The Key leadership competency profile

The Clerk of the Privy Council approved a new Key Leadership Competency profile for federal public service executives and senior leaders in . The Key Leadership Competency profile is aligned with the Clerk’s vision for a public service that is collaborative, innovative, streamlined, high performing, adaptable and diverse. It reflects the complexity and challenge of federal public service leadership roles. The new profile continues to underscore the classic leadership competencies of creating vision and strategy, mobilizing people, upholding integrity and respect, and achieving results. Two competencies, promoting innovation and guiding change, and collaborating with partners and stakeholders which are essential in the current context, are also part of the profile.

The Key Leadership Competencies serve as the basis for selection, learning and development, performance and talent management of executives and other senior leaders. They are a mandatory component of the Executive (EX) Group Qualification Standard and the Directive on the Performance Management Program for Executives. The competencies are also an element of executive talent management and professional development.

The Key Leadership Competencies may serve as a tool to identify learning and development needs for career planning and as the basis for selection for managers, supervisors and employees.

The Key leadership competency profile contains:

  • A preamble that sets out the fundamental expectations of leadership within the federal public service context
  • Six competencies and accompanying definitions

The profile is complemented by examples of effective behaviours for specific leadership roles (Deputy Minister, Assistant Deputy Minister, Director General and Director), and generic ineffective behaviours for each competency for all roles. Examples of effective behaviours for the Manager and Supervisor roles are under development.

See also

Date modified:

Le profil des compétences clés en leadership

La greffière du Conseil privé a approuvé un nouveau profil des Compétences clés en leadership pour les cadres supérieurs et les hauts fonctionnaires de la fonction publique en . Le profil des compétences clés en leadership correspond à la vision de la greffière pour une fonction publique axée sur la collaboration, l’innovation, la simplification, le rendement accru, la souplesse et la diversité. Il traduit la complexité des rôles et des défis associés au leadership dans la fonction publique fédérale. Le nouveau profil continue de souligner les compétences classiques en leadership que sont créer une vision et une stratégie, mobiliser les personnes, préserver l’intégrité et le respect, de même qu’obtenir des résultats. Deux compétences, soit promouvoir l’innovation et orienter le changement, ainsi que collaborer avec les partenaires et les intervenants, qui sont essentielles dans le contexte actuel, font également partie du profil.

Les compétences clés en leadership servent de fondement pour la sélection, l’apprentissage et le perfectionnement, ainsi que la gestion du rendement et des talents des cadres supérieurs et des autres hauts dirigeants. Elles constituent un élément obligatoire de la Norme de qualification du groupe de la direction (EX) et de la Directive sur le Programme de gestion du rendement pour les cadres supérieurs. Les compétences sont aussi un élément de la gestion des talents des cadres supérieurs et du perfectionnement professionnel.

Les compétences clés en leadership peuvent servir d’outil pour cerner les besoins d’apprentissage et de perfectionnement aux fins de la planification de carrière et comme fondement de la sélection des gestionnaires, des superviseurs et des employés.

Le profil des Compétences clés en leadership renferme :

Le profil s’accompagne d’exemples de comportements efficaces pour des rôles de leadership précis (sous-ministre, sous-ministre adjoint, directeur général et directeur) et des comportements inefficaces généraux pour chaque compétence pour tous les rôles. Des exemples de comportements efficaces pour les rôles de gestionnaire et de superviseur sont en voie d’élaboration.

Consultez également

Date de modification :