Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Quarterly Financial Reporting (QFR)

To increase transparency around Government spending, the Financial Administration Act was amended in 2009 requiring that departments, agencies and Crown corporations prepare and make public quarterly financial reports beginning in fiscal year 2011-12.

What are Quarterly Financial Reports (QFR)?

Quarterly financial reports (QFR) for departments and agencies consist of financial tables comparing planned and actual expenditures for both the quarter and year-to-date as well as comparative information for the preceding fiscal year.

The financial statements in quarterly financial reports of Crown Corporations are prepared using an accrual basis of accounting.

The reports also contain a narrative section which provide a concise discussion on the significant changes affecting both the quarter and year to date financial results, and changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs.

Quarterly financial reports supplement existing year-end reporting by federal institutions.  Each report includes spending authorities granted through the Main and Supplementary Estimates as well as any allotment transfers approved by Treasury Board that have become available for use by the institution at the end of the quarter.

Period of the report

Departments, agencies and Crown corporations must publish a quarterly financial report on their website for each of the first three quarters of the fiscal year within 60 days of the end of the reporting period.

Departments and agencies incorporate their fourth-quarter figures in the annual results found in Volume II of the Public Accounts of Canada while fourth-quarter figures for Crown corporations are part of the annual financial statements.

Quick Links to Quarterly Financial Reports for departments and agencies

Related Information

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Rapports financiers trimestriels (RFT)

Afin d’accroître la transparence en ce qui concerne les dépenses du gouvernement, la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques a été modifiée en 2009 et exige que les ministères, les organismes et les sociétés d’État préparent et publient des rapports financiers trimestriels, à compter de l’exercice 2011‑12.

Que sont les rapports financiers trimestriels?

Pour les ministères et organismes, il s’agit de tableaux comparant les dépenses prévues et réelles pour le trimestre que pour le cumul de l’exercice en cours, ainsi que de l’information comparative par rapport à l’exercice précédent.

Les états financiers inclus dans les rapports financiers trimestriels des sociétés d’État sont préparés selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice.

Les rapports contiennent également une section narrative qui fournit des commentaires concis sur les changements importants touchant les résultats financiers du trimestre visé et du cumul de l’exercice, de même que les changements concernant le fonctionnement, l’effectif et les programmes.

Les rapports financiers trimestriels complètent les rapports de fin d’année des institutions fédérales. Chaque rapport comprend les crédits budgétaires alloués dans les budgets principal et supplémentaires des dépenses, ainsi que tout virement d’affectation approuvé par le Conseil du Trésor qui est devenu disponible pour utilisation par l’institution à la fin du trimestre.

Période visée par le rapport

Les ministères, les organismes et les sociétés d’État doivent publier sur leur site Web un rapport financier trimestriel pour chacun des trois premiers trimestres de l’exercice financier. Ces rapports doivent être rendus publics au plus tard 60 jours après la fin de la période visée.

Pour ce qui est des ministères et des organismes, les données du quatrième trimestre seront intégrées aux résultats annuels qui figurent dans le Volume II des Comptes publics du Canada, tandis que les données du quatrième trimestre des sociétés d’État figureront dans leurs états financiers annuels.

Liens rapides vers les rapports financiers trimestriels des ministères et organismes

Renseignements connexes