Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat Organization

The Secretariat is organized into the following branches and sectors:

Office of the Comptroller General

The Comptroller General of Canada is responsible for providing functional direction and assurance government-wide for financial management, internal audit, investment planning, procurement, project management, and the management of real property and materiel.

The Office of the Comptroller General supports the Comptroller General of Canada by working to ensure that sound policies, standards and practices are in place; by overseeing performance and compliance across the federal government; and by maintaining and building vibrant professional communities through a range of recruitment and development activities.

Related links:

Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer

The Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer (OCHRO) supports the Treasury Board in its role as the employer by driving excellence in people management and ensuring the appropriate degree of consistency across the public service. OCHRO fulfills this mandate in a manner that is compatible with primary deputy head accountability and responsibility.

Related links:

Expenditure Management Sector

The Expenditure Management Sector (EMS) provides a central focus for the functions that support and strengthen the Secretariat's role in the government's broader expenditure management system. EMS's work covers the entire expenditure management cycle—from expenditure analysis, forecasting and expenditure management strategies, policies and operations through to results-based management, evaluation, strategic reviews, Estimates production, accountability, and reporting to Parliament.

EMS plays a strong integration role in planning and coordinating expenditure management initiatives and in providing a whole-of-government perspective on matters related to the management of direct program spending and compensation within the federal government.

Related links:

Government Operations Sector

The Government Operations Sector supports the Treasury Board in its role as management board and budget office. The Sector provides analysis and advice on management capacity and risks, strategic resource allocation, and effective program design in a portfolio that includes central agencies, Agents of Parliament, many Crown corporations and Public Works and Government Services Canada. As well, the Sector provides policy advice and analysis on corporate governance to Crown corporations and the small agency community.

Chief Information Officer Branch

The Chief Information Officer Branch (CIOB) provides strategic direction and leadership in the pursuit of excellence in information management, information technology, security, privacy and access to information across the Government of Canada. To facilitate this work, CIOB also provides support and guidance on capacity building and project management and oversight.

Related links:

Priorities and Planning

Priorities and Planning (P&P) is responsible for key policy and planning activities that underpin both government-wide management excellence and efficient and effective corporate governance within the Secretariat. Specifically, P&P works with all departmental sectors to ensure that Treasury Board policy advice is coordinated and consistent. It does so by playing both an integrative role and a challenge function in advancing the strategic management priorities of the Secretary and the President of the Treasury Board. P&P also provides leadership for governance and planning processes within the Secretariat to ensure coherence in corporate priorities, progress on key files, clear accountabilities, and continuous improvement.

Related links:

Social and Cultural Sector

The Social and Cultural Sector supports the Treasury Board in its role as management board of the Government of Canada and as budget office in the government-wide expenditure cycle. As such, the Sector performs due diligence reviews of Memoranda to Cabinet and Treasury Board submissions from federal organizations and provides advice to the Treasury Board regarding resource allocation, risks, and policy compliance. This work supports sound decision making, value for money, compliance with rules and policies, and alignment with Government of Canada priorities and objectives. The Sector also assists in the production of government Estimates documents and parliamentary reports.

In addition, the Sector provides strategic advice, guidance and support to federal organizations in their implementation and application of Treasury Board policies, government priorities, risk management strategies, and performance management. It also supports organizations seeking commonly sought authorities and approvals from the Treasury Board (e.g., financial and expenditure authorities, project and program approvals).

The Sector deals with over 30 federal organizations that cover a variety of responsibilities including Aboriginal issues, health, culture, parks, heritage, human resources and skills development, labour, social development, veterans affairs and housing. The Sector also works closely with other central agencies.

Strategic Communications and Ministerial Affairs

Strategic Communications and Ministerial Affairs (SCMA) provides briefings, correspondence and logistical support for Treasury Board meetings, parliamentary affairs, Cabinet business and dealings with other government departments and non-governmental organizations. SCMA manages and coordinates Treasury Board meetings; coordinates the Secretariat's access to information and privacy activities; and tracks the President's and the Secretary's correspondence, and assists in preparing replies.

SCMA is also responsible for developing internal and external communications products and providing services in consultation with subject matter experts (e.g., communications strategies and plans, speeches and speaking notes, scenario notes for ministerial events, media advisories, news releases, questions and answers, and news conferences). It ensures a web presence for the President, the Treasury Board and the Secretariat and prepares department-wide messages, including messages from the President of the Treasury Board.

In addition, SCMA develops and implements government-wide policy instruments related to communications and corporate identity, and monitors compliance by government departments and agencies.

Related links:

Regulatory Affairs Sector

The Regulatory Affairs Sector, transferred in July 2006 from the Privy Council Office, supports the Treasury Board in its role as the Queen's Privy Council for Canada by providing advice to the Governor General and managing the government's regulatory function. The Sector also provides leadership on federal regulatory policy and the Cabinet Directive on Streamlining Regulation (CDSR).

As such, the Sector is engaged in two key functions: (1) supporting government priorities through continuous improvement of policy; and (2) advising Treasury Board ministers on Governor in Council (GIC) submissions.

The Sector delivers on its mandate by undertaking policy research and analysis, and developing policies and associated frameworks; providing reliable and timely advice to federal organizations on regulatory policy interpretation and application; reviewing regulatory and non-regulatory GIC submissions (except for appointments), ensuring that submissions adhere to the CDSR and that relevant information is provided for decision making; contributing to learning programs that strengthen the regulatory capacity of all government organizations, particularly the understanding of regulatory policy requirements; and brokering the resolution of issues through interdepartmental coordination and horizontal policy management.

Related links:

Economic Sector

The Economic Sector (ES) supports the Treasury Board in its role as management board of the Government of Canada and as budget office in the government-wide expenditure cycle. As such, ES performs due diligence reviews of Memoranda to Cabinet and Treasury Board submissions from federal organizations and provides advice to the Treasury Board regarding resource allocation, risks, and policy compliance. This work supports sound decision making, value for money, compliance with rules and policies, and alignment with Government of Canada priorities and objectives. ES also assists in the production of government Estimates documents and parliamentary reports.

In addition, ES provides strategic advice, guidance and support to federal organizations in their implementation and application of Treasury Board policies, government priorities, risk management strategies, and performance management. It also supports organizations seeking commonly sought authorities and approvals from the Treasury Board (e.g., financial and expenditure authorities, project and program approvals).

ES serves 43 federal organizations that cover responsibilities for agriculture, fisheries, natural resources, environment, transportation, infrastructure, industry, science and regional development. It also works closely with other central agencies.

International Affairs, Security and Justice Sector

The International Affairs, Security and Justice Sector (IASJ) supports the Treasury Board in its role as the management board and budget office of the Government of Canada. As such, IASJ performs due diligence reviews of Memoranda to Cabinet and Treasury Board submissions from federal organizations and provides advice to the Treasury Board regarding resource allocation, risks, and policy compliance. This work supports sound decision making, value for money, compliance with rules and policies, and alignment with Government of Canada priorities and objectives.

In addition, IASJ provides strategic advice, guidance and support to federal organizations in their implementation and application of Treasury Board policies, government priorities, risk management strategies, and performance management. It also supports client organizations seeking commonly sought authorities and approvals from the Treasury Board (e.g., financial and expenditure authorities, project and program approvals).  

IASJ works with the federal departments and organizations responsible for international affairs, immigration, international development, defence, justice and security.

Internal Audit and Evaluation Bureau

The Internal Audit and Evaluation Bureau (IAEB) provides independent, objective assurance and evaluation services that are designed to add value to the management of the Secretariat's programs and operations. IAEB conducts its work in accordance with the Policy on Internal Audit, the Institute of Internal Auditors International Professional Practices Framework and the Policy on Evaluation. It aims to assist the Secretariat in meeting its objectives and the expectations of the Federal Accountability Act through a systematic, disciplined approach to improving the effectiveness of risk management, control and governance processes.

Human Resources Division

The Human Resources Division (HRD) is responsible for providing strategic human resources advice, guidance and services to the Secretariat's senior management, managers, supervisors and employees.

HRD provides advice, research, analysis and other services to senior management on corporate talent management, unions, demographic profiling, and organizational health indicators.

HRD provides comprehensive and timely advice, guidance and services to employees, managers and supervisors on classification, recruitment, staffing and resourcing, official languages, labour management, employment equity and diversity, training and learning and development, awards and recognition, career planning, compensation and benefits, and human resources information management.

In addition, HRD supports the development, maintenance and operation of PeopleSoft and associated reporting systems for the Central Agency Cluster, which comprises four federal organizations: the Secretariat, the Canada School of Public Service, the Department of Finance Canada, and the Privy Council Office.

Corporate Services Sector

The Corporate Services Sector (CSS) assists the Secretary of the Treasury Board in the internal administration of the Secretariat. Its various directorates provide internal corporate services to the Secretariat and certain shared services to the Department of Finance Canada, the Canada School of Public Service, and the Privy Council Office. The CSS provides support in the areas of financial management, security, information management, information technology, and facilities and materiel management.

Legal Services Branch

The Legal Services Branch provides strategic legal advice to the Treasury Board in its roles as employer, budget office and management board of the Government Canada, as well as to the President of Treasury Board, the Secretariat, and the Canada School of Public Service. It is also responsible for representing the Treasury Board as employer for the core public administration and separate agencies and deputy heads before specialized tribunals and courts of law.

Date modified:

Organisation du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor

Le Secrétariat est organisé en directions et secteurs :

Bureau du contrôleur général

Le contrôleur général a la responsabilité de fournir orientation fonctionnelle et assurance en matière de gestion financière, de vérification interne, de planification des investissements, d'approvisionnement, de gestion de projets et de gestion du matériel et des biens immobiliers à l'échelle du gouvernement.

Le Bureau du contrôleur général assiste le contrôleur général du Canada en veillant à l'instauration de politiques, normes et pratiques qui soient saines, en supervisant le rendement et la conformité à l'échelle du gouvernement ainsi qu'en créant des collectivités dynamiques et en assurant leur maintien grâce à une gamme d'activités de recrutement et de perfectionnement.

Liens

Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines

Le Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines (BDPRH) assiste le Conseil du Trésor dans son rôle d'employeur en favorisant l'excellence en matière de gestion des ressources humaines et en veillant à l'harmonisation des mesures mises en œuvre au sein de la fonction publique. Le BDPRH s'acquitte de son mandat tout en respectant les obligations de reddition de comptes et les responsabilités incombant au sous-ministre.

Liens

Secteur de la gestion des dépenses

Le Secteur de la gestion des dépenses (SGD) établit l'orientation principale pour les fonctions appuyant et renforçant le rôle qu'exerce le Secrétariat au sein du système général de gestion des dépenses du gouvernement. Les travaux de ce secteur couvrent le cycle de gestion des dépenses en entier, depuis l'analyse des dépenses, les prévisions et les stratégies, politiques et activités de gestion des dépenses jusqu'à la gestion axée sur les résultats, l'évaluation, l'établissement des budgets, la comptabilité et les rapports au Parlement.

Le rôle du SGD est déterminant dans la planification et dans la coordination globales des initiatives de gestion des dépenses. En outre, le SGD apporte une vision pangouvernementale des questions liées à la gestion des dépenses directes de programmes et à la rémunération au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

Lien

Gestion des dépenses

Secteur des opérations gouvernementales

Le Secteur des opérations gouvernementales soutient le Conseil du Trésor dans son rôle de conseil de gestion et bureau du budget. Ce secteur fournit, aux ministères et organismes faisant partie d'un portefeuille qui englobe les organismes centraux, les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, un grand nombre de sociétés d'État et Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, des conseils et analyses sur la capacité de gestion et les risques, sur l'allocation stratégique des ressources et sur la conception efficace des programmes. De plus, il fournit conseils et analyses sur la gouvernance ministérielle aux sociétés d'État ainsi qu'aux petits organismes.

Direction du dirigeant principal de l'information

La Direction du dirigeant principal de l'information (DDPI) fournit une orientation stratégique et assure un leadership afin d'atteindre l'excellence, au sein de l'ensemble du gouvernement du Canada, dans les domaines de la gestion de l'information, de la technologie de l'information, de la sécurité ainsi que de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'accès à l'information. Dans cette optique, la DDPI fournit également du soutien et des conseils en matière de renforcement des capacités ainsi que de gestion et surveillance de projet.

Priorités et planification

Priorités et planification (P & P) est responsable des principales activités en matière de politiques et de planification, qui jettent les bases de l'excellence en gestion à l'échelle du gouvernement et d'une gouvernance générale efficiente et efficace au sein du Secrétariat. Plus particulièrement, P & P collabore avec l'ensemble des secteurs ministériels afin d'assurer la coordination et l'uniformité des conseils en matière de politique du Conseil du Trésor. Pour ce faire, il assume une fonction d'intégration et de remise en question en vue de la réalisation des priorités de gestion stratégique fixées par le secrétaire et le président du Conseil du Trésor. Il assume également la direction des processus de gouvernance et de planification au sein du Secrétariat afin d'assurer la cohérence des priorités organisationnelles, l'avancement des dossiers importants, la clarté des obligations redditionnelles et l'amélioration continue.

Liens

Secteur des programmes sociaux et culturels

Le Secteur des programmes sociaux et culturels assiste le Conseil du Trésor dans son rôle de conseil de gestion et de service du budget du gouvernement du Canada tout au long du cycle de gestion des dépenses pangouvernementales. Pour ce faire, il procède au contrôle préalable des mémoires au cabinet et des présentations au Conseil du Trésor que produisent les organismes du gouvernement fédéral et il prodigue des conseils au Conseil du trésor au sujet de l'affectation des ressources, des risques et de la conformité aux politiques à l'appui de la prise de décisions éclairées, de l'optimisation des ressources, du respect des règles et politiques et de l'harmonisation des priorités et des objectifs du gouvernement du Canada. Le Secteur participe aussi à la production des documents budgétaires et des rapports au Parlement.

Par ailleurs, le Secteur offre conseils, orientation et soutien aux organismes fédéraux quant à la mise en œuvre et à l'application des politiques du Conseil du Trésor, des priorités du gouvernement, des stratégies de gestion du risque et de la gestion du rendement. Il leur offre également son soutien lorsqu'ils cherchent à obtenir du Conseil du Trésor des autorisations financières et d'autres types d'autorisations (par ex. : autorisations relatives aux programmes, aux projets et aux marchés).

Le Secteur entretient des rapports avec plus de 30 organismes fédéraux chargés de diverses questions notamment les Autochtones, la santé, la culture ainsi que la gestion des parcs et du patrimoine, des ressources humaines et du développement des compétences, des anciens combattants, et du logement. De plus, il travaille en étroite collaboration avec les autres organismes centraux.

Communications stratégiques et affaires ministérielles

Communications stratégiques et affaires ministérielles (CSAM) offre un soutien en matière de breffage, de correspondance et de logistique en ce qui concerne les réunions du Conseil du trésor, les affaires du Parlement et du Cabinet et les relations avec les autres ministères et les organismes non gouvernementaux. Il assure la coordination des activités du Secrétariat en fait d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels et effectue le suivi de la correspondance adressée au président et au secrétaire et participe à la préparation des réponses.

CSMA est aussi chargé d'élaborer des produits de communication interne et externe et d'assurer des services en consultation avec des spécialistes en la matière (plans et stratégies de communication; discours et notes d'allocution; notes de scénario pour des activités ministérielles; avis aux médias et communiqués de presse; questions et réponses, conférences de presse, etc.). Il assure une présence Web pour le président, le Conseil du Trésor et le Secrétariat et il prépare des messages destinés à l'ensemble du ministère, y compris les messages du président du Conseil du Trésor.

Enfin, il élabore et met en œuvre dans l'ensemble de l'administration des instruments de politique en lien avec les communications et l'image de marque ministérielle, en plus de surveiller leur mise en application par les ministères et organismes.

Liens

Secteur des affaires réglementaires

Rattaché au Bureau du Conseil privé jusqu'en 2006, le Secteur des affaires réglementaires assiste le Conseil du Trésor dans son rôle de Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada en donnant des conseils au gouverneur général et en assurant la gestion ainsi que la surveillance de la fonction de réglementation du gouvernement. De plus, le Secteur des affaires réglementaires assure un leadership stratégique en ce qui a trait à la politique de réglementation fédérale et la Directive du cabinet sur la gestion de la réglementation (DCGR).

À ce titre, le Secteur assume deux fonctions essentielles, à savoir : 1) contribuer aux priorités gouvernementales par le biais de l'amélioration continue des politiques; 2) conseiller les ministres du Conseil du Trésor dans le cadre des présentations au gouverneur en conseil.

Pour s'acquitter de son mandat, le Secteur effectue des recherches et des analyses stratégiques, élabore des politiques ainsi que les cadres correspondants; fournit, en temps opportun, des conseils fiables aux organisations fédérales sur les questions d'interprétation et de mise en œuvre de la réglementation; examine les présentations au gouverneur en conseil de nature réglementaire ou non réglementaire (à l'exception des nominations), s'assure que les présentations respectent la DCGR et que l'information nécessaire à la prise de décision est mise à disposition; contribue à des programmes de formation destinés à renforcer, dans l'ensemble des organisations, la fonction de réglementation, par le biais notamment d'une bonne compréhension des exigences règlementaires, et s'efforce de trouver des solutions aux éventuels problèmes en intervenant entre les différents ministères et en adoptant une approche horizontale.

Liens

Secteur des programmes économiques

Le Secteur des programmes économiques (PE) assiste le Conseil du Trésor dans son rôle de conseil de gestion et de service du budget du gouvernement du Canada tout au long du cycle de gestion des dépenses pangouvernementales. À ce titre, le secteur des PE effectue un contrôle préalable des mémoires au Cabinet et des présentations au Conseil du Trésor préparés les organisations fédérales et fournit des avis au Conseil du Trésor concernant l'affectation des ressources, les risques et le respect des politiques. L'apport du secteur des PE contribue à la prise de décisions éclairées et garantit une bonne utilisation de l'argent des contribuables, le respect des règlements et des politiques ainsi que l'harmonisation avec les priorités et les objectifs du gouvernement du Canada. Le secteur participe également à l'élaboration des documents sur le budget des dépenses et des rapports destinés au Parlement.

Par ailleurs, le secteur des PE fournit des conseils et des orientations stratégiques aux organisations fédérales dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre des politiques du Conseil du Trésor et des priorités du gouvernement, des stratégies de gestion du risque et de la gestion du rendement. Il apporte également son soutien aux organisations lorsque ces dernières présentent des demandes d'autorisations et d'approbations au Conseil du Trésor (par ex. : autorisations financières, autorisations de dépenses, approbations de projets et de programmes).

Le secteur des PE intervient auprès de 43 organisations fédérales assumant des responsabilités variées allant de l'agriculture, la pêche, les ressources naturelles et l'environnement au développement régional en passant par les transports, l'infrastructure, l'industrie et la science. En outre, il travaille étroitement avec les autres organismes centraux.

Secteur des affaires internationales, de la sécurité et de la justice

Le Secteur des affaires internationales, de la sécurité et de la justice (SAISJ) soutient le Conseil du Trésor dans son rôle de conseil de gestion et de service du budget du gouvernement du Canada. Pour ce faire, il procède au contrôle préalable des mémoires au cabinet et des présentations au Conseil du Trésor produits par les ministères et organismes du gouvernement fédéral et il prodigue des conseils au Conseil du trésor au sujet de l'affectation des ressources, des risques et de la conformité aux politiques à l'appui de la prise de décisions éclairées, de l'optimisation des ressources, du respect des règles et politiques et de l'harmonisation des priorités et des objectifs du gouvernement du Canada.

Par ailleurs, le SAISJ offre conseils, orientation et soutien aux organisations fédérales quant à la mise en œuvre et à l'application des politiques du Conseil du Trésor, des priorités du gouvernement, des stratégies de gestion du risque et de la gestion du rendement. Il offre également offre conseils, orientation et soutien aux ministères clients lorsqu'ils cherchent à obtenir du Conseil du Trésor des autorisations financières et d'autres types d'autorisations (par ex. : autorisations relatives aux programmes, aux projets et aux marchés).

Le Secteur travaille en collaboration avec les ministères et organismes fédéraux chargés des affaires internationales, de l'immigration, du développement international, de la défense, de la justice et de la sécurité.

Bureau de la vérification interne et de l'évaluation

Le Bureau de la vérification interne et de l'évaluation (BVIE) offre des services indépendants et objectifs d'assurance et d'évaluation conçus pour ajouter de la valeur à la gestion des programmes et des activités du Secrétariat. Le BVIE mène ses travaux conformément à la Politique sur la vérification interne, au Cadre de référence des pratiques professionnelles de l'Institut des vérificateurs internes et à la Politique sur l'évaluation. En appliquant une approche systématique et méthodique et en améliorant l'efficacité des processus de gestion du risque, de contrôle et de gouvernance, le BVIE aide le Secrétariat à atteindre les objectifs et les exigences qui lui incombent en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité.

Division des ressources humaines

La Division des ressources humaines (DRH) est chargée de fournir conseils, orientations et services stratégiques en matière de ressources humaines aux cadres supérieurs, aux gestionnaires et superviseurs ainsi qu'aux employés du Secrétariat.

La DRH offre également des conseils, des services de recherche et d'analyse ainsi que d'autres prestations aux cadres supérieurs en ce qui concerne la gestion du talent, les syndicats, le profilage démographique et les indicateurs de la santé de l'organisation.

Elle fournit aussi des conseils, des orientations et des services complets et opportuns aux employés ainsi qu'aux gestionnaires et superviseurs dans les domaines suivants : classification, recrutement, dotation et renouvellement du personnel, langues officielles, relations de travail, diversité et égalité en emploi, formation, apprentissage et perfectionnement, prix et distinctions, planification de carrière, rémunération et avantages sociaux, et gestion des informations relatives aux ressources humaines.

De plus, la DRH contribue au développement, à la maintenance et au fonctionnement de PeopleSoft ainsi que des systèmes d'information s'y rattachant pour le compte du Regroupement des organismes centraux, qui se compose de quatre organisations, à savoir le Secrétariat, l'École de la fonction publique du Canada, le ministère des Finances Canada et le Bureau du Conseil privé.

Secteur des services ministériels

Le Secteur des services ministériels (SSM) appuie le secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor dans le cadre de l'administration interne du Secrétariat. Ses différentes directions fournissent des services internes au Secrétariat ainsi que certains services communs au ministère des Finances Canada, à l'École de la fonction publique du Canada et au Bureau du Conseil privé. Il fournit un soutien en matière de gestion financière, sécurité, gestion de l'information et technologie de l'information et gestion des installations et du matériel.

Direction des services juridiques

La Direction des services juridiques assiste le Conseil du Trésor, dans ses fonctions d'employeur, de conseil de gestion et de service du budget du gouvernement, le président du Conseil du Trésor, le Secrétariat et l'École de la fonction publique du Canada en leur fournissant des conseils juridiques stratégiques. Elle est aussi chargée de représenter le Conseil du Trésor en sa qualité d'employeur de l'administration publique centrale, de même que les organismes distincts et les administrateurs généraux devant des tribunaux administratifs spécialisés et des tribunaux judiciaires.

Date de modification :