Government of Canada budgets and expenditures

Tabled Expenditure Authorities

Expenditure authorities are approvals from Parliament for individual government organizations to spend up to specific amounts. Expenditure authority from Parliament is provided in two ways:

An organization’s expenditure authority received through appropriation acts may be supplemented by allocations from Treasury Board Central Votes 5, 10, 15, 25, 30 and 33.

The following table is updated to reflect the latest available information on current-year expenditure authorities as published in Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates.

Note: Totals in the HTML version may not add due to rounding. If there is a discrepancy between the HTML version and the XLS version of this dataset, the XLS version will prevail.

Explanation of the expenditure authorities table

Expenditure authority from Parliament is provided in two ways: annual Appropriation Acts, or Supply Bills, that specify the amounts and broad purposes for which funds can be spent; and other specific statutes that authorize payments and set out the amounts and time periods for those payments. The amounts approved in appropriation acts are referred to as voted amounts, and the expenditure authorities provided through other statutes are called statutory authorities. Estimates documents are prepared to support Appropriation Acts; however, forecasts of statutory amounts are presented to give a more complete picture of total parliamentary authorities to be used during the fiscal year.

This table provides forecasts of statutory expenditures and the in-year available expenditure authorities for voted authorities by Department, Agency, and Crown Corporation for which a financial requirement has been identified, whether in Main Estimates, or Supplementary Estimates. Budgetary expenditures encompass the cost of servicing the public debt, operating and capital expenditures, transfer payments and subsidies to other levels of government, organizations and individuals and payments to Crown corporations and separate legal entities. This table also presents expenditure authority provided through allocations from Treasury Board Central votes (subject to the approval of Treasury Board). Central votes are used to supplement other appropriations for such purposes as:

Authorities and Actual Expenditures as per the Public Accounts of Canada (2011-12 to 2015-16)

Following the end of a given fiscal year, final information becomes available on the use of expenditure authorities approved by Parliament and/or Treasury Board. The following tables, based on Volume II of the Public Accounts of Canada, present a high-level overview of the actual expenditures of organizations that receive appropriations from Parliament. New tables will be available annually following the release of the Public Accounts of Canada.

If there is a discrepancy between a table and the Public Accounts of Canada, the Public Accounts of Canada will prevail.

Explanation of the authorities and actual expenditures tables

The Authorities and Expenditures files present key figures from the "Ministry Summary" tables found in Volume II of the Public Accounts of Canada. For each organization (department, agency or appropriated Crown corporation) of the Government of Canada, budgetary voted and statutory authorities and expenditures are presented on a modified cash basis for the following elements:

Non-budgetary authorities are not presented. For more information, please see Volume II of the Public Accounts of Canada. If there is any discrepancy between the Public Accounts of Canada and these datasets, the Public Accounts will prevail. Users may also wish to consult Departmental Performance Reports for additional contextual information.

Consolidated Quarterly Financial Reports for the quarter ended

Quarterly financial reports (QFR) for departments and agencies consist of financial tables comparing planned and actual expenditures for both the quarter and year-to-date as well as comparative information for the preceding fiscal year. Each report includes spending authorities granted through the Main and Supplementary Estimates as well as any allotment transfers approved by Treasury Board that have become available for use by the institution at the end of the quarter.

QFRs may revise estimates of statutory expenditure related to plans previously published in the Estimates documents. All figures presented reflect information published in the 2015-16 Departmental and Agency Quarterly Financial Reports, although totals may not add due to rounding. In cases where machinery of government changes (such as the merging or elimination of organizations) have occurred, the data has not been adjusted.

Archived Publications

Date modified:

Budgets et dépenses du gouvernement du Canada

Les autorisations de dépenses consistent en des approbations du Parlement qui consentent à des organismes gouvernementaux individuels le droit de dépenser jusqu'à un montant précisément défini. Les autorisations de dépenses accordées par le Parlement sont fournies de deux façons :

L'autorisation de dépenses d'un organisme reçue au moyen de lois de crédit peut être complétée par des affectations des crédits centraux 5, 10, 15, 25, 30 et 33 du Conseil du Trésor.

Le tableau suivant est mis-à-jour afin de présenter l'information la plus récente disponible sur les autorisations de dépenses pour l'exercice courant telle que publiée dans le Budget principal et les Budgets supplémentaires.

Nota : Les chiffres dans la version HTML étant arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre au total indiqué. S'il y a incompatibilité entre la version HTML et la version XLS de cette base de données, la version XLS prévaut.

Explication du tableau des autorisations de dépenses

Les autorisations de dépenses accordées par le Parlement sont fournies de deux façons : au moyen de lois de crédit annuelles, ou projets de loi des crédits, qui précisent les montants et les motifs généraux pour lesquels des fonds peuvent être dépensés et au moyen d'autres statuts particuliers, qui autorisent les paiements et établissent les montants ainsi que les périodes pendant lesquelles doivent avoir lieu ces paiements. Les montants approuvés dans les lois de crédit sont désignés comme des montants votés; les autorisations de dépenses accordées par l'intermédiaire d'autres statuts consistent en des autorisations législatives. Les documents budgétaires sont préparés dans le but d'appuyer les lois de crédit. Toutefois, les prévisions des montants législatifs sont présentées pour dresser un portrait plus global des autorisations parlementaires totales à utiliser au cours de l'exercice.

Ce tableau fournit les prévisions des autorisations législatives et les autorisations de dépenses de l'année disponibles pour les autorisations votées par le Ministère, l'organisme et la société d'État pour lesquels un besoin financier a été déterminé, que ce soit dans le Budget principal des dépenses ou le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses. Les dépenses budgétaires incluent les frais de service de la dette publique, les charges d'exploitation et les dépenses en immobilisation, les paiements de transfert et les subsides vers d'autres niveaux du gouvernement, les organismes et les particuliers ainsi que les paiements aux sociétés d'État et aux entités juridiques distinctes. Le tableau présente aussi une autorisation de dépenses accordée au moyen d'affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor (soumise à l'approbation du Conseil du Trésor). On emploie les crédits centraux pour compléter d'autres affectations de fonds à des fins telles que :

Autorisations et dépenses réelles selon les comptes publics du Canada (2011-2012 à 2015-2016)

Une fois qu'un exercice financier donné a pris fin, l'information finale sur l'utilisation faite des autorisations de dépenses approuvées par le Parlement ou le Conseil du Trésor devient disponible. Les tableaux suivants, qui sont fondés le Volume II des Comptes publics du Canada, offrent un aperçu de haut niveau des dépenses réelles effectuées par les organisations qui reçoivent des approbations du Parlement. De nouveaux tableaux s'ajouteront chaque année après la publication des Comptes publics du Canada.

S'il y a une différence entre un tableau et les Comptes Publics du Canada, l'information contenue dans les Comptes Publics du Canada prévaut.

Explication des tableaux des autorisations et des dépenses réelles

Les dossiers des autorisations et des dépenses présentent des chiffres clés extraits des tableaux du Sommaire du portefeuille ministériel qui se trouvent dans le Volume II des Comptes publics du Canada. Pour tout organisme (ministère, organisme ou société d'État tributaire d'affectations budgétaires) du gouvernement du Canada, les autorisations et les dépenses votées au budget et prescrites par la loi sont présentées selon une comptabilité de caisse modifiée en ce qui concerne les éléments suivants :

Les autorisations non budgétaires ne sont pas présentées. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le Volume II des Comptes publics du Canada. En cas de divergence entre les Comptes publics du Canada et ces ensembles de données, les Comptes publics auront préséance. Les utilisateurs pourraient aussi vouloir consulter les Rapports ministériels sur le rendement pour obtenir plus d'information contextuelle.

Rapports financiers trimestriels consolidés en date du

Les rapports financiers trimestriels (RFT) pour les ministères et les organismes correspondent à des tableaux financiers comparant les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles pour le trimestre et pour le cumul de l'exercice en cours, ainsi que de l'information comparative par rapport à l'exercice précédent. Chaque rapport comprend les crédits budgétaires alloués dans le cadre des budgets principal et supplémentaires des dépenses, ainsi que tout virement d'affectation approuvé par le Conseil du Trésor qui est devenu disponible pour utilisation par l'institution à la fin du trimestre.

Les RFT peuvent servir à réviser les prévisions de dépenses législatives annoncées dans des documents budgétaires antérieurs. Tous les chiffres sont tirés de données publiées dans les rapports financiers trimestriels des ministères et organismes pour 2015-2016. Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre tout à fait à ceux d'autres sources en raison de l'arrondi. Dans les cas de modifications à l'appareil gouvernemental (comme la fusion ou l'élimination d'organismes), les données n'ont pas été rajustées.

Publications archivées

Date de modification :