We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Employment Equity in the Public Service of Canada 2006–2007 and 2007–2008


Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

President's Message

The Honourable Vic Toews, P.C.,Q.C.,M.P. President of the Treasury BoardAs President of the Treasury Board of Canada, I am pleased to present this report on employment equity in the Public Service of Canada, which combines the 15th and 16th annual reports for 2006–2007 and 2007–2008.

This report details the continuing progress of the Public Service of Canada toward becoming a workplace that is fully representative of Canadian society. We are committed to drawing on the talents, ideas, experiences and perspectives of Canadians of all origins, cultures and views. Only in this way can we ensure that the Government’s policies, programs and services reflect the expectations of all Canadians.

We continue to make progress. The representation of women, persons with disabilities and Aboriginal peoples continues to meet or exceed estimates of their availability in the Canadian workforce. Representation of visible minority groups is increasing; their members participate fully in the Executive cadre and in some occupational categories. We must continue to work to ensure that they are fully represented in all occupational categories.

I am firmly convinced that our partnerships and broad measures will continue to improve the diversity of the Public Service. Our goal is an institution that is dynamic, fresh, respected and more responsive to all Canadians.

The Honourable Vic Toews, P.C., Q.C., M.P.
President of the Treasury Board

2009

Speaker of the Senate

Dear Mr. Speaker:

Pursuant to subsection 21(1) of the Employment Equity Act, I have the honour of submitting to Parliament, through your good offices, a report on employment equity in the Public Service of Canada combining the annual reports of 2006–2007 and 2007–2008.

Yours sincerely,

The Honourable Vic Toews, P.C., Q.C., M.P.
President of the Treasury Board

2009

Speaker of the House of Commons

Dear Mr. Speaker:

Pursuant to subsection 21(1) of the Employment Equity Act , I have the honour of submitting to Parliament, through your good offices, a report on employment equity in the Public Service of Canada combining the annual reports of 2006–2007 and 2007–2008.

Yours sincerely,

The Honourable Vic Toews, P.C., Q.C., M.P.
President of the Treasury Board

2009

Introduction


Employment equity contributes to a strong and sustainable Public Service of Canada [1] by ensuring that the workforce reflects the rich diversity of Canada’s population. The achievement of employment equity continues to be an objective of the Public Service and is closely aligned with the Government’s objective of Public Service renewal.

In the Fourteenth Annual Report to the Prime Minister on the Public Service of Canada, Mr. Kevin Lynch, Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet, described the benefits of a workforce that is diverse in origins, cultures, views, ideas, experiences and perspectives, and identified workforce diversity as central to Public Service renewal. In his report, Mr. Lynch reiterated the importance of working toward the equitable representation across the federal public service of women, Aboriginal peoples, persons with disabilities and members of visible minority groups in accordance with the requirements of the Employment Equity Act.

The federal public service continues to work toward closing gaps in the representation of the four designated employment equity groups and in creating a truly inclusive and diverse workplace.

An Overview of Employment Equity from April 2006 through March 2008

This report covers two fiscal years, 2006–2007 and 2007–2008.

The Employment Equity Act requires the employer to provide consolidation and analysis of a great deal of numerical information. It is important, therefore, to explain from where and how this data is derived.

The Employment Equity Act requires the Public Service to monitor and, where necessary, enhance the representativeness of its workforce. Workforce availability estimates assist in this process by allowing a comparison between representation in the Public Service workforce of the designated employment equity groups (women, Aboriginal peoples, members of visible minorities and persons with disabilities) and workforce availability of these groups in the labour pool from which the Public Service can recruit.

Workforce availability estimates shown in this report are derived from the population aged 15 years and older who have had some work experience in the 16 months prior to the 2001 Census (for women, Aboriginal peoples, and members of a visible minority group) and in the five years prior to the 2001 post-censal Participation and Limitation Survey (PALS) for persons with a disability. Workforce availability estimates also take into account the preference accorded to Canadian citizens when making external-to-government hiring decisions and are also based on the population of Canadian citizens from designated groups with the skills and work experience relevant to the occupational groups found in the Public Service.

Currently, representation related to Aboriginal peoples, persons with disabilities and members of visible minority groups rely on the self-identification process. Pursuant to the Employment Equity Act, this process is voluntary with limits put on how this information may be used. Unlike the calculation of the representation of women in the Public Service, which comes from the pay file and is, therefore, reliable, the voluntary nature of the self-identification process makes the determination of the representation of the other three groups less precise. Work began in 2007–2008 and continues today to improve the process for voluntary self-identification.

Over the two-year period of this report, three of the four designated groups remained well represented when compared with workforce availability estimates derived from the 2001 Census and the PALS for persons with disabilities. The representation of women increased to 53.9 percent by March 2007 and further still to 54.4 percent by the end of March 2008. Although at March 31, 2007, Aboriginal representation had not increased from the 4.2 percent level first established in March 2005, by the end of 2007–2008, Aboriginal representation had increased to 4.4 percent. The representation of persons with disabilities decreased for the first time in 2006–2007 from 5.8 percent to 5.7 percent. In 2007–2008, however, the representation rebounded to its highest level at 5.9 percent. These representation levels exceed their respective workforce availability estimates of 52.2 percent (women), 2.5 percent (Aboriginal peoples) and 3.6 percent (persons with disabilities).

The Public Service still has work to do in various aspects for all four groups, but especially for members of visible minority groups. The representation of employees from visible minority groups increased to 8.8 percent in 2006–2007 and again to 9.2 percent in 2007–2008. Although representation continues to climb, its level continues to be well below a workforce availability estimate of 10.4 percent as derived from the 2001 Census.

The workforce availability estimates derived from the 2006 Census and post-censal PALS were not yet available when this report was drafted. However, these data are expected to reveal an even greater gap between the workforce availability estimates of visible minority Canadians and their representation in the Public Service. Departments and agencies are strongly encouraged to consider this fact as they prepare their employment equity plans and/or integrated human resources plans.

There has been a steady increase in the representation of visible minorities in the Executive category, currently at 6.7 percent (up from 5.5 percent in 2005–2006 and 6.2 percent in 2006–2007). Since 2000, the number of executives from visible minority groups has more than trebled, increasing from 103 to 326.

In the Executive category there have been year-over-year increases in the representation of women in that category, bringing the representation to 41.7 percent. This level, however, is still below workforce availability estimates. The representation of Aboriginal executives remained the same at 3.4 percent for both 2006–2007 and 2007–2008, while persons with disabilities in executive positions increased from 5.5 percent in 2005–2006 to 5.8 percent in 2006–2007 and then decreased to 5.7 percent in 2007–2008.

The issue of an aging Canadian society and Public Service brings our attention to the differing demographics within designated groups and their respective opportunities and challenges. On the one hand, members of visible minority groups and Aboriginal peoples are younger than the general Canadian population and therefore represent a significant labour pool from which to draw. On the other hand, persons with disabilities tend to be older than the average Public Service employee and therefore are more likely to retire in the near future. The recruitment rate of persons with disabilities has not kept pace with their workforce availability estimates, and concerted efforts will be needed to maintain existing representation levels.

[1] The term “Public Service” used throughout this report refers to the population of employees (indeterminate, terms of three months or more and seasonal employees) for whom the Treasury Board is the employer as set out in the Financial Administration Act (FAA), schedules I and IV. This population is also known as Canada’s Core Public Administration. [return]



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

L'équité en emploi dans la fonction publique du Canada 2006–2007 et 2007–2008


Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Message du président

The Honourable Vic Toews, P.C.,Q.C.,M.P. President of the Treasury Board En ma qualité de président du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, j’ai le plaisir de vous présenter les 15e et 16e rapports annuels combinés sur l’équité en matière d’emploi dans la fonction publique du Canada pour les périodes 2006-2007 et 2007-2008.

Le présent rapport fait état des progrès réalisés par la fonction publique du Canada dans la création d’un milieu de travail mieux représentatif de la société canadienne. Nous nous sommes engagés à profiter du talent, des idées, des expériences ou points de vue des Canadiens de toutes origines, cultures ou opinions. C’est là le seul moyen nous garantissant que les politiques, les programmes ou les services gouvernementaux canadiens puissent refléter les attentes de la population canadienne dans son ensemble.

Nous progressons sur cette voie. Tant la représentation des femmes, des personnes handicapées que celle des Autochtones correspond ou même surpasse les prévisions concernant leur disponibilité au sein de la population active. La représentation des minorités visibles continue d’augmenter alors que leurs membres participent pleinement au sein du groupe de la direction ou à certains groupes professionnels. Nous devons prolonger nos efforts afin d’assurer leur représentation parmi toutes les catégories professionnelles.

Je crois fermement que nos partenariats et les mesures globales prises favoriseront davantage la diversité au sein de la fonction publique. Notre objectif est une institution dynamique, moderne et respectée répondant encore mieux aux besoins de l’ensemble des Canadiens.

L’honorable Vic Toews, c.p., c.r., député
Président du Conseil du Trésor

2009

Président du Sénat

Monsieur le Président,

Conformément au paragraphe 21(1) de la Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi, j’ai l’honneur de déposer au Parlement, par votre intermédiaire, les rapports annuels combinés 2006-2007 et 2007-2008 sur l’équité en matière d’emploi dans la fonction publique du Canada.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Président, l’assurance de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable Vic Toews, c.p., c.r., député
Président du Conseil du Trésor

2009

Président de la Chambre des communes

Monsieur le Président,

Conformément au paragraphe 21(1) de la Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi, j’ai l’honneur de déposer au Parlement, par votre intermédiaire, les rapports annuels combinés 2006-2007 et 2007-2008 sur l’équité en matière d’emploi dans la fonction publique du Canada.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur le Président, l’assurance de ma très haute considération.

L’honorable Vic Toews, c.p., c.r., député
Président du Conseil du Trésor

2009

Introduction


L’équité en matière d’emploi reflète la riche diversité de la population canadienne, gage de force et de durabilité pour notre fonction publique [1]. Réussir l’équité en matière d’emploi est toujours un objectif de la fonction publique et est étroitement lié à l’objectif de renouvellement du gouvernement.

Dans son Quatorzième rapport annuel au premier ministre sur la fonction publique du Canada, Kevin Lynch, greffier du Conseil privé et secrétaire au Cabinet, décrit les avantages d’une main-d'œuvre diversifiée du point de vue des origines, des cultures, des perceptions, des idées, des expériences et des perspectives et il affirme que la diversité de la main-d’Ïuvre est un pilier central du renouvellement de la fonction publique. Il réitère l’importance d’une représentation équitable des femmes, des Autochtones, des personnes handicapées et des membres des minorités visibles à l’échelle de la fonction publique fédérale, conformément aux exigences prévues par la Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi.

La fonction publique fédérale s’emploie toujours à réduire l’écart de représentation des quatre groupes désignés visés par l’équité en matière d’emploi et à favoriser l’émergence d’un milieu de travail véritablement inclusif et diversifié.

Vue d’ensemble de l’équité en matière d’emploi, d’avril 2006 à mars 2008

Ce rapport couvre les exercices 2006-2007 et 2007-2008.

La Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi exige de l’employeur qu’il présente un grand nombre de données chiffrées sous forme consolidée et qu’il en fasse l’analyse. Il est donc important d’expliquer d’où proviennent ces données et la façon dont elles ont été obtenues.

La Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi impose à la fonction publique de surveiller la représentativité de la main-d’Ïuvre et de l’améliorer, le cas échéant. Les estimations de la disponibilité au sein de la population active facilitent cet exercice, car elles permettent de comparer la représentation des groupes visés par l’équité en matière d’emploi dans la fonction publique (femmes, Autochtones, membres des minorités visibles et personnes handicapées) et leur disponibilité dans le bassin de la main-d’Ïuvre ouvert au recrutement.

Les estimations de la disponibilité au sein de la population active utilisées dans le présent rapport visent la population des personnes âgées de 15 ans et plus qui ont travaillé dans les 16 mois précédant le Recensement de 2001 (femmes, Autochtones et membres des minorités visibles) et dans les cinq ans précédant l’Enquête sur la participation et les limitations d’activités (EPLA) postcensitaire de 2001 dans le cas des personnes handicapées. Les estimations de la disponibilité au sein de la population active tiennent aussi compte de la préférence accordée aux citoyens canadiens au moment d’embaucher de nouveaux employés de l’extérieur du gouvernement. Elles sont aussi fondées sur la population de citoyens canadiens appartenant aux groupes désignés possédant les compétences et l’expérience de travail pertinentes pour occuper des postes dans les groupes professionnels de la fonction publique.

À l’heure actuelle, la représentation des Autochtones, des personnes handicapées et des membres des minorités visibles est établie au moyen d’un processus d’auto-identification. La participation à ce processus est volontaire, comme le prévoit la Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi, et l’utilisation des renseignements qui en résultent est assujettie à certaines limites. Contrairement au calcul de la représentation des femmes dans la fonction publique effectué de manière fiable à partir des dossiers de paie, celui de la représentation des trois autres groupes désignés est moins précis à cause de la nature même de l’auto-identification. Les travaux amorcés en 2007-2008 pour améliorer le processus se poursuivent.

Au cours de la période de deux ans couverte par le présent rapport, trois des quatre groupes désignés continuent d’être bien représentés si on compare leur nombre aux estimations de la disponibilité au sein de la population active découlant du Recensement de 2001 et de l’EPLA pour ce qui est des personnes handicapées.

La représentation des femmes, en hausse, atteignait 53,9 p. 100 en mars 2007, et elle a continué d’augmenter pour atteindre 54,4 p. 100 à la fin mars 2008. Au 31 mars 2007, la représentation des Autochtones n’avait pas augmenté par rapport au niveau établi en mars 2005 (4,2 p. 100). Toutefois, à la fin de 2007-2008, elle atteignait 4,4 p. 100. C’est en 2006-2007 que la représentation des personnes handicapées a diminué pour la première fois, passant de 5,8 à 5,7 p. 100. Néanmoins, en 2007-2008, la représen-tation de ce groupe a rebondi jusqu’à son niveau le plus élevé, soit 5,9 p. 100. Ces taux de représentation dépassent les estimations de la disponibilité au sein de la population active de chacun de ces groupes : 52,2 p. 100 pour les femmes, 2,5 p. 100 pour les Autochtones et 3,6 p. 100 pour les personnes handicapées.

La fonction publique a encore à faire à différents égards pour les quatre groupes désignés, plus particulièrement pour les membres des minorités visibles. La représentation des employés appartenant aux minorités visibles a atteint 8,8 p. 100 en 2006-2007, une hausse qui s’est poursuivie en 2007-2008, où elle s’est établie à 9,2 p. 100. Bien que la représentation de ces groupes continue d’augmenter, elle reste inférieure aux estimations de la disponibilité au sein de la population active (10,4 p. 100) fondées sur les données du Recensement de 2001.

Les estimations de la disponibilité au sein de la population active fondées sur le Recensement de 2006 et l’EPLA postcensitaire n’étaient pas disponibles au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport. On s’attend toutefois à ce qu’elles révèlent un écart encore plus important entre les estimations de la disponibilité au sein de la population active des minorités visibles canadiennes et leur représentation dans la fonction publique. On encourage fortement les ministères et les organismes à tenir compte de cet aspect lorsqu’ils prépareront leurs plans sur l’équité en matière d’emploi et leurs plans intégrés des ressources humaines.

D’année en année, on constate une augmentation constante de la représentation des minorités visibles dans la catégorie de la direction, où elle s’établit actuellement à 6,7 p. 100 (en hausse par rapport à 5,5 p. 100 en 2005-2006 et à 6,2 p. 100 en 2006-2007). Depuis 2000, le nombre de membres des minorités visibles occupant des postes de direction a plus que triplé, passant de 103 à 326.

Dans la catégorie de la direction, la représentation des femmes a augmenté d’année en année, pour s’établir à 41,7 p. 100. Néanmoins, cette représentation demeure inférieure aux estimations de la disponibilité au sein de la population active. La représentation des Autochtones dans la catégorie de la direction demeure la même en 2006-2007 et en 2007-2008, à 3,4 p. 100, alors que la représentation des personnes handicapées occupant des postes de direction est passée de 5,5 p. 100 en 2005-2006 à 5,8 p. 100 en 2006 2007; elle a toutefois diminué à 5,7 p. 100 en 2007-2008.

Le vieillissement au sein de la société canadienne et de la fonction publique met en relief des réalités démographiques différentes dans les groupes désignés et des possibilités et enjeux qui caractérisent chacun de ces groupes. Les membres des minorités visibles et les Autochtones sont plus jeunes que la population canadienne en général et représentent par conséquent un bassin de travailleurs important à partir duquel il est possible de recruter. Par ailleurs, l’âge moyen des employés handicapés a tendance à être supérieur à celui des fonctionnaires; ils sont donc plus susceptibles de prendre leur retraite dans un proche avenir. Le taux de recrutement de personnes handicapées présente un décalage par rapport aux estimations de la disponibilité au sein de la population active. Il faudra donc multiplier les efforts pour maintenir les taux de représentation actuels.

[1] Dans le présent rapport, on entend par « fonction publique » la population d’employés (nommés pour une période indéterminée, pour une période déterminée de trois mois ou plus et les employés saisonniers) dont le Conseil du Trésor est l’employeur, tel qu’il est établi aux annexes I et IV de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP). Cette population est aussi désignée sous l’appellation « administration publique centrale » du Canada. [retour]



Date de modification :