Frequently Asked Questions – Regulatory Reforms

One-for-One Rule

  • What is the One-for-One Rule?

    The One-for-One Rule came into effect on April 1, 2012, and received Royal Assent as the Red Tape Reduction Act on April 23, 2015.  The Rule places strict controls on the growth of federal regulatory red tape imposed on business. It requires regulators to offset any administrative burden cost increases from new regulatory changes with equal reductions from existing regulations. Under the One-for-One Rule, for every new regulation added that imposes an administrative burden on business, one must be removed.

    And there is evidence that the One-for-One Rule is working. For example:

    • Public Safety Canada recently amended the government's Accounting for Imported Goods and Payment of Duties Regulations by increasing the threshold from $1,600 to $2,500 for shipments to qualify under the Low Value Shipment (LVS) program and benefit from a streamlined process. This regulatory change allows courier companies to use a consolidated document for the release of imported goods instead of a document for each shipment and importers will no longer have to present release request entries or manifests to their local Canada Border Services Agency office in order to obtain release of these goods. Allowing more shipments to be processed through the low value stream is expected to save businesses $688,221 in administrative costs per year.
    • Public Works and Government Services Canada recently amended the government's Controlled Goods List, in part by removing items that no longer need to be targeted.  With fewer items on the list and fewer organizations needing to register with the Controlled Goods Program, the administrative burden on businesses, particularly in the aerospace, defence, satellite and security industries, will decrease.  Fewer companies will now require security officials, security assessments, on-site or telephone compliance inspections, and associated audits. The expected savings in administrative costs are valued at $710,047 a year.
  • How do you define "administrative burden"?

    Administrative burden describes the effort required for Canadians or business to demonstrate compliance with a federal regulation. Under the Red Tape Reduction Act, administrative burden is defined as "…anything that is necessary to demonstrate compliance with a regulation, including the collecting, processing, reporting and retaining of information and the completing of forms".

    Regulators are required to calculate the direct costs of these activities when regulatory changes impose new administrative burden on business.

    For further information, please see the Guide for the One-for-One Rule

  • How is the cost of administrative burden calculated under the Rule?

    The Standard Cost Model (SCM) is used to calculate administrative burden under the One-for-One Rule. The SCM is an internationally accepted way to estimate the administrative burden costs to business resulting from information and reporting obligations included in a regulation.

  • How is implementation monitored?

    TBS monitors implementation of the One-for-One Rule. To demonstrate results to business and Canadians, a Scorecard Report is published to report progress on system-wide reforms each year, including implementation of the One-for-One Rule.

    The latest 2013-2014 Scorecard Report was published on January 21, 2015, and was reviewed by the Regulatory Advisory Committee.

Small Business Lens

  • What is the small business lens?

    The small business lens requires regulators take into account the impact that new or amended regulations have on small business.

    Regulators will now be required to include an analysis of impacts on small business, a summary of consultations and a summary of the government's efforts to minimize burden on small business in their Regulatory Impact Analysis Statements.

    The Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement includes a 20-point checklist that is published with the proposed regulation. It describes the government's regulatory action and its impact on the environment, health, safety, security, social and economic well-being of Canadians. The checklist will drive efforts to minimize burden on small business, avoid bureaucratic duplication and communicate regulatory requirements in clear, plain language.

    The Small Business Lens is also featured as a cross-cutting tool in the Canada-United States Regulatory Cooperation Council Joint Action Plan, in which Canada and the United States agreed to share approaches and tools to assess and account for the needs of small businesses when developing regulations.

  • How is "small business" defined?

    A "small business" is defined as any business with fewer than 100 employees or between $30,000 and $5 million in annual gross revenues.

  • What triggers the small business lens?

    The small business lens is triggered when a significant regulatory change imposes over $1 million in annual nation-wide costs, or a disproportionate impact on small businesses.

  • How does the small business lens benefit small business?

    Integrating the results of the small business lens into the Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement allows small business owners to judge for themselves, and to comment on, the government's efforts to minimize regulatory burden.

  • How will the small business lens be implemented and monitored?

    Results of cost savings to small businesses when the lens is applied will be published in the Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement. The small business lens Checklist will also be posted publicly. Each document will be available in the Canada Gazette.

Interpretation Policies

  • What is an interpretation policy and why is it important to have one?

    Interpretation policies explain how regulators interpret regulations. They also provide information on when regulators will respond to questions from stakeholders in writing about how to meet regulatory requirements.

    These polices will bring transparency and predictability to the regulatory process by providing business with information on how they are to meet their regulatory requirements.

Forward Regulatory Plans

  • What is a Forward Regulatory Plan?

    Forward regulatory plans are lists of planned and potential new regulations or amendments that a regulator plans to introduce over a 24-month period.

    As these plans are early estimates of upcoming regulatory changes, they will be produced annually and updated once per year to reflect changing circumstances.

  • What information is included in a Forward Regulatory Plan?

    Forward regulatory plans will include the title of the regulatory proposal, a brief description of the regulatory proposal, planned public consultations, and instructions on how to obtain further information.

  • What are the benefits of publishing Forward Regulatory Plans?

    Posting Forward Regulatory Plans gives Canadians and businesses advance notification of upcoming regulatory initiatives providing stakeholders more time to plan for the future.

  • Where do I go if I want to see a complete list of all organizational Forward Regulatory Plans?

    Forward regulatory plans will be posted on the websites of regulators later this fall.

    There will also be links to all forward regulatory plans from the TBS website.

Service Standards

  • What are service standards?

    Service standards are a public commitment to a measurable level of performance that clients can expect under normal circumstances.

    Service standards for regulatory authorizations will focus on meeting commitments for timely approval processes.

  • What are regulatory authorizations?

    Regulatory authorizations grant permission to conduct a regulated activity in compliance with federal laws and regulations.

    Typically, a regulated party will submit an application to the Government of Canada that, if successful, will result in the issuance of a permit, licence, or certificate (e.g., issuance of a certificate of export for natural health products).

  • Why are service standards important?

    Service standards for regulatory authorizations enhance predictability by clarifying expectations and enabling businesses to plan accordingly.

Administrative Burden Baseline

  • What is the Administrative Burden Baseline (ABB) count?

    The ABB count is a baseline inventory of the number of administrative requirements in federal regulations and related forms that impose burden on businesses in Canada.

    Federal government departments and agencies have made their individual ABB counts publicly available on the Acts and Regulations pages of their websites. A list of Government-wide Administrative Burden Baseline counts is also available.

  • Why has the Government performed this ABB count, and what does it mean?

    The Government of Canada committed to identifying and counting administrative requirements imposed on businesses in Canada through federal regulations and associated forms.

    By counting and publishing this information, the ABB count contributes to the openness and transparency of the federal regulatory system.

    The ABB initiative’s scope included all Governor in Council (GIC) and non-GIC regulations in relevant federal departments and agencies with requirements that impose administrative burden on business.

Canada's Federal Regulatory Process

  • Why is the government implementing a new Cabinet directive?

    The new Cabinet Directive on Regulatory Management incorporates the regulatory reforms outlined in the Red Tape Reduction Action Plan.

    The new directive will continue to ensure regulations provide for the greatest net benefits to current and future generations of Canadians.

  • What has changed compared with the previous Cabinet Directive?

    The new Cabinet Directive provides direction to federal regulators on implementing the following regulatory reforms:

    • The "One-for-One" Rule;
    • Small business lens;
    • Forward regulatory plans;
    • Service standards; and
    • The Annual Scorecard Report.


  • Were there public consultations held on revising Canada's regulatory policy?

    The substantive changes to Canada's regulatory policy emanates from the government's Action Plan Response to the Red Tape Reduction Commission's Recommendations Report. Those recommendations were the product of extensive national and regional engagement. Between January 2011 and January 2012, the Commission hosted 15 round table sessions in 13 cities, attracting nearly 200 participants. An online consultation and the website further enabled members of the broader community to give their views on federal red tape.

    The new Cabinet Directive on Regulatory Management has all of the elements of Canada's previous regulatory policy, the Cabinet Directive on Streamlining Regulations. It simply adds the systemic regulatory reforms.

  • What is the government doing to ensure that its regulatory reform agenda will help reduce burden?

    The government has taken important steps to reduce the administrative and paperwork burden on Canadian businesses. In March 2009, the government fulfilled its Budget 2007 commitment to reduce paperwork burden by 20 per cent under the Paperwork Burden Reduction Initiative (PBRI).

    The PBRI is a federal initiative whose goal is to relieve small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) of the excessive paperwork burden of regulatory compliance while ensuring Canada continues to have strong, effective regulations to protect individuals, the environment and the economy.

    The government will take action to report on the administrative burden that comes from federal regulations. To do this, starting in September 2014 and annually thereafter, the government will refresh the section of the 2007 Paperwork Burden Reduction Initiative inventory that identifies requirements in federal regulations that impose administrative burden on business.

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Date modified:

Foire aux questions – Les mesures de réforme de la réglementation du Canada

Règle du « un pour un »

  • Qu'est-ce que la règle du « un pour un »?

    La règle du « un pour un » est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2012 et elle a reçu la sanction royale en tant que la Loi sur la réduction de la paperasse le 23 avril 2015. La Règle impose un contrôle rigoureux de l'augmentation du fardeau administratif fédéral pour les entreprises. La Règle exige que les organismes de réglementation compensent les coûts accrus du fardeau administratif découlant d'une modification réglementaire par une élimination équivalente dans les règlements en place. En vertu de la règle du « un pour un », pour chaque nouveau règlement qui crée un fardeau administratif sur les entreprises, un règlement existant doit être abrogé.

    Et Il est clair que la règle du « un pour un » fonctionne. Par exemple :

    • Sécurité publique Canada a récemment modifié le Règlement sur la déclaration en détail des marchandises importées et le paiement des droits du gouvernement en augmentant le seuil de 1 600 $ à 2 500 $ pour que les marchandises soient admissibles au Programme des messageries d'expéditions de faible valeur (EFV) et qu'elles bénéficient d'un processus simplifié. Ce changement réglementaire permet aux services de messagerie d'utiliser un document de synthèse pour le dédouanement des marchandises importées plutôt qu'un document pour chaque expédition, et les importateurs n'auront plus à présenter de demandes de mainlevée ou de manifestes à leur bureau local de l'ASFC pour obtenir le dédouanement des marchandises.  La hausse du nombre d'expéditions traitées au moyen du processus de faible valeur devrait entraîner une diminution des coûts administratifs de l'ordre de 688 221 $ sur une base annuelle.
    • Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada a récemment modifié la Liste des marchandises contrôlées du Canada du gouvernement, en partie en supprimant les articles qui n'ont plus besoin d'être ciblés. Puisqu'il y aura moins d'articles sur la liste et moins d'organisations qui devront s'inscrire au Programme des marchandises contrôlées, le fardeau administratif sur les entreprises diminuera, particulièrement dans les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, des satellites et de la sécurité.  Moins d'entreprises auront besoin d'agents de sécurité, d'évaluations de sécurité, d'inspections de conformité sur place ou par téléphone et de vérifications connexes. Les économies prévues sur le plan des coûts administratifs sont évaluées à 710 047 $ par année.
  • Quelle est la définition de « fardeau administratif »?

    Un fardeau administratif est l'effort requis pour permettre aux Canadiens ou aux entreprises de prouver qu'ils respectent la réglementation fédérale. Selon la Loi sur la réduction de la paperasse, « fardeau administratif s'entend de tout ce qu'il est nécessaire de faire pour démontrer la conformité aux règlements, notamment de l'obligation de collecter, de traiter et de conserver de l'information, d'établir des rapports et de remplir des formulaires. »

    Les organismes de réglementation doivent calculer les coûts directs de ces activités lorsque des modifications réglementaires imposent de nouveaux fardeaux administratifs aux entreprises.

    Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le Guide sur la règle du « un pour un ».

  • Comment les coûts du fardeau administratif sont-ils calculés en vertu de la Règle?

    Le modèle des coûts standards (MCS) est utilisé pour calculer le fardeau administratif en vertu de la règle du « un pour un ». Le MCS est une méthode acceptée partout dans le monde qui permet de prévoir le coût d'un fardeau administratif pour les entreprises en lien avec l'obligation d'obtenir des renseignements et de produire des rapports.

  • Comment la mise en œuvre est-elle supervisée?

    Le SCT supervise la mise en œuvre de la règle du « un pour un ». Pour illustrer les résultats pour les entreprises et les Canadiens, une fiche d'évaluation des progrès réalisés quant aux réformes systémiques est publiée chaque année, notammant au cours de la mise en œuvre de la règle du « un pour un ».

    La plus récente Fiche d'évaluation 2013-2014 a été publiée le 21 janvier 2015 et a été étudiée par le Comité consultatif sur la réglementation.

Lentille des petites entreprises

  • Qu'est-ce que la Lentille des petites entreprises?

    La Lentille des petites entreprises exige des organismes de réglementation qu'ils tiennent compte de l'incidence des nouveaux règlements ou des règlements modifiés sur les petites entreprises.

    Les organismes de réglementation seront maintenant tenus d'inclure leur analyse des incidences sur les petites entreprises ainsi qu'un résumé des consultations et des efforts consentis par le gouvernement pour réduire au minimum le fardeau sur les petites entreprises dans leur Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation.

    Le Résumé d'étude d'impact de la réglementation est une liste de vérification en 20 points qui est publiée avec un projet de règlement. Elle décrit les mesures réglementaires du gouvernement et leur incidence sur l'environnement, la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité et le bien-être socioéconomique des Canadiens. La liste de vérification servira d'élément moteur pour réduire au minimum le fardeau administratif pour les petites entreprises, éviter les chevauchements bureaucratiques et communiquer les exigences en matière de réglementation dans un langage clair et simple.

    La Lentille des petites entreprises est aussi présentée comme un outil intersectoriel dans le Plan d'action conjoint du Conseil Canada-États-Unis de coopération en matière de réglementation, dans lequel le Canada et les États-Unis ont convenu d'échanger des approches et des outils afin d'évaluer les besoins des petites entreprises et d'en tenir compte lors de l'élaboration de règlements.

  • Quelle est la définition d'une « petite entreprise »?

    Une « petite entreprise » est définie comme une entreprise qui compte moins de 100 employés ou qui génère entre 30 000 dollars et 5 millions de dollars en revenus bruts.

  • Qu'est-ce qui amorce l'utilisation de la Lentille des petites entreprises?

    L'utilisation de la Lentille des petites entreprises est amorcée lorsqu'une modification réglementaire importante impose des coûts annuels de plus d'un million de dollars dans l'ensemble du pays ou lorsqu'elle a une incidence disproportionnée sur les petites entreprises.

  • En quoi la Lentille des petites entreprises sert-elle les intérêts des petites entreprises?

    L'intégration de la Lentille des petites entreprises dans le Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation permet aux propriétaires de petites entreprises de juger par eux mêmes des efforts du gouvernement pour réduire au minimum le fardeau réglementaire et de les commenter.

  • Comment la Lentille des petites entreprises sera-t-elle mise en œuvre et surveillée?

    Les résultats en termes d'économies pour les petites entreprises issus de l'application de la Lentille seront publiés dans le Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation. La liste de vérification liée à la Lentille des petites entreprises sera aussi rendue publique. Chacun de ces documents pourra être consulté dans la Gazette du Canada.

Politiques d'interprétation

  • Qu'est-ce qu'une politique d'interprétation et pourquoi est-il important d'en avoir une?

    Les politiques d'interprétation expliquent comment les organismes de réglementation interprètent les règlements. Elles donnent aussi des renseignements sur les cas où les organismes de réglementation répondront par écrit aux questions des intervenants sur la façon de se conformer aux exigences réglementaires.

    Ces politiques permettront d'améliorer la transparence et la prévisibilité du processus réglementaire en accordant aux entreprises les renseignements dont elles ont besoin pour se conformer aux exigences réglementaires qui s'imposent.

Plans prospectifs de la réglementation

  • Qu'est-ce qu'un plan prospectif de la réglementation?

    Les plans prospectifs de la réglementation sont des listes d'initiatives réglementaires prévues ou possibles qu'un organisme de réglementation s'attend à entreprendre au cours d'une période de 24 mois.

    Étant donné que ces plans sont des estimations préliminaires des modifications réglementaires à venir, ils seront revus et mis à jour deux fois par année afin de rendre compte des circonstances changeantes.

  • Quels sont les renseignements compris dans un plan prospectif de la réglementation?

    Un plan prospectif de la réglementation comprendra le titre du projet de règlement, une brève description de ce dernier, les consultations publiques prévues et des directives sur la façon d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

  • Quels sont les avantages de publier les plans prospectifs de la réglementation?

    La publication de plans prospectifs de la réglementation permet d'avertir les Canadiens et les entreprises des initiatives réglementaires à venir, ce qui accorde aux intervenants une meilleure chance de commenter l'élaboration des règlements et de faire des plans pour l'avenir.

  • Où dois-je aller si je souhaite consulter la liste complète des plans prospectifs de la réglementation des organisations?

    Les plans prospectifs de la réglementation seront publiés sur les sites Web des organismes de réglementation plus tard cet automne.

    Il y aura aussi des liens vers tous les plans prospectifs de la réglementation sur le site Web du SCT.

Normes de service

  • Qu'est-ce que les normes de services?

    Les normes de services constituent un engagement public à atteindre un niveau mesurable de rendement auxquels les clients peuvent s'attendre dans des circonstances normales.

    Les normes de services pour les autorisations réglementaires porteront surtout sur le respect des engagements relatifs à la rapidité des processus d'approbation.

  • Qu'est-ce que les autorisations réglementaires?

    Les autorisations réglementaires accordent la permission d'exercer une activité réglementée conformément aux lois et règlements fédéraux.

    Habituellement, une partie réglementée présentera une demande au gouvernement du Canada qui, si elle est acceptée, débouchera sur la délivrance d'un permis, d'une licence ou d'un certificat (par exemple, la délivrance d'un certificat d'exportation de produits de santé naturels).

  • Pourquoi les normes de service sont-elles importantes?

    Les normes de services pour les autorisations réglementaires accroissent la prévisibilité en clarifiant les attentes et en permettant aux entreprises de planifier en conséquence.

L'inventaire de la base de référence du fardeau administratif

  • En quoi consiste l'inventaire de la base de référence du fardeau administratif?

    L’inventaire de la base de référence du fardeau administratif (BRFA) est un inventaire du nombre d’exigences administratives liées aux règlements fédéraux et aux formulaires connexes qui imposent un fardeau aux entreprises au Canada.

    Les ministères et organismes fédéraux ont publié leurs résultats individuels de la base de référence sur les pages Lois et règlements de leurs sites Web. Une liste des résultats de la base de référence du fardeau administratif pour l’ensemble du gouvernement est aussi disponible.

  • Pourquoi le gouvernement a-t-il dressé cet inventaire de la base de référence du fardeau administratif et que signifie-t-il?

    Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à cerner et à dénombrer les exigences administratives qu’imposent aux entreprises du Canada les règlements fédéraux et les formulaires connexes.

    En dénombrant ces exigences et en les rendant publiques, l’inventaire de la BRFA contribue à l’ouverture et à la transparence du régime réglementaire fédéral.

    L’initiative de la BRFA visait tous les règlements pris par le gouverneur en conseil et tous les règlements pris par d’autres autorités comportant des exigences qui imposent un fardeau administratif aux entreprises dans les ministères et organismes fédéraux pertinents.

Directive du cabinet

  • Pourquoi le gouvernement met-il en place une nouvelle directive du Cabinet?

    La nouvelle Directive du Cabinet sur la gestion de la réglementation intègre les réformes réglementaires décrites dans le Plan d'action pour la réduction du fardeau administratif.

    Cette nouvelle directive continuera de faire en sorte que la réglementation procure aux générations actuelles et futures de Canadiens les meilleurs avantages nets.

  • Qu'est-ce qui a changé par rapport à la Directive du Cabinet précédente?

    La nouvelle Directive du Cabinet donne des directives aux organismes de réglementation fédéraux sur la mise en œuvre des réformes réglementaires suivantes :

    • la règle du « un pour un »;
    • la Lentille des petites entreprises;
    • les plans prospectifs de la réglementation;
    • les normes de service;
    • la fiche d'évaluation annuelle.

Autre

  • A-t-on tenu des consultations publiques sur la révision de la politique réglementaire du Canada?

    Oui. La nouvelle Directive, soit la politique de réglementation du Canada, met en œuvre les réformes décrites dans le Plan d'action pour la réduction du fardeau administratif qui a été élaboré en réponse aux recommandations de la Commission sur la réduction de la paperasse. De janvier 2011 à janvier 2012, la Commission a tenu 15 tables rondes dans 13 villes, avec près de 200 participants. Une consultation en ligne et le site Web ont également permis aux membres de la collectivité à plus grande échelle de partager leurs commentaires concernant le fardeau administratif fédéral.

    La nouvelle Directive du Cabinet sur la gestion de la réglementation comporte tous les éléments de l'ancienne politique du Canada en matière de réglementation, la Directive du Cabinet sur la rationalisation de la réglementation, et y ajoute les réformes systémiques en matière de réglementation.

  • Que fait le gouvernement pour s'assurer que ses initiatives en matière de réforme réglementaire permettront de réduire le fardeau administratif?

    Le gouvernement a pris des mesures importantes pour réduire le fardeau administratif sur les entreprises canadiennes. En mars 2009, le gouvernement s'est acquitté de ses obligations de réduire le fardeau administratif de 20 pour cent, telles qu'énoncées dans le budget de 2007, le tout dans le cadre de l'Initiative d'allègement du fardeau de la paperasserie (IAFP).

    L'IAFP est une initiative fédérale ayant pour but de réduire le fardeau administratif excessif lié à la conformité réglementaire et imposé aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), tout en assurant l'existence de règlements canadiens forts et efficaces qui protègent les individus, l'environnement et l'économie.

    Le gouvernement s'engage à faire état du fardeau administratif qui provient des règlements fédéraux. À cette fin, à compter de septembre 2014 et chaque année par la suite, le gouvernement actualisera la partie de l'inventaire dressé dans le cadre de l'Initiative d'allégement du fardeau de la paperasserie de 2007 qui répertorie les exigences figurant dans les règlements fédéraux qui imposent un fardeau administratif aux entreprises.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.

Date de modification :