Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Canada's Performance 2010-11: The Year in Review


Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Section II. Spending Analysis

1. Economic affairs

The Government of Canada continued to undertake initiatives aimed at strengthening Canada's economic position and improving the economic well-being of Canadians. Measures included creating the right climate for business, investing in key sectors of the Canadian economy and in innovation, and managing the environment to support our economy into the future. The government also continued to help Canada's regions and communities thrive, and provided employment opportunities and income support for marginalized groups.

Table 1. Summary of Expenditures for Economic Affairs
(in $billions)
Outcome Areas 2010–11
Planned Spending
2010–11
Actual Spending
Total for Economic Affairs 124.4 122.8
Note: Due to rounding, numbers may not sum exactly to totals.
Income security and employment for Canadians 62.1 63.3
Strong economic growth 20.2 19.6
An innovative and knowledge-based economy 7.5 6.5
A clean and healthy environment 4.9 3.7
A fair and secure marketplace 0.7 0.5
Other expenditures 29.1 29.2

Highlights of the year:

  • In 2010–11, 47 federal organizations invested $122.8 billion in Economic Affairs, which accounted for 45 per cent of total government expenditures.
  • Two critical expenditures—employment insurance at $19.8 billion and transfers to provinces and territories (excluding the Canada Health Transfer) at $29.2 billion—accounted for 40 per cent of the total spending in this area.
  • The implementation of Canada's Economic Action Plan continued into 2010–11. Approximately $25 billion to support economic recovery was delivered in 2010–11. As of March 2011, more than 28,500 Economic Action Plan projects had been completed or were underway across Canada. The Next Phase of Canada's Economic Action Plan is mainly focused on investing in the key drivers of economic growth, such as innovation, investment, education and training. It will seek to foster an environment in which all Canadians contribute to and benefit from a stronger economy.
  • Cross-border trade is vital to Canada's economic health. In 2010–11, Canada Border Services Agency processed over 92 million travellers and over 13 million commercial releases.

International comparison

Unemployment rate: In 2009, Canada's unemployment rate was 8.3 per cent, the same rate as the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) average. This was an increase of 2.2 percentage points over the 2008 rate of 6.1 per cent. According to the International Monetary Fund World Economic Outlook Database, April 2011, Canada's unemployment rate for 2010 decreased to approximately 8 per cent. The graph in Figure 2.1 shows 2010 unemployment rates across G7 countries and estimates unemployment rate levels for 2011 and 2012.

Figure 2.1. Unemployment Rate Across G7 Countries 2010–12

General government financial balances: Government revenues and expenditures illustrate the financial account balance position of the government. For Canada, government revenues, based on 2008 figures, were valued at 39.8 per cent of overall gross domestic product (GDP); government expenditures were valued at 39.7 per cent of GDP. For the United States, by comparison, government revenues were valued at 32.3 per cent of GDP, and government expenditures were valued at 38.8 per cent of GDP. The OECD average for revenues as a percentage of GDP remains at 37.9 per cent; for government expenditures, it is at 41.4 per cent (see OECD Country Statistical Profile: Canada 2010).

GDP growth: GDP in Canada increased at a rate of 3.1 per cent for 2010. By comparison, the real GDP growth rate for the United Kingdom stands at 1.3 per cent; for the United States, it stands at 2.9 per cent. For OECD countries overall, the real GDP growth rate averages at 2.9 per cent (see OECD Country Statistical Profile: Canada 2010), making Canada's rate of growth comparatively strong.

2. Social affairs

The Government of Canada plays a critical role in making Canadians among the healthiest people in the world through modern and effective regulatory systems, innovative partnerships, and leadership in health system renewal, health promotion and disease prevention. The government is also committed to strengthening the justice system by reinforcing Canada's capacity to prevent and combat crime, and it plays an active role in promoting Canada's core values: linguistic duality, ethnic diversity, art, heritage, culture and active citizenship. Other social affairs initiatives include policies and programs that promote sport and physical activity, protect disadvantaged groups, and foster integration and social inclusion.

Table 2. Summary of Expenditures for Social Affairs (in $billions)
Outcome Areas 2010–11
Planned Spending
2010–11
Actual Spending
Total for Social Affairs 56.5 56.6
Note: Due to rounding, numbers may not sum exactly to totals.
Healthy Canadians 31.8 32.6
A diverse society that promotes linguistic duality and social inclusion 9.1 9.4
A safe and secure Canada 12.6 11.2
A vibrant Canadian culture and heritage 3.1 3.4

Highlights of the year:

  • In 2010–11, 64 federal organizations invested $56.6 billion in Social Affairs, which accounted for 21 per cent of total government expenditures.
  • Budget 2011 announced new measures to improve the quality of life and opportunities of older Canadians and to support culture and communities, including Aboriginal people. It also introduced a new Family Caregiver Tax Credit, which will apply beginning in 2012.
  • Food-borne illness outbreaks associated with widely distributed foods cross local, provincial, territorial and international boundaries. In response to the Report of the Independent Investigator into the 2008 Listeriosis Outbreak, the Public Health Agency of Canada led the development of Canada's Foodborne Illness Outbreak Response Protocol (FIORP) 2010 in consultation with provinces, territories, Health Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency. Endorsed by the federal, provincial and territorial Deputy Ministers of Health and Agriculture in 2010–11, FIORP sets out the guiding principles and operating procedures for the identification of, and effective and timely response to, food-borne illness affecting more than one province or territory.

International comparison

Public expenditure on health: According to the OECD, total health spending accounted for 11.4 per cent of Canada's GDP in 2009 compared with an average of 9.5 per cent across OECD countries. Canada's spending on health per person at $4,363 US dollars in 2009 (adjusted for purchasing power parity) was also higher than the OECD average of $3,223 US dollars. Per capita health spending from 2000–09 grew in real terms by 3.7 per cent per year, slightly less than the OECD average of 4.0 per cent (see OECD Health Data 2011: How Does Canada Compare (PDF version 250 kb)).

Life expectancy at birth: In 2009, Canada's life expectancy at birth was 81.2 years, above the OECD average of 79.5 years. Canada's life expectancy at birth is above that of the United States (78.2 years in 2009) and of the United Kingdom (80.4 years in 2009).

Poverty rate: Canada's poverty rate See footnote 2 was recorded most recently at 11.4 per cent; the poverty rate of France, Japan and the United States, its G7 partners, was recorded at 7.2 per cent, 15.7 per cent, and 17.3 per cent, respectively. The average poverty rate for OECD countries is 11.1 per cent (see Society at a Glance 2011 - OECD Social Indicators).

3. International affairs

As the host of the G8 Muskoka Summit and the G20 Toronto Summit, Canada played an important role in shaping global actions on the economy and international security in
2010–11. At the G20 Summit, the major economies agreed on the steps needed to reform and strengthen financial systems, and to create strong, sustainable and balanced global growth. The government also supported a number of new initiatives that build upon private sector ideas and resources to address global priorities such as poverty reduction, where Canada is at the forefront of efforts to promote private sector participation.

Working with its allies and the Government of Afghanistan, Canada successfully met its benchmarks for stabilization; the Canadian Forces ended their participation in the combat mission and began the transition to a new training mission. The Canadian Forces' withdrawal from Kandahar Province will be completed by the end of December 2011. The government's newly mandated participation in the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Training Mission—Afghanistan (Operation ATTENTION) was a key aspect of planning during 2010–11. The Theatre Activation Team for Operation ATTENTION was deployed; use of Operation ATHENA equipment minimized the acquisition of equipment from Canada. The incremental cost of the current mission in Afghanistan to the Government of Canada from 2001 to 2011 is estimated at $11.3 billion

Table 3. Summary of Expenditures for International Affairs (in $billions)
Outcome Areas 2010–11
Planned Spending
2010–11
Actual Spending
Total for International Affairs 26.1 25.5
Note: Due to rounding, numbers may not sum exactly to totals.
A safe and secure world through international engagement 21.4 20.5
Global poverty reduction through international sustainable development 3.7 4.1
A strong and mutually beneficial North American partnership 0.5 0.5
A prosperous Canada through global commerce 0.5 0.4

Highlights of the year:

  • In 2010–11, 18 federal organizations invested $25.5 billion in International Affairs, which accounted for 9 per cent of total government expenditures.
  • Following the Muskoka Summit, Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced that the total Canadian contribution for maternal, newborn and child health initiatives will be $2.9 billion over five years. In addition to $1.1 billion in new spending, the government will renew existing funding of $1.8 billion over the next five years for what will be a long-term commitment.
  • On February 4, 2011, Canada and the United States announced Beyond the Border: a shared vision for perimeter security and economic competitiveness. This initiative will strengthen Canada's security, trade and regulatory cooperation with the United States; secure the border; and ensure that people and goods can flow freely and safely between the two countries.
  • Funded at $178 million in 2010–11, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada's Global Peace and Security Fund facilitated timely and effective whole-of-government responses to crises and post-conflict situations. These included recent events in the Middle East and North Africa, and natural disasters in Japan, New Zealand and Pakistan.

International comparison

Foreign direct investment (FDI): Direct investment inside and outside the country is a strong indicator of economic well-being. In 2010, FDI in Canada increased by 2.6 per cent to $561.6 billion Canadian dollars, while Canadian direct investment abroad decreased by 0.7 per cent to $616.7 billion Canadian dollars See footnote 3. For OECD countries in general, FDI inflows averaged $159.2 billion US dollars in 2010, and outflows averaged $253.8 billion US dollars.

Developmental aid: The United Nations and the OECD both expect that countries will contribute a portion of their gross national income (GNI) in the form of official development assistance (ODA). Total net ODA from Developmental Assistance Committee (DAC) donors totalled $129 billion US dollars in 2010, the highest level achieved and an increase of 6.5 per cent over 2009. This represents about 0.3 per cent of the combined GNI of DAC member countries. Canada's ODA contribution as a percentage of GNI in 2010 was 0.3 per cent compared with the United States at 0.2 per cent, the United Kingdom at 0.6 per cent, Australia at 0.3 per cent and Japan at 0.2 per cent.

4. Government affairs

Several federal organizations contribute to Government Affairs by maintaining strong and independent democratic institutions; by creating a federal government that is transparent, accountable, and responsive to its citizens; and by ensuring that government operations are well-managed and efficient. The Government of Canada is also committed to strengthening integrity and accountability in government and political activity.

Table 4. Summary of Expenditures for Government Affairs (in $billions)
Outcome Areas 2010–11
Planned Spending
2010–11
Actual Spending
Total for Government Affairs 11.5 10.6
Note: Due to rounding, numbers may not sum exactly to totals.
Well-managed and efficient government operations 7.4 7.6
A transparent, accountable and responsive federal government 2.9 1.8
Strong and independent democratic institutions 1.2 1.2

Highlights of the year:

  • In 2010–11, 37 federal organizations invested $10.6 billion in Government Affairs, which accounted for 4 per cent of total government expenditures.
  • Delivering on the commitment announced in Budget 2010, the Government of Canada created the Red Tape Reduction Commission. The Commission will help find effective and lasting solutions to reduce red tape for Canadian small and medium-sized businesses. In the fall of 2011, the Commission will make recommendations to the government to address regulatory irritants and provide options for lasting reforms, while protecting the health, safety and security of Canadians.

International comparison

Government effectiveness: The quality of public services, the civil service, and policy formulation and implementation; the credibility of the government's commitment to policy; and the degree of civil service independence from political pressures all contribute to measuring government effectiveness. Canada's percentile ranking in government effectiveness vis-Ó-vis other members of the OECD increased from 95.7 in 2008 to 96.7 in 2009.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Le rendement du Canada 2010-2011 : Bilan de l'année


Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Section II. Analyse des dépenses

1. Affaires économiques

Le gouvernement du Canada a continué d'entreprendre des initiatives visant à consolider la situation économique du Canada et à améliorer le bien-être économique des Canadiens. Ces mesures comprenaient la mise en place d'un climat propice aux affaires, des investissements dans les principaux secteurs de l'économie canadienne et l'innovation, et la gestion de l'environnement afin de soutenir notre économie à l'avenir. Le gouvernement a également continué d'aider les régions et les collectivités du Canada à prospérer, et il a offert des possibilités d'emploi et un soutien au revenu aux groupes marginalisés.

Tableau 1. Sommaire des dépenses au titre des Affaires économiques
en milliards de dollars)
Secteurs de résultats Dépenses prévues 2010-2011 Dépenses réelles 2010-2011
Total – Affaires économiques 124,4 122,8
Nota : Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux indiqués.
La sécurité du revenu et l'emploi pour les Canadiens 62,1 63,3
Une croissance économique forte 20,2 19,6
Une économie axée sur l'innovation et le savoir 7,5 6,5
Un environnement propre et sain 4,9 3,7
Un marché équitable et sécurisé 0,7 0,5
Autres dépenses 29,1 29,2

Faits saillants de l'exercice :

  • En 2010-2011, 47 organisations fédérales ont consacré 122,8 milliards de dollars aux Affaires économiques, ce qui représente 45 p. 100 des dépenses totales du gouvernement.
  • Deux postes de dépenses essentielles – l'assurance-emploi représentant 19,8 milliards de dollars et les transferts aux provinces et aux territoires (à l'exception du Transfert canadien en matière de santé) correspondant à 29,2 milliards – sont intervenus pour 40 p. 100 des dépenses totales à ce chapitre.
  • La mise en œuvre du Plan d'action économique du Canada s'est poursuivie en 2010-2011. Environ 25 milliards de dollars ont été attribués afin de soutenir la reprise économique en 2010-2011. En date de mars 2011, plus de 28 500 projets relevant du Plan d'action économique étaient terminés ou en cours à l'échelle du pays. La prochaine phase du Plan d'action économique du Canada consiste à investir dans les principaux vecteurs de la croissance économique, c'est-à-dire l'innovation, l'investissement, l'éducation et la formation, et vise à promouvoir un climat où tous les Canadiens contribuent à une économie plus forte et en bénéficient.
  • Le commerce transfrontalier est essentiel à la santé économique du Canada. En 2010-2011, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada a traité plus de 92 millions de voyageurs et au-delà de 13 millions de mainlevées commerciales.

Comparaison internationale

Taux de chômage : En 2009, le taux de chômage au Canada s'est établi à 8,3 p. 100, ce qui correspondait à la moyenne de l'OCDE. Ce taux représentait une hausse de 2,2 points de pourcentage par rapport au taux de 6,1 p. 100 observé en 2008. Selon la base de données des perspectives de l'économie mondiale du Fonds monétaire international pour avril 2011 (en anglais seulement), le taux de chômage au Canada a reculé pour s'établir à environ 8,0 p. 100 en 2010. La figure 2.1 indique les taux de chômage des divers pays du G7 et les taux de chômage estimatifs pour 2011 et 2012.

Figure 2.1. Taux de chômage dans les pays du G7, 2011-2012

Soldes financiers généraux du gouvernement : Le rapport entre les revenus et les dépenses de l'État indiquent le solde des comptes financiers du gouvernement. Au Canada, d'après les chiffres de 2008, les revenus de l'État ont atteint 39,8 p. 100 du PIB total et les dépenses publiques, 39,7 p. 100. À titre de comparaison, aux États-Unis, les revenus de l'État représentaient 32,3 p. 100 du PIB et les dépenses publiques, 38,8 p. 100. À l'échelle de l'OCDE, les revenus moyens se maintiennent à 37,9 p. 100 du PIB et les dépenses publiques, à 41,4 p. 100 (voir OECD Country Statistical Profile: Canada 2010 – en anglais seulement).

Croissance du PIB : Au Canada, le PIB a progressé de 3,1 p. 100 en 2010. Par comparaison, le taux de croissance du PIB réel est de 1,3 p. 100 au Royaume-Uni et de 2,9 p. 100 aux États-Unis. À l'échelle des pays membres de l'OCDE, le PIB réel s'établit à 2,9 p. 100 en moyenne (voir OECD Country Statistical Profile: Canada 2010 – en anglais seulement), de sorte que la croissance observée au Canada est comparativement forte.

2. Affaires sociales

Le gouvernement du Canada joue un rôle déterminant pour veiller à ce que la population canadienne soit l'une des plus en santé au monde grâce à des systèmes de règlementation modernes et efficaces, à des partenariats novateurs et à son leadership dans les domaines du renouvellement du système de santé, de la promotion de la santé et de la prévention des maladies. Il s'est aussi engagé à renforcer le système juridique en accroissant la capacité du Canada de prévenir et de combattre la criminalité. De plus, il participe activement à la promotion des valeurs fondamentales du Canada, soit la dualité linguistique, la diversité ethnique, les arts, le patrimoine, la culture et la citoyenneté active. Les initiatives relevant des affaires sociales englobent aussi des politiques et des programmes qui font la promotion du sport et de l'activité physique, protègent les groupes défavorisés et favorisent l'intégration et l'inclusion sociale.

Tableau 2. Sommaire des dépenses au titre des Affaires sociales
(en milliards de dollars)
Secteurs de résultats Dépenses prévues
2010-2011
Dépenses réelles
2010-2011
Total – Affaires sociales 56,5 56,6
Nota : Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux indiqués.
Des Canadiens en santé 31,8 32,6
Une société diversifiée qui favorise la dualité linguistique et l'inclusion sociale 9,1 9,4
Un Canada sécuritaire et sécurisé 12,6 11,2
Une culture et un patrimoine canadiens dynamiques 3,1 3,4

Faits saillants de l'exercice :

  • En 2010-2011, 64 organisations fédérales ont consacré 56,6 milliards de dollars aux Affaires sociales, ce qui correspond à 21 p. 100 des dépenses totales du gouvernement.
  • Le gouvernement a annoncé dans le budget fédéral de 2011 de nouvelles mesures pour accroître la qualité de vie des aînés du Canada et les possibilités qui s'offrent à eux, et pour soutenir la culture et les collectivités, y compris les peuples autochtones. En outre, un nouveau crédit d'impôt pour aidants familiaux, qui s'appliquera à compter de 2012, a été instauré.
  • Les toxi-infections d'origine alimentaire associées aux aliments distribués à grande échelle transcendent les frontières locales, provinciales, territoriales et internationales. En réponse au Rapport de l'Enquêteure indépendante sur l'éclosion de listériose en 2008, l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada a dirigé l'élaboration du Protocole canadien d'intervention lors de toxi-infection d'origine alimentaire (PRITIOA) 2010 en consultation avec les provinces, les territoires, Santé Canada et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments. Approuvé par les ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé et de l'Agriculture en 2010-2011, le PRITIOA énonce les principes directeurs et les procédures de fonctionnement en vue de l'identification d'une éclosion d'intoxication alimentaire touchant plus d'une province ou d'un territoire et d'une intervention subséquente efficace et en temps opportun.

Comparaison internationale

Dépenses publiques en santé : Selon l'OCDE, le montant total des dépenses en santé représentait 11,4 p. 100 du PIB du Canada en 2009, comparativement à 9,5 p. 100 en moyenne dans l'ensemble des pays membres de l'OCDE. À 4 363 $US par habitant en 2009 (corrigées en fonction de la parité des pouvoirs d'achat), les dépenses du Canada en santé ont également dépassé la moyenne des pays membres de l'OCDE de 3 223 $US. En termes réels, les dépenses par habitant pour la santé ont progressé de 3,7 p. 100 par année entre 2000 et 2009, soit légèrement moins que la moyenne de l'OCDE de 4,0 p. 100 (voir OECD Health Data 2011: How Does Canada Compare (PDF version 250 kb) – en anglais seulement).

Espérance de vie à la naissance : Au Canada, en 2009, l'espérance de vie à la naissance était de 81,2 ans, ce qui dépasse la moyenne de l'OCDE (79,5 ans). L'espérance de vie à la naissance au Canada est supérieure à celle des États-Unis (78,2 ans en 2009) et du Royaume-Uni (80,4 ans en 2009).

Taux de pauvreté : Selon les plus récentes données, le taux de pauvreté Voir la note en bas de page 2 du Canada s'établissait à 11,4 p. 100 comparativement à 7,2 p. 100 en France, à 15,7 p. 100 au Japon et à 17,3 p. 100 aux États-Unis, ces trois pays étant des partenaires du Canada au sein du G7. Le taux moyen de pauvreté à l'échelle des pays membres du G7 est de 11,1 p. 100 (voir Panorama de la société 2011 – Les indicateurs sociaux de l'OCDE).

3. Affaires internationales

En qualité d'hôte du Sommet du G8 de Muskoka et de celui du G20 tenu à Toronto, le Canada a joué un rôle de premier plan pour façonner des mesures d'envergure planétaire axées sur l'économie et la sécurité internationale en 2010-2011. Lors du Sommet du G20, les principaux acteurs économiques ont convenu des mesures à prendre pour réformer et renforcer les systèmes financiers, et pour favoriser une croissance mondiale forte, durable et équilibrée. Le gouvernement a aussi soutenu certaines nouvelles initiatives qui prennent appui sur les idées et les ressources du secteur privé afin de donner suite à des priorités d'envergure mondiale comme la réduction de la pauvreté, où le Canada est l'un des principaux promoteurs de la participation du secteur privé.

Travaillant de concert avec ses alliés et le gouvernement de l'Afghanistan, le Canada a atteint ses objectifs de stabilisation; les Forces canadiennes ont mis fin à leur participation à la mission de combat et ont amorcé la transition vers une nouvelle mission de formation. Le retrait des Forces canadiennes de la province de Kandahar sera achevé d'ici la fin de décembre 2011. Le nouveau mandat sur la participation du gouvernement à la Mission de formation en Afghanistan de l'Organisation du traité de l'Atlantique nord (OTAN), baptisée l'Opération Attention, a été l'un des aspects clés des travaux de planification en 2010-2011. L'équipe d'activation dans le théâtre de l'Opération Attention a été déployée; l'utilisation du matériel de l'Opération Athena a réduit les besoins d'approvisionnement en matériel du Canada. Le coût supplémentaire de la mission actuelle en Afghanistan pour le gouvernement du Canada entre 2001 et 2011 est estimé à 11,3 milliards de dollars.

Tableau 3. Sommaire des dépenses au titre des Affaires internationales
(en milliards de dollars)
Secteurs de résultats Dépenses prévues
2010-2011
Dépenses réelles
2010-2011
Total – Affaires internationales 26,1 25,5
Nota : Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux indiqués.
Un monde sécuritaire et sécurisé grâce à l'engagement international 21,4 20,5
La réduction de la pauvreté dans le monde grâce au développement international durable 3,7 4,1
Un partenariat nord-américain fort et mutuellement avantageux 0,5 0,5
Un Canada prospère grâce au commerce international 0,5 0,4

Faits saillants de l'exercice :

  • En 2010-2011, 18 organisations fédérales ont consacré 25,5 milliards de dollars aux Affaires internationales, ce qui représente 9 p. 100 du montant total des dépenses du gouvernement.
  • À la suite du Sommet de Muskoka, le Premier ministre Stephen Harper a annoncé que la contribution du Canada aux initiatives sur la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants totalisera 2,9 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans. En plus d'engager 1,1 milliard de dollars de nouvelles dépenses, le gouvernement renouvellera les crédits existants de 1,8 milliard de dollars au cours des cinq prochaines années dans le cadre de ce qui sera un engagement à long terme.
  • Le 4 février 2011, le Canada et les États-Unis ont annoncé Par-delà la frontière : une vision commune de la sécurité et de la compétitivité économique à l'intérieur du périmètre. Cette initiative resserrera la coopération entre le Canada et les États-Unis dans les domaines de la sécurité, du commerce et de la réglementation, rendra la frontière plus sûre et assurera la libre circulation des personnes et des biens entre les deux pays.
  • Doté de 178 millions de dollars en 2010-2011, le Fonds pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada a permis de mettre en œuvre, en temps opportun, des réponses pangouvernementales efficaces à la suite de crises et de conflits. Le Fonds a notamment permis d'intervenir au Proche-Orient et en Afrique du Nord, de même qu'à la suite de désastres naturels au Japon, en Nouvelle-Zélande et au Pakistan.

Comparaison internationale

Investissement direct étranger (IDE) : L'investissement direct au pays et à l'étranger est un bon indicateur du bien-être économique. En 2010, l'IDE au Canada a augmenté de 2,6 p. 100 pour atteindre 561,6 milliards $CAN, tandis que l'investissement direct du Canada à l'étranger a diminué de 0,7 p. 100 pour s'établir à 616,7 milliards $CAN Voir la note en bas de page 3. En moyenne, dans l'ensemble des pays membres de l'OCDE, les rentrées d'IDE ont atteint 159,2 milliards $US en 2010 et les sorties, 253,8 milliards $US en moyenne.

Aide au développement : Les Nations Unies et l'OCDE s'attendent à ce que les pays consacrent une partie de leur revenu intérieur brut (RIB) à l'aide au développement officielle (ADO). Le montant total net de l'ADO versé par les donateurs du Comité d'aide au développement (CAD) s'est chiffré à 129 milliards $US en 2010, ce qui représente un sommet historique et une hausse de 6,5 p. 100 par rapport à 2009. Cette aide équivaut à près de 0,3 p. 100 du RIB combiné des pays membres du CAD. En 2010, la contribution du Canada à l'ADO s'est élevée à 0,3 p. 100 du RIB, comparativement à 0,2 p. 100 pour les États-Unis, à 0,6 p. 100 pour le Royaume-Uni, à 0,3 p. 100 pour l'Australie et à 0,2 p. 100 pour le Japon.

4. Affaires gouvernementales

Plusieurs organisations fédérales contribuent aux Affaires gouvernementales en maintenant des institutions démocratiques fortes et indépendantes, en créant un gouvernement fédéral transparent, responsable et sensible aux besoins de ses citoyens, et en veillant à ce que les activités du gouvernement soient efficientes et bien gérées. Le gouvernement du Canada est également déterminé à renforcer l'intégrité et la responsabilisation au chapitre de l'administration publique et de l'activité politique.

Tableau 4. Sommaire des dépenses au titre des Affaires gouvernementales
(en milliards de dollars)
Secteurs de résultats Dépenses prévues
2010-2011
Dépenses réelles
2010-2011
Total – Affaires gouvernementales 11,5 10,6
Nota : Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux indiqués.
Des activités gouvernementales bien gérées et efficaces 7,4 7,6
Un gouvernement fédéral transparent, responsable et sensible aux besoins des Canadiens 2,9 1,8
Des institutions démocratiques fortes et indépendantes 1,2 1,2

Faits saillants de l'exercice :

  • En 2010-2011, 37 organisations fédérales ont investi 10,6 milliards de dollars dans les Affaires gouvernementales, ce qui représentait 4 p. 100 des dépenses totales du gouvernement.
  • Pour faire suite à l'engagement annoncé dans le budget fédéral de 2010, le gouvernement du Canada a mis sur pied la Commission sur la réduction de la paperasse. Cette dernière aidera à trouver des façons efficaces et durables de réduire la paperasse pour les petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes. À l'automne 2011, la Commission soumettra au gouvernement des recommandations pour éliminer les irritants qui découlent de la réglementation et des options de réforme durable, tout en protégeant la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens.

Comparaison internationale

Efficacité gouvernementale : La qualité des services au public, de la fonction publique, et de la formulation et de l'application des politiques; la crédibilité des engagements du gouvernement à l'égard des politiques; et le degré d'indépendance de la fonction publique relativement aux pressions politiques sont autant de critères servant à mesurer l'efficacité gouvernementale. Au chapitre de l'efficacité gouvernementale, le rang-centile du Canada par rapport aux autres pays membres de l'OCDE s'est accru, passant de 95,7 en 2008 à 96,7 en 2009.