profiter de la création de mécanismes efficaces de divulgation des actes répréhensibles et de protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs [...] ». Le CISP a été créé pour appuyer et promouvoir la fière tradition d'intégrité ayant cours au sein du secteur public, intégrité pour laquelle le Canada est renommé.

Responsabilités

La LPFDAR est entrée en vigueur le 15 avril 2007 et a établi deux secteurs de responsabilité :

  • un processus de divulgation, soit un mécanisme permettant aux fonctionnaires de divulguer, en toute confiance, des renseignements sur des actes répréhensibles pouvant avoir été commis dans le secteur public;
  • un processus de réception des plaintes en matière de représailles, qui prévoit des mesures de protection contre des représailles envers les fonctionnaires qui agissent en toute bonne foi dans le cadre d'un processus de divulgation.

La commissaire à l'Intégrité du secteur public Canada est un agent du Parlement nommé par décret, et sa nomination a été entérinée par une résolution du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes. La commissaire a compétence sur l'ensemble du secteur public, y compris sur les agences séparées et les sociétés d'État, à l'exception du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité, du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications et des Forces canadiennes, lesquels ont l'obligation, suivant la LPFDAR, d'établir leurs propres procédures internes de divulgation des actes répréhensibles et de protection contre les représailles. Le mandat de la commissaire vise environ 400 000 employés. En outre, la Loi précise que les membres du public peuvent donner des renseignements concernant un possible acte répréhensible et, par conséquent, le nombre de personnes intéressées est d'autant plus grand.

À la suite de divulgations d'actes répréhensibles et de plaintes de représailles, la commissaire effectue des enquêtes et des examens indépendants de façon équitable et en temps opportun. Elle expose ses conclusions et fait des recommandations portant sur les correctifs nécessaires. Elle détient également le champ de compétence exclusif sur l'examen, la conciliation et le règlement des plaintes en matière de représailles, ce qui comprend le fait de s'adresser au Tribunal de la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles, nouvellement créé, qui déterminera si des représailles ont bel et bien été exercées et qui ordonnera que soit accordé une réparation juste et soit imposé les mesures disciplinaires appropriées.

La Commissaire présente des rapports annuels et des rapports de cas au Parlement. Elle peut également, en tout temps, présenter des rapports spéciaux au Parlement, aux ministres ou aux conseils d'administration des sociétés d'État.

Le Commissariat met l'accent sur la prévention des actes répréhensibles, le règlement informel des différends ainsi que sur la formation concernant les valeurs et l'éthique. Le Commissariat a toujours à cœur l'intérêt public et il s'assure que ses procédures soient axées sur l'intégrité, le respect, l'équité et le professionnalisme.

Objectif stratégique

En vue d'accomplir son mandat de façon efficace, le Commissariat vise l'objectif stratégique suivant :

Les actes répréhensibles commis dans le secteur public fédéral sont relevés, réglés et signalés, et la protection des fonctionnaires contre les représailles est assurée, d'où une meilleure intégrité en milieu de travail.

Architecture des activités de programme (AAP)

Le tableau ci-dessous présente le cadre des activités de programme du CISP, lequel appuie l'accomplissement de l'objectif stratégique du Commissariat et y contribue.

cadre des activités de programme du CISP

1.2 Sommaire de la planification

Ressources financières (en milliers de dollars)


2009-2010 2010-2011 2011-2012
6 538 6 538 5 638

Ressources humaines (équivalents temps plein – ETP)


2009-2010 2010-2011 2011-2012
41 41 41

Objectif stratégique 1 : Les actes répréhensibles commis dans le secteur public fédéral sont relevés, réglés et signalés, et la protection des fonctionnaires contre des représailles est assurée, d'où une meilleure intégrité en milieu de travail.


Indicateurs du rendement * Cibles

Les fonctionnaires et la population  canadienne connaissent le rôle et le mandat de la commissaire

Aller au devant de l'ensemble des fonctionnaires au moyen d'initiatives de diffusion ciblées, maintenues et stratégiques, notamment par la liaison avec tous les agents supérieurs et par l'identification des groupes d'intervenants cibles.

Aller au devant des Canadiens et des fonctionnaires au moyen d'un site Internet remanié.

Les demandes de renseignements et les enquêtes sont effectuées de façon efficace et en conformité avec la Loi.

Examiner les pratiques actuelles et mettre en place ou améliorer l'ensemble des processus et des procédures.

La reconnaissance que la divulgation est une conduite sociale valable

Élaborer des outils et de pratiques exemplaires.

Mettre en place de stratégie de prévention.


 


Activités de programme Prévisions de dépenses 2008-2009
(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses prévues
(en milliers de dollars)
Harmonisation avec le secteur de résultats du gouvernement du Canada
2009-2010 2010-2011 2011-2012

Gestion des divulgations et des représailles

2 252 4 439 4 902 4 002

Affaires gouvernementales

Services internes

1 496 2 099 1 636 1 636

Affaires gouvernementales

Total des dépenses prévues

3 748 6 538 6 538 5 638  

*Le Commissariat est en train de peaufiner les indicateurs de performance et les cibles.

Le rôle des priorités dans l'atteinte de l'objectif stratégique


Priorités opérationnelles Type Lien avec l'objectif stratégique Description

Renseigner le secteur public sur le rôle et le mandat du CISP

Engagement préalable

OS1

Pour que les actes répréhensibles soient adéquatement signalés, les fonctionnaires doivent connaître les mesures dont ils peuvent se prévaloir et les rôles complémentaires joués par les acteurs clés.

Pour y parvenir et aller au devant des 400 000 employés visés par la Loi, le Commissariat doit s'allier à ceux qui ont la responsabilité d'assurer l'intégrité au sein du secteur public, soit les administrateurs généraux et l'Agence de la fonction publique du Canada. Par conséquent, le CISP lancera les initiatives stratégiques suivantes :

  • Phase 2 de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie de prévention
  • Élaboration et mise en place de la stratégie de communication, dont le remaniement du site Internet

Être un modèle de professionnalisme dans le cadre des demandes de renseignements et des enquêtes

Engagement préalable

OS1

Les régimes de dénonciation dans le secteur public sont relativement nouveaux au Canada et leur développement se poursuit dans le monde entier. La culture de la divulgation n'est pas encore enracinée dans le secteur public et, par conséquent, le CISP doit être perçu comme un moyen sur lequel on peut compter pour faire des divulgations d'actes répréhensibles et pour protéger les divulgateurs contre les représailles. Pour y parvenir, le CISP lancera les initiatives stratégiques suivantes :

  • Achever la mise au point des processus, des procédures et des politiques quant aux demandes de renseignements et aux enquêtes.
  • Faire des recherches et recueillir de l'information en matière de pratiques exemplaires nationales et internationales.
  • Établir des partenariats avec de grands spécialistes.

Travailler en collaboration avec les partenaires clés afin de promouvoir une culture de divulgation et d'intégrité en milieu de travail.

Engagement préalable

OS1

Un régime d'application de la loi ne peut à lui seul assurer l'intégrité en milieu de travail. La prévention des actes répréhensibles au moyen de la création d'un climat de bonne conduite est tout aussi importante que le traitement des cas particuliers d'actes répréhensibles. Le CISP lancera les stratégies suivantes :

  • Mettre en œuvre de la stratégie de prévention.
  • Établir des partenariats avec des intervenants clés.


Priorités de gestion Type Lien avec l'objectif stratégique Description

Gestion interne efficace

Engagement préalable

OS1

L'expérience a montré que cela prend en général de trois à cinq ans pour mettre en place une nouvelle organisation publique complètement opérationnelle. Une attention particulière doit encore être portée à la stabilisation du CISP au moyen des initiatives stratégiques suivantes :

  • Mettre en œuvre des pratiques relatives à la gestion de l'information.
  • Achever la mise en place de toutes les politiques et procédures organisationnelles, dont la vérification.

Gestion des RH

Engagement préalable

OS1

Les compétences et les aptitudes des employés doivent être d'une qualité irréprochable afin d'assurer le succès de nos stratégies. Dans l'environnement actuel, le recrutement et le maintien en poste des bonnes personnes constituent des enjeux majeurs, c'est d'autant plus vrai dans une petite et nouvelle organisation comme le CISP. Les principales initiatives stratégiques en matière de RH sont notamment les suivantes :

  • Évaluer les compétences et l'expertise actuelles et examiner des lacunes.
  • Établir des partenariats avec d'autres petites agences afin d'échanger des pratiques exemplaires.

Analyse des risques

Établir une nouvelle organisation tout en mettant en œuvre son mandat est très difficile et comporte quelques risques. Un des plus grands risques que le CISP et de nombreuses autres petites agences ont en commun est l'incapacité d'accomplir pleinement le mandat établi en raison de la difficulté d'attirer et de maintenir en poste des employés compétents dans un marché du travail très concurrentiel. Le travail dans une petite agence nécessite des compétences particulières, à savoir la flexibilité ainsi que la capacité d'effectuer plusieurs tâches à la fois et de s'adapter à de nouvelles priorités. Étant donné l'instabilité inhérente à une nouvelle organisation, le présent défi en est d'autant plus grand. En vue de parer à ce risque, le CISP a pris un certain nombre d'initiatives, dont un projet pilote visant l'échange des pratiques exemplaires entre les petites agences, l'élaboration d'une définition plus claire des compétences et des attitudes que doivent avoir les employés et des attentes envers eux, ainsi que l'établissement d'un réseau d'experts qui pourra apporter de l'aide pendant les premières années toujours si critiques.

Un autre risque auquel l'organisation est confrontée est l'accessibilité : les fonctionnaires doivent être bien informés au sujet du rôle et du mandat du CISP et avoir confiance en sa capacité à accomplir ce mandat. La complexité et la nature délicate du mandat – et le fait que sa promotion dépende des partenaires clés – compliquent la tâche du CISP. Un certain nombre d'initiatives ont été lancées pour résoudre ces problèmes et elles seront maintenues au cours de la prochaine période; notamment, un solide programme en matière de communication et de diffusion, un partenariat avec les intervenants clés, ainsi que la recherche et la mise en œuvre de pratiques exemplaires.

Ces initiatives s'attaqueront également à la question de l'image négative qu'on se fait de la divulgation même et du manque de confiance dans les processus de divulgation. La divulgation est perçue comme étant une trahison tant des collègues que de l'organisation et, par conséquent, l'employé peut être porté à croire que la loyauté dont il doit faire preuve envers son employeur l'oblige à se taire ou à démissionner. Les initiatives du CISP en matière de diffusions, de partenariats et de recherches, appuyées par ses antécédents qui témoignent de la rigueur, de l'équité et de l'efficacité de ses pratiques d'enquêtes, contribueront à mettre en place une culture de confiance et de bonne conduite, culture grâce à laquelle les fonctionnaires de tous les niveaux seront en mesure de travailler dans un environnement qui encourage le dialogue libre et grâce à laquelle on s'attaque aux problèmes; c'est-à-dire, une culture où la divulgation des actes répréhensibles est perçue comme étant une conduite sociale valable plutôt qu'une inconduite.

Profil des dépenses

Tendance relative aux dépenses de l'organisation

Tendance relative aux dépenses de l'organisation

Le Commissariat a été établi par la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles, qui est entrée en vigueur le 15 avril 2007. Depuis 2007-2008, les principales dépenses ont été allouées en grande partie à la mise sur pied et à l'organisation du Commissariat. Pour 2009-2010, le Commissariat prévoit poursuivre les mesures mentionnées précédemment tout en investissant des ressources dans la promotion de notre rôle et de notre mandat ainsi qu'en traitant les demandes d'enquêtes et de divulgation. La mise en application de notre stratégie sur la prévention sera également poursuivie.

Pour les périodes de 2007-2008 et 2008-2009, les dépenses totales incluent tous les crédits parlementaires: Budget principal des dépenses, budget supplémentaire des dépenses et le vote 30 du Conseil du Trésor. Sont également inclus les rajustements de report de l'exercice. Pour les périodes de 2009-2010 à 2011-2012, le total des dépenses correspond aux dépenses planifiées. Le financement supplémentaire et les rajustements de report de l'exercice sont inconnus pour l'instant et ne sont donc en conséquence reflétés.

Crédits ou postes législatifs


# de poste voté ou législatif (L) Libellé tronqué du poste voté ou législatif Budget principal des dépenses 2008-2009 Budget principal des dépenses 2009-2010
50

Dépenses du programme

6 033 6 033
(L)

Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés

520  505
 

Total pour le Commissariat

6 553 6 538