Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Tabling of the 2009-10 Supplementary Estimates (A)

Warning This page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release

May 14, 2009

Backgrounder - Supplementary Estimates (A)

Ottawa – The Honourable Vic Toews, President of the Treasury Board, today tabled the 2009-10 Supplementary Estimates (A) in the House of Commons.

"Within two months of tabling our Economic Action Plan, we have received nearly all the necessary authorities for funds to flow, including $10 billion through the Budget Implementation Act which was introduced and passed in record time," said Minister Toews.

"Through these Supplementary Estimates, the Government continues to move forward with our priorities announced in Budget 2009 including our Economic Action Plan," he added. "Our Economic Action Plan is our plan to help Canadians weather the global economic recession, to stimulate our economy and to invest in our long-term prosperity."

The 2009-10 Supplementary Estimates (A) seek parliamentary authority to spend $5 billion in voted budgetary expenditures of which $1.6 billion is in direct support of the implementation of the Economic Action Plan and $3.4 billion is for other government priorities, such as the Canadian mission in Afghanistan and support to Canadians farmers.

They also provide information related to $53.8 billion in statutory expenditures that have been authorized by Parliament through enabling legislation. Of this amount, $50 billion is an increase to the Insured Mortgage Purchase Program of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, as announced in Budget 2009. This will provide lenders with stable long-term financing so that they can continue lending to Canadian consumers and businesses, which in turn will help to create jobs and stimulate the economy.

The Government is also reporting on the use of Vote 35, a funding mechanism made available through 2009-10 Main Estimates. These Supplementary Estimates include information related to nearly $2 billion in allocations from Vote 35 to provide bridge funding to Economic Action Plan initiatives that were ready to move forward in advance of the usual supply process schedule.  Vote 35 is available to departments until June 30th 2009.

Please refer to the attached backgrounder for more details on the 2009-10 Supplementary Estimates (A). The Supplementary Estimates and related documents are posted on the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat Web site.

- 30 -

For more information, contact:

Christine Csversko
Director of Communications
Office of the President of the Treasury Board
(613) 957-2666

Robert Makichuk
Chief, Media Relations
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
(613) 957-2391

If there is a discrepancy between any printed version and the electronic version of this document, the electronic version will prevail.

TTY (Telecommunications device for the hearing impaired) - (613) 957-9090


14 May, 2009

Backgrounder - Supplementary Estimates (A)

Overview

For the second year in a row, Supplementary Estimates (A) are being introduced in the spring, instead of the fall, to provide funding earlier in support of budget priorities.

This allows the Government of Canada to move forward quickly on priorities from Budget 2009 and on initiatives outlined in the Economic Action Plan.

The 2009-10 Supplementary Estimates (A) seek Parliament's approval of $5.3 billion in budgetary and non-budgetary expenditures that were already planned for in Budget 2009, but were not sufficiently developed or advanced in approvals to be included in the 2009-10 Main Estimates. They do not represent an increase to spending included in that plan.

They also provide information to Parliament about an increase of $53.8 billion in statutory spending (expenditures that have been authorized by Parliament through enabling legislation). This includes a $50 billion increase to the Insured Mortgage Purchase Program of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation announced in Budget 2009 and includes $3.8B for other statutory increases.

In total, Supplementary Estimates (A) provide information on $59.1 billion in expenditures.

Budgetary Expenditures

Budgetary expenditures include cost of servicing the public debt; operating and capital expenditures; transfer payments to other levels of government, organizations or individuals; and payments to Crown corporations.

Non-Budgetary Expenditures

Non-budgetary expenditures (loans, investments and advances) are expenditures that represent changes in the composition of the financial assets of the Government of Canada.

Table 1 provides a financial overview of these Supplementary Estimates.

Table 1 – Total Supplementary Estimates ($ millions)

  Budgetary Non-Budgetary Total
Voted Appropriations 5,005.1 247.8 5,252.9
Statutory Authorities 1,552.1 52,271.8 53,823.9
Total 6,557.2 52,519.6 59,076.8

Spending in the Supplementary Estimates is consistent with the fiscal framework established in the January 2009 Budget.

Economic Action Plan Funding ($ billions)

  Allocated
To-date
Total
Economic Action Plan stimulus over two years   $39.9
Economic Action Plan stimulus 2009-10   $22.7
Budget Implementation Act funding and tax measures $10.0  
Ways and Means and other tax authorities 3.5  
Vote 35 1.8  
Economic Action Plan initiatives within  2009-10

Supplementary Estimates A
1.6  
Loan Authorities (as of March 10) 3.7  
Sub-total $20.6 $20.6
Pending Economic Action Plan measures to be funded through Vote 35 or subsequent Supplementary Estimates this fiscal year.   $2.1

The Estimates Process

These 2009-10 Supplementary Estimates (A) are fully consistent with Budget 2009 and other decisions confirmed and approved by Cabinet. Supplementary Estimates are part of the normal parliamentary approval process to ensure previously planned government initiatives receive the necessary funding to move forward and meet the needs of Canadians.

Supplementary Estimates documents present information to Parliament on the Government of Canada's spending requirements which were not sufficiently developed in time for inclusion in the Main Estimates. They are tabled in Parliament approximately one month in advance of the related Appropriation Act which authorizes the actual release of funds. This period is intended to provide the various Standing Committees of Parliament with sufficient time to review proposed spending plans before introduction of the Appropriation Act.

Supplementary Estimates are published each year; each is identified alphabetically (A, B, C, etc.). This is the second year in a row that the government is tabling Supplementary Estimates (A) in mid-May to provide federal organizations with the funding they need earlier in the year.  Supplementary Estimates (B) follow in late October and Supplementary Estimates (C) in mid-February if required.  

The Estimates are part of the yearly Reporting Cycle on government spending. The Budget and the Estimates, in conjunction with the Economic and Fiscal Update, reflect the Government's annual resource planning and allocation priorities. The subsequent reporting of financial results in the Public Accounts of Canada, as well as in Departmental Performance Reports, help Parliament hold the Government of Canada to account for the allocation and management of public funds.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Dépôt du budget supplémentaire des dépenses (a)

Avertissement Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Pour diffusion immédiate

Le 14 mai 2009

Fiche d'information - Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A)

Ottawa – L'honorable Vic Toews, président du Conseil du Trésor, a déposé aujourd'hui le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) de 2009-2010 à la Chambre des communes.

« En seulement deux mois, depuis le dépôt de notre Plan d'action économique, nous avons obtenu presque toutes les autorisations nécessaires pour verser les fonds, notamment 10 milliards de dollars en vertu de la Loi d'exécution du budget, qui a été déposée et adoptée en un temps record », a déclaré le ministre Toews.

« Au moyen de ce Budget supplémentaire des dépenses, le gouvernement continue à aller de l'avant avec les priorités annoncées dans le Budget de 2009, notamment notre Plan d'action économique.», a-t-il ajouté. « Notre Plan d'action économique est notre plan pour aider les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à traverser la récession économique mondiale, stimuler l'économie et investir afin d'assurer notre prospérité économique à long terme.»

Le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) de 2009-2010 vise à obtenir l'autorisation du Parlement de consacrer 5 milliards de dollars à des dépenses budgétaires en crédits approuvés, dont 1,6 milliard de dollars qui appuie directement la mise en œuvre du Plan d'action économique et 3,4 milliards de dollars destinés à d'autres priorités gouvernementales, telles que la mission du Canada en Afghanistan et l'aide aux agriculteurs canadiens. 

Le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) fournit aussi de l'information sur des dépenses législatives de 53,8 milliards de dollars qui ont été autorisées par le Parlement en vertu de lois habilitantes. De ce montant, 50 milliards de dollars représentent une augmentation au titre du Programme d'achat de prêts hypothécaires assurés de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, annoncé dans le Budget de 2009. Ce programme accorde aux prêteurs un financement stable à long terme pour qu'ils puissent continuer à consentir des prêts aux entreprises et aux consommateurs canadiens, ce qui, à son tour, crée des emplois et stimule l'économie.   

De plus, le gouvernement rend compte de l'utilisation du crédit 35, un mécanisme de financement rendu accessible dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2009-2010. Le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) renferme de l'information sur des affectations de près de 2 milliards de dollars provenant du crédit 35 qui vise à offrir un financement temporaire pour les initiatives du Plan d'action économique prêtes à démarrer avant que le processus habituel d'attribution des crédits ne soit complété. Les ministères peuvent recourir au crédit 35 jusqu'au 30 juin 2009.

Veuillez consulter la fiche d'information ci-jointe pour obtenir plus de détails sur le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) de 2009-2010. Le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses et les documents connexes sont affichés sur le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

- 30 -

Renseignements supplémentaires :

Christine Csversko
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du président du Conseil du Trésor
613-957-2666

Robert Makichuk
Chef, Relations avec les médias Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
613-957-2391

S'il y a divergence entre une version imprimée et la version électronique du présent communiqué, la version électronique prévaudra.

ATS (Appareil de télécommunications pour les malentendants) - 613-957-9090


Le 14 mai 2009

Fiche d'information - Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A)

Aperçu

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) est déposé au printemps plutôt qu'à l'automne afin de pouvoir accorder plus tôt les crédits à l'appui des priorités énoncées dans le budget. Le gouvernement du Canada peut ainsi mettre rapidement en œuvre les priorités du Budget de 2009et les initiatives décrites dans le Plan d'action économique.

Le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) de 2009-2010 vise à demander au Parlement d'approuver des dépenses budgétaires et non budgétaires de 5,3 milliards de dollars qui étaient déjà prévues dans le Budget de 2009, mais qui n'étaient pas suffisamment élaborées ou approuvées au moment du dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses de 2009-2010. Il ne représente pas une augmentation aux dépenses mentionnées dans ce plan. 

Le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) fournit aussi de l'information au Parlement sur une augmentation de 53,8 milliards de dollars des dépenses législatives, dépenses qui ont été autorisées par le Parlement en vertu de lois habilitantes. Ce montant comprend une augmentation de 50 milliards de dollars au titre du Programme d'achat de prêts hypothécaires assurés de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, annoncé dans le Budget de 2009 ainsi que d'autres augmentations législatives de 3,8 milliards de dollars. 

En somme, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) fournit de l'information sur des dépenses de 59,1 milliards de dollars. 

Dépenses budgétaires

Les dépenses budgétaires comprennent les frais de service de la dette publique, les dépenses de fonctionnement et de capital, les paiements de transfert à d'autres niveaux de gouvernement, organismes ou particuliers, et les paiements aux sociétés d'État.

Dépenses non budgétaires

Les dépenses non budgétaires (prêts, investissements et avances) représentent des modifications de la composition des actifs financiers du gouvernement du Canada.

Le Tableau 1 donne un aperçu financier du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses.

Tableau 1 – Total du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (en millions de dollars)

  Dépenses budgétaires Dépenses non budgétaires Total
Crédits approuvés 5 005,1 247,8 5 252,9
Autorisations législatives 1 552,1 52 271,8 53 823,9
Total 6 557,2 52 519,6 59 076,8

Les dépenses figurant dans ce Budget supplémentaire des dépenses sont conformes au cadre financier établi dans le budget de janvier 2009.

Financement prévu dans le Plan d'action économique (en milliards de dollars)

  Montant alloué à
ce jour
Total
Fonds de stimulation du Plan d'action économique sur deux ans   39,9 $
Fonds de stimulation du Plan d'action économique pour 2009-2010   22,7 $
Financement et mesures fiscales de la Loi d'exécution du budget 10,0 $  
Voies et moyens et autres autorités fiscales 3,5  
Crédit 35 1,8  
Initiatives du Plan d'action économique dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses A 2009-2010 1,6  
Autorisations de prêts (en date du 10 mars) 3,7  
Sous-total 20,6 $ 20,6 $
Les mesures du Plan d'action économique à financer au moyen du crédit 35 ou des prochains Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses au cours du présent exercice.   2,1 $

Le processus d'établissement du Budget des dépenses

Le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) de 2009-2010 est parfaitement conforme au Budget de 2009 et à d'autres décisions confirmées et approuvées par le Cabinet. Le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses fait partie du processus normal d'approbation parlementaire qui fait en sorte que les initiatives gouvernementales approuvées auparavant bénéficient des fonds nécessaires pour être mises en œuvre et répondre aux besoins des Canadiens.

Les documents du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses présentent au Parlement de l'information sur les besoins de dépenses du gouvernement du Canada qui n'étaient pas suffisamment élaborés au moment du dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses. Ils sont déposés au Parlement environ un mois avant le projet de loi de crédits connexe qui autorise la dépense des fonds. Ce délai donne aux divers comités permanents du Parlement suffisamment de temps pour examiner les dépenses proposées avant le dépôt du projet de loi de crédits.

Les documents des Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses sont publiés chaque année; ilssont désignés par ordre alphabétique (A, B, C, etc.). C'est la deuxième année que le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) est déposé à la mi-mai pour permettre d'accorder aux organismes fédéraux le financement dont ils ont besoin plus tôt dans l'année. Le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) suivra à la fin d'octobre et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (C) à la mi-février, s'il y a lieu.

Le Budget des dépensesfait partie du cycle d'établissement de rapports annuel sur les dépenses du gouvernement. Le Budget et le Budget des dépenses, conjointement avec la Mise à jour économique et financière, montrent la planification budgétaire annuelle du gouvernement et les priorités en affectation des ressources. La présentation subséquente de résultats financiers dans les Comptes publics du Canada ainsi que les Rapports ministériels sur le rendement aident le Parlement à tenir le gouvernement du Canada responsable de l'affectation et de la gestion des fonds publics.