Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Guidance for Crown Corporations

The Government of Canada periodically develops guidance for Crown corporations to support sound governance and management practices. Compliance with such guidance is not mandatory, but Crown corporation boards of directors and management are strongly encouraged to review and apply the recommended procedures and best practices appropriate to their situations. This guidance material, developed by Treasury Board Secretariat, the Privy Council Office, the Department of Finance and the Canada School of Public Service, is organized on the website under four broad categories as follows.

Accountability Structure of Crown Corporations

While Crown corporations operate at arm's length from the government, as public institutions, they are ultimately accountable to the government. This guidance category contains materials that explain corporations' accountability relationship with the government as well as within the corporations themselves.  Information is also provided on how accountability is maintained through processes and mechanisms involving planning and reporting, communications and disclosure, and audit and examination.

Building an Effective Board

Building an effective Crown corporation board of directors depends on obtaining members who have the necessary skills and aptitudes appropriate for the organization and enhancing and maintaining these through training. It also requires that directors, once appointed, clearly understand the government's expectations in overseeing the corporation. This guidance category provides information on the board's role in relation to appointments, directors' roles and responsibilities in law and in practice, and some of the training available to directors to enhance and maintain board capacity. Directors are encouraged to seek further clarification from the Crown corporation's enabling legislation, charter and bylaws.

Functioning of an Effective Board

In order to continue functioning effectively, a board of directors should periodically assess board members on their knowledge base, abilities, conduct and commitment to fulfilling their responsibilities. Board members should be aware of their code-of-conduct obligations as part of the government. This category supports the maintenance of effective boards by providing guidance on compensation of board members, values and ethics and conflict of interest, assessing board effectiveness, and indemnification of directors.

Internal Management Oversight

Crown corporation management is responsible for implementing the board-approved corporate plan and effectively supervising day-to-day operations. In order to achieve these objectives, there should be appropriate board oversight of management, and the government's financial management expectations need to be understood. This guidance area covers CEO oversight, including performance management, financial management generally and for specific types of operations, as well as property matters related to Crown lands.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Directives pour les sociétés d'État

Le gouvernement du Canada élabore régulièrement, pour les sociétés d'État, des directives afin de favoriser de saines pratiques de gouvernance et de gestion. Respecter ces directives n'est pas exécutoire, mais les conseils d'administration et la direction des sociétés d'État sont vivement encouragés à étudier et à mettre en pratique les procédures recommandées et les pratiques exemplaires appropriées pour leur situation. Ce matériel d'orientation, élaboré par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, par le Bureau du Conseil privé, par le ministère des Finances et par l'École de la fonction publique du Canada, est affiché sur le site Web dans quatre grandes catégories. Les voici :

Structure de responsabilisation des sociétés d'État

Même si les sociétés d'État sont indépendantes du gouvernement, en tant qu'institutions publiques, elles rendent des comptes au gouvernement. La présente catégorie contient des documents qui expliquent les obligations des sociétés d'État en matière de reddition de comptes au gouvernement ainsi que leurs responsabilités à l'interne. On y trouve également de l'information sur la manière de maintenir la responsabilisation grâce à des processus et à des mécanismes faisant intervenir la planification, la production de rapports, les communications et la divulgation d'information et la vérification et l'examen.

Constituer un conseil d'administration efficace

Pour composer un conseil d'administration efficace, les membres choisis doivent posséder des compétences requises et les aptitudes qui conviennent à l'organisation. Leurs compétences et aptitudes doivent être maintenues par la formation. Les directeurs, une fois nommés, doivent bien comprendre les attentes du gouvernement qui veille sur la société d'État. La présente catégorie contient de l'information sur le rôle du conseil d'administration en ce qui a trait aux nominations, sur les rôles et les attributions légales et pratiques des administrateurs et sur des formations qui sont offertes aux administrateurs dans le but d'améliorer et de maintenir les capacités du conseil. Les administrateurs sont encouragés à approfondir leurs connaissances en consultant la loi habilitante de la société d'État, son mandat et son règlement.

Fonctionnement d'un conseil d'administration efficace

Pour continuer de fonctionner efficacement, un conseil d'administration devrait évaluer périodiquement les connaissances et les aptitudes des administrateurs ainsi que leur conduite et leur volonté de s'acquitter de leurs responsabilités. Les administrateurs doivent connaître leurs obligations découlant du code de déontologie, en tant que représentants du gouvernement. La présente catégorie favorise le maintien de conseils d'administration efficaces en fournissant de l'information sur la rémunération des administrateurs, sur les valeurs et l'éthique, sur les conflits d'intérêts, sur l'évaluation du rendement du conseil et sur l'indemnisation des administrateurs.

Supervision interne de la gestion

Il incombe à la direction de la société d'État de mettre en œuvre le plan d'entreprise approuvé par le conseil d'administration et de superviser efficacement les activités courantes. Dans ce but, les membres du conseil doivent superviser de façon appropriée les membres de la direction et les attentes du gouvernement en matière de gestion financière doivent être comprises. Cette catégorie comprend la surveillance du chef de la direction, et notamment de la gestion du rendement, de la gestion financière en général et de certaines catégories d'activités, aussi bien que des sujets de propriété.