Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

The Supreme Court of Canada Decision in the CALDECH (Desrochers) case and Analytical Grid

The Supreme Court of Canada (the Court) rendered its decision in the case of Desrochers v. Canada (the CALDECH case) in February 2009. The Court further defined the nature and scope of the principle of linguistic equality in the context of communications and the provision of services to the public by the federal government. Federal obligations in this matter stem from s. 20 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and Part IV of the Official Languages Act.

Treasury Board Responsibilities

Treasury Board (TB) has the responsibility for the general coordination of the policies and programs for Part IV (Communications with and Services to the Public), Part V (Language of Work) and Part VI (Participation of English Speaking and French Speaking Canadians) of the Official Languages Act (OLA). In the Roadmap for Canada's Linguistic Duality 2008-2013: Acting for the Future, which is the Government of Canada's renewed commitment to linguistic duality, the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer (OCHRO) plays a role in ensuring efficient governance to better serve Canadians.

Implications of the Decision

The Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer, in supporting the Treasury Board, has analyzed the decision in the CALDECH case. The Court has found that the development and implementation of identical services for each of the two official language communities does not necessarily result in substantive equality, depending on the nature of the service provided and its objectives. One can conclude from this decision that in order to meet obligations under Part IV of the Official Languages Act, existing services may sometimes have to be adapted to take into account the needs of the minority as well as those of the majority. In fact, the Court indicated that the ˝content of the principle of linguistic equality in government services is not necessarily uniform.˝

What emerges from this decision is that it is essential for federal institutions to be well informed about the specific needs and realities of the official language minority being served to be able to satisfy the principle of substantive equality as formulated by the Court. When the participation of the targeted community is required to develop or implement a service or program, or if the purpose of the service or program is community development, it is necessary to consult the official language minority to the same extent as the majority community.

Federal Institutions' Responsibilities

In order to implement the judgement of the Court, federal institutions subject to Part IV of the Official Languages Act and Treasury Board policies must:

  • Immediately start to review existing services and programs—especially those that require the participation of the target population for their development or implementation or that have to do with community development—to determine if they satisfy the principle of substantive equality. In the case of non-compliance, they must adapt the services to meet the needs of the minority;
  • Take into account the needs of the minority when putting in place a new service or program, or when modifying an existing service or program. This would apply especially in the case where the development or implementation of a given service or program requires the participation of the targeted community, or has to do with community development; and
  • Take into account the principle of substantive equality in strategic planning, in the development and assessment of policies and programs, as well as in program expenditure reviews.

In 2005 federal institutions were asked to conduct a review of their activities in light of their new obligations to take positive measures to implement the government's commitment to the development of Francophone and Anglophone minorities and for the promotion of both official languages in Canadian society (Part VII of the Official Languages Act). It is possible that some institutions have already conducted a similar exercise as outlined above with the perspective of implementing their obligations under Part VII. The findings and any adjustments made to programs as a result, could be considered for the purposes of this current review.

It should be kept in mind that while the two approaches may appear similar in their application, they respond to different legal obligations: federal institutions must take positive steps under Part VII but they retain a degree of discretion in terms of how they select these measures. On the other hand, federal institutions have to serve the Canadian public in both official languages, with substantive equality as the standard that is to be achieved in every case where Part IV applies.

This interpretation of the requirements of Part IV of the Official Languages Act, to be read in conjunction with the Policy on the Use of Official Languages for Communications with and Services to the Public, is based on the court's analysis of the principle of linguistic equality in the provision of government services in the CALDECH case.

Analytical Grid – Substantive Equality

An analytical grid has been created to assist Federal Institutions in applying the principle of substantive equality to their institutions' services and programs, including those delivered by a third party on behalf of the institutions. 

Each institution, while taking into account its mandate and diversity of programs and services, must determine the best way to proceed in implementing such a review. It should document the steps taken in order to be able to report on its results as required.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Décision de la Cour suprême du Canada dans l'affaire CALDECH (Desrochers) et grille d'analyse

La Cour suprême du Canada (la Cour) a rendu, en février 2009, sa décision dans l'affaire Desrochers c. Canada  (l'affaire CALDECH). La Cour a statué sur la nature et la portée du principe de l'égalité linguistique dans le contexte des communications et de la prestation des services au public par le gouvernement fédéral. Les obligations fédérales en la matière découlent de l'article 20 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et de la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

Responsabilités du Conseil du Trésor

Le Conseil du Trésor (CT) est chargé de la coordination générale des politiques et des programmes relatifs à la partie IV (Communications avec le public et prestation des services), la partie V (Langue de travail) et la partie VI (Participation des Canadiens d'expression française et d'expression anglaise) de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO). Dans la Feuille de route pour la dualité linguistique canadienne 2008-2013 : Agir pour l'avenir, qui est l'engagement renouvelé du gouvernement du Canada envers la dualité linguistique, le Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines (BDPRH) joue un rôle afin d'assurer une gouvernance efficace pour mieux servir les Canadiens.

Conséquences de la Décision

Dans le cadre de son appui au Conseil du Trésor, le Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines a analysé la décision dans l'affaire CALDECH. La Cour est arrivée à la conclusion que selon la nature du service offert et de ses objectifs, il se pourrait que l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre de services identiques pour chacune des deux communautés linguistiques de langue officielle ne permettent pas de réaliser l'égalité réelle. Il faut comprendre de ce jugement qu'il peut parfois être nécessaire pour s'acquitter des obligations de la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles d'adapter les services existants afin de tenir compte des besoins tant de la minorité que de la majorité. En effet, la Cour indique que « le contenu du principe de l'égalité linguistique en matière de services gouvernementaux n'est pas nécessairement uniforme ».

Il ressort de ce jugement qu'il est indispensable pour les institutions fédérales de bien connaître les besoins et les réalités particulières de la minorité de langue officielle desservie afin de pouvoir respecter le principe de l'égalité réelle tel que formulé par la Cour. Lorsqu'un service ou un programme requiert la participation de la population visée pour son élaboration ou sa mise en œuvre ou alors qu'il a pour objet le développement des collectivités, il importe de consulter la communauté minoritaire de langue officielle au même titre que la communauté majoritaire.

Responsabilités des institutions fédérales

Afin d'appliquer le jugement de la Cour, les institutions fédérales assujetties à la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles et aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor doivent :

  • commencer immédiatement à revoir leurs services et programmes existants – surtout  ceux qui requièrent la participation de la population visée pour leur élaboration ou leur mise en œuvre ou qui ont pour objet le développement des collectivités – afin de déterminer si ceux-ci respectent le principe de l'égalité réelle. En cas de non-respect, il faudra adapter les services aux besoins de la minorité.
  • prendre en considération les besoins de la minorité lors du développement d'un nouveau service ou programme, ou lors de la modification d'un service ou programme existant, surtout lorsque celui-ci requiert la participation de la population visée pour son élaboration ou sa mise en œuvre ou qu'il a pour objet le développement des collectivités.
  • prendre en considération le principe de l'égalité réelle dans la planification stratégique, l'élaboration et l'évaluation de politiques ou de programmes ainsi que dans le cadre de l'examen des dépenses de programmes.

Les institutions fédérales ont été invitées à mener un examen de leurs activités en 2005 à la lumière de leur nouvelle obligation de prendre des mesures positives pour mettre en œuvre l'engagement du gouvernement en matière de développement des minorités francophones et anglophones et de la mise en valeur des deux langues officielles dans la société canadienne (partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles). Il est donc possible que certaines institutions aient déjà mené un exercice similaire à celui décrit ici dans la perspective de mettre en œuvre leurs obligations liées à la partie VII. Les conclusions de cet exercice antérieur, et les ajustements de programmes auxquels il a peut-être donné lieu, pourraient être pris en considération aux fins de l'examen actuel.

Il convient de garder à l'esprit que les deux démarches peuvent se ressembler dans la pratique, mais qu'elles répondent à des obligations juridiques distinctes. Les institutions fédérales doivent en effet prendre des mesures positives en vertu de la partie VII, mais conservent une certaine discrétion dans la sélection de ces mesures. D'un autre côté, elles doivent servir le public canadien dans les deux langues officielles, l'égalité réelle étant la norme à atteindre, dans tous les cas où la partie IV le prescrit.

Cette interprétation des exigences de la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles, qui doit se lire conjointement avec la Politique sur l'utilisation des langues officielles pour les communications avec le public et la prestation des services, se fonde sur l'analyse que la Cour fait du principe de l'égalité linguistique et de sa mise en application dans l'affaire CALDECH.

Grille d'analyse – Égalité réelle

Une grille d'analyse a été créée pour permettre aux institutions fédérales d'appliquer le principe de l'égalité réelle aux services et programmes de leur institution, y compris ceux fournis par un tiers pour le compte des institutions.

Tout en tenant compte de son mandat et de la diversité de ses programmes et services, chaque institution doit déterminer la meilleure façon de procéder dans l'application d'un tel examen. Il convient de documenter les démarches effectuées afin d'être en mesure de faire état des résultats, le cas échéant.