Report on the TBS Study of Best Practices for Access to Information Requests Subject to Particular Processing


In September 2005, the Canadian Newspaper Association filed a complaint with the Office of the Information Commissioner alleging the existence of secret rules, systematic discrimination and unfair and unjustifiable delays in the processing of requests for information made by the media under the Access to Information Act

Following an investigation of 21 institutions, the Office of the Information Commissioner was unable to conclude "that there exists "secret rules" or a government wide systematic practice directed against each media request, or the media in general". However, the Office of the Information Commissioner did conclude that in many institutions, the categorization of certain requests as "sensitive", "of interest", "amber light" or with another label that indicates "special handling" led to unwarranted delays in their processing.

In his letter of findings dated August 19, 2008, the Information Commissioner made the following recommendation:

That the President of the Treasury Board undertake a study of how the institutions which categorize or label access requests for special handling, with no detriment to the timely processing of access requests, organize the process, with a view to issuing Best Practices to all government institutions.

The President accepted this recommendation. The Information and Privacy Policy Division of TBS undertook the study and produced this report.


For the purpose of this study, a "request subject to special processing" was defined as an access to information request that is seen or approved by departmental officials outside the Access to Information Office prior to the response being issued. This definition includes, but is not limited to, categories used by institutions such as alert, amber light, interesting, sensitive, highly sensitive, briefing flag, high visibility, and complex file. For ease of reference, the expression "particular request" is used hereafter.

The Information and Privacy Policy Division selected the following ten institutions to participate in this study of TBS:

These ten institutions include seven of the ten institutions that received the most requests in 2006-2007 (61.4% of all requests). All ten institutions have a process in place for the particular processing of certain access to information requests. In addition, all ten were part of the investigation by the Office of the Information Commissioner into the complaint of the Canadian Newspaper Association.

The Information and Privacy Policy Division met with each institution to discuss the procedures and practices used in the identification of particular requests and their processing and what effect, if any, these procedures and practices have on response times. The discussions then focused on how any procedures and practices might be improved and on suggested best practices to share with other institutions with the goal of improving the response time for particular requests. 


General Observations

In the course of this study, the Information and Privacy Policy Division noted that institutions that achieved the best results for the timely response to particular requests share the following attributes:

To achieve the best results, institutions should review these attributes and consider them in conjunction with the best practices recommended for the processing of particular requests.

Best Practices for the Processing of Particular Requests

The Treasury Board Secretariat works with the Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) community to share best practices to improve response times and ensure the effective administration of the Access to Information Act. In particular, the Secretariat issued Information Notice 2003-08, which listed 52 best practices in processing requests. To avoid duplication, and in keeping with the purpose of the study, this report lists 18 best practices that facilitate the handling of particular requests.

The Treasury Board Secretariat recommends that institutions follow these best practices listed in Annex A in the development of specific procedures and practices for the handling of particular requests.

Annex A

Accountability and delegation of authority

  1. The Access to Information Coordinator has full authority delegated by the head of the institution for the administration of the Act.
  2. The head of the institution delegates functions as far down within the Access to Information Office as possible. For example, extension and third party notices can be delegated to Access to Information Officers as well as to the Coordinator.
  3. Access to information commitments and performance measures are included in the performance management agreements of senior officials to increase their engagement and accountability.
  4. Regular performance reports are provided to senior management on the processing of requests.

Process and procedures for particular access to information requests

  1. A process for particular requests is established that is conducive to timely responses and will not cause undue delays. The process is designed to notify officials of the imminent disclosure of records rather than for approval. This process is simple, with clearly defined responsibilities and timelines for each step of the process. 
  2. Clear procedures are established and made available to all employees.
  3. A restricted number of requests are subject to particular treatment. The identification of these requests is based on the content of the records, and not on the identity or source (media, academia, business, organization, public) of the requester. 
  4. Requirements for communication products (such as Qs and As or QP Cards) are identified as early as possible in order that they may be developed at the same time as the records are being processed.
  5. Communication requirements are kept separate and distinct from access to information requirements. The Access to Information Office is not responsible for the coordination or the preparation of communication products for specific subject matter.
  6. Regular follow ups with officials are made using the most expeditious means (telephone, e-mail, fax, electronic documentation, meetings, etc.) to ensure timeliness. 
  7. Where approval is not being sought (i.e. delegated authority was given to the ATIP Coordinator), only the release package is forwarded to senior officials for information to streamline the process. 
  8. Where approval is not being sought (i.e. delegated authority was given to the ATIP Coordinator), the response to the requester is sent by the date set in accordance with the established process for particular requests or by the statutory deadline, whichever is sooner.
  9. The Access to Information Office regularly meets the key players, including officials from the offices of the head and deputy head, Communications and Parliamentary Affairs, to discuss complex issues and explain the provisions of the Access to Information Act.
  10. The performance of officials is monitored and the process is assessed as required to ensure its efficiency and that it fully meets the requirements of the Act.

Education and training

  1. Training and briefing sessions are provided to employees, senior officials and staff of the offices of the head and deputy head on their roles and responsibilities relating to the Act
  2. Different approaches are used to heighten access to information awareness, including written procedures, information sessions, and reference material posted on the institution's Intranet and Internet sites.


  1. Periodic assessments of resource requirements (human, financial, technological) are conducted, and business cases are developed as necessary, to support the effective administration of the access to information program.
  2. Various strategies (such as internal development programs, mentoring, coaching and collective staffing) are employed to recruit and retain access to information employees.
Date modified:

Rapport sur l'étude du SCT sur les Pratiques exemplaires pour les demandes d'accès à l'information faisant l'objet d'un traitement particulier

Contexte

En septembre 2005, l'Association canadienne des journaux a déposé une plainte auprès du Commissariat à l'information alléguant l'existence de règles secrètes, d'une discrimination systématique et de retards injustes et injustifiés dans le traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information des médias en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Après une enquête auprès de 21 institutions, le Commissariat à l'information n'a pas été en mesure de prouver « l'existence de « règles secrètes » ou d'une pratique systémique à l'échelle fédérale visant précisément chaque demande des médias, ou les médias en général ». Le Commissariat à l'information a toutefois conclu que dans de nombreuses institutions, la classification de certaines demandes d'accès à l'information comme « délicate », « présentant un intérêt », « alerte orange » ou étiquetées d'une autre façon entraînant un traitement particulier menait à un processus qui occasionnait des retards injustifiés.

Dans sa lettre de conclusions datée du 19 août 2008, le Commissaire à l'information a formulé la recommandation suivante :

Que le président du Conseil du Trésor mène une étude sur la façon dont les institutions qui classifient ou étiquettent les demandes de communication en vue d'un traitement particulier, sans que cela n'entrave un traitement rapide des demandes, organisent le processus dans le but de fournir des pratiques exemplaires à toutes les institutions fédérales.

Le président a accepté de suivre cette recommandation. La Division des politiques de l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels du SCT a entrepris l'étude et produit ce rapport.

Méthodologie

Aux fins de cet exercice, une « demande faisant l'objet d'un traitement particulier » est définie comme étant une demande d'accès à l'information qui est vue ou approuvée par des fonctionnaires du ministère qui ne font pas partie du Bureau de l'accès à l'information avant que ne soit transmise la réponse. Cette définition comprend, mais n'est pas limitée, aux catégories utilisées par les institutions telles que alerte, alerte orange, intéressante, délicate, extrêmement délicate, breffage nécessaire, haute visibilité et dossier complexe.  Pour faciliter la lecture de ce texte, l'expression « demande particulière » est utilisée ci-après.

La Division des politiques de l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels du SCT a choisi les dix institutions suivantes pour participer à cette étude :

Font partie de ces dix institutions, sept des dix institutions qui ont reçu le plus grand nombre de demandes en 2006-2007 (61,4 % de toutes les demandes). Toutes les dix institutions ont en place un processus particulier pour traiter certaines demandes d'accès à l'information. De plus, les dix institutions ont fait l'objet de l'enquête menée par le Commissaire à l'information suite à la plainte déposée par l'Association canadienne des journaux.

La Division des politiques de l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels a rencontré chacune des institutions afin de discuter des procédures et des pratiques utilisées dans la détermination des demandes particulières et leur traitement, et d'évaluer quelle était l'incidence, le cas échéant, de ces procédures et de ces pratiques sur les délais de réponse. Les discussions ont ensuite porté principalement sur la façon d'améliorer l'ensemble des procédures et des pratiques et sur des propositions de pratiques exemplaires à partager avec les autres institutions dans le but de raccourcir les délais de réponse pour les demandes particulières.

Conclusions

Observations générales

Au cours de l'étude, la Division des politiques de l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels a remarqué que les institutions qui obtenaient les meilleurs résultats quant à la rapidité de réponse aux demandes particulières partageaient les attributs suivants :

Afin d'obtenir les meilleurs résultats possibles, les institutions devraient examiner ces attributs conjointement avec les pratiques exemplaires qui sont recommandées pour le traitement des demandes particulières.

Pratiques exemplaires pour le traitement des demandes particulières

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor travaille de concert avec la collectivité de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) afin d'échanger les pratiques exemplaires visant à raccourcir les délais de réponse et à assurer l'efficacité de l'administration de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. En particulier, le Secrétariat a publié l'avis 2003-08, qui présente une liste des 52 pratiques exemplaires pour traiter les demandes. Afin d'éviter les chevauchements, et conformément à l'objet de l'étude, ce rapport énonce 18 pratiques exemplaires qui facilitent la gestion des demandes particulières Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor recommande aux institutions de suivre ces pratiques exemplaires énumérées à l'Annexe A lors de l'élaboration de procédures et de pratiques sur le traitement des demandes particulières.


Annexe A

Responsabilité et délégation de pouvoir

  1. En ce qui concerne l'administration de la Loi, le coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information détient les pleins pouvoirs qui lui ont été délégués par le responsable de l'institution.
  2. Le responsable de l'institution délègue les fonctions au niveau le plus bas possible dans la hiérarchie du Bureau de l'accès à l'information. Par exemple, les avis de prorogation et les avis aux tiers peuvent être délégués aux analystes de l'accès à l'information ainsi qu'au coordonnateur.
  3. Les engagements liés à l'accès à l'information et les mesures de rendement sont inclus dans les ententes de gestion du rendement des cadres supérieurs afin de favoriser un engagement et une responsabilisation accrus.
  4. Des rapports périodiques sur le rendement concernant le traitement des demandes sont présentés à la haute direction.

Processus et procédures relatifs aux demandes d'accès à l'information particulières

  1. Un processus pour les demandes particulières est établi, qui favorise la rapidité d'exécution et n'entraîne pas de retards inutiles. Ce processus a pour but d'informer les fonctionnaires et les cadres de la divulgation prochaine de documents plutôt que de servir à des fins d'approbation. Le processus est simple et définit clairement les responsabilités et les échéanciers pour toutes les étapes du processus.
  2. Des procédures claires sont établies et communiquées à tous les employés.
  3. Un nombre restreint de demandes sont assujetties à un traitement particulier. Leur identification est fondée sur le contenu des documents et non sur l'identité ou la source (média, milieu universitaire, secteur commercial, organisme, public) du demandeur.
  4. Les exigences relatives aux produits de communication (tels que les fiches de questions-réponses et les fiches pour la période de questions) sont déterminées le plus tôt possible afin que ces produits puissent être préparés en même temps que le traitement des documents.
  5. Les exigences relatives à la communication sont gardées distinctes des exigences en matière d'accès à l'information. La coordination et la préparation des produits de communication sur un sujet précis ne relèvent pas du Bureau de l'accès à l'information.
  6. Des suivis sont faits régulièrement avec les fonctionnaires en utilisant le moyen le plus rapide (téléphone, courriel, télécopieur, documentation électronique, réunions, etc.), de façon à assurer la rapidité d'exécution.
  7. S'il n'est pas nécessaire d'obtenir une approbation (c.-à-d. le pouvoir a été délégué au coordonnateur de l'AIPRP), seulement les documents à divulguer sont envoyés aux cadres supérieurs pour information afin de simplifier le processus.
  8. S'il n'est pas nécessaire d'obtenir une approbation (c.-à-d. le pouvoir a été délégué au coordonnateur de l'AIPRP), la réponse au demandeur est envoyée au plus tard à la date qui correspond au processus établi pour les demandes particulières ou à la date limite prévue par la loi, selon celle qui est la plus rapprochée des deux.
  9. Le Bureau de l'accès à l'information rencontre régulièrement les intervenants principaux, y compris le personnel des bureaux du responsable et de l'administrateur général de l'institution, des Communications et des Affaires parlementaires, pour discuter des questions complexes et expliquer les dispositions de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.
  10. Le rendement des fonctionnaires est suivi de près et une évaluation périodique du processus est effectuée pour s'assurer de son efficacité et qu'il satisfait pleinement aux exigences de la Loi.

Formation

  1. Des séances de formation et d'information sont offertes aux employés, aux cadres supérieurs et au personnel des bureaux du responsable et de l'administrateur général de l'institution sur leurs rôles et leurs responsabilités en vertu de la Loi.
  2. Différentes approches sont utilisées afin de permettre une sensibilisation accrue de l'accès à l'information : procédures écrites, séances d'information et documents de référence affichés sur les sites Intranet et Internet de l'institution.

Ressources

  1. Pour soutenir l'efficacité de l'administration du programme d'accès à l'information, des évaluations périodiques des besoins en ressources (humaines, financières, technologiques) sont effectuées et, s'il y a lieu, des analyses de rentabilisation sont préparées.
  2. Différentes stratégies sont utilisées pour recruter des employés au sein des bureaux de l'accès à l'information et les maintenir en fonction, ce qui peut comprendre des programmes de perfectionnement internes, du mentorat, de l'encadrement et de la dotation collective.
Date de modification :