Whole of Government Framework

The purpose of this framework is to map the financial and non-financial contributions of federal organizations that receive appropriations by aligning their program activities to a set of high-level outcome areas defined for the government as a whole.

Figure 1: Whole-of-government Framework Diagram

Whole-of-government Framework Diagram. Text version below:

Figure 1: Whole-of-government Framework Diagram - Text version

This image is an illustration of the whole-of-government framework. The purpose of this framework is to map the financial and non-financial contributions of federal organizations receiving appropriations by aligning their program activities to a set of high-level outcome areas defined for the government as a whole.

The framework consists of four spending areas: Economic Affairs, Social Affairs, International Affairs, and Government Affairs. These are presented vertically, in four columns, under the header "Spending areas (4)".

Each column is divided into cells which represent the outcome areas that fall under each spending area. At the far left of the table, the header "Government of Canada outcome areas (16)" refers to these cells, which are presented vertically and grouped by spending area.

The first column, titled Economic Affairs, comprises five cells: income security and employment for Canadians, strong economic growth, an innovative and knowledge-based economy, a clean and healthy environment and, lastly, a fair and secure marketplace.

The second column, titled Social Affairs, comprises four cells: healthy Canadians, a safe and secure Canada, a diverse society that promotes linguistic duality and social inclusion and, lastly, a vibrant Canadian culture and heritage.

The third column, titled International Affairs, comprises four cells: a safe and secure world through international engagement, global poverty reduction through international sustainable development, a strong and mutually beneficial North American partnership and, lastly, a prosperous Canada through global commerce.

The last column, titled Government Affairs, comprises three cells: strong and independent democratic institutions; a transparent, accountable and responsive federal government; and, lastly, well-managed and efficient government operations.

Background

The framework consists of four spending areas: Economic Affairs, Social Affairs, International Affairs and Government Affairs.

Since 2005, the Policy on Management, Resources and Results Structures has supported the development of a common, government-wide approach to the collection, management, and reporting of financial and non-financial information on program objectives, performance and results. All federal organizations that receive appropriations must plan and manage their operations and report their performance against strategic outcomes that represent enduring benefits to Canadians.

As a complement to this regime of departmental performance management and reporting, the Government of Canada has adopted a whole-of-government framework for reporting to Parliament on progress made as a nation. The whole-of-government framework maps the financial and non-financial contributions of departments, agencies and Crown corporations that receive appropriations to a set of 16 high-level Government of Canada outcome areas within four Government of Canada spending areas: economic, social, international and government affairs.

Alignment of program activities to the whole-of-government framework

Departments and agencies are required to indicate in their Report on Plans and Priorities and Departmental Performance Report the alignment of program activities to Government of Canada outcome areas. Because the alignment of strategic outcomes and their corresponding program activities to the whole-of-government framework makes it possible to calculate spending by Government of Canada outcome area and to correctly total all government spending, a program activity can only be aligned to only one Government of Canada outcome area. A strategic outcome, however, can contribute to more than one outcome area.

If you have questions, please contact the whole-of-government reporting team .

Date modified:

Cadre pangouvernemental

Ce cadre a pour objet d'établir des liens entre les contributions financières et non financières des organisations fédérales qui reçoivent des crédits par l’alignement de leurs activités de programmes avec une série de grands secteurs de résultats définis pour le gouvernement dans son ensemble.

Figure 1 : Cadre pangouvernemental

Cadre pangouvernemental. Version textuelle ci-dessous:

Figure 1 : Cadre pangouvernemental - Version textuelle

La présente image sert à illustrer le cadre pangouvernemental. L'objet de ce cadre consiste à établir des liens entre les contributions financières et non financières des organisations fédérales qui reçoivent des crédits par l'alignement de leurs activités de programmes avec une série de grands secteurs de dépenses définis pour le gouvernement dans son ensemble.

Le cadre se compose de quatre secteurs de dépenses : affaires économiques, affaires sociales, affaires internationales; affaires gouvernementales. Ceux‑ci sont présentés de façon verticale, dans quatre colonnes, sous l'en-tête « Secteurs de dépenses (4) ».

Chaque colonne est divisée en cellules correspondant aux secteurs de résultats qui s'inscrivent dans chaque secteur de dépenses. à l'extrême gauche du tableau, l'en‑tête « Secteurs de résultats du gouvernement du Canada (16) » désigne les cellules présentées à la verticale et regroupées par secteur de dépenses.

La première colonne, qui s'intitule Affaires économiques, comporte cinq cellules : la sécurité du revenu et l'emploi pour les Canadiens; une croissance économique forte; une économie axée sur l'innovation et le savoir; un environnement propre et sain; un marché équitable et sécurisé.

La deuxième colonne, qui s'intitule Affaires sociales, comporte quatre cellules : des Canadiens en santé; un Canada sécuritaire et sécurisé; une société diversifiée qui favorise la dualité linguistique et l'inclusion sociale; une culture et un patrimoine canadiens dynamiques.

La troisième colonne, qui s'intitule Affaires internationales, comporte quatre cellules : un monde sécuritaire et sécurisé grâce à l'engagement international; la réduction de la pauvreté dans le monde grâce au développement international durable; un partenariat nord américain fort et mutuellement avantageux; un Canada prospère grâce au commerce international.

La dernière colonne,qui s'intitule Affaires gouvernementales, comporte trois cellules : des institutions démocratiques fortes et indépendantes; un gouvernement fédéral transparent, responsable et sensible aux besoins des Canadiens; des activiés gouvernementales bien gérées et efficaces.

Contexte

Le cadre se compose de quatre secteurs de dépenses : les affaires économiques, les affaires sociales, les affaires internationales et les affaires gouvernementales.

Depuis 2005, la Politique sur la structure de gestion, des ressources et des résultats favorise l’élaboration d’une approche commune et pangouvernementale au regard de la collecte, de la gestion et de la déclaration des données financières et non financières relatives aux objectifs, au rendement et aux résultats des programmes. Toutes les organisations fédérales qui reçoivent des crédits doivent planifier et gérer leurs opérations ainsi que rendre compte de leur rendement en fonction des résultats stratégiques, lesquels représentent des avantages durables pour les Canadiens.

Pour compléter ce système ministériel de gestion du rendement et de reddition de comptes, le gouvernement du Canada a adopté un cadre pangouvernemental afin de faire état au Parlement de ses progrès accomplis en tant que nation. Le cadre pangouvernemental établit des liens entre les contributions financières et non financières des ministères, des organismes et des sociétés d'État qui reçoivent des crédits et 16 grands secteurs de résultats faisant partie de quatre secteurs de dépenses du gouvernement du Canada, notamment les affaires économiques, les affaires sociales, les affaires internationales et les affaires gouvernementales.

Alignement des activités de programmes avec le cadre pangouvernemental

Les ministères et organismes doivent indiquer en quoi les activités de programmes s’alignent avec les secteurs de résultats du gouvernement du Canada dans leur rapport sur les plans et les priorités et leur rapport ministériel sur le rendement. Comme l’alignement avec le cadre pangouvernemental des activités de programmes et des résultats stratégiques correspondants permet de calculer les dépenses en fonction des secteurs de résultats du gouvernement du Canada et de déterminer correctement le total des dépenses gouvernementales, une activité de programme s’aligne seulement avec un secteur de résultats du gouvernement du Canada. Un résultat stratégique peut toutefois contribuer à plus d’un secteur de résultats.

Si vous avec des questions, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec l’équipe chargée des rapports pangouvernementaux.

Date de modification :