Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Minister Day Announces Expansion of Open Government

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release

March 18, 2011

Backgrounder

Ottawa – The Honourable Stockwell Day, President of the Treasury Board and Minister for the Asia–Pacific Gateway, today issued a statement on expanding open government in Canada, and announced specific commitments related to open information and open dialogue.

The expansion of open government is being pursued through these three main streams:

  • Open Data, which is about offering Government data in more useful and machine-readable formats to enable citizens, the private sector and non-government organizations to leverage it in innovative and value-added ways.
  • Open Information, which is about proactively releasing information, including on Government activities, to Canadians on an ongoing basis.  It is about proactively making Government information easier to find and accessible for Canadians.
  • Open Dialogue, which is about giving Canadians a stronger say in Government policies and priorities, and expanding engagement through Web 2.0 technologies.

"The Government of Canada has long been a leader in making information available to its citizens," said Minister Day. "With the expansion of Open Government, our government is making a strong, public commitment to continue on this path."

Open Information will link Canadians with innovative new tools on the Web such as Working in Canada, an innovative portal that Canadians can use to get information on jobs, training, salary, locations, certification and more!

Today, the Working in Canada portal is introducing a new set of tools that provide valuable labour market information for high school and post-secondary students trying to decide what training and education they will require for a wide variety of fields or where education backgrounds can take them in the workforce.

Open Information, like Open Data and Open Dialogue, will continue to add valuable Web 2.0 tools for a wide range of topics including Come to Canada, a Citizenship and Immigration Canada tool designed to help people who want to come to live and work in Canada.  Come to Canada is expected to launch this spring.

Additionally, over the next few months, all departments and agencies subject to the Access to Information Act will be expected to move toward proactively posting summaries of completed access to information requests.  One of the intentions of Open Information is to post completed access to information requests online.  In future, documents could be pre-assessed as they are created in order to better understand what can be released under Access to Information.  Currently, this often takes many months and can delay the releasing of information under Access to Information.  The Government will also explore, through a pilot project, the posting to a virtual library of completed reports commissioned by the Government.

The Harper Government is also providing greater opportunities for Canadians to participate in a two-way consultation process through Open Dialogue. For example, the Government has launched a number of online consultations, such as the Border Action Plan consultation and the National Dialogue on Healthy Weights.  Open Dialogue provides pathways for Canadians to provide and receive feedback directly with Government officials.

"Open Dialogue gives Canadians a stronger say in Government policies and priorities, and empowers citizens to participate more directly in the decision‑making process," said Minister Day.

These activities are detailed at www.open.gc.ca, where the Government will continue to identify Open Government initiatives.

This commitment to open government is part of the Harper Government's ongoing efforts to foster greater openness and accountability, to strengthen the Democratic Reform agenda and to drive innovation and economic opportunities for all Canadians.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Jay Denney
Director of Communications
Office of the President of the Treasury Board and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway
613-952-5051

Media Relations
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
613-957-2640

If there is a discrepancy between any printed version and the electronic version of this document, the electronic version will prevail.

TTY (Telecommunications device for the hearing impaired) - (613) 957-9090


Backgrounder

Open Government

On March 18, 2011, the Harper Government issued a statement outlining its commitment to expanding open government.

The expansion of open government is being pursued through these three main streams:

  • Open Data, which is about offering Government data in a more useful and machine- readable format to enable citizens, the private sector and non-government organizations to leverage it in innovative and value-added ways.
  • Open Information, which is about proactively releasing information, including on Government activities, to Canadians on an ongoing basis. By proactively making Government information available, it will be easier to find and more accessible for Canadians.
  • Open Dialogue, which is about giving Canadians a stronger say in Government policies and priorities, and expanding engagement through Web 2.0 technologies.

The Harper Government is committed to fostering open government by offering Canadians greater opportunities to learn about and participate in government, in the economy and in our democratic process.

To enhance transparency and accountability to Canadians, all departments and agencies are expected to take action to advance the commitment to open government as follows:

Open Data

The Open Data Portal is part of our efforts to drive innovation and economic opportunities for all Canadians. With this site, application developers can reuse data for commercial, research or community purposes to benefit Canadians in a variety of ways.

All departments and agencies are expected to help advance our commitment to open data and will work diligently to publish more Government datasets online.

Open Information

Canada was one of the first countries to enact access to information legislation almost three decades ago. In 2006, the Government of Canada expanded coverage through the 2006 Federal Accountability Act. Canada has also led the way in proactively disclosing information about contracts, grants and contributions, and posting hospitality and travel expenses on the Web.

All institutions subject to the Access to Information Act will be expected to move toward publishing summaries of completed access to information (ATI) requests in both official languages on their websites.

Minister Day intends to look at making changes such as:

  • posting summaries of completed ATI requests online (or the entire package itself)
  • allowing ATI requests and payments to be made online
  • pre-assessing documents as they are created, to determine what can be released under ATI and what should be withheld
  • streamlining procedures for cross-department consultation; this often takes many months, and delays the release of material under ATI
  • piloting the posting of reports commissioned by the Government to a virtual library

In addition to the ATI measures above, Open Information will make information that is available easier to find and more accessible for Canadians. This includes a wide range of topics including labour markets, immigration, education and more.

Open Dialogue

Open Dialogue is about giving Canadians a stronger say in Government policies and priorities, and empowering citizens to participate more directly in the decision-making process.

All departments and agencies are expected to help advance our commitment to open dialogue and will work diligently to ensure Canadians are more aware of their opportunities to participate in consultation processes that are of interest to them and to use new technologies to obtain feedback. This will involve the systematic posting of consultations on the Consulting Canadians website  (www.consultingcanadians.gc.ca).

These activities are detailed at www.open.gc.ca, where the Government will continue to identify Open Government initiatives.

This commitment to open government is part of the Government of Canada's efforts to foster greater openness and accountability, to strengthen the Democratic Reform agenda and to drive innovation and economic opportunities for all Canadians.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Le ministre Day annonce le renforcement du gouvernement ouvert

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Pour diffusion immédiate

Le 18 mars 2011

Fiche d'information

Ottawa – L'honorable Stockwell Day, président du Conseil du Trésor et ministre de la porte d'entrée de l'Asie-Pacifique, a émis aujourd'hui une déclaration sur le renforcement du gouvernement ouvert au Canada et a annoncé des engagements précis sur l'information accessible et le dialogue ouvert.

Le renforcement du gouvernement ouvert s'effectue dans le cadre de trois grands volets :

  • Les données ouvertes qui consistent à présenter les données gouvernementales dans un format plus convivial et dans des formats lisibles par machine afin que les citoyens, le secteur privé et les organismes non gouvernementaux puissent les utiliser de façon novatrice et améliorée.
  • L'information accessible qui consiste à divulguer de manière proactive de l'information aux Canadiens de façon continue, notamment de l'information sur les activités du gouvernement. Il s'agit de rendre, de manière proactive, l'information gouvernementale plus facile à trouver et plus accessible aux Canadiens.
  • Le dialogue ouvert qui consiste à donner aux Canadiens plus de voix au chapitre des politiques et des priorités du gouvernement et d'accroître leur engagement en tirant parti des technologies Web 2.0.

« Depuis longtemps, le gouvernement du Canada est un pionnier dans le domaine de l'accès de ses citoyens à l'information, a précisé le ministre Day. Le renforcement du gouvernement ouvert illustre bien notre engagement public de continuer dans cette voie. »

L'information accessible reliera les Canadiens au moyen de nouveaux outils novateurs sur le Web, comme Travailler au Canada − un portail novateur que les Canadiens peuvent consulter pour obtenir plus d'informations sur les emplois, la formation, les salaires, les lieux de travail, les attestations et plus encore!

Aujourd'hui, le portail Travailler au Canada présente une nouvelle trousse d'outils qui fournit de précieuses informations sur le marché du travail à l'intention des étudiants de niveau secondaire et postsecondaire, afin de les aider à choisir la formation et les études qui sont nécessaires dans une grande variété de domaines ou les domaines dans lesquels leurs études pourront les mener sur le marché du travail.

Au moyen de l'information accessible, comme des données ouvertes et du dialogue ouvert, on continuera d'ajouter de précieux outils du Web 2.0 qui couvriront de nombreux sujets, dont S'installer au Canada − un outil de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada conçu pour les personnes qui veulent venir vivre et travailler au Canada. Le lancement de cet outil est prévu pour ce printemps.

De plus, au cours des prochains mois, tous les ministères et organismes assujettis à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information devront afficher, de manière proactive, les sommaires des demandes d'accès à l'information traitées. L'un des buts de l'information accessible est d'afficher en ligne des demandes d'accès à l'information traitées. À l'avenir, les documents pourraient être préévalués à mesure qu'ils sont préparés afin que l'on puisse mieux déterminer ce qui peut être communiqué dans le cadre de l'accès à l'information. Présentement, cet exercice prend souvent plusieurs mois et peut retarder la diffusion de l'information en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Le gouvernement examinera, dans le cadre d'un projet pilote, l'affichage dans une bibliothèque virtuelle de rapports complets commandés par le gouvernement.

Le gouvernement Harper fournit aussi aux Canadiens, au moyen du dialogue ouvert, de plus grandes possibilités de participer à un processus de consultation à deux sens. Par exemple, le gouvernement a lancé un certain nombre de processus de consultation en ligne, tels le Plan d'action frontalier et le Dialogue national sur le poids santé. Le dialogue ouvert permet aux Canadiens d'exprimer leurs commentaires directement à des représentants gouvernementaux et d'en recevoir de ces derniers.

« Le dialogue ouvert donne aux Canadiens plus de voix au chapitre des politiques et des priorités du gouvernement et leur permet de participer plus directement au processus décisionnel », a déclaré le ministre Day.

Des précisions sur ces activités sont disponibles sur le site www.ouvert.gc.ca, où le gouvernement continuera d'afficher les initiatives liées au gouvernement ouvert.

Cet engagement continu à l'égard du gouvernement ouvert s'inscrit dans le cadre des efforts soutenus du gouvernement Harper en vue de favoriser une plus grande transparence et responsabilisation, de renforcer le Programme de réforme démocratique et de stimuler l'innovation et les débouchés économiques pour tous les Canadiens.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jay Denney
Directeur des Communications
Cabinet du président du Conseil du Trésor et ministre de la porte d'entrée de l'Asie-Pacifique
613-952-5051

Relations avec les médias
Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
613-957-2640

S'il y a divergence entre une version imprimée et la version électronique du présent communiqué, la version électronique prévaudra.

ATS (Appareil de télécommunications pour les malentendants) - 613-957-9090


Fiche d'information

Gouvernement ouvert

Le 18 mars 2011, le gouvernement Harper a émis une déclaration soulignant son engagement à l'égard du renforcement du gouvernement ouvert.

Le renforcement du gouvernement ouvert s'effectue dans le cadre de trois grands volets :

  • Les données ouvertes qui consistent à présenter les données gouvernementales dans un format plus convivial et dans des formats lisibles par machine afin que les citoyens, les organisations du secteur privé et les organismes non gouvernementaux puissent les utiliser de façon novatrice et améliorée.
  • L'information accessible qui consiste à divulguer aux Canadiens l'information de manière proactive et continue, notamment de l'information sur les activités du gouvernement. Il s'agit de rendre, de manière proactive, l'information gouvernementale plus facile à trouver et plus accessible aux Canadiens.
  • Le dialogue ouvert qui consiste à donner aux Canadiens plus de voix au chapitre des politiques et des priorités du gouvernement et d'accroître leur engagement en tirant parti des technologies Web 2.0.

Le gouvernement Harper s'est engagé à promouvoir un gouvernement ouvert en offrant aux Canadiens des possibilités accrues de s'informer au sujet des rouages du gouvernement, de l'économie et de notre processus démocratique, et d'y participer.

Pour améliorer la transparence et la responsabilisation aux yeux des Canadiens, tous les ministères et organismes doivent prendre des mesures pour faire progresser l'engagement à l'égard du gouvernement ouvert, dont, entre autres :

Les données ouvertes

Le Portail de données ouvertes s'inscrit dans le cadre des efforts du gouvernement du Canada en vue de stimuler l'innovation et de créer des débouchés économiques pour tous les Canadiens. Grâce à ce site, les développeurs d'applications peuvent réutiliser les données à des fins commerciales, pour la recherche ou des services communautaires, ce qui profitera à toute la population canadienne de diverses façons.

Tous les ministères et organismes devraient nous aider à faire progresser notre engagement en matière de données ouvertes et ils travailleront avec diligence pour publier davantage d'ensembles de données du gouvernement en ligne.

L'information accessible

Le Canada a été l'un des premiers pays à adopter une loi sur l'accès à l'information, il y a près de trois décennies, et nous avons nettement accru la portée de celle-ci grâce à la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité de 2006. Notre gouvernement a également amélioré la divulgation proactive de l'information sur les contrats, les subventions et les contributions, et sur les dépenses d'accueil et de voyage sur le Web.

Toutes les institutions assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information devront afficher, sur leur site Web et dans les deux langues officielles, les sommaires des demandes d'accès à l'information traitées.

Le ministre Day entend faire des changements tels que :

  • afficher en ligne les sommaires des demandes d'accès à l'information traitées (ou l'ensemble même des documents) ;
  • permettre que les demandes d'accès à l'information et les paiements des frais relatifs à ces demandes soient effectués en ligne;
  • préévaluer les documents à mesure qu'ils sont créés pour déterminer ce qui peut être communiqué dans le cadre de l'accès à l'information et ce qui ne peut l'être;
  • simplifier les procédures concernant la consultation entre ministères; cet exercice prend parfois des mois et retarde la diffusion des documents en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information;
  • réaliser un projet pilote sur l'affichage dans une bibliothèque virtuelle des rapports commandés par le gouvernement.

En plus des mesures concernant l'accès à l'information ci-dessus, l'information sera plus facile à trouver et plus accessible pour les Canadiens grâce à l'information accessible. Celle-ci porte sur un grand éventail de sujets notamment le marché du travail, l'immigration, les études et bien davantage.

Le dialogue ouvert

Le dialogue ouvert permettra aux Canadiens d'intervenir davantage dans les politiques et les priorités du gouvernement et de participer de façon plus directe au processus décisionnel.

Tous les ministères et organismes devront aider à faire progresser notre engagement à l'égard du dialogue ouvert et ils travailleront avec diligence pour s'assurer que les Canadiens sont davantage conscients de leurs possibilités de participer aux processus de consultation qui présentent de l'intérêt pour eux, et ils utiliseront les nouvelles technologies pour recueillir des commentaires. L'affichage systématique de toutes les consultations sera alors en vigueur sur le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens. (www.consultingcanadians.gc.ca).

Des précisions sur ces activités se trouvent sur le site www.ouvert.gc.ca, où le gouvernement continuera d'afficher les initiatives liées au gouvernement ouvert.

Cet engagement à l'égard du gouvernement ouvert s'inscrit dans le cadre des efforts du gouvernement du Canada en vue de favoriser une plus grande transparence et responsabilisation, de renforcer le Programme de réforme démocratique et de stimuler l'innovation et les débouchés économiques pour tous les Canadiens.