Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada Committed to Cutting Red Tape: Reforms Bring $10 Million in Red Tape Relief to Canadian Business

For immediate release

January 21, 2013

Toronto – The Honourable Tony Clement, President of the Treasury Board, today announced new red tape relief for Canadian businesses as part of the Government of Canada’s commitment to support jobs, growth and long-term prosperity.

Minister Clement, on behalf of the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health, unveiled proposed changes to the Food and Drug Regulations that will reduce red tape for Canadian pharmacies, saving pharmacies an estimated $8.7 million per year in administrative costs. This reform will allow provincially regulated pharmacy technicians to transfer prescriptions to another pharmacy. The announcement is one of several red tape-cutting measures being announced by the Government of Canada today that will generate $10 million in annual savings for Canadian businesses.

“Cutting red tape and freeing businesses from unnecessary regulations so they can focus on creating jobs, innovating and growing is a key priority of our Government,” said Minister Clement. “This change will enable pharmacists to spend more time providing advice to and serving customers, while running their businesses.”

The change will allow regulated pharmacy technicians to oversee the transfer of prescriptions from one pharmacy to another—a task currently restricted to pharmacists—and to complete the associated paperwork. Some 15,000 community pharmacists across Canada could benefit from the amendment right away, which will take effect in three provinces this year—Alberta, British Columbia and Ontario.

“This amendment to the Food and Drug Regulations is a welcome step forward, and one that will enable pharmacists to focus more of their time on direct patient care,” said Dennis Darby, Chief Executive Officer of the Ontario Pharmacists’ Association. “As key members of the pharmacy team, pharmacy technicians need to be able to practise to their full scope so that pharmacists can provide the best, most efficient health care to patients.”

In addition to changes to the Food and Drug Regulations, two other reforms were unveiled today as part of the Government’s Red Tape Reduction Action Plan:

Launched in October 2012, the Red Tape Reduction Action Plan introduces systemic reforms to the federal regulatory system to limit regulatory creep and make the system more transparent, accountable and predictable. The Plan includes 90 department-specific changes to eliminate unnecessary paperwork and introduce time-saving measures, such as single windows and electronic submissions.

Laura Jones, Executive Vice-President of the Canadian Federation of Independent Business, applauded the Government’s red tape-cutting efforts. “The federal government continues to demonstrate an unprecedented commitment to reduce red tape. Millions of dollars that were spent complying with unnecessary rules can now be used to train staff, better serve customers, create jobs and grow businesses,” said Jones. “Continuing on this path promises huge rewards for all Canadians.”

“The Red Tape Reduction Action Plan is one of the most far-reaching red tape-cutting exercises in the world today,” said Minister Clement. “We are committed to making regulation as transparent, accountable and customer-friendly as possible so businesses and our economy can thrive.”

For more details on the Red Tape Reduction Action Plan, please visit the Red Tape Reduction Action Plan.

— 30 —

For more information, contact:

Matthew Conway
Press Secretary
Office of the President of the Treasury Board
613-957-2666

Media Relations
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
613-957-2640

If there is a discrepancy between any printed version and the electronic version of this document, the electronic version will prevail.

TTY (telecommunications device for the hearing impaired) – 613-957-9090

Follow us on Twitter: @TBS_Canada


Backgrounder

Prescription Transfers - New Rules

Convenience for Pharmacies and Consumers

Transferring a prescription from one pharmacy to another is a common event for Canadian consumers. The federal rules around this process should make it easy and convenient to do.

Recognizing a New Role for Regulated Pharmacy Technicians

A small change in the Food and Drug Regulations will be made to allow regulated pharmacy technicians to transfer prescriptions from one pharmacy to another and also to complete the associated paperwork, where this is permitted by provincial authorities.

Creating Efficiency

As part of an overall goal of modernizing regulations to meet Canadians needs, this change in the Food and Drug Regulations will remove the restriction requiring prescription transfers to be performed only by a pharmacist. This will free up pharmacists to spend more time providing support to patients and performing other duties that require a higher level of training. Since it will make it more efficient for a pharmacy to move prescriptions from one pharmacy to another, consumers will benefit.

Reducing Administrative Burden

Including regulated pharmacy technicians in the Food and Drug Regulations would be consistent with the existing and proposed provincial regulations to make better use of health professionals’ skills and reduce the administrative burden to community pharmacies and retailers that dispense prescriptions. While the same level of safety and oversight of prescription drugs will be maintained, pharmacies will have more opportunity for efficiencies.

Timelines

This proposed change was published for public consultation in the Canada Gazette Part 1 on December 22, 2012. Comments and feedback gathered during the consultation will be incorporated into a final version of the amendment.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à réduire le fardeau administratif : Les réformes permettent aux entreprises canadiennes d’économiser 10 millions de dollars en paperasserie

Pour diffusion immédiate

Le 21 janvier 2013

Toronto – L’honorable Tony Clement, président du Conseil du Trésor, a annoncé aujourd’hui un nouvel allègement du fardeau administratif pour les entreprises canadiennes dans le cadre de l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada relativement au soutien à l’emploi, à la croissance et à la prospérité à long terme.

Le ministre Clement, au nom de l’honorable Leona Aglukkaq, ministre de la Santé, a dévoilé les changements proposés au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, qui permettront de réduire le fardeau administratif des pharmacies canadiennes de l’ordre de 8,7 millions de dollars par année en coûts d’administration. Cette réforme permettra aux techniciens en pharmacie réglementés par les provinces de transférer des ordonnances à d’autres pharmacies. L’annonce n’est qu’une des mesures de réduction du fardeau administratif annoncées par le gouvernement du Canada aujourd’hui, mesures qui permettront d’économiser 10 millions de dollars par année aux entreprises canadiennes.

« Réduire la paperasserie et libérer les entreprises des règlements inutiles, pour qu’elles puissent se concentrer sur la création d’emplois, l’innovation et la croissance, est une priorité clé pour notre gouvernement, a dit le ministre Clement. Ce changement permettra aux pharmaciens de passer plus de temps à donner des conseils et à servir les clients, tout en gérant leur entreprise. »

Le changement permettra aux techniciens en pharmacie réglementés de surveiller le transfert des ordonnances d’une pharmacie à une autre – une tâche actuellement réservée aux pharmaciens – et de remplir la paperasserie connexe. Environ 15 000 pharmaciens communautaires du Canada pourraient profiter de la modification immédiatement; celle-ci entrera en vigueur cette année dans trois provinces : l’Alberta, la Colombie-Britannique et l’Ontario.

« Nous accueillons favorablement cette modification du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, car elle permettra aux pharmaciens de consacrer le temps nécessaire aux soins directs aux patients, a déclaré Dennis Darby, président‑directeur général de l’Ontario Pharmacists’ Association. Les techniciens en pharmacie, en tant que membres importants de l’équipe, doivent pouvoir utiliser pleinement leurs compétences afin que les pharmaciens consacrent plus de temps à la prestation de soins directs aux patients. »

En plus des changements apportés au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, deux autres réformes ont été dévoilées aujourd’hui dans le cadre du Plan d’action pour la réduction du fardeau administratif du gouvernement :

Lancé en octobre 2012, le Plan d’action pour la réduction du fardeau administratif propose des réformes du système de réglementation fédéral dans le but de limiter le gonflement de la réglementation et de rendre le système plus transparent, responsable et prévisible. Le Plan inclut 90 changements propres à un ministère qui visent à éliminer la paperasserie inutile et à présenter des mesures qui permettent de gagner du temps, comme les guichets uniques et la présentation de documents par voie électronique.

Laura Jones, vice-présidente exécutive de la Fédération canadienne de l’entreprise indépendante, a félicité le gouvernement pour ses efforts de réduction du fardeau administratif. « Le gouvernement fédéral continue de démontrer qu’il est plus résolu que jamais à réduire le fardeau administratif. Des millions de dollars qui étaient dépensés pour respecter des règles inutiles pourront maintenant être utilisés pour former le personnel, mieux servir les clients, créer des emplois et favoriser la croissance des entreprises, a dit Mme Jones. Si l’on continue sur cette voie, cela sera extrêmement profitable pour tous les Canadiens. »

Le ministre Clement a déclaré : « Le Plan d’action pour la réduction du fardeau administratif est l’un des exercices les plus ambitieux de réduction du fardeau administratif dans le monde aujourd’hui. Nous sommes résolus à rendre la réglementation la plus transparente, responsable et simple possible pour assurer la prospérité des entreprises et de notre économie. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Plan d’action pour la réduction du fardeau administratif, veuillez consulter le Plan d'action pour la réduction du fardeau administratif.

— 30 —

Renseignements supplémentaires :

Matthew Conway
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du président du Conseil du Trésor
613-957-2666

Relations avec les médias
Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
613-957-2640

S'il y a incompatibilité entre une version imprimée et la version électronique de ce document, la version électronique prévaut.

ATME (appareil de télécommunication pour les malentendants) – 613-957-9090

Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @SCT_Canada


Fiche d'information

Transfert d’ordonnances – nouvelles règles

Commodité pour les pharmacies et les consommateurs

Le transfert d’une ordonnance d’une pharmacie à une autre est monnaie courante pour les consommateurs canadiens. Les règles fédérales régissant ce processus devraient faciliter les choses.

Reconnaissance d’un nouveau rôle pour les techniciens réglementés de pharmacie

Une petite modification sera apportée au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues pour permettre aux techniciens réglementés de pharmacie de transférer les ordonnances d’une pharmacie à une autre et de remplir aussi les formalités associées là où les autorités provinciales le permettent.

Source d’efficacité

Dans le cadre de l’objectif global qui consiste à moderniser les règlements pour répondre aux besoins des Canadiens, cette modification au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues supprimera la restriction exigeant que les transferts d’ordonnances ne soient effectués que par un pharmacien. Cela libérera les pharmaciens qui pourront consacrer plus de temps à aider les patients et à remplir d’autres tâches qui nécessitent une formation plus poussée. Puisqu’il sera plus efficace pour une pharmacie de transférer les ordonnances à une autre pharmacie, les consommateurs en bénéficieront.

Réduction du fardeau administratif

Le fait d’inclure les techniciens réglementés de pharmacie au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues sera conforme aux règlements provinciaux actuels et proposés visant à mieux tirer profit des compétences des professionnels de la santé et à réduire le fardeau administratif pesant sur les pharmacies et les détaillants communautaires qui vendent des médicaments d’ordonnance. Le même niveau de sécurité et de surveillance des médicaments d’ordonnance sera maintenu, et les pharmacies auront plus d’occasions de réaliser des gains d’efficience.

Échéancier

Ce projet de modification a été publié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 22 décembre 2012 pour consultation publique. Les observations et les commentaires recueillis pendant la consultation seront incorporés dans la version définitive de la modification.