Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the government of Canada

Whole-of-government framework



The purpose of this framework is to map the financial and non-financial contributions of federal organizations receiving appropriations by aligning their program activities to a set of high level outcome areas defined for the government as a whole.

Text version of Whole-of-government Framework

Background

The framework consists of four spending areas: Economic Affairs, Social Affairs, International Affairs, and Government Affairs.

Since 2005, the Policy on Management, Resources and Results Structures (MRRS) has supported the development of a common, government-wide approach to the collection, management, and reporting of financial and non-financial information on program objectives, performance, and results. All federal organizations receiving appropriations must plan and manage their operations and report their performance against strategic outcomes that represent enduring benefits to Canadians.

As a complement to this regime of departmental performance management and reporting, the Government of Canada has adopted a whole-of-government framework for reporting to Parliament on progress made as a nation. The whole-of-government framework maps the financial and non-financial contributions of departments, agencies, and Crown corporations receiving appropriations to a set of 16 high-level Government of Canada outcome areas within four Government of Canada spending areas—Economic, Social, International, and Government Affairs.

Alignment of program activities to the whole-of-government framework

Departments and agencies are required to indicate in their Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP) and Departmental Performance Report (DPR) the alignment of program activities to Government of Canada outcome areas. Because the alignment of strategic outcomes and their corresponding program activities to the whole-of-government framework makes it possible to calculate spending by Government of Canada outcome area and also correctly total all government spending, a program activity can only be aligned to one Government of Canada outcome area. A strategic outcome, however, can contribute to more than one outcome area.

 

If you have questions, please contact the whole-of-government reporting team .

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Cadre pangouvernemental



L’objet de ce cadre consiste à établir les liens entre les contributions financières et non financières des organisations fédérales qui reçoivent des crédits par l’alignement de leurs activités de programme et un ensemble de grands secteurs de dépenses définis pour le gouvernement dans son ensemble.

Cadre pangouvernemental

Version textuelle du cadre pangouvernemental

Contexte

Le cadre se compose de quatre secteurs de dépenses : les affaires économiques; les affaires sociales; les affaires internationales; les affaires gouvernementales.

La Politique sur la structure de gestion, des ressources et des résultats (SGRR) favorise, depuis 2005, l’élaboration d’une approche commune, pangouvernementale, pour la collecte, la gestion et la déclaration des données financières et non financières relatives aux objectifs, au rendement et aux résultats liés aux programmes. Les organisations fédérales qui reçoivent des crédits doivent planifier leurs opérations, les gérer et rendre compte de leur rendement par rapport à des résultats stratégiques qui représentent des avantages durables pour les Canadiens.

Pour compléter ce système de gestion du rendement ministériel et de reddition des comptes, le gouvernement a adopté un cadre pangouvernemental afin de faire état au Parlement des progrès accomplis en tant que pays. Ce cadre établit les liens entre les contributions financières et non financières des ministères, organismes et sociétés d'État qui reçoivent des crédits et un ensemble de seize grands secteurs de résultats du gouvernement du Canada dans quatre secteurs de dépenses, notamment les affaires économiques, sociales, internationales et gouvernementales.

Alignement des activités de programmes au cadre pangouvernemental

On demande aux ministères et aux organismes d’indiquer dans quelle mesure les activités de programme s’alignent aux secteurs de résultats du gouvernement du Canada dans leur Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) et dans leur Rapport ministériel sur le rendement (RMR). En alignant les résultats stratégiques et les activités de programme correspondantes au cadre pangouvernemental, on peut calculer les dépenses liées à un secteur de résultats, ce qui permet aussi d’obtenir le compte exact de la totalité des dépenses du gouvernement du fait qu’une activité de programme ne peut être alignée que sur un secteur de résultats . Un résultat stratégique peut toutefois contribuer à plus d’un secteur de résultats.

Si vous avec des questions, veuillez communiquer avec l’équipe chargée des rapports pangouvernementaux.