We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Corporate Governance in Crown Corporations and Other Public Enterprises - Guidelines


Message from the Minister of Finance and the President of the Treasury Board

In the current climate of change, all levels of government are exploring new alternatives for program delivery. The use of the corporate form as a vehicle of change is gaining increased importance. As well, corporate governance practices, involving the way we oversee the direction and management of public enterprises, have also gained importance.

Crown corporations operate in different sectors of the economy, vary greatly in terms of size and public policy purpose, and place different demands on the Crown for financial support. The government considers an effective board of directors to be a vital element of the corporate governance and accountability regime for Crown corporations.

We would like to express our sincere appreciation to the Advisory Group on Crown Corporations. The Group's membership comprises senior executives with a breadth of experience from both the public and private sectors. They have given generously of their time, and contributed wise and useful counsel. We believe that their work has resulted in Guidelines that will enhance corporate governance in Canada.

This document sets forth a number of ways in which the effectiveness of boards of directors can be strengthened. The Guidelines for Corporate Governance in Crown Corporations and Other Public Enterprises address important aspects of corporate governance — how the responsibilities and powers are divided among the Crown, the board of directors, and management; the board of directors' stewardship responsibilities; developing an appropriate and effective working relationship between the board and management; and ensuring there are mechanisms in place to achieve accountability.

These Guidelines serve as an important benchmark for the corporate governance practices in each Crown corporation. We support the Advisory Group's recommendation that each Crown corporation report on its corporate governance policies and practices in relation to these Guidelines in its annual report.

These Guidelines will also have applicability to other public enterprises. We think they will provide a valuable source of advice and guidance to those charged with the responsibility for corporate governance in Crown corporations, and will strengthen accountability.

We are confident that these Corporate Governance Guidelines will help the chairs, chief executive officers and individual members of boards of directors to appreciate the challenges that must be met by both the shareholder and boards of directors to enable corporations and public enterprises to fulfil their mandates.

Paul Martin
Minister of Finance
Ottawa, June 1996
Marcel Massé
President of the Treasury Board
Ottawa, June 1996

Message from the Advisory Group on Crown Corporations

Our Advisory Group was drawn together to assist the government in its use of Crown corporations and public enterprises to deliver services to Canadians. We welcomed the opportunity to help strengthen these important public institutions.

Crown corporations have a long history in Canada dating back to Confederation. They have acted as engines of industrial development, provided important goods and services, and contributed to developing our national identity. We anticipate that Crown corporations and other public enterprises will continue to be used to achieve national goals and deliver programs and services to its citizens.

These Guidelines reflect our belief that an effective board of directors is key to the functioning of Crown corporations and other public enterprises. Having each Crown corporation report on its corporate governance policies and practices in relation to these guidelines in its annual report will enhance the accountability of the boards.

The Group's members have shared their diverse experiences from both the public and private sector. We trust that these Guidelines will be a valuable source of advice and guidance on corporate governance matters. We anticipate that they will be used by chairs, chief executive officers, and individual board members to enable them to function more effectively in meeting the expectations of the Government of Canada. We are hopeful that the Guidelines will be of use to the other public enterprises including those at the provincial and municipal levels of government in Canada.

We appreciate the review and feedback received from Crown corporation chairs and CEOs, as well as the Privy Council Office and the Office of the Auditor General. Their comments helped to improve the Guidelines.

Our thanks to the Crown Corporations and Privatization Sector, of the Department of Finance and Treasury Board of Canada, who undertook the logistical tasks of organizing our Group and overseeing the production and distribution of the Guidelines. We also acknowledge the support of The Conference Board of Canada in producing the final Guidelines document.

Members of the Advisory Group on Crown Corporations

J. Douglas Barrington
Chair
Deloitte & Touche
Harry G. Rogers
President and CEO
Precarn Associates Inc.
Jean-Pierre Bourbonnais
Chair and Senior Partner
Illsley, Bourbonnais Inc.
The Honourable Mitchell Sharp
Personal Advisor to the Prime Minister
Dr. Gail Cook-Bennett
Vice-Chair
Bennecon Ltd.
Gary Sheehan
Director
Crown Corporations and Privatization Sector
Department of Finance and Treasury
Board Secretariat
Peter J. Dey, Q.C.
Managing Director
Morgan Stanley Canada, Limited
David B. Watters
Assistant Secretary
Crown Corporations and Privatization Sector
Department of Finance and
Treasury Board Secretariat
John L. Manion, O.C. (retired)
former Secretary of the Treasury Board and Founding Principal, Canadian Centre for Management Development
 
Patrick O'Callaghan
Managing Partner
Patrick O'Callaghan & Associates Ltd.
 
Advisory Group Staff
Joanne Heidgerken
Ann Wesch
 

Introduction

These Guidelines on Corporate Governance in Crown Corporations and Other Public Enterprises aim to assist those involved in overseeing the direction and management of public sector corporations to better appreciate both the nature and the importance of their corporate governance duties. The Guidelines build on the guidelines adopted by the Board of Governors of the Toronto Stock Exchange in 1995.

Corporate governance describes the process and structure for overseeing the direction and management of a Crown corporation so that it effectively fulfils its mandate. Good corporate governance can contribute to the corporation's achievement of both its public policy and commercial objectives. The process and structure defining the division of responsibilities and powers among the Crown, the board of directors, and management also establishes key accountability mechanisms.

The Guidelines present 10 recommendations categorized into three broad areas of responsibility for improving the effectiveness of corporate governance practices in Crown corporations: stewardship of the corporation; working with management; and the functioning of the board. They are recommended for application in all federal Crown corporations. As a source of advice and guidance on corporate governance matters to the chairs, chief executive officers and individual members of the boards of directors, they will help them meet the expectations of the Government of Canada in overseeing the businesses and affairs of Crown corporations. It should be recognized that these are guidelines. There may be circumstances, especially in corporations with quasi-judicial regulatory responsibilities, where the board may decide it is appropriate to tailor the Guidelines. The Guidelines are not intended to modify the legal requirements and framework within which boards of directors are required to carry out their responsibilities.

Each Crown corporation should include a description and assessment of its corporate governance policies and practices in its annual report.

These Guidelines benefited from a review by a selection of Crown corporation chairs and CEOs, as well as the Privy Council Office and the Office of the Auditor General.

The Crown Corporation Perspective

Canada has a long history dating back to Confederation of using Crown corporations to manage important public programs. Other levels of government in Canada have also used public enterprises in their pursuit of public interests.

The federal government's current portfolio of Crown corporations is highly diversified with corporations operating in many sectors of the Canadian economy. The corporations vary widely in size and differ in their demands on the government for financial support. The President of the Treasury Board's Annual Report to Parliament on Crown Corporations and Other Corporate Interests of Canada provides a consolidated report on the businesses and activities of all parent Crown corporations and other corporate interests of the Government of Canada.

Each Crown corporation's enabling legislation sets out in broad terms the Crown corporation's mandate. In serving the public interest, Crown corporations have greater managerial autonomy than the rest of government in order that they may operate in a commercial manner. The legislated control and accountability regime aims to balance the corporation's autonomy with accountability to both government and to Parliament. Part X of the Financial Administration Act (FAA) outlines the control and accountability framework for Crown corporations.

Crown corporations are distinct legal entities wholly-owned by the Crown. Boards of directors of Crown corporations oversee the management of their corporation and hold management accountable for the company's performance. The board of directors, through the chair, is accountable to the responsible minister. The responsible minister functions as the link between the corporation and both the Cabinet and Parliament.

Annually, the Governor in Council, on recommendation of the Treasury Board and, in some cases, the Minister of Finance, approves the corporate plan of each Crown corporation. Approval of the corporate plan by the board of directors and the government authorizes proposed actions and budgets for the upcoming year. The corporate plan describes the corporation's planned directions and actions over a five-year planning horizon and provides the framework for decisions and evaluation.

Crown corporations regularly provide Parliament with comprehensive and timely information on their plans and their actual performance. Each year Parliament receives a summary of the corporate plan, capital and operating budgets and an annual report.

More detailed information on the Crown corporation accountability regime is available in the publication Directors of Crown Corporations: An Introductory Guide to Their Roles and Responsibilities.



Date modified:

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements sur le Web vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada restera accessible jusqu’à ce que le transfert soit terminé.

La régie des sociétés d’État et autres entreprises publiques - Lignes directrices


Message du Ministre des Finances et du Président du Conseil du Trésor

En raison du climat de changement dans lequel nous vivons, tous les paliers de gouvernement cherchent de nouveaux modes de prestation de programmes. Le recours aux sociétés d'État devient donc de plus en plus important, tout comme la manière dont nous surveillons la direction et la gestion des entreprises publiques.

Les sociétés d'État œuvrent dans divers secteurs de l'économie, et différent grandement selon leur taille et les objectifs pour lesquels elles ont été créées; elles exercent finalement des pressions financières diverses sur l'État. Voilà pourquoi le gouvernement croit qu'il est essentiel de se pourvoir de conseils d'administration efficaces pour assurer de bonnes pratiques de régie et la responsabilisation des sociétés d'État.

Nous aimerions remercier tout particulièrement le Groupe consultatif sur les sociétés d'État, composé de cadres des secteurs public et privé, pour ses précieux conseils tout au long de la préparation des Lignes directrices sur la régie des sociétés d'État et autres entreprises publiques.

Le présent document expose un certain nombre de moyens pour renforcer l'efficacité des conseils d'administration. On y traite d'aspects importants tels que le partage des responsabilités et des pouvoirs entre l'État, le conseil d'administration et la direction; les responsabilités de gérance du conseil d'administration; l'élaboration de rapports professionnels appropriés et efficaces entre le conseil et la direction ainsi que la mise en œuvre de mécanismes de responsabilisation.

Les lignes directrices sont des points de repère importants pour les pratiques de régie dans chacune des sociétés d'État. Nous appuyons d'ailleurs la recommandation du Groupe consultatif voulant que chaque société d'État joigne à son rapport annuel un énoncé de ses politiques et pratiques de régie établies conformément au présent document.

Nul doute que les lignes directrices serviront également les besoins des membres d'autres entreprises publiques. Elles devraient notamment aider les présidents, les chefs de la direction et les conseils d'administration à bien comprendre les défis que doivent relever tant les actionnaires que les conseils d'administration pour que les sociétés d'État et les entreprises publiques s'acquittent de leurs mandats.

Paul Martin
Ministre des Finances
Ottawa, juin 1996
Marcel Massé
Président du Conseil du Trésor
Ottawa, juin 1996

Message du Groupe consultatif sur les sociétés d'État

Le groupe consultatif a été constitué en vue d'aider le gouvernement à recourir de manière utile aux sociétés d'État et aux entreprises publiques aux fins de la prestation de services aux Canadiens. Nous sommes heureux de participer au renforcement de ces importantes institutions publiques.

Au Canada, le concept de société d'État remonte aux débuts de la Confédération. Ces sociétés ont servi de moteur au développement industriel, fourmi d'importants biens et services et contribué à définir notre identité nationale. Aussi pensons-nous que le gouvernement continuera de recourir aux sociétés d'État et autres entreprises publiques pour atteindre des objectifs nationaux et offrir des programmes et des services aux Canadiens.

Les présentes lignes directrices reflètent notre conviction que les sociétés d'État et autres entreprises publiques fonctionneront bien dans la mesure où elles seront dotées de conseils d'administration efficaces. La responsabilisation du conseil d'administration des sociétés d'État se trouvera accrue du fait que chaque société sera tenue d'inclure dans son rapport annuel un volet sur ses politiques et ses pratiques de régie qui se fondera sur les présentes lignes directrices.

Les membres du groupe ont mis en commun leurs expériences du secteur public tout autant que du secteur privé. Nous osons espérer que les présentes lignes directrices constitueront une source précieuse de conseils sur les questions de régie des sociétés. Nous prévoyons que le président du conseil, le chef de la direction et les administrateurs des sociétés s'en serviront pour mieux répondre aux attentes du gouvernement du Canada. Nous espérons aussi qu'elles seront utiles a d'autres entreprises publiques, y compris celles relevant des gouvernements provinciaux et des municipalités.

Nous remercions les présidents des conseils et les chefs de la direction des sociétés d'État ainsi que le Bureau du Conseil privé et le Bureau du vérificateur général de nous avoir fait part de leurs observations sur les lignes directrices, qui nous ont permis de les améliorer.

Nous tenons également à remercier le Secteur des sociétés d'État et de la privatisation du ministère des Finances et du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, qui s'est chargé de la logistique liée à l'organisation du groupe ainsi que de la coordination de la production et de la diffusion des lignes directrices. Enfin, nous savons gré au Conference Board du Canada de l'appui qu'il nous a donné pour la production de la version définitive des lignes directrices.

Groupe consultatif sur les sociétés d'État

J. Douglas Barrington
Président
Deloitte & Touche
Harry G. Rogers
Président et chef de la direction
Precarn Associates Inc.
Jean-Pierre Bourbonnais
Président et associé principal
Illsley, Bourbonnais Inc.
L'honorable Mitchell Sharp
Conseiller personnel du Premier ministre
Gail Cook-Bennett
Vice-présidente
Bennecon Ltd.
Gary Sheehan
Directeur
Secteur des sociétés d'État et de la privatisation
Ministère des Finances et Secrétariat du
Conseil du Trésor
Peter J. Dey, c.r.
Directeur administratif
Morgan Stanley Canada, Limited
David B. Watters
Secrétaire adjoint
Secteur des sociétés d'État et de la privatisation
Ministère des Finances et Secretariat du
Conseil du Trésor
John L. Manion, O.C. (à la retraite)
Ancien secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor et
directeur fondateur du Centre canadien de gestion
Patrick O'Callaghan
Associé administratif
Patrick O'Callaghan & Associates Ltd.
Personnel du groupe consultatif
Joanne Heidgerken
Ann Wesch

Introduction

Les présentes Lignes directrices sur la régie des sociétés d'État et autres entreprises publiques visent à aider les personnes chargées de surveiller l'administration de sociétés du secteur public à mieux comprendre la nature et l'importance de leurs fonctions de régie des sociétés. Les lignes directrices se fondent sur celles que le conseil d'administration de la Bourse de Toronto a adoptées en 1995.

L'expression « régie des sociétés » décrit le processus et la structure de surveillance de la direction et de la gestion d'une société d'État, de sorte que celle-ci puisse remplir efficacement son mandat. Grâce à de saines pratiques de régie, une société d'État donnée est mieux en mesure d'atteindre ses objectifs liés à l'intérêt public aussi bien que ses intérêts commerciaux. Le processus et la structure qui définissent le partage des responsabilités et des pouvoirs entre 1'État, le conseil d'administration et la direction servent également à établir des mécanismes clés de responsabilisation.

Les lignes directrices comprennent dix recommandations réparties en trois grands secteurs de responsabilité et visant à accroître l'efficacité des pratiques de régie dans les sociétés d'État, à savoir : la gérance de la société, la collaboration avec la direction et le fonctionnement du conseil.

Elles devraient s'appliquer à toutes les sociétés d'État fédérales. En tant que guide et source de conseils sur les questions relatives à la régie des sociétés, ces lignes directrices aideront le président du conseil, le chef de la direction et les administrateurs des sociétés concernées à répondre aux attentes du gouvernement du Canada en matière de surveillance des activités et des affaires des sociétés d'État. Il convient de mentionner qu'il ne s'agit que de lignes directrices. Il peut arriver, notamment dans le cas de sociétés auxquelles ont été confiées des responsabilités de réglementation quasi-judiciaires, que le conseil d'administration décide de modifier les lignes directrices en fonction de ses besoins. Les lignes directrices ne visent pas à modifier les exigences juridiques ni le cadre dans lequel le conseil d'administration des sociétés doit s'acquitter de ses responsabilités.

Chaque société d'État devrait inclure dans son rapport annuel une description et une évaluation de ses politiques et de ses pratiques en matière de régie.

Les présentes lignes directrices ont fait l'objet d'un examen par un certain nombre de présidents du conseil et de chefs de la direction de sociétés d'État ainsi que par le Bureau du Conseil privé et le Bureau du vérificateur général.

Le point de vue des sociétés d'État

Au Canada, le recours aux sociétés d'État pour la gestion d'importants programmes publics remonte aux débuts de la Confédération. Depuis, d'autres paliers de gouvernement au Canada ont créé des entreprises publiques pour poursuivre des intérêts publics.

À l'heure actuelle, les sociétés d'État fédérales sont fort diversifiées et exercent leur activité dans une foule de secteurs de l'économie canadienne. Ces sociétés présentent de grandes différences de taille et n'exercent pas les mêmes pressions sur le gouvernement en matière de soutien financier. Dans le Rapport annuel au Parlement sur les sociétés d'État et les sociétés en coparticipation du Canada, que dépose le président du Conseil du Trésor, on trouve un rapport consolidé sur les affaires et les activités de toutes les sociétés d'État mères et des sociétés en coparticipation du gouvernement du Canada.

La loi habilitante de chaque société d'État énonce en termes généraux le mandat de cette dernière. En servant l'intérêt public, les sociétés d'État jouissent d'une plus grande autonomie de gestion que les autres entités gouvernementales afin de pouvoir fonctionner comme une entreprise commerciale. Le régime de contrôle et de responsabilisation prévu par la loi sert à contrebalancer l'autonomie de la société par l'obligation de rendre compte tant au gouvernement qu'au Parlement. La partie X de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques décrit le cadre de contrôle et de responsabilisation des sociétés d'État.

Les sociétés d'État sont des entités juridiques distinctes appartenant à 100 p. 100 à l'État. Leur conseil d'administration en surveille la gestion et tient la direction comptable de leur rendement. Le conseil d'administration, par l'entremise du président du conseil, doit rendre compte au ministre de tutelle, lequel sert de lien entre la société, d'une part, et le Cabinet et le Parlement, d'autre part.

Chaque année, le gouverneur en conseil, sur avis du Conseil du Trésor et, dans certains cas, du ministre des Finances, approuve le plan d'entreprise de chaque société d'État. En approuvant le plan, le conseil d'administration et le gouvernement autorisent les mesures et les budgets proposés pour l'année à venir. Le plan d'entreprise décrit les orientations et les mesures que la société prévoit d'adopter sur une période de cinq ans et établit le cadre servant aux décisions et à l'évaluation.

Les sociétés d'État communiquent régulièrement au Parlement des renseignements complets et opportuns sur leurs plans et leur rendement réel. Elles lui soumettent, chaque année, un résumé du plan d'entreprise, des budgets d'immobilisations et d'exploitation ainsi qu'un rapport annuel.

Le Guide d'introduction aux rôles et aux responsabilités des administrateurs de sociétés d'État renferme plus de précisions sur le régime de responsabilisation des sociétés d'État.



Date de modification :