The Official Languages Act and you

Recognition for the equal status of English and French in Canada dates back to Confederation when the Constitution Act of 1867 recognized the use of both languages in Parliament and in federal courts.

Status for the two languages was reinforced by the first Official Languages Act of 1969 and the 1982 Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (the Charter), which declared English and French as Canada’s official languages and provided for th eir equality of status in Parliament and in the Government of Canada.

The Act was revised in 1988. It integrates and specifies the principles set out in the earlier legislation and the Charter and it provides for federal policies to put those principles into action. In 2005, Parts VII and X were modified to strengthen the commitment to official language minority communities and to foster linguistic duality.

This document describes the main components of the Official Languages Act and is not an official interpretation. For greater detail, consult the Official Languages Act itself, and the policies and directives on official languages.

Communications with and Services to the Public (Part IV)

A key principle of the Act is that Canadians have the right to communicate with and receive services from federal institutions in either official language. Accordingly, Part IV sets out criteria to identify the offices or facilities that must offer services to and be able to communicate with the public in both official languages. These criteria include:

  • the head or central office of a federal institution, as well as offices or facilities located in the National Capital Region
  • offices or facilities of a federal institution that reports directly to Parliament
  • circumstances prescribed by the Official Languages (Communications with and Services to the Public) Regulations, such as:
    • offices or facilities where there is significant demand for communications and services in both official languages (for example, from the travelling public)
    • offices or facilities in certain specific cases (for example, circumstances relating to public health, safety and security) or where the nature of the office or facility makes it reasonable to provide services and communications in both official languages.

Currently, approximately 33 percent of the nearly 11,700 offices or facilities of federal institutions must communicate with and serve the public in both official languages. These offices or facilities must actively offer their services and communications in English and French.

To find out where these offices or facilities are located, consult the Burolis directory.

Language of Work (Part V)

Part V recognizes English and French as the languages of work in federal institutions. It states that employees of such institutions, in regions designated as bilingual for language-of-work purposes (National Capital Region, New Brunswick, parts of Northern and Eastern Ontario, the bilingual region of Montréal, as well as parts of the Eastern Townships, the Gaspé and Western Quebec), have the right to work in their chosen official language in accordance with the conditions set out in Part V. In these bilingual regions:

  • institutions create and maintain a work environment conducive to the effective use of both official languages
  • supervision, personal and central services such as human resources, and regularly and widely used work instruments such as computer software, are available in English and French
  • senior management has the capacity to function in both official languages.

In addition, central and common services agencies respect the language-of-work rights of employees in the institutions they serve.

In order to meet their service-to-the-public and language-of-work obligations, federal institutions assign language requirements to positions or functions using objective criteria.

Participation of English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians (Part VI)

Part VI sets out the Government of Canada’s commitment to ensuring that English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians have equal opportunities for employment and advancement within federal institutions, and that the composition of the workforce of federal institutions tends to reflect the presence of both official language communities in the general population, taking into account the particular characteristics of individual institutions, including their mandates, the public they serve and their location.

Advancement of English and French (Part VII)

Part VII specifies the commitment of the Government of Canada to enhance the vitality of the official-language minority communities in Canada and to support their development, as well as to foster the full recognition and use of both English and French in Canadian society. This commitment binds all federal government institutions, which must see to it that positive measures are taken for its implementation.

The federal commitment applies to an institution’s entire cycle of activities, whether it be during the strategic planning stage, or the development, implementation, evaluation or accountability phases of its policies and programs. In all cases, the institution must be tuned in to the minority communities as well as to other key stakeholders involved in the promotion of duality, and determine if its actions have an impact on these communities or on the recognition of the two official languages.

It should also be noted that Part VII of the Act assigns a specific role to Canadian Heritage, which is called upon to encourage and promote a coordinated approach to the implementation by federal institutions of the government’s commitment as stated in this Part of the Act.

See also resources on the implementation of Part VII of the Act.

Other features of interest

Part VIII establishes that the Treasury Board is responsible for the general direction and coordination of policies and programs to implement Parts IV, V and VI of the Act within federal institutions. The Canada Public Service Agency is responsible for developing and evaluating these policies and programs.

The Act also establishes, in Part IX, the mandate and powers of the Commissioner of Official Languages to ensure recognition of the equal status of the two official languages and compliance with the spirit and intent of the Act. It also creates, in Part X, a court remedy for complaints made under the Act, such as under Parts IV, V, VII and section 91.

For more information about official languages:

Date modified:

La Loi sur les langues officielles et vous

La reconnaissance du statut égal du français et de l’anglais au Canada remonte au temps de la Confédération où la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 a reconnu l’usage des deux langues au Parlement et dans les cours fédérales.

Le statut des deux langues a été renforcé dans la première Loi sur les langues officielles de 1969 et la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés (la Charte) de 1982, dans lesquelles le français et l’anglais ont été reconnus comme étant les langues officielles du Canada, bénéficiant d’un statut égal au Parlement et au gouvernement du Canada.

La Loi a été révisée en 1988. Elle intègre et précise les principes énoncés dans la loi antérieure ainsi que dans la Charte et elle prévoit des politiques fédérales pour leur mise en œuvre. En 2005, les parties VII et X ont été modifiées pour renforcer l’engagement envers les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et la promotion de la dualité linguistique.

Le présent document décrit les principaux éléments de la Loi sur les langues officielles, mais n’en constitue pas une interprétation officielle. Pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter la Loi sur les langues officielles et les politiques et directives sur les langues officielles.

Communications avec le public et prestation des services (Partie IV)

Un des principes clés de la Loi est que le public a le droit de communiquer avec les institutions fédérales et d’en recevoir des services dans l’une ou l’autre des langues officielles. Ainsi, la Partie IV énonce les critères qui servent à identifier les bureaux où on est tenu d’offrir des services au public et de communiquer avec celui-ci dans les deux langues officielles, notamment :

Actuellement, environ 33 p. cent des quelque 11 700 bureaux des institutions fédérales sont tenus de fournir des services au public et de communiquer avec celui-ci dans les deux langues officielles, et ce, de façon active, de sorte que le public sache qu’il peut se servir de l’une ou l’autre des langues officielles.

Pour savoir où sont situés ces bureaux, veuillez consulter le répertoire Burolis.

Langue de travail (Partie V)

La Partie V reconnaît que le français et l’anglais sont les langues de travail dans les institutions fédérales. On y stipule que les employés de ces institutions, situées dans des régions désignées bilingues aux fins de la langue de travail (la région de la capitale nationale, le Nouveau-Brunswick, certaines parties du Nord et de l’Est de l’Ontario, la région bilingue de Montréal ainsi que certaines parties des Cantons de l’Est, de la Gaspésie et de l’Ouest du Québec), ont le droit de travailler dans la langue officielle de leur choix conformément aux conditions énoncées dans la Partie V. Dans ces régions bilingues :

De plus, les organismes centraux et de services communs respectent les droits de la langue de travail des employés des institutions qu’ils servent.

Afin de satisfaire à leurs obligations en ce qui a trait au service au public et à la langue de travail, les institutions fédérales rattachent aux postes ou fonctions des exigences linguistiques à l’aide de critères objectifs.

Participation des Canadiens d’expression française et d’expression anglaise (Partie VI)

La Partie VI énonce l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada de veiller à ce que les Canadiens d’expression française et d’expression anglaise aient des chances égales d’emploi et d’avancement dans les institutions fédérales, et à ce que la composition des effectifs de ces institutions tende à refléter la présence des deux collectivités de langue officielle dans la population en général, compte tenu des caractéristiques particulières de chacune des institutions, dont leur mandat, leur public et l’emplacement de leurs bureaux.

Promotion du français et de l’anglais (Partie VII)

La Partie VII précise l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada de favoriser l’épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire au Canada et d’appuyer leur développement, ainsi que de promouvoir la pleine reconnaissance et l’usage du français et de l’anglais dans la société canadienne. Cet engagement lie toutes les institutions du gouvernement fédéral, lesquelles doivent veiller à ce que soient prises des mesures positives pour le mettre en œuvre.

L’engagement fédéral s’applique tout au long du cycle des activités d’une institution, que ce soit lors de la planification stratégique, de l’élaboration de politiques et de programmes, de leur mise en œuvre, de leur évaluation ou de la reddition de comptes. Dans tous les cas, l’institution doit s’assurer de demeurer à l’écoute des communautés minoritaires et des autres intervenants clés en matière de promotion de la dualité, et de déterminer si ses actions ont une incidence sur ces communautés ou la reconnaissance des deux langues officielles.

On doit également noter que la Partie VII de la Loi attribue un rôle particulier au ministère du Patrimoine canadien. Ce ministère est notamment appelé à susciter et à encourager la coordination de la mise en œuvre par les institutions fédérales de l’engagement du gouvernement énoncé dans cette Partie de la Loi.

Consulter également : ressources relatives à la mise en œuvre de la Partie VII de la Loi.

Autres éléments d’intérêt

La Partie VIII stipule que le Conseil du Trésor est chargé de l’élaboration et de la coordination générales des politiques et programmes d’application des parties IV, V et VI de la Loi dans les institutions fédérales. L’Agence de la fonction publique du Canada est responsable de l’élaboration et de l’évaluation de ces politiques et programmes.

La Partie IX décrit le mandat et les fonctions du Commissariat aux langues officielles qui doit assurer la reconnaissance du statut égal des deux langues officielles et faire respecter l’esprit de la Loi. La Partie X prévoit un recours judiciaire pour toute plainte découlant des parties IV, V et VII et de l’article 91 de la Loi.

Pour plus d'information au sujet des langues officielles :

Date de modification :